Today: $104.49

At other retailer: $160.56

Save $56.07 (35%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Magefesa Practika Plus Stainless Steel 8-quart Super Fast Pressure Cooker

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Pressure
    Verified Purchase

    Still wirking great , love it

    Read More
    Jose G. June 3, 2017
  • Great!
    Verified Purchase

    Works great. Heavy duty. We use it all the time.

    Read More
    Nancy k1944 June 9, 2016
  • Fantastic pressure cooker
    Verified Purchase

    Edit May 13, 2016. I cannot continue to recommend this pressure cooker as I wrote in 2014 below starting at the words "For approximately." I give it 2 stars now. Spare parts bought through the Magefesa USA website charges very high shipping fees, so I ended up ordering another pressure cooker (PC) to satisfy my curiousity in diagnosing why the PC I bought 2 years ago was not pressurizing as I could get a whole new PC from Overstock and use it to figure out what is wrong with my old PC and have a backup for not much more money than ordering parts from Magefesa without really knowing what I needed. I washed and disassembled the new PC I just bought and I found black plastic shavings inside the valve area and within the 4 piece pressure valve assembly. The manual in Spanish has color diagrams vs the black and white of the English manual for help in figuring out how to disassemble the "pressure regulating valve." This is quite easy to do. I cleaned out the debris. The new PC works. However, if you do buy this PC be sure to completely remove the main valve that you use to operate the PC as well as to dissassemble the valve into its 4 parts and look for manufacturing debris. The new PC eliminates an extra hole in the lid that allows for a metal nub to push the sealing gasket out of the way when the lid switch is set to A for "abierto" (open in Spanish) as an additional safety. The new PC is thus less complex but less likely to have a problem seating the sealing gasket. I put the new sealing gasket in the old PC. Magefesa in their instructions recommends lubricating the gasket with cooking oil and it does help. Still not pressurizing. I removed the red safety valve and the upper handle. The plastic of the upper handle where the red safety valve screws in is degenerating. I cleaned it out and was eventually able to get the old PC working even with the old lid sealing gasket. I have experience with the Presto Professional 8 quart stainless steel PC. It also has its quirks, but it is in the same price range and has been more reliable for me. Parts are available from Presto at a more reasonable price. The Presto 8 quart PC is wider and not as tall which is likely a more useful shape for most people. Hope this update helps. For approximately $**, this pressure cooker is a great value. I use it mainly to prepare beans. I also use it to prepare steel cut oatmeal (pan in pot method) and risotto's. This pressure cooker has excellent safety features and the stainless steel construction is great. Check out Laura Pazzaglia's website for an excellent review with pictures on how to correctly mount the gasket. What you also need to realize is that the red indicator that pop's up is there to allow air to purge out as the cooker begins building pressure and to lock the handle to avoid the operator (you) from opening the lid while the cooker has any pressure. When the red indicator pops up, the cooker has pressure but it is not yet at full pressure. Only when you see a small wisp of steam start to be released from the main valve do you know that full pressure is achieved and to start your cooking timing and to turn down the heat or move to a low heat burner. I recommend that after you clean the cooker, you test it out with a two cups of water to see how it behaves as it is building pressure and how little heat is required to maintain pressure for a few minutes. I use as much heat as I can get from a gas burner that is smaller than the thick base to get the cooker up to pressure. You don't want too big of a burner because then too much heat will go up around the outside damaging the plastic handles and/or the gasket. Once my cooker is at pressure, I can use low simmer on my smallest inner ring burner to maintain pressure. Remember that it will rapidly build up to full pressure with only a cup or two of water, but it will take much longer the more food is in the cooker; however, low simmer is enough to maintain pressure once the cooker reaches full pressure for me regardless of how much food is in the cooker. Check out Miss Vickie's website also for more pressure cooking tips, especially if you have an electric range which doesn't allow for rapid lowering of burner heat. The instruction manual is not an easy read since it is not the greatest translation from Spanish to English. This cooker is made in Spain. You can learn a lot by reading instruction manuals from other cooker manufacturers online. I also recommend Lorna Sass' books. The public library can be your friend. This cooker does not include a trivet and steamer basket, so that will be an additional expense if you don't already have that for certain techniques. Good luck.

    Read More
    5zqdg9 May 13, 2016
  • Manager
    Verified Purchase

    Very solid nice and cooks very good ,you can't go wrong

    Read More
    Mohammed A. February 19, 2016
  • love this pressure cooker
    Verified Purchase

    Great buy. Will recommend it

    Read More
    bee February 15, 2016
  • Great Pressure Cooker
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great 8 quart pressure cooker. Very durable and great quality. Perfect item for making soup.....

    Read More
    edtheplantman January 15, 2016
  • Pressure Cooker
    Verified Purchase

    It's great and holds a lot Great buy

    Read More
    Pamela S. January 7, 2016
  • Very effective
    Verified Purchase

    Reduce at least half of cooking time. The inner rubber absorbs odor, which is hard to eliminate, so four stars.

    Read More
    H.Y.C. November 22, 2015
  • Well made
    Verified Purchase

    Good solid construction and I love the lid locking system. I was looking for an 8 qt. pressure cooker with a larger diameter, but it's the same as my older Magefesa 6 qt pressure cooker. Other than that, it's a good pressure cooker and the stew I made was cooked perfectly.

    Read More
    Beverly G. October 1, 2015
  • Great Pressure Cooker
    Verified Purchase

    Great investment for the dollar.

    Read More
    dphansen August 15, 2015
  • Pressure Cooker
    Verified Purchase

    Too hot to cook this is the perfect solution! One pot cooking and usually 30 minutes or less

    Read More
    eem1963 August 5, 2015
  • Love it
    Verified Purchase

    Works great. The cooker also comes with 3 settings, low, high and off.

    Read More
    Melinda L. July 28, 2015
  • Mohamed - Rolla, MO
    Verified Purchase

    We bought this cooker from Overstock after returning the ******* brand to ******. This cooker is indeed made of high quality genuine stainless steel. We tested the base, body, and lid with a magnet; all didn't stick. According to the user manual, the base is composed of ONLY three layers NOT five as in the product description on the Overstock site. Overall we were very happy with our purchase.

    Read More
    OstkUser35115 June 13, 2015
  • Amazing
    Verified Purchase

    Best pressure cooker ever!

    Read More
    mangoshirt May 20, 2015
  • Grandparent
    Verified Purchase

    Wonderful, I can prepare meals in record time.

    Read More
    june4419 April 24, 2015
  • Neva
    Verified Purchase

    High quality and function!

    Read More
    Neva S. February 26, 2015
  • Family size for main course.
    Verified Purchase

    First dish was a 5 pound fresh chicken with a few carrots onion. Only anxious moment was when I could not at first tell when the little red ball had sealed to up position indicating it was time to set the pressure. Figured it out and now no problem.

    Read More
    NFF January 20, 2015
  • very good
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this for a few months now. i use it at least once a week and i love it! my older pot was working well but top melted (my mistake). When i found this i knew it would be a good replacement .

    Read More
    customer6479 August 14, 2014
  • pressure cooker magefesa
    Verified Purchase

    My cooker arrived broken. The locking mechanism was snapped off and rolling around in box. The box looked fine so I assume this happened at factory or enroute through temp changes. Either way I would not order this brand again because a pressure cooker needs to function under extreme temp changes. I have since switched to a fagor brand pressure cooker and have been very satisfied with it. Overstock was great with return and person who assisted me was very helpful. However I did have to go to my ups store to return item. Overstock would be well served to send a gift certificate to customers who are inconvenienced by a faulty product.

    Read More
    hose1 March 1, 2014
  • Nice pressure cooker
    Verified Purchase

    I've cooked several things with it now and have been very happy with it. I'm experienced with an old one for many years, and only had to give it up because the rings were no longer available. I'm pretty sure the silicone ring that this new cooker has will last longer, and it certainly builds up pressure quickly. I was not fond of the old rattling kind of cooker that I used to have, but at least I didn't have to stand over it to know whether it was at pressure. This new one is nice and quiet, but I can't even see the red button from across the room. In fact, I'm a little short and have to stand on tip toe right over it to see if it's come up or not. However, it does reach pressure fast and I have not had it lose pressure until I let it cool. It could possibly be improved by having some sort of audible signal or a button that sticks up higher. I have a ceramic cooktop with 3 sizes of burners, none of which are an ideal match for this pan for some reason. I have to put it on a burner that seems too small, but that hasn't slowed it down any as far as I can tell. It seems to conduct heat very well.

    Read More
    arpie February 17, 2014
Sponsored Links