Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Maple End Grain 15-inch Square Chopping Block

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • So far, so good
    Verified Purchase

    Cutting boards/chopping blocks can only be really judged by how they perform over the long run, so take this 2 week review with a large grain of salt. However, getting a end grain maple board from a very reputable manufacturer at this price is a very good start (end grain being the best to avoid messing up knife edges, and maple being a board with the right amount of hardness without the silica of bamboo or acacia). The board is as represented in the picture and specs, another good sign. At the 2 week mark after moderate use, no cracks or warping. I will update in a few months.

    Read More
    jigri February 25, 2010
  • After one year of use
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two of these boards just over a year ago. When I received them I was very happy with the quality until now. Just out of warrenty of course one board has begun to seperate a glue joint allowing it to start warping and become a bacteria trap. Given the boards are only warrentied for a year I will have to trash it and buy another. I went to the Michigan Maple web site the manufacture of these boards and read the tips on buying boards. Their advice is when buying an end grade board you should purchase a board a minium of 31/2 inches thick to avoid cracking and warping. In my opinion and others the end grain is the only kind to buy so I will purchase a 4 inch Boos board next.

    Read More
    lazo1957 March 30, 2011
  • The block split.
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful block upon arrival. Used all of the butcher block as recommended in care instructions and the board still split with proper care. DO NOT BUY!!!! As the board split after 30 days, a replacement/refund was not available to me. Boo! Tear. Very dissatisfied.

    Read More
    nolagirl27 June 25, 2011
  • This block rocks!
    Verified Purchase

    This deluxe end grain cutting board is their 15" square model. I am happy I got the square instead of the longer rectangular. Plenty of room, but less obtrusive when left out and easier to store on end. You will need to be assiduous for the first week in putting mineral oil on it daily, and once a week thereafter, in order to keep it from drying out. End grain rather than side grain is the way to go if you can afford the $ diff. Height recommended and USA made by a good company, Michigan Maple Block. Amateur Gourmet Cook

    Read More
    racerguy December 26, 2012
  • Very High Quality
    Verified Purchase

    This chopping block is of high quality maple, very solid and heavy. Pretty to look at too.

    Read More
    tsmith25 December 26, 2009
  • Solid and beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    This chopping block is as beautiful as it is functional. I have it prominently displayed on my counter top. It does need quite a bit of mineral oil before using. The wood tends to soak it up pretty fast at the beginning so be prepared. However, once it has been treated with the mineral oil it makes wiping it off after use much easier. This board is VERY heavy and definitely great quality. Very pleased with the purchase.

    Read More
    apgilliard January 11, 2013
  • Great Board - Great Price!

    This end grain cutting board is very beautiful - almost too pretty to use but I have been using it for about a month now. Perfect size. It came in a timely manner. Packaged very securely. It also came with a small bottle of butcher block conditioner (which was a surprise) and directions on how to prepare the surface and to take care of it. The price was excellent and I would highly recommend buying it if you are looking for a cutting board. Did I mention how pretty it looks on the counter?

    Read More
    cautiousshopper2 December 9, 2010
  • Faulty product
    Verified Purchase

    I was so please to find this chopping block at such a good price. When it arrived I treated the wood like recommended and did so each week. After only a couple of months I noticed that the wood is already starting to separate. I am very dissapointed and of course there is no warrantee on this product. I would not recommend anyone purchasing this chopping block.

    Read More
    sue90254 May 23, 2011
  • Kitchen Work Unblocked
    Verified Purchase

    This chopping block came very light in color and as mentioned the dark spots really jumped out at you but after two weeks of daily oiling, I can't begin to tell you what a beautiful piece of assembled wood this item became. It's the first thing people notice in my kitchen now. Price is unbelievable.

    Read More
    buyraymond8 February 5, 2013
  • Great Board!
    Verified Purchase

    This chopping block is beautiful, heavy duty and true to color. It was better then I had thought when ordered and would recommend to others to purchase.

    Read More
    megs98 January 5, 2010
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great cutting board. I was a little skeptical at first but my opinion changed after I used it. Just the right size, I leave it out on my counter all the time. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in need of a good cutting board.

    Read More
    foreversam April 28, 2010
  • Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This cutting board is exactly as described. Quality cutting board and looks great. We have owned this cutting board for a few years now and it has held up very well.

    Read More

    This user was entered into a sweepstakes after submitting their honest review.

    brohr July 31, 2018
  • Beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    I just recently had my kitchen remodeled and was looking for a cutting board that I could leave out on the counter. This product is lovely and really complements the rustic design of my kitchen. It's heavy, no doubt, but that is what I like about it! I don't plan on putting it away, I want to show it off! Love, love, LOVE it!

    Read More
    caliofan June 24, 2010
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    Well made and a quality product. I actually bought these as speaker stands:) but they are very nice butcher blocks nonetheless.

    Read More
    dane101 September 18, 2009
  • IF you like to buy American...
    Verified Purchase

    Give it up for supporting Northern Michigan! It comes from The Michigan Maple Block Co in Petoskey Michigan. It's absolutely gorgeous and impeccable quality. Don't hesitate, buy it, you'll LOVE it :-)

    Read More
    nice March 24, 2010
  • Excellent quality
    Verified Purchase

    Love my cutting board. Best price

    Read More
    shelley401 February 3, 2015
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    I could not believe the quality of this piece. It's solid, heavy, beautiful and will last a lifetime. It took longer than I expected to arrive, other items I order arrives within a few days, I think this took 2 weeks. It was worth waiting for and at a fraction of the retail price in the stores!

    Read More
    implayful September 30, 2010
  • Cracked!
    Verified Purchase

    Bought the board from Overstock. Shipped fast and got GREAT service from Overstock. However, the board cracked in multiple places less than a month after it was received. Then to add insult to injury... Overstock does not exchange it!!! They did however provide a FULL refund including the shipping costs back. Will try to buy another chopping block and see if I have better luck.

    Read More
    yman2010 November 24, 2010
  • Beautiful Board!
    Verified Purchase

    So far, I'm really happy with this cutting board. Oiled it up and it seems to be really well built and I love it. I would not hesitate to buy this again at all!

    Read More
    Jamie S. January 3, 2017
  • Awesome
    Verified Purchase

    Great cutting board! Just gets better with age, have had mine for a few years. Well worth the $.

    Read More
    pjb52 January 27, 2016