Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Maple End Grain 20x15-inch Chopping Block

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Disappointed,
    Verified Purchase

    This very thick and heavy butcher block looks great and sturdy; however, within three months of use there is a major crack. The glued pieces of wood have separated: now there is a one inch long by a quarter inch opening. The block is also slightly warped. Board was exposed to some water, but not a lot and it was regularly oiled. What a disappointment. The design would be better if there were some little "legs" on the block to raise it a bit from the counter.

    Read More
    lanham April 11, 2012
  • SBGirl
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little worried that the board would be too big once i got it. I actually thought my husband would make fun of it. I could hardly lift it in the box it came in! But once i put it on the counter and started using it i loved it! It's great that it makes my work space 3 inches higher which, not that i am tall (5'5), it is just a more comfortable way to work. I have not really cut directly on it since i am not sure how easy it's going to be to clean. like i said, it's super heavy and it is quite big. I've gotten used to the size now and my husband did not make fun of it at all. his first words were "now that's a cutting board!" oh, and it looks way more expensive than it was. i would recommend this for sure.

    Read More
    sbreview March 16, 2011
  • With reservations
    Verified Purchase

    Although some reviews noted flaws with boards by this manufacturer I already had an 18x18x3 1/2 cutting board ordered through Overstocked.com which appeared to be fine. Therefore I felt comfortable ordering this 20 x 15 x 3 1/2 board from the same manufacturer. I was sent a chopping board that has glue filler showing in one spot. It may be small but glue it is. Two corners are not beveled smoothly. This is not a cheap item and customers should not be the ones providing quality control.

    Read More
    rateit October 13, 2010
  • Good quality, but watch for defects
    Verified Purchase

    I recently received this block from Overstock and unfortunately, I found a crack that had been filled in with hot glue. Thankfully, Overstock is shipping me a new one right away so overall, I'm not too disappointed with the outcome. i just hope the second block is pristine. Cheers.

    Read More
    simplifiedawesome August 27, 2010
  • Great Quality!
    Verified Purchase

    This was my first purchase from Overstock. This board is extremely heavy. Very well made and well finished. Top row of wood pieces is a fraction shorter, front to back, than the rest, which may account for the lower price. The cutting surface is not affected in any way, nor is the quality. The surface is completely level on both cutting surfaces, board is totally square at the corners. All I could add to this item would be finger slots at the sides, something I'll be adding with my friend's router! You will have to oil it with food-grade mineral oil. This is available in the laxative section of any pharmacy, oddly enough. No, the oil WILL NOT transfer to your food... I feel I got a tremendous bargain on this item, as I have researched comparable items and found the prices to be at least $$-$$ bucks higher. I am especially happy to see it was made in America, about 500 miles away from me! BUY THIS!

    Read More
    shoes58 December 28, 2011
  • Great cutting board!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this cutting board. The wood is a beautiful addition to my kitchen. I have had this now for several years and it still looks like the day I bought it. I season it periodically and it always comes back to like like a new board.

    Read More
    Judith L T. January 31, 2017
  • Great Quality
    Verified Purchase

    This chopping block is very sturdy and durable! I make my own wood conditioning using Mineral Oil ( purchased in the health and beauty dept)and bees wax that I mixed together and apply monthly. No cracks splits or slivers. I used lemon rind to clean and disinfect.

    Read More
    TerBurgh T. July 19, 2016
  • Perfect fil
    Verified Purchase

    My cook top is centered in my kitchen island thus leaving a narrow area to either side. This cutting board fits perfectly to the right, thus making it possible to chop right next to the pan and getting dinner ready fast and easy. I like the thickness of it. It brings the work surface up just perfectly. I've had it several years now and it still looks like new. Because it's end grain solid maple wood, one doesn't see cutting marks and it keeps the knifes sharper longer.

    Read More
    Heike C. June 5, 2016
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    The board was perfect. It was bought as a gift and was as great as expected. I also purchased the elixer for her to condition the wood. She loves it!

    Read More
    lsc5612 December 27, 2012
  • Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I originally fell in love with this product in a high end catalog. That product was *** more expensive and they charged *** shipping. I decided to check with overstock and was thrilled to find it!! It arrived quickly and I just love the look and convenience!

    Read More
    Km mill May 5, 2017
  • Kim
    Verified Purchase

    Love it it's very heavy a wonderful buy

    Read More
    Kim B. March 28, 2017
  • Lafdfiremom
    Verified Purchase

    Our son is so happy to have this for his new apartment. Excellent quality. He seasoned it with the mineral oil

    Read More
    Susan December 29, 2016
  • Excellent product
    Verified Purchase

    I love it iits big and beautiful wood

    Read More
    Marcy D. December 19, 2016
  • Best Cuuting Board!!!
    Verified Purchase

    Love this cutting board. Nice and heav, never moves.

    Read More
    James M. November 13, 2016
  • Very nice!
    Verified Purchase

    Bought 2 of these as gifts. Very satisfied!

    Read More
    Beth September 21, 2016
  • I love it
    Verified Purchase

    This beautiful block was a long-overdue replacement for an edge-grain block that was worn to pieces. Despite it's substantial size and weight, the block slides around on my counter. I solved the problem by putting a piece of that non-slip liner stuff underneath. I like that it's hefty enough that I can stand it on its side to dry after I wash it. As other commenters have noted, it drinks up a lot of oil. After a few weeks of use, I find it still needs another coat just about every day. I assume in time that won't be the case.

    Read More
    Claudia C. March 9, 2016
  • Beautiful Chopping Block
    Verified Purchase

    I am thrilled with my new chopping block. Not only is it beautiful it is also extremely sturdy. I know this will be in my kitchen for many years to come.

    Read More
    Mandy S. February 11, 2016
  • Susie
    Verified Purchase

    We use this chopping block daily and love it. We've had it for a year and and its in great condition. We oil it about once a week to keep it beautiful.

    Read More
    Susan B. January 6, 2016
  • A thing of beauty!
    Verified Purchase

    Sturdy, beautiful, and high enough to give the arms a rest while cutting. It is a beautiful thing and it's made in the USA!

    Read More
    chadwelt January 6, 2016
  • Great Value
    Verified Purchase

    This block was better than I expected. Have used it daily now in a commercial kitchen for over 4 months, and it is holding up well

    Read More
    Chef R. April 21, 2015
Sponsored Links