| Help relief efforts across the country by Donating Now ›
Sale $152.99

Was: $179.99

Save $27.00 (15%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Lateral File

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Junk
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I had a friend try to assemble this product who has put together many, many, such items and he told me that I got taken - this was a very badly produced product - in other words "JUNK". First there was a piece missing - got that but the fittings didn't work the whole cabinet was a disaster - it is so wobble and the drawers don't open properly - it is a MESS.

    Read More
    OstkUser1147705 July 24, 2017
  • Inspect the support bars before assembling.
    Verified Purchase

    I assembled this perfectly (took about 5 hours), following the instruction to a tee. The support bar that goes under the bottom of each drawer was not long enough to reach front to back, and there were no instructions or mechanism to attach it to the front -- only to the back. It just flopped down in the front. There were no extra pieces left that could have been intended to use for this, and there were no holes in the bar where it should have attached. I don't know if it was defective, but it was a nightmare. If you buy, measure the support bar pieces against the drawer bottoms to make sure they're long enough, and make sure there are holes in both ends for attachment (there wasn't).

    Read More
    Pamela A. November 18, 2016
  • Just OK
    Verified Purchase

    This file cabinet feels somewhat flimsy and was not the easiest thing to put together (my husband did it). The size suits our needs, that's about it.

    Read More
    Laura H. August 26, 2016
  • Good Quality
    Verified Purchase

    This filing cabinet took two of us roughly 4 hours to put together and when it was all done we were very pleased with the look of this filing cabinet. It looked like the picture too. Many people say it is hard to put together but if you take your time it is not a big deal. We did take several breaks to make it easier on us.

    Read More
    Jennifer G. March 10, 2016
  • Locking File Cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    The instructions were wrong or incomplete. They had you assembling the drawer slides using the wrong holes. If you used the holes in the drawing , the drawers would not close completely. This necessitated uninstalling and reinstalling all 4 slides using a different hole. There were no instructions on how to adjust the locking mechanism to lock both drawers. It was only accomplished through trial and error. Many of the wooden parts were not labeled. Only after scrutinizing the instructions carefully, was I able to identify the proper parts.

    Read More
    Randall B. March 3, 2016
  • File cabinet - lateral file
    Verified Purchase

    Large, heavy file cabinet. Drawers slide smoothly and have an anti-tip feature that will prevent the cabinet from tilting forward when pulled open. The only problem with the cabinet is the locking mechanism doesn't work. Despite several attempts to get it to line up properly, it just wouldn't work. It's not an issue that would affect my using the cabinet as is, nor needing to contact customer service. I'm looking forward to transferring my files into my new file cabinet.

    Read More
    Babette G. February 18, 2016
  • Lateral File Cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    For the price I am satisfied. Even though the instructions were not the best, especially concerning the direction of the drawer slides, I was able to put it together by myself although I used my own glue as I figured the amount of glue sent was insufficient. Properly put together it look decent and the drawers carry a good load, I have lots of music books. It works well for my use.

    Read More
    OstkUser85909 February 16, 2016
  • Laterial File a good buy
    Verified Purchase

    This lateral file has a locking drawer. It is compact and works well. It is extremely heavy empty, and I cannot budge it an inch with the files inside.

    Read More
    jp314 January 24, 2016
  • Looks good great file cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    Directions to put together could be a little more detailed .. Only one negative...still unable to use lock on both drawers. Will contact Company again for help.

    Read More
    John M. December 28, 2015
  • solid construction
    Verified Purchase

    This cabinet is solid which justifies the price. However, you need 2 people to put it together and the instructions can be difficult to follow.

    Read More
    Kathleen L. June 3, 2015
  • It is functional and darker than the picture.
    Verified Purchase

    The color has a slight red tint and is darker than the picture. An important screw hole was not drilled. Instead of packaging the entire unit for return I attempted to correct it myself and ended up with a slight blemish directly below the handle of the bottom drawer. I had no clue that a pre-drilled hole was missing until I was almost finished. It cost me the cosmetic value of the file cabinet.

    Read More
    Lawrence M. April 30, 2015
  • Piece of Junk
    Verified Purchase

    I order this thing and it the particle board fell apart during assembly which is an onerous and depressing project. I will never buy another piece of flatpack crap like this again.

    Read More
    Eynstyn October 15, 2014
  • Good enough
    Verified Purchase

    The actual color of this file cabinet is darker than the photo makes it appear. It had some scratches, peeling and dents when it arrived, but most were located where they wouldn't be obvious. The assembly directions were mostly clear but it took almost 3 hours to assemble it with two very capable people working on it simultaneously (one was an engineer). There was a screw hole missing that we had to drill ourselves (three times, because the bottom and top drawer dimensions are different) and there was not enough glue provided. The drawer lock doesn't line up properly, either. The construction quality seems like it might not hold much weight, so you absolutely have to use hanging folders for files. Other items besides files might be too heavy to store as the drawer bottoms are like very thin laminated cardboard. The price for this nice-looking item is excellent; all other file cabinets that looked similar elsewhere were priced in the $XXX-$XXX range, so you can save a lot of money buying this, but you will get what you pay for. In spite of all the "cons," I'll probably buy another one as there is enough space in my new home office to accommodate it and it doubles as a table I can put nice decorations on, which is a good background for webcam videos, etc. I just have to wait a while to buy it, if I'm going to ask for help with the assembly. Right now, it's like going through a long, hard, labor and then immediately asking "do you want to have another baby?"

    Read More
    ohiohomebizowner June 26, 2014
  • looks great
    Verified Purchase

    a few cliches putting it together but once done excellent

    Read More
    nbochis September 28, 2013
  • wouldnt buy this again
    Verified Purchase

    flat packed and not easy to assemble...even by a carpenter!!! Not stury enough as moves from side to side and tips when full ..would not recommend

    Read More
    mnc2 November 8, 2012
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    buttrfli26 December 15, 2016