Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Nesco American Harvest FD-35 Snackmaster Dehydrator

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • quick and easy
    Verified Purchase

    I have made several fruits and meats in this and it always works great

    Read More
    Bettie T. October 23, 2015
  • Too slow and loud
    Verified Purchase

    It seems to use so much electric it is not worth it for us, gave to Goodwil.

    Read More
    baltigirl June 18, 2015
  • dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    takes much too long, returned it

    Read More
    dukie55 March 31, 2015
  • Works well - doesn't take long to dehydrate
    Verified Purchase

    I've used this a lot since I purchased it, and I have to say that I'm pretty satisfied with the product. I've dried fruits, herbs and jerky in it - all have been successful, and have taken less time than the instructions/manual quoted (so be sure to check it often). I packed the trays full with herbs this year, and ran it consecutively, and it did just fine. The trays are dishwasher-safe, which is a major plus (my husband does the dishes, so if it's not dishwasher-safe, it won't get washed). The trays aren't the most durable, hence the 4 star rating, so I highly recommend being careful when removing them from the dishwasher, etc. One of my trays has a small crack in it but it still stacks fine with the other trays, and serves its purpose.

    Read More
    bargaingal84 December 16, 2013
  • When it runs
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this dehydrator for sometime now. It runs but overheats and the automatic safety shuts down the unit until it cools down. I can still use the product but I need to run an accesory fan close by like on the unit I would not recommend this brand to anyone I plan on buying a different brand as soon as I can afford it and not on Overstock.com

    Read More
    chileverde July 13, 2013
  • First time user - having fun experimenting!
    Verified Purchase

    I had never seen a food dehydrator before, let alone used one, and I'm enjoying the learning process. I have been experimenting with drying foods to take on backpacking trips, and have been drying apricots, nectarines, peaches, cherries, blueberries, kale, tofu, basil leaves, bananas and tofu. it's been really easy. I have been using parchment paper for small or more liquid foods, and it's been working fine. Although a recipe book comes with it, I've been looking on-line for additional ideas. As the fan is 'white noise' you might want to let it do its thing in a room where you don't need total silence. I am also considering using a plug-in timer to allow more flexibility for those times when I'm not around to switch it off. Bon appetit!

    Read More
    alexmsf June 20, 2013
  • Fabulous item
    Verified Purchase

    I've used this item hours and hours. It's worked amazingly, and is much quicker than my old retired model. It dehydrates evenly through all racks, and has been very impressive.

    Read More
    aksteiner June 12, 2013
  • great value for the money
    Verified Purchase

    I use this all the time to dry fruits, vegetables, and make my own beef jerky. I also got one for my son who has two new kids. He uses it for their snacks.

    Read More
    crescentcity01 May 25, 2013
  • This saved my bank account!
    Verified Purchase

    My 2 dogs happen to love the dehydrated sweet potatoes I purchased from the pet store. At $12.95 a bag, I was going through at least 1.5 bags per week!! After experimenting with the thickness to cut the potatoes and tweeking the dehydrating time, I have been able to satisfy their love of the snacks and saving some $$, too!

    Read More
    juliereses April 30, 2013
  • great machine
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this product not knowing how many uses it had. I now buy extra veggies and fruit and keep them in my pantry for future use. I use the fruit with nuts for trail mix, the veggies for stews, soup etc. dehydrator helps me save money by utilizing every bit of food I buy. easy to use and very efficient, I would recommend this product to everyone...

    Read More
    hmlisa February 22, 2013
  • A wellmade item
    Verified Purchase

    My daughter wanted one for Christmas and I saw this one and got it. It's well made and looks like it will clean up easily. Smart design

    Read More
    jeandw December 17, 2012
  • works well
    Verified Purchase

    I waited longer than i thought to receive this item, because of hurricane Sandy. I do like the item, I feel the air blowing down from the top works better. When I opened the box it was not sealed in a plastic bag, no protection, I didn't like that. Also I have had dehydrators before and they included one mesh tray and also a tray for liquid, this had neither. The item works fine, is not too loud, I just wish It had a protective plastic covering and the mesh tray and the liquid tray most come with. Then I probably would have given a better review. Yes i would recommend this to a friend, it works, but also would maybe say, ask more questions, just because it shows certain things like the mesh and liquid tray, doesn't mean you are getting them.

    Read More
    hanson1001 December 14, 2012
  • I am happy
    Verified Purchase

    I needed to upgrade my dehydrator and I was skeptical. The cleaning process can be very tedious. But this cleans up quickly and with the motor, it dries out my jerky much more quickly. The money spent was VERY well worth it.

    Read More
    neearth December 5, 2012
  • great inexpesive dehydrator.
    Verified Purchase

    i thought i just did, however i used it to create my proprietary blend of of hot pepper flakes including Tabasco, Thia, cayenne, ancho, and ghost peppers. the flavor was far better than drying them in the oven. (it is too humid with unpredictable sunshine in my area to sun dry them at the end of the growing season).

    Read More
    obamain12 November 20, 2012
  • Excellent dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    This dehydrator is perfect for all kinds of dehydrating. It does fruit chips in a snap and makes delicious jerky that's easy to prepare. It's very well made. It does get a little hot after its been running all day, but I just put a wood cutting board underneath and it keeps my counter from getting too hot. It's a great value. I had done some research before hand and knew I wanted a Nesco dehydrator. This one comes with plenty of trays, and the option to buy more if needed. I have had it for a few months now and have used it regularly and it works wonderful. If you are not familiar to dehydrators, it does make a low humming/fan noise while its running, but it doesn't bother us. It's really about as noisy as a small fan on low. It's a wonderful product and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a dehydrator!

    Read More
    fishygossip November 10, 2012
  • Dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    This is my first experience with dehydrating foods. I used a simple mandolin to cut apples thin and sliced a carton of strawberries. The berries were much longer to dry but all in all a good process. the equipment was simple easy to clean. I have not tried to make jerky yet but suspect this will be easy as well. A good first machine at a good price.

    Read More
    jze2t2 October 31, 2012
  • Not enough trays
    Verified Purchase

    Everything works like it should so far. I like it.

    Read More
    voltagellc October 22, 2012
  • Works very well
    Verified Purchase

    I have used this produce several times with very good results. I plan to use it again in future.

    Read More
    eastcoast2 September 25, 2012
  • Feedback on Nesco Dehydrator
    Verified Purchase

    My wife loves the dehydrator. So do I. We have been using it since the day we received and have been still trying out different types of food. The only set back is I will need to but a converter that set up the voltage from 110v to 230v. And it have to be 425watt and above. Hence I got to spend more to get the Dehydrator start working. Overall, WE LOVE IT.

    Read More
    ap6125 September 14, 2012
  • Great for jerky
    Verified Purchase

    I've used this twice now for jerky. Works very well. Dried thin slices (first time) very quickly. The second time I used it, I used the full chicken tender pieces, which were uneven in thickness. It did eventually dry, but next time I will make the thickness more consistent and expect better results.

    Read More
    ejsreview September 1, 2012
Sponsored Links