Add to cart to see price
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Palram Silver 8ft. x 8-ft. Snap and Grow Greenhouse

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Worth the money!
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $5.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    Yep, considered cheaper greenhouses like harbor freight but with overstock discount, I went for it. Good decision! 10 months later, with direct Southwest sun, 60mph winds, it is still sturdy, and I don't worry about it anymore. Yeah, it's sometimes noisy with the panels rattling in the wind, and the plastic door hardware is a bit flimsy. I cannot praise the extruded aluminum frame enough, what with all the bracing and engineering. Yeah I threw a rope over the center just in case during extra gusty days, but with the base anchored as suggested, I really feel that was unnecessary. I installed a solar exhaust fan, interior shade cloth, misting and irrigation drip system, automatic vent opener, and cut in two vents.

    Read More
    W. F. April 23, 2017
  • Love this greenhouse!
    Verified Purchase

    We put this up in February when we had some unseasonably warm weather for Ohio. Two days after we finished the assembly, we got snow and ice. Last week we had 50 to 60 mile an hour winds that took down several trees in our horse pasture. I kept looking out the window expecting the greenhouse to be a mangled mess, but it is still standing without even a scratch. We did anchor it down to a cement pad with special screws (purchased at the local hardware) and the brackets that were provided. It took us about ten hours over two days to finish the assembly. The directions are difficult to understand (pictures/no words) and if it was just me putting it together, I would have thrown it across the yard. My husband is more patient and figured it out. We made some mistakes with which screws to use and had to move some brackets, but no major issues. The plastic seems thin but it holds up well and the one day it was 27 degrees outside the greenhouse was at 80 degrees! My roof window arrived bent, but I called the number on the box and they had me email some pics and sent the replacement window in two days. I will post a picture after this batch of snow melts. Can't wait to start working in this greenhouse!

    Read More
    gr8cape March 29, 2017
  • Greenhouse
    Verified Purchase

    False advertisement Does not include shelves as shown and discribed and does not say shel vets not included

    Read More
    OstkUser1045632 March 27, 2017
  • Blew away
    Verified Purchase

    The first wind blew it away. Had it reassembled and it blew and twisted!

    Read More
    peamay February 12, 2017
  • For the money
    Verified Purchase

    It took longer for my husband and I to assemble...one issue was one of the doors was not square....Overstock has been great in correcting the issue...I really love it....great house for budding plants.

    Read More
    alexis m. May 3, 2016
  • Modified greenhouse
    Verified Purchase

    I complemented the look with pressure treated lumber with the stainless steel frame I also modified the look with a wood entry door This item allowed me creativity and flexibility Love the cathedral ceiling and not worrying bout broken glass Aldo withstood hivh winds and major snow storm

    Read More
    Marilyn P. March 12, 2016
  • Easy to assemble!
    Verified Purchase

    This is my second greenhouse and I bought this brand because my mom bought one last year. I put it up by myself but it would have been much easier if I had another person. Follow the instructions step by step and you will have no issues with assembly. Would love to buy another one next year as my hobby grows.

    Read More
    Julia D. February 8, 2016
  • Love, Love, Love my greenhouse!
    Verified Purchase

    Couldn't be happier with my greenhouse. Strongly recommend a irrigation system as it gets hot and its hard to keep up with watering! Love it. Great quality and style.

    Read More
    Amelia R. February 1, 2016
  • Palram Greenhouse
    Verified Purchase

    Not a 'snap' to assemble the greenhouse as Palram promotes. A file along with a good wooden mallet for my greenhouse was needed from the beginning. I'm not a novice when it comes to construction work and it still took two full days to assemble! But, once assembled the greenhouse seems sturdy enough.

    Read More
    Jim E. September 8, 2015
  • Hard to assemble, but great product
    Verified Purchase

    Hard to assemble, but great product

    Read More
    mellyh August 22, 2015
  • totally happy with new Greenhouse
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this after shopping around for over 2 years. We have a smaller one at the school where I teach gardening. It was a fantastic bargain and I have recommended it widely on FB this last week. There are a few things I wish I had know before starting: the fittings are super tight and had to be shaved a bit to start them into their adjoining pieces even with lubricant--nice tight fit but time consuming, some of the pictures did not make sense to me and there is no text at all explaining construction--sometimes too 3-4 attempts on fitting pieces to get it right. I did almost all of it myself and it took about 10 hours start to finish after creating a solid base. We were missing 2 pieces and had one mislabeled but customer service contacted me promptly and emailed me to get the exact part # and promised quick fix. It is very sturdy in the wind--25-30 MPH immediately after construction without issue. It held its temperature well at 10-12 degrees above ambient. Vent works well but I am tall (5'9") and it is a stretch to reach it.

    Read More
    dikoehler December 2, 2014
  • Installation complete - first impressions
    Verified Purchase

    In May 2013 I put a hot tub in the yard for my wife. Come October she said she wanted an enclosure around it for the winter. After much research I selected the Palram Silver 8x8-foot Snap and Grow Greenhouse and purchased it from Overstock.com. Shipment was quick and the package arrived in good shape. but note that it is heavy for one person. You may need help moving it around. I rated the quality as good. There was no lack or defect but you get what you pay for. There are much more expensive models out there that may be of a higher quality but at a much higher price. I rated value as excellent, judging it based on price and quality for the price. This is not a real cheapie piece of junk. This is a well designed product for the price. I made a base for the greenhouse out of 4" X 6" X10 foot pressure treated ties cut to the 96.5 X 96.5 inch specs in the plans. It is square and level, sits on my concrete block patio, and should provide a solid base for the greenhouse. I would not consider buying this greenhouse unless you plan to put it on a solid, rigid, square and level base. It is too light to just sit on the ground. Because we were building this around an existing hot tub it complicated the build just a little and may have taken us a bit longer. I would say allocate 8 hours and two people and you should have no trouble finishing the job in that time. If you have any experience with building stuff, two people can probably finish it in 4 hours. I am quite impressed with the design and engineering of the kit. Things go together well and the structure, is quite strong and rigid. Mine has only been up for a few days but we are getting 15 mph winds today and the building is not visibly flexing at all. The plastic panels flex and rattle a bit but that is to be expected. The fit of the doors is not quite right yet, but that may be due to a need for some adjustments. I think we will be able to improve it. While the assembly is not hard, I would not recommend it to a first timer to assembling a kit. At least one person needs to have some basic understanding of construction of kits and how things go together. My daughter helped me and we both characterize this as building Ikea furniture but on a bigger scale. If that sounds too hard for you, then get some help. Assembly requires a minimum of two people as there are times when one has to hold while the other places parts in place or puts them together. Or one needs to be up high and the other needs to hand parts. Definitely use silicone spray as recommended in the instructions as some parts are very tight fitting, which is good. On a few occasions we found a rubber mallet helpful to get that last little bit to go in and seat properly. And be sure to follow the sequence exactly as presented in the manual. All parts are well marked so you should have no trouble matching up pieces to the instructions. While not absolutely necessary I would recommend having a sheet metal seamer tool like this one. http://www.harborfreight.com/6-inch-jaw-straight-sheet-metal-seamer-98728.html. Some of the parts have thin edges and can get slightly dinged or slightly bent during shipping. Or, if you drop something, you can bend the edges making assembly nearly impossible. With this tool this was not a problem at all as this straightens them out quickly and easily. We did the build over two days of about 3 hours each, not including the building of the base. We stopped on the first day because the wind hit 22 mph and it started to rain. We got the frame up and the front and rear "glass". On the second day we got the rest of the panels in and finished the structure. Again, nothing hard if you have any building skills at all and you can follow the pictorial directions. As a greenhouse this should be an excellent product. However, because I am using at a hot tub enclosure I was not able to put in two braces that support the roof. Normally this would not be a problem but if I get a snow load on there the roof may be over stressed. So I am going to have to come up with a modification that will reinforce the roof. That is not a product defect or design defect. It is because I am using it for a purpose for which it was not intended. In areas where snow is not likely this might not even be an issue. I can't say how this will hold up over the years but based on my initial impressions I think it will do just fine. The plastic panels are quite tough and should hold up well to minor impacts like small branches or stuff being blown around by wind. We have already used the hot tub inside the greenhouse and it seems it is going to work very well.

    Read More
    edfromlongisland November 18, 2013
  • I am very happy with my purchase.
    Verified Purchase

    I have been shopping around for a green house and this is the one I like, it looks nice and I can move around in it. The one I had was too short and no room to do any thing. I'm excited to plant veggies for the winter. I love this green house, also has the option of expanding if I want later on.

    Read More
    msthorn01 May 10, 2013
Sponsored Links