Read All Reviews for Nesco FD-80 American Harvest Square-shaped Dehydrator

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Deyhydrator
    Verified Purchase

    Has worked great since day one. Not real big, but big enough for our needs.

    Read More
    Debra A. June 20, 2016
  • easy to use
    Verified Purchase

    I love this dehydrator! it is so easy to use, and cleans up great!

    Read More
    style0625 February 26, 2016
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    Great price and does exactly what I want it to do...make delicious jerky! :0) I haven't used the cure or seasonings that came with it, as I made my own, but it also came with a recipe book!

    Read More
    addicted2theo December 27, 2014
  • Efficient and quiet
    Verified Purchase

    This appliance provides more space of my delicious jerky than the round one that I have had for many years.

    Read More
    summit12 December 28, 2013
  • great product
    Verified Purchase

    Have only used a couple times, but love it. Very good quality!

    Read More
    suzyb1944 November 13, 2012
  • Good Dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    This dehydrator works much better than the old round one that I used to own. The motor is on top which is really nice (heat flowing downward). I bought this dehydrator to dehydrate fruit (mostly banana and Fuji apples). The dehydrator works fine but it takes a long time to dehydrate (I guess this is normal I am assuming). It takeas 8 to 10 hours depending on how thick you cut the fruit. At any rate, I am enjoying the dried fruit especially in colder weather. At this price range, I think this is the best deal I can get for a dehydrator.

    Read More
    lafirebird May 2, 2012
  • Multi Level dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    It is an excellent product for the price. It dehydrates the fruit in a decent amount of time (6-8 hours for 1/8 inch slices). If you would like a little water left in the fruit then 4 hours is sufficient. No need to add sugar to dehydrated fruit, just dehydrate when ripe. Replacement parts are expensive, so take good care of it, and clean before/after every use.

    Read More
    dlbad16 April 25, 2012
  • Jerkey junkie
    Verified Purchase

    My husband is a die hard jerkey lover. This is great for making much lower fat jerkey but it has become more for us. With all the concerns about dog treats with ingredients from China, I have started making my own. Very easy, the dogs absolutely love them, and there are a couple of recipes included! The machine is easy to use and compact. The shape enables it to fit on the counter without any trouble. Love it!

    Read More
    janglin2 April 18, 2012
  • Good Product
    Verified Purchase

    This is my first dehydrator, so I don't have much to compare it to, but overall this has been a good buy. I bought it to dehydrate dog treats, and it works great. It is pretty quiet, i would compare it to the sound of a microwave. I do wish it had a timer, that would be the only different thing I would look for in a new one.

    Read More
    cgangi April 5, 2012
  • Great product! VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE!
    Verified Purchase

    I shopped around alot prior to purchase. There was another one I liked but it would have cost more than twice the price of this unit. I read one persons review which pointed out that the motor was on top, so clean-up was a snap..I was really grateful to this person for pointing that out. Ease of clean-up means I'll use it more. I could care less about an on off switch. It was no hassle to check product drying. I was able to purchase this one at a great price. I feel this is a much higher quality unit then ones I looked at at discount stores for a compariable price.(and they had motors in bottom of unit) They were not nearly as sturdy. I have dried corn, beans and sweet potatoes so far. I put them in and go to work.(.beans took longer) and then vacuum seal when I get home. Its a plan that is working for me and this wonderful unit. I am VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE.

    Read More
    gnarlyfingers April 3, 2012
  • Homemade dog jerky treats
    Verified Purchase

    I bought it with the primary purpose of making homemade dog treats. After hearing of the horror tails of dogs getting sick from eating the inported dog jerky treats, I decided I would make my own. I have made Chicken Jerky and sweet potatoes crisps and they love them. I love it because I know what all the ingredients that go into the treats!

    Read More
    pard76 March 5, 2012
  • Nice machine
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice machine, quiet, holds a lot, but its bulky and the trays don't easily line up. Also preparing the food is alot of work and it comes out really shrunk up. I made some sweet potato and kale chips and they were a 1/4 of the size of the actual slice or leaf. Practice makes perfect, but ask yourself before buying "how often will I use this machine?" and that should guide your decision whether to invest in it. All and all I'm glad I purchased it and will probably use it for food that I don't want to go bad before using it all.

    Read More
    iamataurus March 4, 2012
  • Great dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    This is my first dehydrator so I'm not sure how it compares to others. It seems to work pretty good. A little of a pain to clean. The shelves are pretty big and barely fit in the sink and wont fit into the dishwasher. Other than that, its quiet and gets the job done.

    Read More
    sunbugs March 3, 2012
  • made jerky the first day I got it was great
    Verified Purchase

    Enjoyed this product looking forward to the summer to dry fruit and veggies

    Read More
    hawaiichick February 29, 2012
  • Great dehydrator!
    Verified Purchase

    Great dehydrator. Very easy to use. Very quiet! Set it up and it does all the work!

    Read More
    shabnamp1 February 19, 2012
  • Good value
    Verified Purchase

    Works well. Am now making my own dog treats. The recipe that came with the product is easy and the dogs love them. Can't wait till I have herbs in my garden to dry!

    Read More
    heartmom57 February 15, 2012
  • Dehudrator
    Verified Purchase

    The only thing I wish it had is an off and on buttom on the lid. I don't like to plug and unplug when checking my food thats in the machine.

    Read More
    ginnylittle February 10, 2012
  • Four Dry Square
    Verified Purchase

    This square shaped dehydrator works perfectly for jerky because its excellent for laying out the meat strips. The four large trays holds quite a bit of meat. My first batch of jerky was approximately 2 lbs. of meat strips and that only took up 3 of the trays. I have not used the dehydrator for anything else yet but I will. This thing isn't loud or annnoying and is nice looking too. My order form o.co came within a few days and I'm really pleased with my purchase.

    Read More
    mokatmei January 28, 2012
  • Great machine at a super price
    Verified Purchase

    This is very easy to use, easy to clean and easy to store. Great price!

    Read More
    ricye2 January 28, 2012
  • Too complicated
    Verified Purchase

    It arrived without the instruction booklet. When the replacement booklet arrived and I saw how complicated it would be to make jerky treats for dogs, I was compelled to send it back for credit. The fact that the meat had to be marinated for many hours first was a total turn-off for me. I will just not buy any more jerky treats since they are all made in China - too bad this is too much work to use.

    Read More
    rhoda1 January 27, 2012
Sponsored Links