Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for John Louis Standard Red Mahogany Closet System

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Positive Shopping Experience
    Verified Purchase

    I had purchased a John Louis mahogany closet system on-line from another vendor about 2 years ago and already knew how much I like the product. I'd just remodeled a second bedroom and was ready to buy another John Louis closet system when I found it offered on OverStock.com. The price is fantastic, the product arrived within a few days with absolutely no damage shipped directly from John Louis. I could not ask for more. I am completely satisfied.

    Read More
    rocklizard April 11, 2011
  • Bitter sweet
    Verified Purchase

    I read the other reviews prior to purchasing. It took my husband and I 6 hours to install. We are pretty handy. The closet was not difficult to install just time consuming a lot of pieces. How ever 6 hours later it looks beautiful. If you decide to purchase this system just be patient - it's worth the time.

    Read More
    nicoleshoppermi March 20, 2011
  • Nice product
    Verified Purchase

    Product is made of solid wood. all hardware is included. Beautiful to look at when installed. Installation is time consuming and a little difficult. Excellent customer service. I would definitely buy again

    Read More
    floridian1 March 15, 2011
  • Great Peice, hard install
    Verified Purchase

    So I have had this closet for a couple weeks now, and I am in love. I live in a loft, so I don't have an actual built in, recessed closet. I bought this to use as an open closet, and it is so handsome that it actually adds to the look of my room. That being said, it took FOREVER to install. Taking my time, and doing it alone, it probably took about 10 Hours (LITERALLY) start to finish. And you DO NEED A SAW! For the price, the look, and the quality, you can not beat this purchase, but just make sure that you have a bit of a carpenter in you! Here is the instruction guide (set up in booklet mode, so the front and back are both on page 1 of the PDF etc). But it gives you a good idea of what you have to look forward to as far as the install and parts goes. ***

    Read More
    tonymazz March 14, 2011
  • Worth the time putting together
    Verified Purchase

    They do takes hours...and hours...to put together but look and work great. We have the lighter (birch color) ones already. We wanted one more set for a spare room so we bought the red mahogany because they were on sale. Overall they look great but with regular use it appears that hangers will likely scratch the color and it will be much more noticable than on our lighter ones. My husband also put some reinforcement pieces under the bar since he noticed a slight bow on one of my other cupboards where I had huhng too many clothes (that's why I needed the overflow set). I would recommend buyying the, but pay more and get the lighter color.

    Read More
    tlcinca March 12, 2011
  • 2nd one purchased
    Verified Purchase

    I had one of these in my house I sold and happy to see they still make these closet organizers...awesome product.

    Read More
    lorele March 10, 2011
  • Perfect for our room
    Verified Purchase

    We converted an office with an alcove into a guest room. This closet with some drapes looks classy and adds a lot to the functionality of the space. Delivery was prompt and accurate; directions were easy to follow and installation was relatively easy, even though fairly time consuming since ours was all custom dimensions. Overall, great product!! Exactly what we were looking for to complement the cherry sleigh bed.

    Read More
    mommyof3littlemen March 10, 2011
  • Stunning Results
    Verified Purchase

    I am all thumbs so I hired a handyman to install this unit in my newborn son's closet. It took him 3.5 hours to complete and he needed power tools to cut the wood to fit. But the closet is now so beautiful that I refuse to close the door. I want to show it off to all who visit the nursery. I highly recommend this to anyone!

    Read More
    northcarolinamom March 7, 2011
  • Beautiful Challenge
    Verified Purchase

    This is a wonderful, well crafted product. The challenge comes to poor instructions for assembly and installation. There are steps which should have been conducted prior to others. However, there are so many combinations on how to create your closet space that it is versitile and well worth it!

    Read More
    aap3201 March 6, 2011
  • nice closet
    Verified Purchase

    Nice closet, looks very good. Installation was a bit difficult, but overall quality and look worth it. We installed this closet in our guest bedroom.

    Read More
    juliguzi March 2, 2011
  • Nice closet system
    Verified Purchase

    This closet system is beautiful--we have now purchased and installed three. If you are not a VERY experienced 'do-it-yourselfer,' I recommend having a professional install it for you; otherwise you will likely get very frustrated as the install is particularly complicated. We have both the mahogany and the honey maple finishes in different closets and both are good quality. It is true that the red mahogany finish tends to scratch easily, but there is a touch-up tool to help out if it does. The package also includes instructions with many different layouts so that you can design a closet specific to what you like. The price on Overstock simply cannot be beat (especially including shipping)--I checked everywhere else and even compared other wood closet systems and this is really the best deal out there.

    Read More
    carreader February 28, 2011
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    I recieved this item super fast. Everything was in perfect condition. I took about 5 hours to install but the result is beautiful and it makes closet organization so much easier!!!

    Read More
    frankie0954 February 25, 2011
  • nice closet system!
    Verified Purchase

    Just put this organizer in our closet yesterday. It took us all day but was pretty easy to install, just took planning and reading instructions very carefully. Beware that there is an amendment in the instructions! they include heavier screws outside the regular hardware kit that they want you to use to attach the hanging rod to the shelves. Open those and read before installing the closet system! we had to take all the smaller screws out and replace them after the organizer was installed. This organizer is a real good value for the money and it looks REALLY nice. Additional accessories/add-ons are pricey so beware if you want to add onto this with baskets, pant racks, etc. The dollars add up quickly! I wish they would sell a longer shelf system and add-on hanging bars but they only sell 24" wide shelves and no way to add more hanging space. Other than that I'm thrilled and it looks fantastic!

    Read More
    beneficialdude February 21, 2011
  • Classy storage unit
    Verified Purchase

    Installed two of these last weekend. I am very pleased. High quality finish, sleek apearance and great flexability. Just take your time and you'll get great results.

    Read More
    ogdude February 15, 2011
  • NICE!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two of these units because of the great deal. Shipment was a lot faster than I anticipated,about 4 days. The closet system is great . It is very flexible with all the designs they give you,or you can create your own. As for looks , I think they look great they really dress up the closet.I would highly recommend this product.

    Read More
    kolbekorner February 15, 2011
  • Excellent Product
    Verified Purchase

    Outstanding product. The construction is well built, solid wood. The color (we purchased red mahogany) is gorgeous. We have shown the finished closet to several friends, all who love it and want to purchase it themselves. I don't think another product comes close for this quality and price. The instructions include several configurations - I chose the one featured in the picture and it looks phenomenal in the closet. My husband has his own side in the closet and chose a different configuration. (We ordered 2 closet systems.) We were originally going to order an extra shelf and the stand alone tower after seeing some other reviews that there wasn't enough shelving, but after installing the system, the included shelving is plenty for us. It certainly was a job installing the shelving - my husband is a general contractor so he didn't have any problems, but it was time-consuming. The shelves can be easily cut down to fit the width/depth of the closet and/or configuration you chose.

    Read More
    ajbernier February 2, 2011
  • Cloest system
    Verified Purchase

    Loved the closet system. It is first class and a great value. Our closets are well organized and look great. Great value! Would highly recommend! Would do it again! Probably one of the best items bought on Overstock!

    Read More
    janeofalltrade February 1, 2011
  • Closet System
    Verified Purchase

    Made the master closet look great. I had to read through the instructions a couple of times but after I understood how it all went together I came up with my own design. Easy to install, anybody with some basic DIY skills can install this system. If I have the chance to use it again I definitely would.

    Read More
    kjb67 January 19, 2011
  • Beautiful Closet!
    Verified Purchase

    Nice looking, beautiful wood, great value. A chore to install...

    Read More
    peggy98105 January 12, 2011
  • Mud Room Closet
    Verified Purchase

    We purchased this for our new mud room. Liked the idea that it came with a booklet that provided numerous configuration options. Not for the faint of heart to install. My husband is very handy and patient and it took him a good 6 hours to install. All in all we love it, however we can see where the wooden hanging rails will get easily scratched. The deluxe version has metal rods instead of wood, but for the price we are willing to expect a couple of scratches. Going to stick to all plastic hangers to limit the potential scratches. We will be using it for coats, shoes, boots, hats and all other mud room sorts of things. Much nicer than those wire units.

    Read More
    bigremodel December 27, 2010
Sponsored Links