Sale $538.19

MSRP: $924.72

Save $386.53 (42%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Handy Living Mali Convert-a-Couch Basil Green Linen Futon Sofa Sleeper

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Not a great choice!
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I would not recommend this item. The section that forms the back tends to pop out of the frame when you open it to make a bed. In addition the back section has support for the mattress only on the edges so if you kneel on that section you will probably bend the inner springs and create a permanent dip in the surface. I recently trashed this unit and replaced it with a traditional high riser day bed. Pricier for sure but also more comfortable and durable.

    Read More
    Nancy F. July 21, 2017
  • Cheap construction on seating cushions
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    We bought this 2 years ago and only been slept on 2 times. But it is in my office and my husband (140 pounds) does sit on it a few times a week. Just noticed a sag in the center seating cushion where the inter fibers separated and it felt like you were sitting on the springs. We opened up the zipper area to exam if we could rearrange the inside stuffing but found out the fabric holding the springs in place is paper and had all deteriorated and fell apart. Just touched it and crumbled to pieces. No support what so ever. Garbage. Do not buy. It would have happened mush sooner it it was actually used as a bed.

    Read More
    Dolores C. June 23, 2017
  • Great buy!
    Verified Purchase

    This was perfect for what I wanted. A comfy and stylish couch for me to watch TV and read, that converts into a futon for the occasional guest. I put it together myself and had no problems.

    Read More
    Rachel C. February 20, 2017
  • So far so good
    Verified Purchase

    Bought for play room. Comfortable to sit...have not had grandson sleep yet but will be ready for TG.

    Read More
    Martha C. November 8, 2016
  • Portfolio Mali Convert-a-Couch Basil Grey Linen Fu
    Verified Purchase

    Bought 3 for upstairs bonus room for children, Upholstery wears like iron and cleans well, but tends to slip when sat on. Velcro tabs need to be heavy duty to keep the cover in place. Sleeps well and makes into bed easily.

    Read More
    Cathy K. June 13, 2016
  • So Disappointed. Not built to last
    Verified Purchase

    The fabric and arms are great. Extremely difficult to open and close it, so I have left it as a couch. Within just over two years, it has completely sagged in the middle to the point that I fear it will break. Light use. One person of average weight and a very chubby rescue cat. I have had cheap futons longer. Again the fabric is very sturdy, the structure is horrific!

    Read More
    katering May 3, 2016
  • Comfortable, easy to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    We found this sofa very comfortable. It is also super easy to convert to a bed and back. You can't really tell it is a sofa bed! Looks like a regular sofa. Perfect for smaller spaces or minimalist furniture decor. Its color is a dark gray with a very, very subtle hue of green to it - noticeable really if you have other pure gray furniture/items next to it. We paired this sofa with two soft-turquoise color chairs and the colors complement very nicely. The cushions are medium-firm, meaning still very comfortable but you don't sink deep into them - good for those people with more sensitive backs looking for a firmer sofa to enjoy Saturday night TV watching in. Also comfy to sleep in. If you are the kind of person who wants pillow-top softness/almost no firmness at all then this sofa may not be for you.

    Read More
    Elsie P. March 13, 2016
  • Good for guests
    Verified Purchase

    This is a pretty good couch, decently comfortable. It folds into a futon quite easy. However, it was very difficult to assemble and requires some skill.

    Read More
    Tarin O. March 9, 2016
  • Juliancal
    Verified Purchase

    I am very impressed with the quality and simplicity of assembly It is very comfortable and looks quite attractive in our office/den room

    Read More
    Kim K. November 10, 2015
  • Couch too short for my very tall son
    Verified Purchase

    This couch was returned because it was not long enough to fit my very tall son. I did like the couch and the quality of the workmanship. Too bad I could not use it.

    Read More
    Victoria L. October 4, 2015
  • Ok for a quick sleeper
    Verified Purchase

    Color and fit of covers leave a lot to be desired.

    Read More
    Ann R. July 31, 2015
  • Looks just like the picture.
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great couch for the price!! It is sturdy, comfortable and so easy to put together!

    Read More
    Melissa O. June 1, 2015
  • double fail
    Verified Purchase

    it is an awkward sofa, the springs are poorly set up and there is a lack of padding on top of them, does not work well for sitting. As a sleeper, it is even less comfortable, it has a large gap running down the center which is impossible to ignore. i needed to buy an additional mattress topper just to make it usable. Overstock was very helpful and is a great company, but this sofa is a low quality product and i suggest you keep looking.

    Read More
    billybobsideart April 3, 2015
  • Amazing Futon that looks like a Sofa
    Verified Purchase

    I had been looking for a modern charcoal colored sleeper sofa at a good price, but not cheap looking for a few weeks. I saw everything. Based on the price, look and reviews of this item I decided to buy it and am happy with the decision. I asked my husband to put together and he did have some difficulty taking him about 1 hour, but he's not the most handy guy. I had to redo it because he had it all backwards and didn't actually click in the pieces (poor guy- lesson learned!) I finished it in about 20 mins mainly because the seat/mattress is actually pretty heavy and unwieldy for a lady by herself, but I managed. Fortunately, this also means that the seat/mattress is great for seating and sleeping. I did test it out by sleeping on it one night and slept like a baby. Friends have come over since i got it and they are shocked to find out that it is a futon. I really looks like a sofa, except for you can see through to the floor at a specific angle if you don't have pillows on the corners. It is true that the fabric is heavy and a dark charcoal color and it is wrinkled at first on the corners. I've had it for 2 weeks and he wrinkles are falling out slowly but surely. It does still have a slight new fabric smell remaining. All in all, I'm extremely satisfied with this purchase. Highly recommend as a great deal.

    Read More
    mmevicepresident December 16, 2014
  • Good purchase
    Verified Purchase

    Truly amazing that I was able to get this 84" couch into my apartment through the rather small confines of my doorway which is only 36"x79". The couch comes unassembled, expertly packed, and shrink wrapped to really consolidate space. The package is still quite large, though, and it does weigh 147lbs, so unless you are strong, you will probably need help getting it into your place. Assembly was not difficult at all and took me about 30-40 mins. Not sure why other people on here ran into problems or claimed it was difficult because it simply isn't. I am recovering from a broken collarbone which limits the use of my right arm (my strong hand) and I was still able to do it on my own with little to no difficulty. I did make sure to go over all of the allen head bolts on each component and ensure they were torqued down before assembly. Many of them were loose, so I recommend you do the same. Once assembled I was very impressed with the bed to sofa functionality. While this thing looks just like a couch and feels like a couch, the functionality is similar to a futon. Should also note there is a fully upright seating position as well as a slightly reclined position which is a nice feature. The couch is pretty comfortable to sit on. If you move your butt around a lot you can feel some of the springs in the internal mattress every now and again, but overall i am happy with the comfort. When folded into a bed, it is very comfortable and will serve well as a guest bed in my apartment. For the price, I think this is a good purchase and is basically exactly what I wanted for my apartment. If you want a large couch that also serves as a nice guest bed, is affordable, and looks pretty nice, I would say this will suit your needs well.

    Read More
    jessman August 15, 2014
  • Negative
    Verified Purchase

    It just was not what I was expecting, I wanted extra sleeping and for it to look like a couch. It just did not look like it would be comfortable to sleep on I opened it and the color was supposed to be charcoal grey and it was more of a green tone. The good news is I repacked it and sent it back and Overstock had ups pick it up no charge and refunded me my full amount . I would buy from them again, but not this product.

    Read More
    jovigirl46 July 29, 2014
  • Easy to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to assemble no too many parts. It's a step up from a traditional futon which usually has too much hardware to contend with. It's a major step up from a traditional sleeper sofa which usually has a very thin mattress, and a bar in the frame that makes it so uncomfortable. This could be a full time bed it's so comfortable. The design is such if something does break or malfunctions it can be easily fixed. Instructions were easy to read, but somewhat unnecessary, all the parts were clearly labeled. Over all a great bed.

    Read More
    malone22 December 29, 2013
  • Wrinkles.
    Verified Purchase

    Great for creating a sleeping space in a living room. The sofa arrives in pieces and is simple to assemble. The cover for the seat and back is shrink wrapped, and is initially very wrinkly. The description does state that it will take some time to relax. I have had this assembled for 4 days and it IS getting better, just dont exect it to look like the picture for a while...hopefully mine will continue to improve. It easily folds to a bed although i didnt see any instructions on how to work it, you can figure it out. Good value/quality, much better than a traditional futon.

    Read More
    jzakari November 25, 2013
  • Convert-a-Bed Couch
    Verified Purchase

    We love this couch. It is really a futon in disguise...it has all the functionality of a futon with the look of a real sofa. The design is genious!!!! No tool assembly that is strong and tight and the upholstery is easy care quality. This piece is extremely durable and practical and priced right...thank you overstock!

    Read More
    iluvoverstockfast November 2, 2013
  • So far so good.
    Verified Purchase

    Got this yesterday, so I'm going to have to update this review to let you know how well it holds up with time. But as for now: It was delivered on time. The box was a bit damaged but the couch pieces were fine. It was pretty easy to assemble - all the parts were included and in tact, and you don't need any tools as the description states. The instructions were about 4-5 easy to follow diagrams. I am a 5'4" female who is 37 weeks pregnant and I could put this together myself - you don't need two people. It is also very easy to change from a couch to a bed. The is nothing in the instructions on how to put it in the "recline" position - you just kinda figure it out based on how it works when you're putting it together. Feels like a solid piece of furniture despite not even needing tools to put it together. The cushions: they are two rectangular "mini coil mattresses" without the padding, pretty much. One for the seat, and one for the back rest section. You stuff these two separate coil mattresses into the cover (which is padded), and slide that over the futon metal structure. I like this better than what I would normally think of for futon "filling". It seems like it will hold its shape and look better over time than foam. It is ok to sit on. I'm not sitting on a cloud, but look what you're paying. That said, it's not uncomfortable either (at least the short term tests I did - I haven't watched a movie on it or anything yet). I bought a temperpedic 3" mattress pad since my parents will be the ones using the bed function, and it was comfortable. I haven't tested laying on it without the pad, but I would imagine I wouldn't want to sleep a night on it without a pad. With it, it was comfy - even for a pregnant woman :)

    Read More
    mjacob84 July 4, 2013