Today: $1,015.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Newman Sectional

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Looks pretty but not durable
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this sectional to fit into a small space. It was perfect in size. The seats are not long/wide enough so it feels like you are sitting too close to the edge if you don't seat back all the way. Not comfortable for average sized adults. The spring from the bottom is already broken, after 1 year, so there is a big uncomfortable lump on that side of the couch. Don't recommend for daily uses. Very good storage underneath. Looking for a more comfortable sectional.

    Read More
    DARLINE M. August 19, 2016
  • Not comfy
    Verified Purchase

    Uncomfortable! Perfect decoration piece if you plan not to sit on it.

    Read More
    overstockedapt January 4, 2016
  • Small and uncomfortable
    Verified Purchase

    This is not a sectional with ottoman. We thought it comes with it but you have to order the ottoman separate but they don't even have it in stock. Very uncomfortable to sit, kind of like on a bench

    Read More
    virginija a. May 12, 2015
  • Meh - don't waste your money

    This couch is super uncomfortable and cheap. Over time, the springs have come through and it no longer stays in the upright position without being leaned against a wall. When you buy a couch, you expect it to last for a least a few years. I've had this thing for about 1.5 years and it's barely holding up. What a piece of junk! Also, when you lay it flat to sleep on, the rods poke into your back. It's awful. And it looked great when I first got it, but the cloth is easily stained (e.g. WATER has stained this couch! I don't even understand how that is possible. But it is true.) and even though I have steam cleaned it, the stains remain. The material is very cheap. Don't buy it. I do not recommend this product to anyone.

    Read More
    kaisax June 6, 2013
  • Usefull but not Comfortable
    Verified Purchase

    Best for basement or recreational use. Meaning I had it for less then a year in my living room where it gets much use and the cushion started sinking in after 4-6months of use. Not to mention you can feel EVERY piece of wood while sitting/laying. I loved the PLENTY of storage space underneath just wasnt practical for us.

    Read More
    foxxy02 February 26, 2013
  • Wonderful addition to our living room
    Verified Purchase

    This really helped us living in a small space to have storage in the living area and additional space for guests to sleep

    Read More
    bobbiray August 31, 2012
  • Review of Newman Sectional
    Verified Purchase

    This is the most uncomfortable couch I've ever felt. It feels as if you are sitting on a bench, straight up, at a 90 degree angle. The cushion, if you can even call it that, is hard and feels cheap. I am extremely disappointed and regret purchasing this couch.

    Read More
    sdezur November 1, 2011
  • do NOT buy
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this couch because the price was attractive, it had room for storage, it folds flat to sleep on and I liked the chaise part of it. HOWEVER, the chaise is too short to comfortably stretch out (I'm not tall by any means). It 'look's comfy and soft but that is absolutely deceiving! This couch has to be the MOST uncomfortable couch on the planet!! It's almost as if they had forgotten to add stuffing?! Sleeping on it would be impossible unless you bought (as I did) a thick memory foam topper. My daughter stays over frequently. But....just to use it as a couch to watch TV on, etc. it is nearly unusable. I purchased a king-sized comforter that I fold twice so I can sit on my couch while watching TV! I also bought a thick pillow to lean against while sitting on that thing. It is so hard it hurts my back among other things if I try to sit on it without cushioning. All in all, I will NEVER buy a couch online again and most definitely NOT from this company! I kept hoping the couch would become more comfortable with use but it's useless. Since my free return date was some time in January I was offered either a $**** refund while keeping the couch or to return at at my own expense (~$**-$**). So......now I am stuck with a couch that looks nice but sucks to sit on! Please, please do NOT make the same mistake I did! Stay away from this thing! The only reason I gave it 1 star was because of the storage.

    Read More
    formercustomer62 February 27, 2011
  • not workh the $$$$$

    I purchased this set 1.5 years ago and it has fallen apart. I thought it would be great storage and it is, but the quality of the seats on the love seat have basically given way to just a hole in the cushions. I live alone there has been no major wear that has caused this to be so uncomfortable. I never used the set for a bed. I would not recommend this set to anyone that is looking for furniture that will last more than 12 months......not a good investment. If I did not have to pick one star - I would give it zero stars!!!!

    Read More
    donna5100 January 29, 2011
  • OK for a lobby... if you don't like your customers
    Verified Purchase

    *** Before I say anything else, I want to point out that you should beware of any glowingly positive review on this website that doesn't include specific details. Some of them are cross-posted verbatim on multiple items. *** Some basic shipping information. The couch shipped in two separate cardboard boxes (the "loveseat" and the "chaise") on a single pallet. There was no shipping damage at all. Each box weighed about 50 kg. After a friend helped me lug them up to my second-floor apartment, I unpacked and assembled them myself, although this was a bit of an adventure. ** The boxes say "Made in China" in big letters, and it really shows. This couch has the quality we've come to expect from cheap manufactured goods: they look fine on the outside, but the more you examine them the crummier they are. (Although for $700 I expected better.) The microfiber has a smooth sort of texture, unlike other microfiber couches I've seen, as if it were worn out and going bald. The leather claims to be real, but feels a bit like vinyl. The cushions are very firm for a couch, like an extra-extra-firm bed. They feel a little bit like that sculpted plastic packing foam that comes with expensive electronics. The two little cushions are reasonably soft, but they really showcase the unpleasant texture of the upholstery. ** The picture where they've unfolded the couch into a double bed is misleading, because they've included the ottoman (sold separately). Without the ottoman, you get approximately a twin-size, with the chaise forming a funky little nightstand. ** A word about the construction of the couch. The frame for each of the two sections is basically an open-topped box, apparently made of plywood and particleboard (I can't tell for sure because it's all covered in black cloth). The seat is attached to the sides of the box frame using a linkage that allows it to slide forward and tip back, exposing the storage space underneath. The two sections attach to each other and to the armrests using metal clasps also mounted to the sides of the boxes. The gliding-forward action is nice, but not enough; if you back the couch all the way up to the wall, you won't be able to open the storage area properly, let alone recline the back. ** The main assembly procedure is attaching the hard plastic feet. This is easy but very hit-or-miss: some of them inevitably don't fit quite right. I had to modify some of them with my drill just to make the screw cap fit into the molded recess. They also give you two goofy little angle brackets to attach the armrests with, but the first one was so flimsy and fit so poorly that I didn't see any reason to continue and install the second one. ** The open-topped box construction is simple and elegant, and provides lots of storage. It's also pretty flimsy. If I pull on the armrest, it. wobbles. If you accidentally kick it a few times from the inside, you might crack the box frame. If you're the handy sort, you can probably figure out a way to mount a metal brace across the entire width of both boxes to make them more rigid side-to-side, but if you don't do it right you'll probably just make the structural problems worse, so that it breaks in multiple places instead of just one. ** No part of the upholstery is removable for washing. They tell you to wipe it with a damp cloth, but I have a feeling that won't cut the mustard if you spill wine or something else that stains badly.

    Read More
    iivvgg November 28, 2010
  • newman sectional
    Verified Purchase

    The picture of the couch is a lot nicer then the couch in person. Its really stiff and isnt wide enough for anyone over 5'5 to sit comfortably. then when you recline it you have to lay on one side or the other because you get a rod in your back otherwise. Kinda bummed I spent this much money on a couch that looks great but I would rather sit on the floor.

    Read More
    cleavingera October 8, 2010
  • Not worth the price

    This couch is OK. That's the nicest thing I can say about it. The appearance is nice enough, but then you sit on it and realize the seat cushion is too short, the back is uncomfortable and the cushion isn't a cushion but a spring-set....there is no cushion! Thank god this is a game room sofa and not our main sofa. We are loyal Overstock customer, but are very displeased with this product. We also took advantage of the white-glove delivery service but found that when we realized we hated the couch, we also quickly realized that the delivery company took the packing materials! we had no box to return it in!!! crappy. We bought this couch approx 6 months ago and will be replacing it as soon as I can convince myself that the expense is worth it.

    Read More
    kizmet97 September 22, 2010
  • not built to last

    I bought this over a year ago, at first it seemed really great - it is a good size for our small apartment, the storage underneath and the fact that it can become a bed were all good selling points for us and a fantastic idea for a downtown apartment. However, the sponge cushions are of a poor quality and after 6 months the springs stick through making it so uncomfortable and lumpy to sit on that it is hideous, and embarrasing to have guests sit on! I just bought a replacement from another store and I cannot wait to actually be able to relax in my living room.

    Read More
    ciaranewby August 29, 2010
  • Gave It Away

    I bought this sofa a year ago. It looks good on paper, but is really uncomfortable. There are much better sofas out there for less money. I went to a local furniture warehouse this week and bought a replacement and it is much more comfortable, better made, and was cheaper. I am giving this one away.

    Read More
    customer9000 August 13, 2010
  • Looks better than it actually is

    I almost bought this sofa, then I saw it avail at ***** so i went to try it out. It feels like a Hard Cardboard box, with Fabric over it. Very hard. Its an very economical sofa, but I'm very glad I did not buy this.

    Read More
    lycn4717 July 20, 2010
  • Sad & DIsappointed

    It is uncomfortable,especially at the spot the two come together. Also did not realize the ottoman was not part of the set It was shown in picture. When I went back to get one they were gone. Not happy at all with product or the Overstock site on this one!!!!!!!

    Read More
    blackrockosborne July 10, 2010
  • Disappointed
    Verified Purchase

    It is uncomfortable,especially at the spot the two come together. Also did not realize the ottoman was not part of the set It was shown in picture. When I went back to get one they were gone. Not happy at all with product or the Overstock site on this one!!!!!!!

    Read More
    1puck1 July 7, 2010
  • Cement Floor

    Sitting on this sofa is like sitting on a cement floor, returned it.

    Read More
    osborneworldwide July 2, 2010
  • disappointed
    Verified Purchase

    I was disappointed in the couch. I ordered it because I couldn't find anything like it in the local stores. I wanted a small sectional like couch that could convert in to a bed. & I did get all that. However, the back of the couch looks completely unfinished. If it is not going against a wall, it looks bad. If it does go against a wall, then you need space behind it to convert it to a bed. Not very practical. Also the couch is very shallow. More so than I expected. Like the other reviews said, it is very firm. I don't really have a problem with that. It also is very upright. Just a few things a buyer should be aware of. The biggest issue for me is the unfinished back.

    Read More
    stewartm1 April 13, 2010
  • Perfect

    This is the perfect sectional for anyone. It fits in any room and is so useful. The storage and bed options make it even more attractive. Its built well and really comfortable. A must buy.

    Read More
    football7272 April 7, 2010
Sponsored Links