Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Sale $36.87

Save $6.51 (15%)

Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Holmes HM495-UC Ultrasonic Humidifier

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • quiet humidifier
    Verified Purchase

    wish it put out more moisture, even at max it doesn't put out as much as it does, which is why it says it lasts so long

    Read More
    Frances W. April 29, 2017
  • ultrasonic humidifier
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this humidifier several years ago. Needed a new one and I was able to get it from overstock. Reasonable price. Works great. Except it does give off a lot of white dust from the minerals in the water.

    Read More
    Karen M. March 18, 2017
  • Problematic with constant use

    This unit works fine for occasional use as a cool mist humidifier (like in the case of someone with a cold or sinus issues), but as a daily room humidifier, it fails. For one thing, in order to spread the mist around the room, we had to set up a fan across from it to disperse the mist - otherwise the mist went straight up and then straight back down, creating a puddle of water on the dresser we set it on, and damaged the wood. The out of water indicator does not do anything - the unit will continue to run when bone dry. Last but not least, there's no way to really clean the inside of the directional mister, and ours was infested with mold in less than a week, even with the recommended anti-bacterial water additive (which is costly). Very gross! Who wants moldy mist in the air? Not us!

    Read More
    aunttre January 25, 2016
  • Holmes Humidifier
    Verified Purchase

    Good product, however during the night the humidifier makes noise upon refilling the base with water and can cause you to wake up. Other than that, the product is good and helps with breathing during the night.

    Read More
    satxgirl33 December 13, 2015
  • NIce but very noisy
    Verified Purchase

    I like this unit because it doesn't have a filter, but it is very noisy.

    Read More
    di1014 January 11, 2014
  • Back it goes!
    Verified Purchase

    This humidifier does not work, period!! Then I tried calling the number given to ask for help and it was not in service! I have contacted Overstock and complained and they will honor my return. However, I am not happy to have to make a special trip to UPS and all that! Not happy!

    Read More
    1benny October 17, 2013
  • Holmes Humidifier
    Verified Purchase

    Humidifier was advertised to be silant running. When unit is turned on it emitts a high frequency noise that can be heard in the next room.

    Read More
    richardcarr1 May 24, 2013
  • Defective items 2 times
    Verified Purchase

    Very disappointed with the quality on this most recent purchase, I have had to return a second one now because it quit generating mist after a couple of weeks of use. I also had to return one of the 3 right after purchase, because it never worked from the beginning and had a rusty spring on it. I believe Holmes is discontinuing this item and perhaps this is the reason why.

    Read More
    ttjwphx3 February 2, 2013
  • Only works a week
    Verified Purchase

    I went through 2 of these machines in a month. Each only worked for a few days. I thought the first one was just defective so I tried the same model from a different store... same problem. I only use these during the night so I don't even run them all day and they still gave out. So frustrating!

    Read More
    nikkicolie33 January 21, 2013
  • Does what I need
    Verified Purchase

    I had one of these for years and the only reason a replacement was needed is I didn't clean it properly when I last stored it away. I actually bought 2 this time as my place gets super dry so I wanted more moisture. I like that it's quiet and that it only needs refilling once a day. Yes, refilling it can be a pain as the tank has to be removed and lugged to the kitchen, but what little water drips has never been a problem. I've never found cleaning the base or the tank too much of a chore as long as it's done at the frequency instructed. One of the new units stopped working after 3 days of use which surprised me as my first one was a work horse. However, I phoned Holmes (Jarden Store) and they're replacing it at no cost. Only problem is they don't have this model anymore so they're sending a different one. However, if I had to purchase a new one, I'd get another one of these because no matter what you buy, there's always the possibility of one not working.

    Read More
    jomacny November 8, 2012
  • Quiet, large enough.
    Verified Purchase

    We bought two of these. The first one was so good that when we needed to purchase another one it was a no-brainer.

    Read More
    bbabr November 6, 2012
  • Stopped working after a few weeks
    Verified Purchase

    This item worked well when it first arrived but stopped working a few weeks after I used the item daily. I would not recommend this product.

    Read More
    bigtimeonlineshopper October 3, 2012
  • Easy Use
    Verified Purchase

    I have used the same humidifier for years, seldom needing to replace it. I did this year simply because it was cracked by my husband when he refilled it (didn't break but didn't look good). Have bought for me daughter also. A good value, only requiring 1 refill per 24 hours. Need one for studio apartment. Excellent product.

    Read More
    cherylnyc September 11, 2012
  • Very Quiet
    Verified Purchase

    I like this so far and use it everyday, as we live in the desert where the air is very dry. The only downside that I can see so far is that you have to take the tank off the base to fill it, as it doesn't fill from the top like my other one. I find that to be messy as there is usually spillage when you do this!

    Read More
    bkfromnv July 24, 2012
  • Not recommended
    Verified Purchase

    This product is not worth it. I read the reviews before purchasing it and 3 out of 5 times when I tried filling it the cover came right out and I had water all over the carpeted floor, one time I made it past the bathroom and then it fill out again. I am not a newbie at this so I was shorted how many times this cover just came apart. I definitely would not recommend it.

    Read More
    009988mar June 27, 2012
  • Humidifier...so far (1month) Works as promised
    Verified Purchase

    It works as promised. Some people complained about the amount of mist...I live in a VERY DRY (18-25%) humidity climate. So, on low, there is a lot of vapor. This is different than my last humidifier. I am not saying that as a negative or positive...Just a statement. So far, so good.

    Read More
    pstefanick April 28, 2012
  • No Complaints
    Verified Purchase

    Reading bad review after bad review of this humidifier on the internet was interesting. We live in Colorado, where, inside our home the normal relative humidity in the Winter is around 16-20%. Our neighbors have two of these units and love them. I trust neighbors who live in the same environment we do, more than other reviewers. We bought two, set them up, and have had them running 24/7 for the past 3 weeks. Our inside humidity is now hovering around 40%. It took a few weeks to hydrate furniture, floors, walls, etc., but now I no longer get static-zapped every time I touch metal. Bottom line is... this humidifier works wonderfully, is quiet, and holds enough water for a full 24-hours. I'm thinking I might get two more.

    Read More
    merry33 March 27, 2012
  • humidiier
    Verified Purchase

    i like the humidiier an it works well. i do seem to have to fill it quite a lot

    Read More
    jlande March 24, 2012
  • Holmes Humidifier HM495-UC
    Verified Purchase

    Humidifier works well, it does exactly what it is designed for. However, it is quite cumbersome when trying to fill with water. You must balance the unit upside down in order to fill. I bought two of the units and I'm happy with the performance. It works best (for me) at a mid range level for the humidity, any higher and it will dampen the surrounding floor or table it sits on.

    Read More
    jdmchelsea March 13, 2012
  • Quiet operation. Not easy to fill.
    Verified Purchase

    Difficult filling and closing water tank. Tank leaks if not closed very tightly. Very quiet operation. Good quantity of steam. Not for the week or frail.

    Read More
    dennislerlich March 6, 2012
Sponsored Links