Today: $431.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for President Writing Desk

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Labor intensive but worth it!
    Verified Purchase

    I carefully considered the reviews before purchasing this desk. Reviews like... will need power tools, hire a handyman, two adults, takes five hours etc. had me concerned, but nonetheless I wanted this desk so I ventured forth. I single handedly put this beast together myself in about three and a half hours and I am petite woman. I did have to open the boxes in the garage and carry the large pieces in one by one. I meticulously placed camlock screws for the better part of an hour and a half, but that was truly the hardest work of it. I used a rubber lined gardening glove to ease the torture on my hand from the screw driver handle and it also allowed me to grip more effectively. I did have to use a power tool for a few spots that were not predrilled purposely. Though the directions don't say a drill is required, I don't know how you'd do it otherwise unless you possessed a magically powered wood drilling hand of steel. So, overall awesome looking desk, no problem with drawer alignment as other reviewers stated, but quite beastly to assemble. I tamed it, so can you.

    Read More
    kcmama10 May 31, 2013
  • ordeal
    Verified Purchase

    It is a good deal, a solid, beautiful, reasonably priced desk. But it gave me a hard time The two delivery packages are so heavy as to cause problems to a simple city dweller like me. One of them was over 80 pounds. I had to help the UPS to unload and put it in my garage. Then, as most other reviewers say, the assembly was difficult and laborious. I am old and without the assistance of a capable relative I would not have succeeded. A final item is that the desk plate arrived with a longitudinal splint, end to end. I have no doubts that Overstock would have taken it back and replaced but the perspective of packaging it and starting over again was too much to contemplate. We found another alternative. I enjoy my beautiful desk now but frankly I am not sure that it should be offered by an organization with the profile of Overstock without special warnings.

    Read More
    juan555 December 10, 2010
  • Very Pleased!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a handsome desk, dark brown wood. If you want to have it in the middle of the room, instead of against a wall, it looks just fine since the back is finished. It has a large top space which is great because I fit my printer, laptop, a catch-all basket and a little more on the top. I put the whole thing together myself, my fiancee helped me to put the top on because it was so heavy but otherwise, as long as you have a hammer and small power drill or screwdriver you'll be all set (though I do recommend the power drill as it helps speed things up). I only had one problem with the left side drawer - they pre-drilled the holes for the gliding bracket too close to the front so the drawer doesn't close flush against the desk. I could probably go back and redrill the holes to move the gliding bracket back but it doesn't cause a problem so it's fine. No damage when it was delivered and it arrived in a timely fashion! I'm very happy! Also, the front pull out drawer is great for pencils and small odds and ends. Would definitely recommend if you need a lot of workspace!

    Read More
    dogs2house September 22, 2010
  • A Few Issues
    Verified Purchase

    I am experienced at assembling furniture. The directions were fair, takes about 5 hours to assemble. We love the look and the materials are quite good. However, some of the holes predrilled for assembly parts were "off" and I had to adjust the location of the holes for proper function (center drawer hit top of desk when closing, etc.) Not all parts fit perfectly and the drawers don't align exactly. We bought for the style and got it, but these need some work.

    Read More
    northgardener December 12, 2009
  • Solid and Beautiful.
    Verified Purchase

    This is one amazing quality and handsome looking desk. Definitely takes three hours to assemble WITH an electric power drill. Do yourself a favor and buy a power drill if you don't have one. Otherwise be prepared to spend 5 to 6 hours assembling this. There are about 100 screws :) The top panel along is about 70 lbs. Assembly instructions are very good. When you assemble the draw slides, make sure you follow the instruction graphics to put the screws in the appropriate holes, you can easily mess this up and lead to more work later or uneven drawers. For me the toughest part was that when putting the top panel on, two wooden dowels wouldn't fit in nicely so I had to remove them, which is totally fine. The desk is still as sturdy as it needs to be. This desk is easily over twice of its price sold at overstock elsewhere. Very deep and large. Take a tape out and get a sense of how big it is by reading the dimensions on the product details page.

    Read More
    tangman November 10, 2010
  • waste of time

    Ordered twice and the order got cancelled both the time due to "low inventory". Really? It still shows 'available'.

    Read More
    pkhati July 14, 2015
  • Take your time
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful desk for a very good price but be prepared to take your time. It does take at least 6 hours to put this together carefully. The top came with a large crack which they replaced no problem. Really a terrific deal for the money.

    Read More
    Makramer July 8, 2015
  • Nice big and attractive... and manly
    Verified Purchase

    This desk shares space inour living room. It sits behind our sofa and blends in well with our dark wood furniture. It's clean lines are stately. It's also a comfortable work surface with plenty of storage. There is a big filing drawer on the left that can hold either legal or letter hanging folders depending on which rod you use. There is a wide shallow middle drawer. And there are two deeper narrow drawers on the right. I like that the legs are furniture style. It keeps the VERY large desk from feeling too big for the space.

    Read More
    lpetersmd July 2, 2015
  • Perfect Office Desk
    Verified Purchase

    I approached the purchase of this desk with the obvious skepticism - buying it online etc. I had eyed a similar looking desk at Crate and Barrel that was double the price of this desk for a while hoping that they would drop the price. Months went by and I decided to look online - I spent hours on Overstock reading all reviews. I finally bit the bullet and bought this desk. Honestly, the quality of the desk is comparable to that at the Crate and Barrel store at half the price. It took my wife and me 4 leisurely hours to put this together. I'm so glad I made this purchase!!! I would absolutely recommend this desk. All my friends and family have had great things to say about the desk.

    Read More
    william a. May 18, 2015
  • Really?
    Verified Purchase

    Could have done better online at the bidding website, you know the one, for a lot less money and aggravation. Took a full day to assemble. Needed two people and a professor to assemble and understand the horribly written instructions. No doubt, written in a foreign country. The desk is almost entirely particle board and every single aspect of this desk had to be assembled. Have your toolbox ready to go. I am a novice at assembly and by the end of the day, I wanted to set this desk on fire. I would have returned it, however once out of the original box it came in, there was no way it was going back in. And the return shipping would have been outrageous, as I do not receive the same discounts afforded to big companies. All in all, I wish I had never ordered it and will probably never return to overstock.com.

    Read More
    duronderosa June 21, 2014
  • great style, monstrous assembly
    Verified Purchase

    Only good thing about this desk are the style and wood material. I would not have purchased if I knew what a nightmare it was to put together. I've assembled A LOT of furniture. Most of my furniture has required assembly. This by far has been the most difficult item I've ever had to assemble. Assembly has take 6 hours and still not complete bc now I have to reach out to Overstock to request more camlocks.The camlocks are made of some type of plastic hybrid material and I had 10 break during assembly. They dont provide extra. So with broken camlocks, there is zero chance of the piece not being wobbly.

    Read More
    jilliana3000 May 6, 2014
  • Wonderful Desk
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great desk. It has plenty of storage and has a classic/contemporary feel and style. Assembly went really well until it was time for the top. We finally disobeyed the instructions and turned it upside down and the top went on very easily. This really is a great desk!

    Read More
    ksell May 25, 2017
  • Fantastic Desk!
    Verified Purchase

    This desk is very solid and well made. We made the center area a drawer instead of a pull-out for a keyboard (the hardware is in the box for either). I've been very pleased with the desk and would recommend it to a friend.

    Read More
    Amanda P. February 20, 2017
  • great desk!
    Verified Purchase

    looks great, sturdy, Good quality

    Read More
    Ella H. February 3, 2017
  • perfect desk
    Verified Purchase

    Big enough for highschool kids

    Read More
    OstkUser64653 December 20, 2016
  • GOOD QUALITY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent desk. Very spacious with lots of leg room and at the same time lots of storage without looking cumbersome. Huge plus it is made of quality material. But beware it is heavy I think a petite person would have trouble assembling it. I am somewhat athletic and assembled it myself no problem in 2 hours. The instructions were very good as well. The only problem is this desk seems to never be in stock otherwise I might buy another!

    Read More
    Peter W. July 10, 2016
  • This desk holds it all and looks great!
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to assemble but it takes a while. Well worth the wait! I have had the desk for a few years now and it has held up beautifully to daily use.

    Read More
    hippikidz June 8, 2016
  • Great!
    Verified Purchase

    Love the desk. It was definitely difficult to put together but once it was done, it looked beautiful. It was larger than expected but fits the room very well.

    Read More
    fvmasry March 8, 2016
  • Warped
    Verified Purchase

    The desk top warped after a few months so the middle drawer hit every rim you open it.

    Read More
    cancelosit January 1, 2016
  • Great desk
    Verified Purchase

    Extremely happy with this desk. It took a few hours to put together and the instructions were not great, but the finished product is very sturdy, sleek and of high quality.

    Read More
    Deborah S. November 12, 2015
Sponsored Links