| Help relief efforts across the country by Donating Now ›

Modern 15 Light Sputnik Contemporary Chrome Atom Chandelier

Out of Stock

Club O Gold Members Earn

$13.00 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 13978515
    Notify me when it is back in stock!

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Love this item?

Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


something went wrong.

Please refresh the page and try again.


ITEM#: 13978515

  • Setting: Indoor
  • Fixture finish: Chrome
  • Shades: White glass globes
  • Number of lights: 15 lights
  • Requires 15 60-watt Edison base light bulbs (not included)
  • Dimensions: 24 inches high x 32.5 inches in diameter
  • Height adjusts from 24 to 42 inches
  • Extra bulb included as spare

This fixture does need to be hard wired. Professional installation is recommended.


Material Chrome, Glass, Metal
Type Globe
Finish Chrome Finish
Shade Material Frosted Glass
Switch Type Hardwired
Assembly Assembly Required
Bulb Wattage 60 W
Ceiling Light Fixture Type Chandelier
Color White
Height 23 in or more
Light Bulb Type Specialty
Light Direction Multi-directional
Lighting Style Contemporary, Modern
Lighting Type Chandeliers
Number of Lights 15 Lights
Product Features Bulbs Included
Width 18 in to 36 in
Dimensions 32.5 in. Wide, 24-42 in Tall
Model Number 101-945-516615
Country of Origin China

Customer Reviews

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars
  • Most Recent

  • unhappy in alabama
    Verified Purchase

    i love this light fixture BUT.....the globes are hard to get off and on and we broke 3 putting them on the first time I'm not so sure i can find replacement globes, i have been looking. i would not buy it again.

    Read More
    Marie S. Jan 2, 2016
  • Beautiful Light Fixture
    Verified Purchase

    Easy assembly and installation, until it came time to put the globes on. The openings are irregular and the glass is very, very delicate. The metal clips that hold the globes in place violently snap so be extra careful when releasing them. As much as I protest using them, I used 10W spiral bulbs because I am afraid of having to take the globes off to replace a burned out bulb. I figure I'm good for at least 10 years.

    Read More
    Code1248 Dec 14, 2015
  • Don't buy this

    It looks great but it was poorly manufactured and needed epoxy to be installed. Since then, globes have stopped functioning one by one, not because bulbs are out. The wiring must be faulty. Customer Service at Overstock has not been helpful because the warranty has expired. I should have returned it right away but I tried to make it work because I loved the design. Big Mistake.

    Read More
    Marisa C. Sep 27, 2015
  • Great, from a distance
    Verified Purchase

    looks awesome from all angles. don't get in a hurry to put together. we used CFL 3500 kelvin color 60w bulbs and it made the globes look bright white. however, the extra rods ordered to extend from ceiling came in stripped. now it hangs from the electical wire 20' in the air. not so safe!

    Read More
    mea711 Jan 17, 2013
  • Most Helpful

  • Fabulously Flawed
    Verified Purchase

    LOVE the look of this light, but was shocked at it's poor quality. It's a great example of form over function! We currently have it installed in our dining room, centered over the table. Although it looks amazing, we would never ever ever recommend that you purchase it. Where do we start? The chrome down rods wouldn't hold together at the seams (the threads were stripped) and the ceiling mount was nearly as flimsy as a bottle cap! The most frustrating part of the installation was the wiring - Overstock's description says the sputnik light can hang down up to 42" in length, but the electrical wiring was only 27" long. What a joke! After hours of struggling with installation, we ended up purchasing a second chandelier from our local home improvement store and replaced the entire mounting/wiring structure from the sputnik light (ceiling mount, down rod, and all) with the hardware from the second chandelier, costing us an extra $69 dollars. Once the light was securely mounted (we were no longer afraid for our future dinner guest's safety) we began the daunting task of installing the globes. A few of the globes were imperfect, and the openings were completely varied in size making it difficult to fit them over the bulbs. We had to discard one due to the fact that it wouldn't actually fit over the top of any of the arms. If you do decide, out of desperation, to purchase this light, PLEASE wear the gloves provided! Not only will they prevent smudges and fingerprints on the plastic/chrome, they will act as a barrier between your delicate skin and the ferocious metal clips! Nearly an hour later, my husband and I were profusely bleeding from both hands and frustrated still trying to install the evil painted white globes. They are ridiculous! When we finally completed the installation, we looked at each other with a terrified gaze - praying that we would NEVER have to change a light bulb. And what do you know? The very next day, lightbulbs began burning out! We actually try to leave the light off as much as possible now, for fear that more bulbs will blow. It's insane. Before you buy this light, please take a moment to read the reviews from the "smaller version" of the Sputnik light - there are quite a few folks who have experienced what we have experienced. And no matter what anyone who hired an electrician for their installation tells you, this thing is flimsy! Yes - you can see the metal clips inside the globes when you turn it on. Yes - there are flaws in the chrome. Yes - the globes are not frosted, they are painted and have imperfections. Yes - it is only designed to be mounted on a flat ceiling. Yes - using 60w lightbulbs would BLOW you out of the room (we used 40w and wish we had used 25w. But there's no way we can change them now!) Yes - you should install a dimmer switch with this thing. Best of luck to you! (and your hands!) (and your dinner guests, for that matter!)

    Read More
    bbbb3 Dec 13, 2012
  • Caveat Emptor
    Verified Purchase

    The light is just what we wanted but now I know why they don't show it with the power on. The globes are not frosted, they are dipped in paint. Therefore when they are on you can see all the imperfections and you can see the shadow of the retaining clips.. I think it looks cool but if you expect perfection then this is not it. Also, when assembling the light WEAR THE GLOVES provided or you will be cleaning fingerprints off the chrome for an hour.

    Read More
    supercooldad Jul 16, 2012
  • Nice light. A bit hard to deal with.
    Verified Purchase

    My main complaint is that the light is supposed to have a bracket that adapts to angles. Which is technically accurate. The bracket inside the mount will angle (for say, a slightly angled junction box), however the visible mounting bracket will not. I have slanted ceilings, and had to choose between bending the bracket, or going to the local electric store and figure out some way to modify the base connection to work with cathedral ceilings. I went with the latter, which ended up not being too hard to do, after a discussion with some of the lighting folks at the store. Beyond that, it says that 60w e26(27) bulbs are needed. Again, technically true, although you're not going to be able to use a standard light-bulb on this thing. The holes in the globes that fit over the bulbs are smaller than the width of a standard bulb (plus it looks to me like a standard bulb would be too long to fit in the globe anyways). Which brings about another caution: outfitting this thing with bulbs can be pricey. Possibly more expensive than the lamp itself, if you go with something like dimmable LED bulbs. This made me consider returning it and wait for the 9-bulb one to be re-stocked. Although in the end I like this one better, so am sticking with it. I would just recommend factoring in 15 bulbs to the cost when you're looking at this (which I did not). I'm pretty sure the gloves they included were made for the hands of a 9 year old. I was putting runs in them trying to get them over my fingers. But hey, they included gloves, so I can't really justify complaining (that much) about a bonus item that is definitely helpful (once you get full range of motion with your hands in them). I do for sure recommend using the gloves; for both fingerprint prevention, and for some protection against the glass on the globes when mounting them. Overall, my complaints are more about the process of getting the thing set up. I like the quality, I like the look, and I am pleased with the purchase. If you have it installed, you won't have to deal with any of the issues (other than paying for the bulbs)

    Read More
    holyfrejoles Feb 13, 2013
  • great modern chandelier
    Verified Purchase

    The light is great. One thing to know is that only medium base chandelier bulbs will fit inside the glass covers. Also, getting the glass covers on is a 2 person job: one person to hold the springs and the other to install the cover. But the light looks fantastic in my new dining room and it looks like a million bucks.

    Read More
    jwt999 Dec 13, 2014
  • LOVE the style!
    Verified Purchase

    I think maybe my husband found this annoying to install, but I don't remember it being a huge issue. It adds such a "pop" of mid-century style to our entryway, and with the dimmer switch we installed, we can use it any time we want, depending on how much light we want. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a ***-style type piece at a fraction of the cost!

    Read More
    bethanyinbake Aug 6, 2014

Questions & Answers

  • Q:

    "I have been unable to change the light bulbs. I called the company and they said somebody from customer service will call me back. That never happened"

    • A:

      I'm sorry you are unable to change the bulbs. Please call our customer care department for further assistance. U.S. and Canada Toll free: 1-800-The-BIG-O (1-800-843-2446)

  • Q:

    "What exact type of bulb and wattage is recommended?"

    • A:

      Hello Neepa S., this fixture uses medium-base CFL bulbs. Thanks for shopping with us!

  • Q:

    "where can i purchase replacement globes?"

    • A:

      Hello sashasonja, unfortunately this item is out of stock. We currently do not have inventory to check, and cannot guarantee the item will be restocked. Thank you for shopping with us.

  • Q:

    "I have been trying to get the globe off for 30 minutes to change a bulb. I'm afraid it's going to crack. I just can't get it past those metal springs. Please help"

    • A:

      Hello sashasonja, thank you for your inquiry. Unfortunately, the information you have requested is currently unavailable. You will receive an email notification once an answer is posted. Have a great day.

  • Q:

    "Why did you choose this product?"

    • A:


    • A:

      I like it

    Read more Read less
  • Q:

    "I need to replace two white globe. Where can I find replacements?"

    • A:

      Hello tuvwx, we do apologize, we do not currently offer replacement globes for this item. Thank you for shopping with us.

  • Q:

    "How do you change a light bulb on this chandelier without breaking the glass globe?"

    • A:

      Hello jeannies, thank you for your inquiry. Unfortunately, the information you have requested is currently unavailable. You will receive an email notification once an answer is posted. Have a great day.

  • Q:

    "Like everybody else, I need replacement globes. Can you help? BTW, I purchased the 9 bulb version of the light but it looks like the same globes."

    • A:

      Hello b94801, you will be contacted by Customer Care. Have a great day.

  • Q:

    "Hello, Overstock! We purchased this chandelier from another vendor but cannot find any source for replacement globes. Like other customers here, two of the globes on our fixture have broken. We'd gladly pay for new ones if you can connect us with a vendor. Thank you!"

    • A:

      Hello ktrokopera, we are unable to disclose the manufacturer of some of our products; however, Overstock.com stands behind every product we sell. When necessary we can contact suppliers if a product issue arises. Please call us at 1 800 843 2446 for assistance for parts. Thank you for shopping with us.

  • Q:

    "I too am in need of replacement shades for this light. The clamps break the glass because they are too tight , when you go to change a burned out bulb."

    • A:

      Hello, 1dacaste. Hope your day is going well. You will be contacted, soon, by customer service re the bulb replacement. Thank you for shopping with us and please feel free to contact us again with any further questions.

  • Q:

    "Hello, I need replacement white balls as two have broken when we've changed out the bulbs. Are they available? Thanks"

    • A:

      Hello runorange33, Thank you for your inquiry; you will be contacted by Customer Care.

  • Q:

    "Hello We need replacement balla. The openings varied in size and one has chipped and won't stay one. Thank you"

    • A:

      Hello ametral, I will have customer service contact you right away. Thank you for shopping with us.

  • Q:

    "Can I purchase replacement balls for the fixture?"

    • A:

      Hello, I am having customer service contact you.

  • Q:

    "Is there a ball and socket in the mounting plate?"

    • A:

      Sputnik Chrome 15-bulb 15-light Chandelier Atom Orbit Multi Light Fixture Pendant Art Deco Cool Mid-century Retro-modern Lighting Stylish Contemporary Atomic Style Unique Trendy Beautiful Glamorous Standard Base Lightbulb Euro-design European Frosted Glass 35" Starburst Glass Globe Ball Overhead Lamp Space Age Mod Minimalist Art Modernist Eames Era Adjustable without ball and socket in the mounting plate

  • Q:

    "can i order rods separately?"

    • A:

      Im sorry we do not have that available.

  • Q:

    "Is this fixture on a "swivel mount"? I would like to attach it to an angled ceiling."

    • A:

      No it not

  • Q:

    "can this light be put on a dimmer?"

    • A:

      Yes, it can.

  • Q:

    "Does it come with extension rod? And energy-saving bulb can be used or not?"

    • A:

      Yes, this item includes extension rods. Also, you can use energy-saving bulbs.

  • Q:

    "What is the size of the globe and the opening size? Is the globe neckless and clips on to the housing? Thanks."

    • A:

      They are 32.5 inches in diameter. The holes are approximately 8" in diameter. It clips onto the housing.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Contact Information
Shipping Information:

Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
Standard shipping details
Expedited shipping details

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.