Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $394.49

At other retailer: $889.06

Save $494.57 (56%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Heart-of-the-Kitchen Island with Drop Leaf

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Island butcher block
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect for where I am using it. You should suggest that all pieces be treated before putting it together if all the pieces need to be treated. Please reply

    Read More
    Derry R. March 2, 2017
  • Handy,Beautifull and Usefull!
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to put together, works well in small spaces but wish there had been matching stools! Are There? Let me know, please?

    Read More
    msconni February 3, 2017
  • Made in America!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this unit because it was made in America! After reading the reviews I was expecting a lengthy process to put it together. From start to finish took a little over two and half hours. The only help I needed was to turn it right side up after finishing the assembly process. I give the manufacturer thumbs up on a well crafted cart. Buy American!!!!!

    Read More
    Wayne B. February 2, 2017
  • Be Carefull ~~ Be VERY Careful
    Verified Purchase

    When finished this is a very attractive cart for the kitchen; however, you need to consider several things in its construction. 1. I mistakenly assumed that Overstock offered only pre-assembled items that were first-rate, but maybe "last year's model." Only after I researched Overstock that I learned that items could be "seconds," returned items, or items consigned for production to "third world countries." This was my error in not researching Overstock first. 2. Do NOT assume that you know how to put this item together even if you have experience in furniture assembly. My husband and I are both experienced in this area and have a complete workshop to assist in these projects. 3. Follow the written directions EXACTLY, not the diagrams. The latter are misleading in many places. They may show how to do a step, but neglect to show that this step is repeated in other places. 4. TAKE YOUR TIME! This is a different type of construction that most people are not familiar with. In addition, some of the "rods" are loose in the pilot holes and will fall out. However, a little construction glue will make them more secure. 5. Some parts were missing, but the Customer Service personnel were prompt with replacing them without questions. KUDOS here !! 6. The bastion system of construction is great IF FOLLOWED TO THE LETTER. 7. Finally, completed after a week, which including waiting for replacement parts, and the product looks good. 8. A couple of complications, however, appeared during our admiration of our frustrating work. The drawer would not open but about 3 inches ~~ not good for daily use. We actually figured out what was wrong and corrected it; but after opening it several times, the front of the drawer fell off. Haven't figured this one out yet. Instead, we moved it to a spot where it really looks nice, but is completely unusable! Remember, if something sounds too good, it probably isn't! 9. Not all of the pieces were cut to the proper size and left small gaps that shouldn't be there. Luckily, we had a lot of experience in construction and were able to use matching molding to cover these gaps on both sides. A little ingenuity may be needed, but still DON'T ASSUME ANYTHING. 10 The 3-star rating is because of the difficulty in assembly and unfitting parts, not the finished look. 11. Take heed of the other reviews, take your time, don't assume anything, and you should be successful. Good Luck!

    Read More
    SH M. January 26, 2017
  • Think about it first
    Verified Purchase

    The cart is worth the money but...... After I saw all those pieces and instructions it sat for 2 months. I attempted without success though I watched the video. I tried to pay the handyman who was unsuccessful. I finally put together with a friend I enlisted. It took us prob 4-5 hours of put together take apart to finally get it right. This is not for the faint of heart. I will never buy anything like this ever again. It min needs to come partially put togeher. The video the co puts out doesn't actually show the most difficult part. It tells you this is what u need to do then goes to completed step

    Read More
    theoj. January 8, 2017
  • 2 Day Build
    Verified Purchase

    Nice table, still have it after a couple years. Beware, this thing took a weekend to put together. It's all wood and and there areally lots of pieces. It's one of those projects that you sort of stare at before getting started - mildly daunting but with it.

    Read More
    Kenneth G. November 7, 2016
  • Assembly anxiety
    Verified Purchase

    The carpenter I hired to put my island together just brought it in and I do love it. However, He spent 6 hours here on one day and wound up taking it home. He followed directions to the letter. One drawer support had no holes drilled so he had to do that. It was missing 4 cam sets and a screw was missing when he put on the handles. He had to purchase 15$ of additional hardware. A novice could never do this in less than a week. If you are or know a contractor - get this it's a beauty but if you think you can put it together yourself - NOT!

    Read More
    OstkUser247137 June 15, 2016
  • Not EZ to assemble, BUT NICE
    Verified Purchase

    Took some "ooomph" to assemble, but worth the effort! Be sure to oil the top when done!

    Read More
    ic756proii February 6, 2016
  • Great kitchen island for small space
    Verified Purchase

    Not quick to put together, but well worth the effort. Don't forget to treat the wood once it is done.

    Read More
    vail7 January 22, 2016
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    Would of liked a better quality of hardware. The screws seemed to have very soft heads. Took about 5 hours to assemble. After reading the reviews decided to assemble when the room was quiet and could concentrate. All went well. Would recommend.

    Read More
    Patricia D. December 2, 2015
  • Kitchen tool
    Verified Purchase

    Somewhat time consuming to put together. Very well built unit when you are done.

    Read More
    David B. November 13, 2015
  • Good sturdy product, some issues with constructing
    Verified Purchase

    Comments on Kitchen Island with Drop Leaf Model 15445 Contents of package were extremely heavy so there was damage to the shipping box at corners and one plastic packing strap was broken. Need to reinforce corners of packaging. Need to offer the option of an unfinished (unoiled) product so that one could more easily personalize the finish. Checking inventory of parts. There should be labels/stickers on wood parts designating them. Inventory included 4 1 ¼” screws for the back of the drawer as per the written instructions (and video instructions) however on an small zip top baggie, there was a label that said in place of the 1 ¼” screws for the drawer back use 1 ½” screws, but only 2 of the 1 ½” length screws were included in that baggie along with the hinges. Instructions call for 2 hinges for the drop leaf but three came in the package. Do not know if one is a spare or there should be another use. Inventory called for 20 #8 5/8” screws for drop leaf hinges. There were 26; not sure what the others are for. #7 5/8” screws- there are 12 in two separate tiny zip top baggies. Not sure why they are packaged separately. Inventory calls for 4 #5 5/8” screws for drawer sides but there are only #6 screws left after accounting for all others. One locking caster does not want to stay seated in its position and both locking casters were too tough to lock/unlock. A bit of WD40 and down on the floor manually rocking the lever back and forth loosened them up to where they can now be locked/unlocked somewhat more easily. One towel bar handle’s attachment was apparently drilled too large for the provided screws. This was solved by using one of two 1 ½ screws that had been provided for the drawer back. Instructions Written instructions on Bastion fastening system works are very confusing. Video is better but there needs to be close up shots of the components of the Bastion/Cam systems. Drawer Assembly: Confusion on necessary screws for attaching drawer back. Drawer handle: Instructions say “Attach the drawer handle with one 7/8” Truss head machine screw”. First it takes two screws to attach the handle. Second, in the video instructions the gentleman says to use a 1” machine screw. Constructing If you have a lot of experience in building things, I am sure that you will find this a piece of cake to put together. For those of us less skilled but willing, it is a bit of a challenge. I recommend a large area, lay everything out, read the instructions thoroughly and watch the instruction videos. Once the unit was put together, it is beautiful and gets a lot of compliments.

    Read More
    OstkUser50500 September 28, 2015
  • Piddler
    Verified Purchase

    This is not meant for the average Joe or Joan to build. It is extremely confusing as the written instructions are not at all clear and the video does not follow the steps in the written instructions and also the audio is very poor. Some advice don’t try to watch the video and also the written instructions since they don’t follow the same steps in order. The kitchen cart is a beautiful piece of furniture once it is completed but my suggestion is to have a cabinet maker or an experienced person to assemble the cart; lots of pieces. It took us approximately 10 hours to complete the assembly. Sturdy cart and I know I will certainly enjoy the extra counter space and storage.

    Read More
    Jean G. September 7, 2015
  • looks good
    Verified Purchase

    The materials are of good quality and the finished product is well designed.

    Read More
    tatsmats October 3, 2014
  • A very nice piece of furniture
    Verified Purchase

    This island was a lot of work to assemble--not difficult if you are handy, but a lot of steps and pieces. The workmanship was superb and all the pieces fit very well. The manual and website videos were very complete and easy to follow. I finished it with Danish oil as recommended and it looks stunning. I would recommend applying the stain/finish BEFORE assembly to make it easier.

    Read More
    lincolnpark September 2, 2014
  • Heart-of-the-Kitchen Island with Drop Leaf
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very quality built cabinet. The wood is top notch. All the drawers and doors work good, after you put it together that is. The reason why I rated the quality good and not excellent, was the work required to put this together. The directions are quite complex and we had to order some replacement hardware due to the poor quality of the draw handle, door magnets and a couple of screws. Their customer service was great and they got the new parts out to us quickly, no questions asked. All in all, I love my new cabinet, it seems very sturdy and useful.

    Read More
    suskin August 20, 2014
  • This cart is a winner for small kitchens!
    Verified Purchase

    I treated myself to this cart because I was fed up with my existing one (cheap materials, the top kept coming unattached and flipping everything off and it wasn't a good fit in my kitchen). The cart looks exactly like the online photograph and description. I ordered it to fit in my (to me) tiny kitchen that has no prep area to speak of and I needed it to be narrower than my existing cart. Unlike other carts in this price range it is mostly solid wood, made in the USA and fits together nicely. I have had another cart made by this company that wasn't thrilling, but that was some years ago so I took a chance and glad I did. I fit most of it together myself (I am retired, not handy), needing my son-in-law only to help with final assembly. I oiled the cart well after assembly and repeated this a week later; the cart looks great. It has a useful drawer, and the shelf and cupboard are also well sized. The sides have narrow shelves that take spices and condiments and I am using S hooks to hold cutting boards and measuring cups and spoons on the rather narrow towel bars at each end. I particularly love the arrangement of the drop leaf along the length of the cart. That allows the cart to be narrow and so a good fit in my kitchen. It makes a really useful prep area when I am baking or fixing a dinner party. Overstock has an excellent price on this item; I highly recommend it.

    Read More
    ncmountaingal May 6, 2014
  • Love, Love, LOVE it!
    Verified Purchase

    This is exactly what I was looking for. The wood is high quality, and the size is perfect. It is truly a beautiful addition to my kitchen. I read all the reviews and knew the assembly was going to be a little tough. However, I took my time, organized the pieces, and read the instructions line-by-line. When the instructions weren't clear enough (several times), I watched the online videos...they were excellent help. It took this 62-year-old lady approximately 6 hours to complete the process with no other assistance. My only disappointment was with the top. It felt a little rough and pourous. I was concerned that a drop of cooking oil or wine might discolor the wood, so my husband sanded and polyurethaned the top. I would highly recommend doing this if you plan on actually using the cart for food prep or serving. It is now PERFECT!!

    Read More
    msprincipal November 6, 2013
  • Beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    This piece of furniture is gorgeous. Beautiful, well made, from quality hard woods. Took two of us 9 hours to put together. Not truly difficult to understand, but a lot of pieces to put together. Again, it is stunningly gorgeous, I cannot stress this enough, but it is a lot of work to put it together. On the plus side, the instructions are clear, if you need help, they have videos online, and customer service with Catskill Craftsmen is wonderful. Do not hesitate to buy this.

    Read More
    sunshineelf January 17, 2013
  • Too much assembly - not as sturdy.

    I was missing some hardware, luckily I had some in the shop that served the purpose. The assembly was fine otherwise, but still took about 2 hours to get everything snug and in place. The unit looks nice superficially, and has a few nice features (like the spice racks), but these really don't overcome the inherent lack of strength/rigidity of the legs and rails. The unit appears to be a nicer, higher "quality" piece than it turned out to be... not worth taking apart and sending back, but I guess you get what you pay for. Not sure I'd take a chance on CatSkill again... we'll see how it holds up after a couple of moves :( Derek Smith

    Read More
    noahmercy July 19, 2011
Sponsored Links