Modern 15 Light Sputnik Contemporary Chrome Atom Chandelier

Today:$25999
Out of Stock
Free Shipping
Free Shipping
on every purchase you make
Earn Rewards Back
Rewards for Purchases
when you shop at Overstock
Free Returns
Free, No-Hassle Returns
on select clothing, shoes & jewelry
Rewards for Reviews
Rewards for Reviews
when you tell us what you think
Additional Perks
Additional Perks
on hotels, dining, and more
ITEM# 13978515
    Notify me when it is back in stock!

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Love this item?

Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


Oops,

something went wrong.

Please refresh the page and try again.


Details

ITEM#: 13978515



  • Setting: Indoor
  • Fixture finish: Chrome
  • Shades: White glass globes
  • Number of lights: 15 lights
  • Requires 15 60-watt Edison base light bulbs (not included)
  • Dimensions: 24 inches high x 32.5 inches in diameter
  • Height adjusts from 24 to 42 inches
  • Extra bulb included as spare

This fixture does need to be hard wired. Professional installation is recommended.


This fixture needs to be hardwired. Professional installation is recommended.

Assembly Required

Specs

Features
Material Chrome, Glass, Metal
Type Globe, Sputnik
Finish Chrome Finish
Shade Material Frosted Glass
Switch Type Hardwired
Assembly Assembly Required
Bulb Wattage 60 W
Color White
Light Bulb Type Specialty
Light Direction Multi-directional
Lighting Style Modern & Contemporary
Lighting Type Chandeliers
Number of Lights 15 Lights
Product Features Bulbs Included
Dimensions 32.5 in. Wide, 24-42 in Tall
Model Number 101-945-516615
Country of Origin China
  • Fabulously Flawed
    Verified Purchase

    LOVE the look of this light, but was shocked at it's poor quality. It's a great example of form over function! We currently have it installed in our dining room, centered over the table. Although it looks amazing, we would never ever ever recommend that you purchase it. Where do we start? The chrome down rods wouldn't hold together at the seams (the threads were stripped) and the ceiling mount was nearly as flimsy as a bottle cap! The most frustrating part of the installation was the wiring - Overstock's description says the sputnik light can hang down up to 42" in length, but the electrical wiring was only 27" long. What a joke! After hours of struggling with installation, we ended up purchasing a second chandelier from our local home improvement store and replaced the entire mounting/wiring structure from the sputnik light (ceiling mount, down rod, and all) with the hardware from the second chandelier, costing us an extra $69 dollars. Once the light was securely mounted (we were no longer afraid for our future dinner guest's safety) we began the daunting task of installing the globes. A few of the globes were imperfect, and the openings were completely varied in size making it difficult to fit them over the bulbs. We had to discard one due to the fact that it wouldn't actually fit over the top of any of the arms. If you do decide, out of desperation, to purchase this light, PLEASE wear the gloves provided! Not only will they prevent smudges and fingerprints on the plastic/chrome, they will act as a barrier between your delicate skin and the ferocious metal clips! Nearly an hour later, my husband and I were profusely bleeding from both hands and frustrated still trying to install the evil painted white globes. They are ridiculous! When we finally completed the installation, we looked at each other with a terrified gaze - praying that we would NEVER have to change a light bulb. And what do you know? The very next day, lightbulbs began burning out! We actually try to leave the light off as much as possible now, for fear that more bulbs will blow. It's insane. Before you buy this light, please take a moment to read the reviews from the "smaller version" of the Sputnik light - there are quite a few folks who have experienced what we have experienced. And no matter what anyone who hired an electrician for their installation tells you, this thing is flimsy! Yes - you can see the metal clips inside the globes when you turn it on. Yes - there are flaws in the chrome. Yes - the globes are not frosted, they are painted and have imperfections. Yes - it is only designed to be mounted on a flat ceiling. Yes - using 60w lightbulbs would BLOW you out of the room (we used 40w and wish we had used 25w. But there's no way we can change them now!) Yes - you should install a dimmer switch with this thing. Best of luck to you! (and your hands!) (and your dinner guests, for that matter!)

  • Nice light. A bit hard to deal with.
    Verified Purchase

    My main complaint is that the light is supposed to have a bracket that adapts to angles. Which is technically accurate. The bracket inside the mount will angle (for say, a slightly angled junction box), however the visible mounting bracket will not. I have slanted ceilings, and had to choose between bending the bracket, or going to the local electric store and figure out some way to modify the base connection to work with cathedral ceilings. I went with the latter, which ended up not being too hard to do, after a discussion with some of the lighting folks at the store. Beyond that, it says that 60w e26(27) bulbs are needed. Again, technically true, although you're not going to be able to use a standard light-bulb on this thing. The holes in the globes that fit over the bulbs are smaller than the width of a standard bulb (plus it looks to me like a standard bulb would be too long to fit in the globe anyways). Which brings about another caution: outfitting this thing with bulbs can be pricey. Possibly more expensive than the lamp itself, if you go with something like dimmable LED bulbs. This made me consider returning it and wait for the 9-bulb one to be re-stocked. Although in the end I like this one better, so am sticking with it. I would just recommend factoring in 15 bulbs to the cost when you're looking at this (which I did not). I'm pretty sure the gloves they included were made for the hands of a 9 year old. I was putting runs in them trying to get them over my fingers. But hey, they included gloves, so I can't really justify complaining (that much) about a bonus item that is definitely helpful (once you get full range of motion with your hands in them). I do for sure recommend using the gloves; for both fingerprint prevention, and for some protection against the glass on the globes when mounting them. Overall, my complaints are more about the process of getting the thing set up. I like the quality, I like the look, and I am pleased with the purchase. If you have it installed, you won't have to deal with any of the issues (other than paying for the bulbs)

  • Caveat Emptor
    Verified Purchase

    The light is just what we wanted but now I know why they don't show it with the power on. The globes are not frosted, they are dipped in paint. Therefore when they are on you can see all the imperfections and you can see the shadow of the retaining clips.. I think it looks cool but if you expect perfection then this is not it. Also, when assembling the light WEAR THE GLOVES provided or you will be cleaning fingerprints off the chrome for an hour.

  • great modern chandelier
    Verified Purchase

    The light is great. One thing to know is that only medium base chandelier bulbs will fit inside the glass covers. Also, getting the glass covers on is a 2 person job: one person to hold the springs and the other to install the cover. But the light looks fantastic in my new dining room and it looks like a million bucks.

  • unhappy in alabama
    Verified Purchase

    i love this light fixture BUT.....the globes are hard to get off and on and we broke 3 putting them on the first time I'm not so sure i can find replacement globes, i have been looking. i would not buy it again.

  • LOVE the style!
    Verified Purchase

    I think maybe my husband found this annoying to install, but I don't remember it being a huge issue. It adds such a "pop" of mid-century style to our entryway, and with the dimmer switch we installed, we can use it any time we want, depending on how much light we want. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a ***-style type piece at a fraction of the cost!

  • Beautiful Light Fixture
    Verified Purchase

    Easy assembly and installation, until it came time to put the globes on. The openings are irregular and the glass is very, very delicate. The metal clips that hold the globes in place violently snap so be extra careful when releasing them. As much as I protest using them, I used 10W spiral bulbs because I am afraid of having to take the globes off to replace a burned out bulb. I figure I'm good for at least 10 years.

  • Beautiful for ambiance but not for bright light.
    Verified Purchase

    Very hip and cool! My fav think in my condo BUT...I would be petrified to change a light bulb come the day. Very delicate. You can see the wires inside the globe when on but still beautiful. I sold my condo it was in and when I came back to visit...they took it down! I didn’t take it with me because it was delicate. Not the best pic but that’s the only one I have. I would buy it again if I ever get to own a great home again!

  • Great, from a distance
    Verified Purchase

    looks awesome from all angles. don't get in a hurry to put together. we used CFL 3500 kelvin color 60w bulbs and it made the globes look bright white. however, the extra rods ordered to extend from ceiling came in stripped. now it hangs from the electical wire 20' in the air. not so safe!

  • So happy
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    People love these. Purchased two. Very satisfied with purchase. You will need an electrician or someone who knows what they are doing to install.

  • Fabulously Flawed
    Verified Purchase

    LOVE the look of this light, but was shocked at it's poor quality. It's a great example of form over function! We currently have it installed in our dining room, centered over the table. Although it looks amazing, we would never ever ever recommend that you purchase it. Where do we start? The chrome down rods wouldn't hold together at the seams (the threads were stripped) and the ceiling mount was nearly as flimsy as a bottle cap! The most frustrating part of the installation was the wiring - Overstock's description says the sputnik light can hang down up to 42" in length, but the electrical wiring was only 27" long. What a joke! After hours of struggling with installation, we ended up purchasing a second chandelier from our local home improvement store and replaced the entire mounting/wiring structure from the sputnik light (ceiling mount, down rod, and all) with the hardware from the second chandelier, costing us an extra $69 dollars. Once the light was securely mounted (we were no longer afraid for our future dinner guest's safety) we began the daunting task of installing the globes. A few of the globes were imperfect, and the openings were completely varied in size making it difficult to fit them over the bulbs. We had to discard one due to the fact that it wouldn't actually fit over the top of any of the arms. If you do decide, out of desperation, to purchase this light, PLEASE wear the gloves provided! Not only will they prevent smudges and fingerprints on the plastic/chrome, they will act as a barrier between your delicate skin and the ferocious metal clips! Nearly an hour later, my husband and I were profusely bleeding from both hands and frustrated still trying to install the evil painted white globes. They are ridiculous! When we finally completed the installation, we looked at each other with a terrified gaze - praying that we would NEVER have to change a light bulb. And what do you know? The very next day, lightbulbs began burning out! We actually try to leave the light off as much as possible now, for fear that more bulbs will blow. It's insane. Before you buy this light, please take a moment to read the reviews from the "smaller version" of the Sputnik light - there are quite a few folks who have experienced what we have experienced. And no matter what anyone who hired an electrician for their installation tells you, this thing is flimsy! Yes - you can see the metal clips inside the globes when you turn it on. Yes - there are flaws in the chrome. Yes - the globes are not frosted, they are painted and have imperfections. Yes - it is only designed to be mounted on a flat ceiling. Yes - using 60w lightbulbs would BLOW you out of the room (we used 40w and wish we had used 25w. But there's no way we can change them now!) Yes - you should install a dimmer switch with this thing. Best of luck to you! (and your hands!) (and your dinner guests, for that matter!)

  • Caveat Emptor
    Verified Purchase

    The light is just what we wanted but now I know why they don't show it with the power on. The globes are not frosted, they are dipped in paint. Therefore when they are on you can see all the imperfections and you can see the shadow of the retaining clips.. I think it looks cool but if you expect perfection then this is not it. Also, when assembling the light WEAR THE GLOVES provided or you will be cleaning fingerprints off the chrome for an hour.

  • Nice light. A bit hard to deal with.
    Verified Purchase

    My main complaint is that the light is supposed to have a bracket that adapts to angles. Which is technically accurate. The bracket inside the mount will angle (for say, a slightly angled junction box), however the visible mounting bracket will not. I have slanted ceilings, and had to choose between bending the bracket, or going to the local electric store and figure out some way to modify the base connection to work with cathedral ceilings. I went with the latter, which ended up not being too hard to do, after a discussion with some of the lighting folks at the store. Beyond that, it says that 60w e26(27) bulbs are needed. Again, technically true, although you're not going to be able to use a standard light-bulb on this thing. The holes in the globes that fit over the bulbs are smaller than the width of a standard bulb (plus it looks to me like a standard bulb would be too long to fit in the globe anyways). Which brings about another caution: outfitting this thing with bulbs can be pricey. Possibly more expensive than the lamp itself, if you go with something like dimmable LED bulbs. This made me consider returning it and wait for the 9-bulb one to be re-stocked. Although in the end I like this one better, so am sticking with it. I would just recommend factoring in 15 bulbs to the cost when you're looking at this (which I did not). I'm pretty sure the gloves they included were made for the hands of a 9 year old. I was putting runs in them trying to get them over my fingers. But hey, they included gloves, so I can't really justify complaining (that much) about a bonus item that is definitely helpful (once you get full range of motion with your hands in them). I do for sure recommend using the gloves; for both fingerprint prevention, and for some protection against the glass on the globes when mounting them. Overall, my complaints are more about the process of getting the thing set up. I like the quality, I like the look, and I am pleased with the purchase. If you have it installed, you won't have to deal with any of the issues (other than paying for the bulbs)

  • great modern chandelier
    Verified Purchase

    The light is great. One thing to know is that only medium base chandelier bulbs will fit inside the glass covers. Also, getting the glass covers on is a 2 person job: one person to hold the springs and the other to install the cover. But the light looks fantastic in my new dining room and it looks like a million bucks.

  • LOVE the style!
    Verified Purchase

    I think maybe my husband found this annoying to install, but I don't remember it being a huge issue. It adds such a "pop" of mid-century style to our entryway, and with the dimmer switch we installed, we can use it any time we want, depending on how much light we want. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a ***-style type piece at a fraction of the cost!

  • Needs to be longer
    Verified Purchase

    Wish it could be made longer for taller ceilings. Very pretty though.

  • So happy
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    People love these. Purchased two. Very satisfied with purchase. You will need an electrician or someone who knows what they are doing to install.

  • Beautiful for ambiance but not for bright light.
    Verified Purchase

    Very hip and cool! My fav think in my condo BUT...I would be petrified to change a light bulb come the day. Very delicate. You can see the wires inside the globe when on but still beautiful. I sold my condo it was in and when I came back to visit...they took it down! I didn’t take it with me because it was delicate. Not the best pic but that’s the only one I have. I would buy it again if I ever get to own a great home again!

  • unhappy in alabama
    Verified Purchase

    i love this light fixture BUT.....the globes are hard to get off and on and we broke 3 putting them on the first time I'm not so sure i can find replacement globes, i have been looking. i would not buy it again.

  • Beautiful Light Fixture
    Verified Purchase

    Easy assembly and installation, until it came time to put the globes on. The openings are irregular and the glass is very, very delicate. The metal clips that hold the globes in place violently snap so be extra careful when releasing them. As much as I protest using them, I used 10W spiral bulbs because I am afraid of having to take the globes off to replace a burned out bulb. I figure I'm good for at least 10 years.

  • Don't buy this

    It looks great but it was poorly manufactured and needed epoxy to be installed. Since then, globes have stopped functioning one by one, not because bulbs are out. The wiring must be faulty. Customer Service at Overstock has not been helpful because the warranty has expired. I should have returned it right away but I tried to make it work because I loved the design. Big Mistake.

  • Great, from a distance
    Verified Purchase

    looks awesome from all angles. don't get in a hurry to put together. we used CFL 3500 kelvin color 60w bulbs and it made the globes look bright white. however, the extra rods ordered to extend from ceiling came in stripped. now it hangs from the electical wire 20' in the air. not so safe!

  • Verified Purchase

Questions & Answers

  • Q:

    "I have been unable to change the light bulbs. I called the company and they said somebody from customer service will call me back. That never happened"

    • A:

      I'm sorry you are unable to change the bulbs. Please call our customer care department for further assistance. U.S. and Canada Toll free: 1-800-The-BIG-O (1-800-843-2446)

  • Q:

    "What exact type of bulb and wattage is recommended?"

    • A:

      Hello Neepa S., this fixture uses medium-base CFL bulbs. Thanks for shopping with us!

  • Q:

    "where can i purchase replacement globes?"

    • A:

      Hello sashasonja, unfortunately this item is out of stock. We currently do not have inventory to check, and cannot guarantee the item will be restocked. Thank you for shopping with us.

  • Q:

    "I have been trying to get the globe off for 30 minutes to change a bulb. I'm afraid it's going to crack. I just can't get it past those metal springs. Please help"

    • A:

      Hello sashasonja, thank you for your inquiry. Unfortunately, the information you have requested is currently unavailable. You will receive an email notification once an answer is posted. Have a great day.

  • Q:

    "Why did you choose this product?"

    • A:

      Style

    • A:

      I like it

    Read more Read less
  • Q:

    "I need to replace two white globe. Where can I find replacements?"

    • A:

      Hello tuvwx, we do apologize, we do not currently offer replacement globes for this item. Thank you for shopping with us.

  • Q:

    "How do you change a light bulb on this chandelier without breaking the glass globe?"

    • A:

      Hello jeannies, thank you for your inquiry. Unfortunately, the information you have requested is currently unavailable. You will receive an email notification once an answer is posted. Have a great day.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Contact Information

Shipping Information:

Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
Standard shipping details
Expedited shipping details

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. For the return policy on a Marketplace item, please refer to the Seller’s individual policy, located on the product page by clicking on the Seller name. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

NOTE:

This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.