Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Portola RST Living Acrylic Barstools (Set of 2)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Stylish & Sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    As a 250 plus guy, I was a little concerned when I read other reviews about the possibility of not supporting larger people. I was even more concerned when I saw the relatively small box that arrived 5 days after I placed my order. Much to my pleasant surprise, the chairs were very easy to assemble and are much sturdier than I would have imagined. They adjust easily and are actually quite comfortable. Best of all is their sleek design. I have a very small contemporary apartment and wanted a clear acrylic stool to give the room a more spacious feel. Mission Accomplished. These slide easily under the counter and almost dissapear to the eye.

    Read More
    dsal01 August 8, 2011
  • Beautiful but edges are sharp!
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered 2 of these ghost stools for the end of our kitchen island in my modern home renovation. They are really pretty in person and I love the way they look. Unfortunately, they are really uncomfortable for me to sit on. I usually have shorts on in the house and the edges cut into my skin uncomfortably leaving a painful welt. I have to be careful when I slide off because it feels like it's scraping off my skin. My Husband concurs, he says he can feel the edge through his pants so he dosen't like to sit at the counter long. We are not large people.

    Read More
    oldbridgemom November 16, 2011
  • Good with a few notes
    Verified Purchase

    Pros: -Great design -Great price -Clear seats disappear into your room when not in use (reducing visual footprint) -Fairly easy to assemble Cons: -The acrylic will scratch fairly easily. After a few days, there are some scuffs already (there are acrylic scratch removers out there, buy one) -The attention to detail on the craftsmanship is good, not great (e.g. the rounding of the acrylic is a bit imperfect) -No sufficient padding under base. Will scratch floors if left as is. Tips: -As others have noted, make sure to remove the black cap from the center pole (it is tough, you'll need channel locks or pliers). -The plastic disk that the seat sits on needs to go a certain way (fatter part of the wedge at the bottom I believe), note the arrow and the directions. -You'll want to figure out some felt padding or feet to apply under the base or it will surely scratch your wood floors. -These chairs are not Roomba-friendly. My Roomba "humps" the chair base for a few minutes before moving on - resulting in scratches and scuffs on the base.

    Read More
    charlston July 25, 2012
  • Barstool
    Verified Purchase

    I was very pleased with the ordered barstools. It took a little time to assemble, but the finished product was well worth it! The instructions were somewhat confusing because the undermount disk has a thicker & thinner area & can only fit one way with the screws provided.

    Read More
    kadtz June 17, 2013
  • LOVE THESE BARSTOOLS!!
    Verified Purchase

    I am totally in love with my new barstools! I live in a 600 sq. ft. studio apartment, and these are exactly what I needed. They are small in scale and dont take up valuable space, but after sitting on them for a few hours a day for about 2 weeks now, I can confirm that they are sturdy and pretty comfortable (as much as a backless barstool can be). The acrylic seats allow the barstool to almost disappear, so they make a statement without adding too much visual weight. I've scoured the internet and, for the price, these are by far the best option out there for anyone looking for modern, unique barstools. Assembly was relatively easy. Think I spent about 30 min on the pair. The only hiccup I had was getting the end cap off the center rod. Ladies, I'd recommend a strong man to help you get it off :)

    Read More
    ldfenimore December 22, 2011
  • Perfect!
    Verified Purchase

    These are sturdy, top quality bar stools. Spring loaded and can easily seat an over 200 lb. person. Great product, great price, great service.

    Read More
    abbeyroxie December 20, 2011
  • Complimented constantly!
    Verified Purchase

    As others said, these chairs are great for a minimizing the visual space thing. I like an eclectic design and these are just enough funkiness to mix up our craftsman style kitchen. Very sturdy and easy to put together.

    Read More
    wvjule December 19, 2011
  • These barstools are amazing
    Verified Purchase

    These barstools are amazing. The quality is excellent. Acrylic is very thick. They are made well. My husband loves them & he is a very picky man. We have gotten so many compliments. Everyone who sees them thinks they are very cool. My kids love them. They are also very easy to clean. I would highly recommend!

    Read More
    bobfred December 15, 2011
  • Perfect Size and Functionality
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased two of these stools - primarily because they were acrylic and very reasonable in price. I was initially concerned my order had been separated, disbelieving that both chairs could be shipped in the one small box that I received - until I lifted the box and realized its weight. These stools are heavier than I expected and the acrylic doesn't look like "cheap plastic" as I had worried might be the case. I'm glad I took the chance to purchase these - the inexpensive price had caused my hesitation -but in this case you get MORE that what you would pay for elsewhere.

    Read More
    mygoldwyn October 31, 2011
  • Compact
    Verified Purchase

    I had a very small area to work with, so I looked extensively for a small width stool that would not over-power my small space. These are perfect for a small space. These are very sturdy, comfortable and also attractive.

    Read More
    2pickyconsumer October 11, 2011
  • good quality-great value
    Verified Purchase

    These stools are reasonably sturdy, reasonably well-built, and have a great modernist look. they are light, easy to move, don't scratch the floor. VERY good price. we are not very large people (not tiny, but not big or tall) and it's not clear that the pneumatic mechanisms would stand up to a lot of weight. however, for "average" sized adults they are terrific!

    Read More
    engineerwithmoderntaste October 17, 2010
  • Portola barstools
    Verified Purchase

    These stools look just as they do in the picture. My primary goal, in addition to aesthetics was to find a comfortable seat that was resistant to scratching and tearing as experienced by the stools we replaced. I'm paying close attention to how well these stools will hold up. The stools are extremely lightweight - in fact much lighter than I would have expected. If you're seeking back support these are not the stools for you. Also, they're not inviting to the heavier guests although they can hold them. It's a little disconcerting at first that the upper portion of the stool rocks slightly left and right. Once you get used to it it's fine. The kids don't weigh enough to lower themselves on the stool although they can raise themselves higher. All in all if you're looking for a contemporary stool that looks good give them a try.

    Read More
    snapples1 July 17, 2010
  • very small box !
    Verified Purchase

    When I saw one small box.. holding 2 barstools.. I was a little nervous ! Easy to assemble, usual vague instructions.. but was able to assemble these quite quickly. Over all they are very high quality... only a couple of REALLY cheap trim pieces... no big deal. Very Glam...

    Read More
    bottumzup June 17, 2010
  • Poor quality product and overstock service
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered two sets of these chairs. I barely used them, and, conveniently, shortly after the manufacturer's warranty expired, three out of the four chairs developed the same problem with the hydraulics system, they would slowly slide down as someone was sitting on them. I called the manufacturer, but they sent me back to overstock. When I contacted overstock, the company was more concerned about preventing me from writing a back review rather than looking in to the issues with this product or its warranty or return/refund policies.

    Read More
    Ellen S. July 14, 2016
  • Hydraulic Mechanism Goes Out After 1 YEAR
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased these chair at the end of 2014. They were gorgeous and fit right in to my modern home. These chairs for the most part were used by my kids. After my warranty seemed to be up, so did the hydraulic mechanism. 3 out of the 4 chairs I purchased now slowly fall when anyone sits on them, even my 60lb son. I am sure it is only a matter of time before the 4th one goes out, as they all seem to go out 1 by 1. The chair are lovely at first sight but not worth the price or investment. Overstock is of NO ASSISTANCE, after the 1 year warranty goes out. Save your money, the hassle and buy something of better quality.

    Read More
    L B. February 14, 2016
  • Acrylic Bar Stools
    Verified Purchase

    They were cute in the beginning, but scratched easily. Didn't last a year.

    Read More
    ousooners98 May 13, 2015
  • Perfect!
    Verified Purchase

    I love these light weight barstools for my kitchen. They are perfect if you're looking for barstools that doesn't intrude the space. They are very sturdy too!

    Read More
    Jennifer M. April 14, 2015
  • Sturdy and durable
    Verified Purchase

    After about 2 years of using the barstools, the are very durable. My only issue which isn't huge is the rubber at the bottom of the stools is now starting to come off. The stools work fine but the manufacturer needs to find super glue or something to keep the rubber underneath the stools from coming off. Otherwise they are in excellent condition and I have had no problems with them.

    Read More
    K_Les15 January 17, 2015
  • Great -for a while then not. 5 stars to Two
    Verified Purchase

    Stools were great at first but they don't last. By the first year the rubber ring on the bottom was brittle and breaking off in pieces. The hydrolic was broken on both of them soon after. Disappointing, need to throw out and buy different ones now.

    Read More
    Mommerlot November 4, 2014
  • Acrylic barstools
    Verified Purchase

    I love these stools. They are cool looking and very subtle. I needed a stool that didn't overpower the kitchen bar and these are perfect. A great buy. I bought two and then ordered two more. Easy to put together too.

    Read More
    sassyvita September 30, 2014
Sponsored Links