Read All Reviews for Ovente Brushed Stainless Steel 1.7-liter Cord-free Electric Kettle

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • good for price, not perfect
    Verified Purchase

    Good value for price. Product is visually appealing and works. But I'm already (3 months in) having issues with the switch sometimes not permitting a switch on. Have to hold down and jiggle until the catch (auto-turn off after boil) releases. So far, have always been able to get it to resume behaving normally eventually...

    Read More
    binpvd April 1, 2012
  • Does the job for my Morning Tea!
    Verified Purchase

    Heats up water quickly for my tea in the morning. I really like the way the pot fits on the base, very user-freindly. My old white plastic kettle worked great, but everything in my kitchen is stainless steel, and because I use a kettle everyday it tends to live on the countertop so I got this one. When I opened the box, I was a little concerned about how fast the kettle would boil because instead of a heating coil like most electric kettles, there is only one visable heating element that is straight and runs up the side of the kettle, however I did a "side-by-side" test with the old and new kettles both full & half-full, and they were about the same, this one beat my old one by a few seconds.

    Read More
    chicagocop August 13, 2012
  • not functioning correctly
    Verified Purchase

    The button on the kettle did not function correctly. As my husband is from Europe, we can't live without an electric kettle. I wanted a second one for my business but this kettle was not good quality. It is pretty but the "ON" button did not work.

    Read More
    gunnergurl March 15, 2012
  • The steam switch knob is not working properly.
    Verified Purchase

    The electric kettle is very nice color and is very fast to boil water. The only problem I have is the steam switch knob. From day 1, I have to try many times to make it down to "1" position (turn on). Recently, the knob is not working at all (it won't stay in "1" position).

    Read More
    natalie63 December 22, 2011
  • Exactly as Expected
    Verified Purchase

    I had been missing my electric kettle that I had during graduate school in England. This kettle is filling the void. It's attractive, boils water quickly, has an automatic shut-off, clear lines for how high to fill it, and the cord is attached to the base, not the kettle (for mobility). The one unexpected thing I found about this unit, is that it seems to have a VERY short cord on the base. This is great if you have a concern about cord clutter on the kitchen counter, but not great if you think you're going to place it further forward on the counter in front of another appliance (won't reach then). Love using this kettle to boil water for tea (of course), or to boil water more quickly for making pasta. Would make a great gift for a college student that lives off of things like spaghetti, ramen, and instant coffee.

    Read More
    nyclynne December 6, 2011
  • Shuts Off
    Verified Purchase

    I am surprised at the good reviews this product received. We've had it at work for just over 2 weeks and now it shuts itself off as soon as you turn it on. I am going to investigate returning it - though I no longer have the box or packaging materials

    Read More
    matricia July 13, 2012
  • Good, but not Great
    Verified Purchase

    It arrived quickly I've actually had this tea kettle since January of 2012. The first week the handle became loose, I thought about returning but I didn't. The handle is still attached but still loose. The auto shut-off for safety doesn't always turn off, so I have to manually turn off the button or plug out the out the cord from the outlet. The cord can become extremely hot especially when the water is completely boiled. The auto-shut off does not turn off the pot 100% of the time. So I manually pull out the cord because sometimes the actual flip button is stuck. Also I notice when moving into to my apartment: different houses/apartment seems to heat the water differently (I guess its the outage). Features: Flip button on the base of tea kettle The base has the attached cord, and the kettle is separate with a cord, which I like Easy to clean. There's a small spill guard inside the kettle itself, so water can get trapped so I make sure I dry the inside well. The kettle is stainless steel on the outside, this model had a stainless steel top also, the inside on top, there's' a plastic covering on the inside. I believe the first week it needed to be cleaned out for the plastic odor not to be absorbed in my water. But its not a real big issue. I've had my kettle for over two years it still works, It's my go to, instead of using the stove, I use my kettle for tea, coffee, and instant noodles. I love it. Even with the auto-off not working 100% of the time, I just make sure I stay in the kitchen while the water boils. Would I recommend to a friend? It depends on the age: any one whose willing to manually plug out the cord NOT relying on the auto shut off features (because it doesn't always turn off once the water is boiled). The elderly can use this kettle, but with caution the cord can get really hot as I said earlier. Kids yes just be mindful of there hands not touching anything else besides the handle of the tea kettle.

    Read More
    accuratexoxo December 5, 2014
  • Not a good product.
    Verified Purchase

    This kettle burned out in 5 weeks' time! It could have caused a fire. Hopefully, the Ovente company will replace it.

    Read More
    wom67men September 10, 2013
  • Kettle looks good but is no good
    Verified Purchase

    We used this item for one day if that....it has a faulty on off switch I hate to rate something in a negative way but if it doesn't work, it is n o good don't waste your money

    Read More
    frdx2000 July 25, 2013
  • Worked Great,,,Unitl it Didn't Work Anymore
    Verified Purchase

    The product worked well, but it broke after 6 months. It was gorgeous, matched my mother's appliances, looked expensive and made getting up in the morning easy for my mother. It was easy for her to boil water to make herself tea and my baby sister some oatmeal every morning. All she'd have to do is hit a switch, and it heat up FAST and auto-shut off when it was done. BUT, it quit working after 6 months. I've ordered another one for my mother as a birthday gift. I'm hoping this time it works out. It was 4 bucks cheaper when I bought it at around Christmas time. Since the price has gone up, I am a little disappointed.

    Read More
    mjoh111 July 17, 2013
  • Very disappointed
    Verified Purchase

    Very disappointed - the product leaked under the handle near the off/on switch. Will have to send it back and it took a long time to get here in the first place.

    Read More
    pumpkinhill June 11, 2013
  • Big disappointment
    Verified Purchase

    It worked fairly well but am now Very disappointed That it quit working after only Two months !

    Read More
    nanainala April 3, 2013
  • So Close to 4 Stars
    Verified Purchase

    I would say I absolutely love this kettle if it weren't for the on/off thingy breaking pretty soon after it arrived. However, I simply put a spoon rest on top of it and it stays down, turning it on for the water to heat, until you remove it. That is the only drawback. It heats fast. Been using it for over a year. My next kettle I will have temperature controls and I would like to have better quality, but for the price this one has been good.

    Read More
    cijci November 21, 2012
  • Electric Kettle - great in the office
    Verified Purchase

    works as expected, quickly heats water, looks good

    Read More
    rms12345 October 18, 2012
  • Excellent teakettle
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent teakettle at a great price. It boils quickly and the automatic shut off when the water is boiling is reliable and very useful. I've had it for months now and it works very well, getting heavy daily use.

    Read More
    vmivanova April 22, 2012
  • Fast and pretty
    Verified Purchase

    This kettle is great. It is nice looking (sits on the counter), cord wraps in the base, boils quickly, and meets all of our expectations.

    Read More
    gary3779 February 18, 2012
  • decent kettle
    Verified Purchase

    Overall good product, no problems, cord verry short .

    Read More
    grisgris1 January 21, 2012
  • Not for me!
    Verified Purchase

    The surface of the kettle becomes very hot!

    Read More
    Overstock Rocks January 22, 2017
  • Excellent pot
    Verified Purchase

    You won't regret getting this. It is a work horse and holds up well

    Read More
    tarasa September 10, 2016
  • vinny815
    Verified Purchase

    Very disappointed with this item. Stopped working after a few weeks.

    Read More
    vinny15 March 18, 2016
Sponsored Links