Today $311.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Milton Chestnut Queen-size Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great bed, really not that hard to put together
    Verified Purchase

    I love my new bed, it came quickly, is great looking and only had two minor scratches that were easily covered up with a stain pen. As far as ease of putting it together-I am a 20-something single female who is really not all that handy, and I would estimate it maybe took 4 hours total. It is NOT hard, it takes great patience though. I used a friend to help get up the side rails, but other than that, I did it alone with the help of a cordless drill and a flex extension for the drill. Don't let having to put this bed together be a deterrent! It's worth it.

    Read More
    sedaroo February 7, 2008
  • Exactly what I wanted
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is quality! And it arrived fast! The assembly was straight forward despite the fact those bolts in the back of the headboard are a major pain (read: you really, really need something other than the provided wrenches to do it in any kind of decent time frame). Once the headboard was done, the rest went together very quickly. The pices arrived without a mark on them and all the hardware was accounted for (even had extra stuff in case something went wrong). It makes our old mattress feel firmer. The frame is so stable we can hardly feel each other roll over! Just a beautiful and solid piece of furniture! Oh, but do watch out for the footboard...I have already hit my foot and leg on it a few times because it sticks out a little more than I thought it would.

    Read More
    whiterabbit721 February 5, 2008
  • Beautiful frame
    Verified Purchase

    I love the bed and found the directions very easy to follow. I did need to buy a different tool to tighten the screws in the headboard. If I would have had the correct tools from the beginning, the whole proces would have taken 1-1 1/2 hours total to put together.

    Read More
    Anonymous January 31, 2008
  • Great Choice!!
    Verified Purchase

    My husband and I are extremely happy with our new bed. It took us less than 2 hours to put together, it's solid, and it looks great. It's perfect for our apartment, and the fact that it came in 3 separate boxes made it easy to carry up our somewhat narrow staircase. It's affordability makes It a great bed for people just starting out. A box spring is definately not necessary. My only compaint is that it kind of sticks out at the foot of the bed. We've bumped into it numerous times, but we're getting used to it. Overall, we would recommend it.

    Read More
    nymickey January 30, 2008
  • Assembly Suggestions
    Verified Purchase

    Like others I found the tools that accompany the bed useless. Moreover, I rigged a socket wrench/ screwdriver mechanism to put the headboard together, without which it would have taken forever. A power drill/ screwdriver is essential for attacheing the slats. Bed looks grat though and is comfy.

    Read More
    January 23, 2008
  • Beautiful & Solid Bed. Challenging Assembly
    Verified Purchase

    This is a beautiful and solid bed. It arrived quickly and safely, with no damage. The box had its fair share of marks and dings, but the bed itself suffered absolutely no damage. Good packing. As you'll see from lots of other reviews (all of which I also read before purchasing), this is a somewhat challenging item to assemble. HOWEVER, it's worth the effort and potential frustration. As I had read all of the other reviews, I prepared myself for hours of purposeful struggle -- I am a relatively small woman and am usually quite capable with puzzles and power tools. My hints for your assembly ease: Do not even think about relying on the hex wrenches included in the instructions. You will fail and go insane along the way. Most of your power tools (drills, screwdrivers) may be too big. If you have a relatively long-handled screwdriver with changeable heads (phillips and multiple hex heads), you are set. Pay attention to the pictures. In particular, the "overview" picture has the headboard facing one way (with the little grooves showing); BUT, the "first step" where the legs are attached has the headboard facing the other way. At first glance, this is not obvious. It is, however, intentional and necessary for correct assembly. If you get this step right, it should be smooth sailing. Use your best judgment regarding the super-glue. I did NOT use it b/c I anticipate needing to dis-assemble and move within the next few years. I'm very happy with this bed, and had a relatively straightforward assembly experience. I'd re-purchase and do it again, even if 2x more challenging.

    Read More
    Anonymous January 14, 2008
  • Excellent
    Verified Purchase

    The directions were clear and easy to assemble. The look and craftmanship was beautiful. I would recommend this product to everyone.

    Read More
    sjwall January 11, 2008
  • Great Details and Appearance
    Verified Purchase

    After reading many others reviews I was unsure if I wanted to tackle assembling this bed. Reviews stated it was difficult. Well they were correct. I got the bed in a timely manner in good condition. I decided not to use the super glue and boy was I happy because I put the headboard together backward and had to redo the whole thing. The headboard along took 3 hours to do and 3 hours to redo. After putting the headboard together everything else went fairly smooth. The bed looks great and It is a beautiful solid wood. Even though it took me 8 hours of assembly, I enjoy & love this bed.

    Read More
    ladyewonmiltonbed December 27, 2007
  • Great bed!!
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is wonderfully made and very sturdy. The color and the appearance of the wood is wonderful. I would truly recommend this bed to anyone who wants a simple, yet well designed bed that can fit almost any decor. Great price too!!!

    Read More
    nuttygirl December 21, 2007
  • WOW!! What a great bed
    Verified Purchase

    After reviewing all of the reveiws that were posted, I decided to purchase this bed. My understanding in purchasing this bed was the assembling process would be difficult. However, after receiving the bed and laying all the parts out for accountable the assembling was very easy and took less than an hour with very simple tools cordless screwdriver and standard screwdriller.

    Read More
    ectexas December 18, 2007
  • A beautiful bed !
    Verified Purchase

    It takes 2 people to assemble the bed. We bought 2 beds, the Tribecca and the Milton. Same architectural design so the second one was put together much faster than the first one. Assemble the head board to the side post was a hassle as it takes a while to tightly screw the hexagonal screws in small grooves. Also, there is no mentionning in the specification about the bed comes with slats. which is an added bonus since we only need to buy the mattress not the full assemble. I did enquire about this aspect ( with slats or not) with the customer support chat, but the customer support officer could not be sure. The bed is very sturdy and beautiful

    Read More
    tramap December 17, 2007
  • milton chestnut bed
    Verified Purchase

    A true bargain!! The bed is even better than it looks online! Excellent quality and very sturdy. It arrived in perfect condition - far faster than I ever expected. Instructions, and online reviews made the assembly process go quickly. First time I've used Overstock, although a frequent online shopper - highly impressed with the service and quality!

    Read More
    Anonymous December 12, 2007
  • Great Bed Once It's Together
    Verified Purchase

    This really is a great bed - works wonderfully with a 'space foam' mattress from Overstock also. Putting it together, however, is a challenge for two persons. One alone cannot do it and two need all the patience they can together muster. Once together the bed is superb - it suits our new marriage and our new home.

    Read More
    pasadenalady December 11, 2007
  • Decent Bed for a good price
    Verified Purchase

    i was really looking forward to getting this bed and although I think it was a good price for the bed. I don't know I somehow expected a little more from seeing the other reviews. It is pretty but plainer than I expected. I will say that it did take about 2-2 1/2 hrs to put together but I don't feel it was as hard as some people say. My hubby is a carpenter, so maybe being a "handy man" helped, but even me helping just didn't think it was that terrible to do. Overall I gave it a 4 because of just hoping for a little more, but nice & solid & certainly nice if you can't spend thousands of $ on a bed.

    Read More
    lbaldwin December 10, 2007
  • excellent appearance, good design
    Verified Purchase

    We love the bed's looks. Assembly wasn't too bad, because I have a flexible shaft screwdriver with interchangeable bits. The allen wrench bolts were problematic. I'm not sure why the manufacturers didn't go with the easy-assembly hooking latches found on most beds. That said, we LOVE the bed. It doesn't squeak or jiggle--it's really solid. And it looks simply amazing.

    Read More
    debg2 December 8, 2007
  • Great Bed!
    Verified Purchase

    Just assembled mine and I'm pleased with the assembled product. There were two minor flaws - bubbling in the headboard and missing drill holes in one slat. Other than those two things, the bed was in good condition. The missing drill hole is easy to remedy. The "bubbling is about a cm square and only noticeable within about a foot of the headboard. As other reviewers have noted the headboard is hard to assemble. I was concerned that this would be an issue when moving (disassembly), but it won't be. A flexible drill bit extension will help out with the headboard assembly. Make sure to get one that is compact. My flexible extension was too big to fit in the slot. Otherwise, you will spend quite a bit of time on the headboard. It's easy to get the legs attached to the headboard backwards. Make sure you check this carefully, especially since the headboard is difficult to assemble - you don't want to have to do it twice. The instructions mention using two people to assemble. I assembled it myself. It would have went a bit faster with another person, but not by much. Overall, a great bed.

    Read More
    toga98 December 8, 2007
  • milton bed
    Verified Purchase

    Thanks to the reviews concerning the Milton bed, I made my first purchase through Overstock several weeks ago. Ease of ordering, shipping etc...was wonderful. The bed is exactly what I had been looking for. It is very beautiful, sturdy and yes, it does require patience to put it together. Very ,very happy with it! Wish I could get matching nightstands.

    Read More
    tew6 December 5, 2007
  • Beautiful Bed
    Verified Purchase

    This bed looks great and was fairly easy to assemble. There was a bit of trouble with one part of assembly that everyone else has already described, but when I switched to a slim. long handled screwdriver with the proper attachment instead of the little allen wrench included, it was done in minutes. Great look and feel, would certainly recommend this to a friend!!

    Read More
    brandonatl December 5, 2007
  • Wonderful bed
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this bed recently and put it together in a couple of hours by myself. I am a petite woman and found it pretty easy to do. I did use a drill since the slats have no pre-drilled holes, but other than that, I used the tools provided. The bed is very comfortable, sturdy and looks beautiful.

    Read More
    Michelle N. December 4, 2007
  • Awsome Bed
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is beautiful. The wood is gorgeous, Very sturdy and heavy. Assembly directions were easy to follow. I recommend that you have a screwdriver that has interchangable bits. You need a 5/32 and a 3/16 hex bit because the allen wrenches are too cumbersome. Other than that it was a breeze. Need 2 people also. Great bed, worth at least 2-3 times the price.

    Read More
    rnpc December 1, 2007
Sponsored Links