Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Le Chef French White Ceramic Square 1.5-gallon Compost Pail

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Love it.

    I had this by my sink and used it for 6 years before it was accidently cracked. We used it tons 'cause we're mostly vegetarians. It held more than most and was attractive yet inconspicuous in my white kitchen. I quit using the charcoal filter but never noticed any odor problems. (I think composters that seal stink most.) So bummed it's out of stock now.

    Read More
    gwen006 January 18, 2017
  • The lid doesn't fit...
    Verified Purchase

    The lid doesn't fit properly and fruit flies become a huge issue.

    Read More
    Alicia E. January 12, 2017
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    Awesome! Love it! Great looking piece!

    Read More
    Wendell C. June 26, 2016
  • Like the Look of this Compost Pail
    Verified Purchase

    Like the look of this Pail on the counter but sorry to say it does not serve well as a Compost Pail. The Lid does not fit no matter which way you turn so plenty of Fruit Flies. Have to stop using in the house but does make a great flower pot.

    Read More
    ermb April 15, 2016
  • audrich
    Verified Purchase

    It looked nice but didn't last. Ceramic in the kitchen that is used daily near granite countertops is just a bad idea. The pail cracked within the first month and then the top broke when it slipped off the top. If it had been made with more sturdy ceramic it might have worked but it is very thin. Replaced it with a stainless steel version and have been very happy.

    Read More
    audrich April 10, 2016
  • Exactly as pictured!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for a gift for my mom and it was just as advertised. Perfect size for countertop composting to collect scraps and the lid helps keep the fruit flies away.

    Read More
    nebstyle1 March 14, 2016
  • Very pretty for a compost bin
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this as a gift for my daughter in California. She loved it and so did her husband who hated the coffee can she usually used on the counter top. This was so much more classy and sanitary looking.

    Read More
    arwenabelle4 March 5, 2016
  • it works
    Verified Purchase

    i mean you can put stuff in and it everything else cool like that.

    Read More
    jb January 25, 2016
  • ceramic compost pail
    Verified Purchase

    I got this to store my organics before I take them to the drop off site. I use a biodegradable plastic bag insert which almost always leaks by the time I need to take the bag out. After using this for 6-8 months, I find that I don't like it so much because it is difficult to clean. The interior edges/corners are very square, not rounded, and it's just hard to wash the crud out of there. Also,the carbon mesh filter in the lid shrinks after a few washings, and then it falls out of the lid. That being said, it is a lot nicer looking than the plastic ones.

    Read More
    mimsiroo December 6, 2015
  • italianurse
    Verified Purchase

    I love this product but my husband broke the lid. Seals tight, no fruit flies and looks nice on my countertop.

    Read More
    italianurse October 26, 2015
  • Holds smell, a bit heavy
    Verified Purchase

    Others complained that it didn't contain the smell because of a loose fitting lid, but even with a lid that doesn't seal, it doesn't get stinky unless food is left in their too long and you then lift the lid. The ceramic material does make it a bit heavy.

    Read More
    schhol September 4, 2015
  • Fly magnet

    Lid does not close tightly, so it attracts insects. Even though !i cannot smell anything I have to keep it outside,Mohicans completely defeats the point!

    Read More
    OstkUser39591 July 18, 2015
  • Loved it!
    Verified Purchase

    Loved it until I slightly dropped it in the sink and it broke it after a year of enjoying it. My fault but I feared it would happen every time I took it to the garden and washed it.

    Read More
    karen2008n July 17, 2015
  • Lovely
    Verified Purchase

    Well made, hard to tell its a compost pail

    Read More
    Angela C. July 12, 2015
  • Nice Pail
    Verified Purchase

    I like the pail and it definitely keeps odors from wafting into my entire kitchen. If you don't empty it every other day you start growing science experiments.

    Read More
    wkdwtch44 May 7, 2015
  • Worthy of display
    Verified Purchase

    Great compost bucket. Heavy glazing makes it rinse clean easily. I love this so much that when I broke it in a clumsy accident, I ordered a new one the same day.

    Read More
    soooz May 4, 2015
  • If you compost, this is nice!
    Verified Purchase

    I use this as a "garbage bowl" on my kitchen counter and dump in the compost pile every evening. Keeping it clean and green, people :)

    Read More
    Krista B. April 7, 2015
  • Perfect
    Verified Purchase

    I love this size because it fits nicely under my kitchen counter and out of sight in my small kitchen. The pail holds odors really well. I love it.

    Read More
    shygirl22 April 1, 2015
  • Really nice looking! Does keep smell and flyes awa
    Verified Purchase

    First one came in damaged no fragle sign horrible packing I mean it's ceramic!!!! However as soon as i started return process 2 days after I had new box under my door nicely packed and in one piece!!! Great service Overstock now I'm so confident buying from you guys!!!

    Read More
    Georgiy B. March 28, 2015
  • Looks great but comes with flies and odors!
    Verified Purchase

    It's really too bad that this product just doesn't work. I read the other reviews before I bought it and so I was warned about the lid that doesn't sit properly, letting fruit flies multiply and a foul odor fill the room. But did I listen? No. I wanted to believe the other reviews that said you just have to put the lid on correctly. Nope. Not true. The lid just doesn't sit evenly on the top of the container. I might try using silicone to create a better seal. We'll see. So...be warned. This product doesn't work as an indoor compost.

    Read More
    amazd August 12, 2014
Sponsored Links