Sale $279.22

MSRP: $1,224.00

Save $944.78 (77%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Safavieh California Cozy Plush Ivory Shag Rug (8'6 x 12') - 8'6 x 12'

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Very plush, no shed, perfect for my living room!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this rug after reading the many positive reviews on all the "Cozy Solid Ivory" rugs on Overstock up through this size (note: I noticed the item numbers are related for all the rugs up to the 8.5'x12' rugs, but the poorly-reviewed 9.5'x13' rug is a very different item number, which may explain the difference - I ordered the 8.5x12 to be on the safe side and am glad I did). Other positive reviews are spot-on. The rug is so, so plush and soft without being too shaggy (fibers are about 1.25" long) and you can't feel the backing through the rug like so many cheaper shag rugs. The rug is made up of two thicknesses of same-colored warm ivory fiber, which adds some additional texture (the skinnier fibers are also twisted tighter which adds to this effect), and I hope will hide dirt. The rug smells like polypropylene rugs do the first day or two, but the smell is dissipating quickly. Having a dog and kids, I was worried this rug wouldn't be able to be vacuumed, but my Dyson handles it very well (no shedding!), and even my Roomba seems to do okay, though it occasionally hiccups when trying to climb up onto the rug. It adds a nice design element to my old home and sets off my darker leather furniture, while also making the living room look so much more inviting, bright, and comfortable. Couldn't be happier.

    Read More
    rpark76 September 2, 2012
  • A wonderful value
    Verified Purchase

    I agonized about buying this rug. I read EVERY review. I received it yesterday and laid it down in it's new home in my dining room. Let's get real, this is an affordable rug. It is plush and soft but it is not a magical rug made of butterflies and cotton candy. That being said- I'm happy with the purchase. The shag is a little longer than I expected- it is full, thick, and soft. Soft without feeling totally artificial. Soft but not so soft that I would have a nap on it- it's great on my tile, for my feet. The color. I wanted off-white, the white in the picture. It is not comparable to the rug pictured but the reviews are spot on. In the natural daylight of my dining room the rug is a dreamy ivory/cream. Under artificial light (a chandelier and table lamp) in the evening, the rug is much more buttercream/yellowish. I considered sending it back for the white version but I really love it in the daytime. Further, our dark taupe walls contribute to the rug's nighttime appearance. The color suitiblity is really going to depend on you, your room, and lighting. In natural daylight, the rug is a lovely rich warm cream/ivory. The varied length of the shag makes this rug seems modern and matches up with the pile on higher end rugs of this type (think: crate and barrel, west elm, p barn ect.) I looked at all these stores and more. Even Home Good stores have this type of rug at double the price. There has not been any shedding. My Dyson should vacuum it fine. This is a comparable product at an amazing price. I'm very satisfied with the value of this purchase. I did not buy a rug pad. With a rug pad it would be too plush under my dining room table. So, a rug pad is optional. The off-gassing- this rug had a strong chemical smell upon opening. We let it air out for 24 hours- the smell was noticeable throughout our large home but dissipated quickly. I did not let our dogs near it while it 'off-gassed.' The dogs are completely in love with the rug. They think we just bought them an 8x12 dog bed. And for the price of the rug, I'm not completely paranoid about them lounging on it. Finally, my rug was not packaged properly leaving the ends of the rug worn and frayed (but not dirty.) I can't say enough about how helpful overstock.com was in resolving this. They responded quickly with multiple options to remedy the situation. The customer service on Overstock really wow'ed me. So- take the plunge. It's a completely tolerable, good quality, shag.

    Read More
    MochiBunny November 18, 2014
  • Great rug for the price!
    Verified Purchase

    I own a couple of Safavieh rugs in other colors and patterns and I am a huge fan. I bought this ivory rug for my bedroom and I'm very happy with it. It is just as soft and durable as my other two rugs. My dogs also love my Safavieh rugs and I will find them relaxing on them instead of the bed. The only issues I experienced with this one is a slight odor to it for a few weeks, which has for the most part gone away. Also, the color of the rug is not as ivory/white as I would have liked. It has a minor yellowish tint to it. Overall, I am very pleased with the rug and would recommend this shag style in any of the patterns/colors.

    Read More
    Dana H. October 5, 2016
  • Good Deal for the price
    Verified Purchase

    No problems at all with order or shipping...it arrived a day early in fact! The rug is a nice Ivory color (not white, not beige, an even toned off-white) with a medium length shag & medium density pile. Feels great on the feet! Very soft. Shag moves like shuffling through the snow. Yes, I've seen & felt some higher quality rugs with more expensive grade material but all for 10x's more than this rug. So, if you want the look of a plush ivory shag rug for a fraction of the expensive cost, this is a fantastic deal. But if you want a more long time investment piece then this is not that. It's a knock-off of the luxury rugs with more expensive fibers for thousands of dollars. But it gives a similar impression. I personally would rather try an inexpensive version first for a while to see if I want to upgrade to the real deal later for a long term piece made with higher grade fibers. I'm not sure yet how it will hold up with a family & pets being in such a light solid color but I'm willing to risk it for this low price. As for Oder, I had seen complains in other reviews & I found absolutely no odor problem at all. In fact it only very mildly new which is a good smell. It is so large, thick & heavy that it does not need any padding but I'm tempted to try carpet padding just for extra bounce to relieve pressure on our joints. If I get a carpet pad I'm sure it would be comfortable enough to almost sleep on & definitely to lounge on in the living room watching tv! I'd say it's a 4 star simply deducting 1 star so people know it's a medium version of more expensive luxury rugs~but good shoppers I think would know you can't get pure silk/wool...for this price. I plan to enjoy it as a casual addition to our living room with popcorn, kids & movie nights! Peace

    Read More
    OstkUser91440 March 22, 2016
  • I'll Buy Another!
    Verified Purchase

    Love this rug. Plush, long shag and rich color.

    Read More
    KJS June 2, 2015
  • Awesome Shag Rug!!
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This rug is thick, made well, and absolutely beautiful. From the moment I rolled it out in our living room, I was amazed at the quality. I admit I had a Safavieh rug before from Overstock and it has held up and looks great so using it in another room currently. But this shag rug is a very thick heavy quality of shag! The color is perfect...deep rich ivory....Very pleased with this purchase!!

    Read More
    Sharon E. July 20, 2017
  • So comfy
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this rug after reading all the reviews, and very happy with the purchase. The rug is so soft, we didn't even need a rug pad.

    Read More
    laurainrr October 15, 2012
  • Finally ordered it & love it!
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I deliberated for so long, what size, and most of all what color. Ordered a smaller one for in front of a door where my dog loves to lay down, but it was beige. Not too crazy about the beige because it looked soiled even as brand new. So, I took the chance and went with the Ivory color and it's perfect. I put it in my family room with dark brown leather furniture and it looks so well and brightens up the room. The 8.6x12 is perfect size to fill out the room, but not allow the rug to reach the edge of the leather sofa and chair. That will avoid soiling with feet placed on it all the time. My little 9 mos old granddaughter is much safer on this than the hard marble underneath. I don't think I need a rug pad; it is quite plush as it is. I vacuumed it with my Shark with the roller turned off and there was no problem. Fluffed it all up with out pulling at all. Perfect light neutral shade - not too white, not too yellow or creamy, but a pure ivory shade that is delightful. I've always had large wool oriental rugs, beautiful, but I wanted a clean more modern change for the room. This did it!

    Read More
    Linda July 10, 2017
  • don't hesitate to purchase this plush rug
    Verified Purchase

    I HAVE LOOKED FOR A BEAUTIFUL THICK "REAL" SHAG RUG FOR MONTHS AND KEPT COMING BACK TO THIS ONE EVERY TIME. EVEN THOUGH THE REVIEWS WERE TYPICALLY POSITIVE I WAS HESITANT TO ACTUALLY GO THROUGH WITH THE PURCHASE ONLINE WITHOUT FEELING THE QUALITY AND SOFTNESS OF THE RUG FIRST. I'AM SO GLAD I WENT AHEAD AND ORDERED THIS RUG!! NOT ONLY IS IT A VISUALLY BEAUTIFUL RUG BUT IT IS ALSO VERY THICK AND PLUSH (TIGHTLY WOVEN WITH NO SIGHT OF THE BACKING BETWEEN FIBER STRANDS) IT IS EXTREMELY SOFT AND FEELS WONDERFUL UNDERFOOT. I DID PUT DOWN A 1/4 INCH FELT PAD UNDERNEATH BUT HAVE A FEELING YOU MAY NOT NEED A PAD. THE COLOR IS ALSO BEAUTIFUL. TRUE IVORY-NO YELLOW CAST- MORE OF AN OFF-WHITE. PERFECT TO HIDE ANY EVENTUAL WEAR. MY FAMILY LOVES TO LAY ON IT AND I HAVE NOT HAD ANY SHEDDING OR ODOR ISSUES. I USE A SHARK NAVIGATOR VACUUM ON IT WITH NO DIFFICULTY AND IT VACUUMS UP WELL NO MATTING AT ALL. I WAS GOING TO PURCHASE DIRECT FROM A CARPET MILL IN GEORGIA THAT OFFERED AMAZING 3INCH SHAG RUGS FOR A REASONABLE PRICE BUT STILL WOULD HAVE PAID AN ADDITIONAL $300-400.00 OVER WHAT I PAID OVERSTOCK. I'AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY CHOICE!!! IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING PURCHASING THIS RUG DON'T PUT IT OFF FOR MONTHS LIKE I DID. YOU WON'T REGRET IT. FANTASTIC OVERSTOCK PURCHASE!!( F.Y.I .I DID GET THIS DURING A PROMOTIONAL SALE FOR UNDER $***ENJOY!!!)

    Read More
    homedoyen August 3, 2014
  • My second of these rugs!
    Verified Purchase

    The rug feels so nice! It is soft, plush, and thick! I previously purchased a grey Safavieh California Cozy rug and love it, so I purchased this one for another room. If you are in the market for a shag rug, I highly recommend this! It doesn't shed, and it can be vacuumed with a higher/taller carpet setting. It looks higher quality than the price!

    Read More
    Jillian H. December 5, 2015
  • Excellent Value
    Verified Purchase

    The quality of this rug is excellent compared to other rugs in the same price range. It's very soft and plush and the ivory color works perfectly in my living room. The added bonus is no shedding like many other shag rugs.

    Read More
    kbell30 August 28, 2014
  • Great buy
    Verified Purchase

    We bought this rug in ivory for our family room/movie room, which had a tile floor. This rug did exactly what we wanted it to: it made the room cozy and inviting. The feel of the shag is great on your feet, and the color is exactly what I was looking for. We've had this rug for several months now and have been completely happy with it.

    Read More
    Lexy O. March 21, 2016
  • Such a deal
    Verified Purchase

    Had been looking at a variety of low cost shag rugs at Ikea, Lowes, Home Depot, etc. The yarn felt skimpy and the pile was not very deep. I agonized over making choice for close to two months because I just couldn't find the quality I was looking for at the right price. I decided, after reading the reviews on this product to try this rug. WOW!!! This rug is lovely, and dense with a variety of yarn sizes to really create an amazing shag rug. Walking barefoot on this rug is a an absolute pleasure! I am so pleased with this purchase, and the price is absolutely right! The only drawback is that the rug definitely has a new carpet smell and it was "off gassing" for a week at least. For those who may be sensitive to this sort of thing I have to mention it. You also want to make sure you have a vacuum that can handle VERY dense deep pile before you get this one. All in all I LOVE IT! Great purchase!

    Read More
    shrimpngrits April 25, 2014
  • Soft, shaggy and beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    This rug is very will made. It's a light ivory color and thick and plush. I didn't notice any smells as some reviewers have stated. I would recommend this rug to anyone. I am very please with the price and quality of this rug.

    Read More
    Amanda S. January 5, 2016
  • Great Rug, Great Value
    Verified Purchase

    After reading all the positive reviews, I went ahead and purchased this rug.....and I was extremely happy when it arrived. For the price, the quality of this rug is outstanding....as mentioned in numerous reviews, no pad is necessary and the density of the shag is fantastic for the price. Had looked all over for a modern shag rug and this beat them all! It is definitely more of a creamy ivory....slight "buttercream" tinge to it.....but would work with pretty much any color.

    Read More
    brianna2211 October 15, 2013
  • Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    Looks pretty & color is perfect true ivory. It was a leap of faith buying a rug this size online without being able to really see what I was getting. So happy I took a chance on this rug, I love it, it's everything as described. Similar rugs cost 2 or 3 or 4 times the O.co price so I feel like I got a bargain. The shag is really fluffy & soft it feels nice under foot. Didn't buy a pad to go underneath & it's been fine on my wide plank wood floor. Since the rug is so thick I didn't feel a pad was necessary. I vacuum regularly with my Shark vac using the beater with no problem although it is a bit of work out as the carpet pile is so high & thick. Huge bonus, this rug does NOT shed. Highly recommend!

    Read More
    amhnc1 May 14, 2018
  • Super plush!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this item for the master bedroom in our new home to bring some coziness to the cold hardwood floors and boy did this do the trick. This rug is super plush and fibers are thickly woven - you barely notice footprints after walking over it. Item arrived earlier than originally stated and was nicely packaged. Mine did take a few days (a week actually) to lay flat, but I think this was more specific to my delivery than in general - there was one area that looked as if it got folded over by accident when rolling up the rug initially and it just took a while to flatten itself out. I've purchased SEVERAL other rugs from overstock/Safavieh and have had absolutely no issues whatsoever. Definitely use a rug pad under these rugs as they are super slippery on hardwood floors. I used a nice thick felt one under mine and it feels amazing. I'm having a hard time keeping my dogs from sleeping on it as its so soft! Last comment would be about the color - if you're looking for a true whitish ivory, than this is not the rug for you. This leans more towards the yellowy side. I was initially looking for something lighter/paler but it still works in the room so its here to stay. Yet another great purchase from overstock!

    Read More
    Joey A. December 9, 2016
  • Absolutely Perfect!!!
    Verified Purchase

    After researching several area rugs for a couple of months I decided on purchasing the Safavieh California Cozy Shag Rug in Ivory. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!!! After unrolling it and placing it in our living room, I couldn't believe that I bought such a gorgeous rug for the great price that I did!! True to size and color. It is thick, cushioned and a dream. My daughter absolutely loves to lay on it, she prefers it to our large sectional sofa. Shipping was fast, I will be purchasing a few more for other areas in our house.

    Read More
    • Safavieh California Cozy Plush Ivory Shag Rug (8'6 x 12') - 8'6 x 12'
    Brandi S. September 25, 2016
  • Shagalicious
    Verified Purchase

    I have been looking forever for just the right shag rug for my master bedroom and I finally found it. Believe all the other reviews this is a fantastic rug, it doesn't shed, is the perfect creamy ivory, and is so plush you don't actually need a rug pad. It is so nice to walk on that even my husband commented. It is the perfect versatile option for many transitional and modern styles. Love it.

    Read More
    broussard10 February 4, 2013
  • Exceeded our expectations! Fantastic purchase!
    Verified Purchase

    We received the rug yesterday and it looks gorgeous in our living room! It is contemporary looking, looks very expensive, good quality material - we could not be happier with it!! I think the value is also fantastic. We were considering some other similar rugs, (e.g. Crate & Barrel Heather Shag Rug), but those rugs did not have as high ratings and prices was 2x -- so glad we went with this one instead!

    Read More
    modernmamma April 17, 2014