Today: $169.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Plymouth Bookcase

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Excellent quality
    Verified Purchase

    I am a tough customer to please. I am constantly accused of being OCD. Simply put, this piece is top-quality. It looks like an $800 book shelf. It has very deep shelves, and is about 7+ feet tall. I'm 6' 1", and used to being able to see the tops of furniture. It's very nice to have such a quality piece. Every part of it is wood, down to the backdrop (the backdrop is about a centimeter thick or so, but is solid wood). VERY heavy, and just quality. Thank you overstock! By the way...I bought the plymouth desk to accompany this bookshelf. They look excellent together! Top-notch.

    Read More
    yount09 February 4, 2011
  • Sturdy and Stylish
    Verified Purchase

    Once it's put together, this is a sturdy and very stylish piece of furniture. The assembly process isn't difficult, just a bit tedious. It took me about an hour to put the bookcase together. Just be careful to make sure to pound the pieces together snugly before you twist the lock nuts. If you don't, small gaps will remain between pieces that could affect the stability. It would also be a good idea to have a second person to help, since these big boys weigh about 140 pounds when built. Overall, this is an excellent product and a good value. As always, the Overstock delivery service is quick and the packaging leaves you with enough foam and cardboard to build a weekend retreat.

    Read More
    guruman November 2, 2010
  • Nice solid furniture
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered two bookcases, which arrived very quickly and intact as has been my usual experience with Overstock orders. These are large, heavy bookcases. They are solid, and the finish is beautiful. It is the darkest brown, and it blends with the black-finish furniture also in my study. They really look black unless the sunlight is on them, when you can see the brown come through. Not difficult to put together, and they really don't look like furniture that we assembled at home! I've come to expect strong chemical smells from imported home-assembled furniture, but these bookcases had none so we were pleasantly surprised. Nice, tall, solid bookcases that look like they came from a fine furniture store, and the style will blend with anything from modern to traditional. I'm thinking of ordering one or two more!

    Read More
    meagain70 December 14, 2010
  • Terrific!
    Verified Purchase

    This bookshelf is a sturdy, attractive piece with huge space (my tallest books can stand up) between shelves. They are also quite deep. It took me and one friend about an hour to put together. It is heavy and takes two people to move the boxes and to stand up.

    Read More
    slg44 September 8, 2010
  • Solid bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    Great tall bookcase. Quality wise this thing is great. Color looks black but is a dark espresso. Only way you'd know is direct sunlight. It matches black trimmed seating very well. The only cons are very minor and come with putting it together. 1. The little inserts that the shelfs rest on, some of them had the heads just a little big for the holes. It's just a little piece of metal that is either from where they cut the pieces or hammered them in manufacturing. Easily fixed with a file or with a pair of wire cutters. Note I only had this problem on 3 of them. The rest went in (with some twisting). 2. The back piece is folded in half (for shipping) and taped on the backside. Problem with this is that the foam that it's packed in stuck to the tape inbetween the two pieces. Took a couple minutes to get it all off. Overall it's a great book case and a great value. The two very minor problems shouldn't keep you from getting this if you like the style.

    Read More
    mikefrench November 19, 2012
  • nice
    Verified Purchase

    Arrived quick, no damages, pretty easy to put together but did take about an hour. It looks great, is very solid, and it's huge - which is exactly what I wanted.

    Read More
    j0ya July 3, 2008
  • Class Act
    Verified Purchase

    This bookcase has really beautiful, heavy wood on the sides and shelves that make a "fine furniture" statement in our living room. The only thing that gives away it's "assembled at home" status is the bifold chipboard that forms the back. Once assembled, it's not really that noticeable (especially if you load it up with books), but if you use a shelf or two to draw attention to collectibles or a favorite art piece, the crack down the back of the veneered back will be noticeable. I'm being really picky here. Overall (and for the price) we are delighted with our new acquisition!

    Read More
    udontcarewhatmynameis October 4, 2012
  • Fabulous bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    This bookcase is very solid and heavy, so, as recommended, 2 people (at times) made it easier to put together. The instuctions were clear, extra hardware was included, everything was easypeasy to assemble. The result is a large, attractive bookcase that, for me, was a catalyst to reconfigure a useless room into an inviting one. Thank you, Overstock!

    Read More
    suezq513 December 20, 2011
  • Solid, quality bookcases
    Verified Purchase

    As others have noted, these are large and can serve multiple purposes. I plan to use them a long time.

    Read More
    amygdala99 December 11, 2011
  • Lots of compliments received
    Verified Purchase

    These dark rubberwood bookshelves are sturdy, tall, and handsome. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it's a bear to put together. We bought 5 of these then 4 more so assembling the first one was tough, but then it was easier after that. If you can't afford built-in bookshelves but like the look of substantial furniture, I'd recommend purchasing these. We live in a state famous for furniture making, but the industry has taken a licking during the economic slump and has just recently started rebounding. It's a chore to find solid wood furniture that's affordable so I'd recommend you buy these while you can.

    Read More
    chapelhilldame August 25, 2010
  • Plymouth Bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful bookcase for the price. The bookcase came in 2 boxes, well packed. I assembled my self in a few hours, but I would recommend help. Highly recommended!

    Read More
    Boyce G. July 17, 2009
  • Beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    This is really really sturdy, solid wood and a beautiful stain. The design is sleek too with the top panel and the nice end pieces. It was a bit hard to put together but no more difficult than any other furniture I've bought online. This could be built with one person alone. It really looks gorgeous in my modern room.

    Read More
    moderngirl99 July 18, 2008
  • Solid Bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    Very solid, sturdy, easy to put together. Great looking. The rubberwood with Espresso finish is stylish. This will last a lot longer than cheaper compressed board/veneer type shelves.

    Read More
    vpinphilly July 17, 2008
  • Great looking bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    I really like the height and depth of this bookcase. It looks more expensive than it is and it is solid wood. It was not too difficult to put together and arrived on the day it was expected. Great quality and would recommend this bookcase.

    Read More
    OstkUser22846 March 9, 2015
  • beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    This is probably one of the best pieces of furniture I own. It is well made, sturdy, looks great and durable. I would store all of my medical books on the shelves and they did not bow or break. Have recommended the product to many people and would definitely purchase this again if I needed!!!

    Read More
    Helen M. February 22, 2015
  • Beautiful and Great Quality!
    Verified Purchase

    This bookcase arrived in 2 boxes and was packed well and in excellent condition. The quality is excellent and it looks high end. Not one scratch on anything. The backing board is hefty--not flimsy. Forget Ashley and other low quality veneer furniture sellers. You'll need to sit and read the through the assembly instructions and take your time putting it together. You'll need 2 people to set it upright and put it in place. It's heavy. All pieces fit together well. The instructions say you need to use some special allen wrentch/hex key but you can just use a flat head screw driver. Our only issue, which was small, was some of the shelf pegs were flared at the end and we couldn't slide them in, so we just ground down the flared part. No biggie. (We could have gone to the store and bought new ones I suppose.) The bookcase is in our formal living room with a grand piano. Looks great. It is not made in China. I think it said Indonesia. I highly recommend this bookcase.

    Read More
    susiecambodia2 February 2, 2015
  • Quality, beauty and perfect
    Verified Purchase

    The absolute best bookcase in the world for our transitional style living room. Loved the first one so much I bought a second. Now we have a matched set that surrounds our 48" flat screen. Color is rich dark espresso. You can see the grain well and they are solid wood. Just gorgeous. And my daughters entire book collection finally can be displayed!

    Read More
    azmarketingmom October 9, 2014
  • Beautiful and substantial bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two of these and had a little bit of trouble in a couple of places where the shelves didn't fit quite right. Nothing major or attention getting. These are very large and imposing pieces. Bought a smaller glass fronted and shelved piece in dark brown to go between them to keep them from looking too massive for the room. They look great!

    Read More
    k8shopper August 10, 2014
  • Great buy! Very pleased
    Verified Purchase

    Love, love, love this bookcase. It's very dark, almost black-but in the light looks like dark chocolate. I love that it's sturdy, sleek and stylish!

    Read More
    juscallmesis July 22, 2014
  • wonderful bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    I was very please with my purchase of this bookcase. It is very spacious, well made and solid. It is very affordable compared to other bookcases that are comparable in quality. I am hoping to purchase an additional one in the near future.

    Read More
    mcdrobes December 12, 2011
Sponsored Links