Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $429.98

MSRP: $743.80

Save $313.82 (42%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Handy Living Ellie Barley Tan Linen Sofa

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Perfect!
    Verified Purchase

    Great. Great. Great! Love the color, size and is very comfy.

    Read More
    Maria M. April 10, 2017
  • Perfect!
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this sofa for 2 years and it still looks like new. Totally love it!

    Read More
    Linette R. March 1, 2017
  • cute but not great quality
    Verified Purchase

    We bought this sofa a few years ago and have it in the end of our kitchen. It gets a fair amount of use, but is not our main seating area. We were pleasantly surprised by the look and fabric-a nice neutral linen that can go grey or tan. The biggest drawback is the seat cushion. More and more springs have become unsprung in the seat and it looks lumpy and feels uncomfortable. Also you can feel some of the supports in the backrest depending on where you lean back. It's a decent couch for the money especially if you won't be sitting on it much!

    Read More
    June O. November 8, 2016
  • Lightweight cute piece
    Verified Purchase

    This is firm almost bouncy as other reviews have said. And it does not feel like it can hold a lot of weight, the legs aren't super sturdy. That said, I think it's with the price and will hold up to light use.

    Read More
    portlandegan February 26, 2016
  • Great little sofa
    Verified Purchase

    Great and comfortable sofa for a small space. Yes, it is a little firm, but not uncomfortable. Extremely easy to put together. I don't know if this couch would last with really hard use but time will tell.

    Read More
    pup1 October 30, 2015
  • Great for a small space!
    Verified Purchase

    I love overstock!! I would have rated it excellent, but the color has a little green to it. I was hoping for a little more tan. Fast shipment!! Thanks!!

    Read More
    Chris E. September 18, 2015
  • Disappointing
    Verified Purchase

    I was impressed by the packaging and it was easy to assemble, but the legs don't curve in the right direction no matter how they are screwed in, and they don't stay secured with normal use. Would be better if legs were designed as straight rather than curved. The back angles and is not comfortable for anyone wanting to sit upright. Seems to be a design flaw because the back is not loose at all. The cushioning is sturdy and well made, but this sofa would not survive children or an active household.

    Read More
    SL August 15, 2015
  • easy to assemble, nice color and looks good
    Verified Purchase

    I absolutely love this sofa. It was incredibly easy to put together. The color goes well with so many other colors. It was a fantastic price and I'm so happy that I bought it!!

    Read More
    Diana H. April 6, 2015
  • Not the color I was expecting.
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this couch in "Barley Tan" after a long search for a light gray couch for my home office. I was shocked to find out after arrival that it was definitely more of a beige color than the pictures led me to believe..

    Read More
    lhnl September 30, 2014
  • Strange and Flimsy
    Verified Purchase

    Pretty expensive for what it is. The Good: 1. Took 15 minutes to put together out of the box, even though the directions were incorrect. HA! 2. Looks great 3. Can be moved easily by just one person. 4. Good size for a small space. The Bad: 1. Doesn't feel sturdy and I literally worry that it will break if too many people are on it. 2. Not deep enough to really lay on comfortably, unless a person is quite small. 3. Hard to rest your head on it, because the back rest angles backwards, and there isn't a place to lean your head, even when slouching. 4. You can feel the (wooden?) slats in the back, and the springs, or whatever they are, on the seat cushion. 5. Cheap fabric, came ripped in the back. 6. The back legs don't/can't screw on properly. They only go a portion of the way, which means they are loose and at different angles. 7. Over all crappy quality. I would not buy this again, even if it were ****, because of the poor quality. No one likes to sit on it.

    Read More
    nombrebianchi March 18, 2014
  • Great Product! Great Experiance!

    Was delivered in less then 48 hours. Looks exactly the same as online, including color. There must have been a dye lot which was off color that the other reviewers are referring to. Easy to put together, good quality, great price. Couldn't be happier. Will continue to order from this brand on overstock.com.

    Read More
    ellie1989 November 14, 2013
  • Definitely light grey/greige not tan
    Verified Purchase

    Got this for a great price for a friend's apartment. She's on a budget and overseas, so I offered to take care of finding her a sofa. A certain big box retailer didn't have a decent sofa in stock, so I check out trusty Overstock.com. I found this sofa and it was delivered within 3 business days. The UPS guy didn't even complain about having to bring it up 2 flights of stairs! It wasn't that heavy and is more of a loveseat than full couch. However, if you wanted to stretch out on it and nap, you could. I put it together myself in about 20 minutes. The seat is actually pretty high, my feet were almost dangling over the side. I'm 5'7 and she's 5'10, so a good height for her. The lines are clean and it looks very modern, which works for her taste. Overall, a good buy for my friend, who didn't require much. I don't know if I'd recommend it for people who spend a lot of time at home on the couch though, it's definitely on the firm side. Very happy with the purchase!

    Read More
    ltangie November 2, 2013
  • TOTALLY DIFFERENT COLOR
    Verified Purchase

    I wanted to LOVE this couch... I have a family room that this was going into. I needed a neutral color or the dark hardwoods and two different colored walls. I was so happy when it arrived within a few days after purchase. It was super easy to put together(I'm not good at it) and I was alone. But the color was so OFF!! It was very retro which is why I THINK I can make it work if I get different pillows to bring in the wall colors. If you are wanting grey or tan...don't GET IT! It is almost bright green. My family came over today and looked at it and said, "wow, I like your green couch."

    Read More
    tuckejod June 29, 2013
  • Great couch for office
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this sofa for my office for client meetings. Great for that. I don't see that this would be very comfortable for lounging, etc. It's a nice looking couch and especially for the price I got it for.

    Read More
    laurenaustin May 10, 2013
  • Color not as pictured! Beware.
    Verified Purchase

    Except for the color, this is an excellent buy. It's a great sofa if you don't have a lot of room but want good seating for guests and family. The style is classic and this is not a piece that is hard to get out of. If you want a sinky, cushy sofa, this won't make you happy. One word of caution is that the color is very poorly represented on the website. It is NOT gray; and it is NOT really tan. It's more of a griege with a green tinge. Kind of a shock when you open the box expecting to see what's on the website.

    Read More
    californiauser March 29, 2013
  • good, but...could have been a better experience
    Verified Purchase

    Overall I like this little sofa, but...I think I received one that had been previously returned, which I was not real happy about. I know this happens, of course, but the one I received had scuffs on the front legs, a pillow with no zipper pull to close it up, and the fabric covering the underside had ripped away from the staples. Also the back piece does not want to stay in place on one side. I plan to call customer service to resolve this, but was a little miffed that they put an item in this condition back in stock to ship to someone else - it literally looked like someone had it for 6 months or more, then shipped it back. HOWEVER, being that it's a sofa that arrived in one very large box, and overall I like the style and build of it, I really don't want to ship it back, so I'm hoping they will take care of this. All that aside, I think it's a great little apartment sofa - we bought it to add a little extra lounging space to our living room, and though some reviewers said they thought it was too firm, I thought it was just fine for napping---big enough for tall people to lay down comfortably and snooze, but not so cushy that you'll sleep there for hours. My husband lugged the shipping box inside the house (thankfully) and I assembled it by myself in about 30 minutes. I give them credit for the design - the underside of the seat holds the arms and feet for shipping, which I thought was pretty smart. However there were no instructions included...again, this makes me think I got a re-shipped one, so that may not be true for everyone. I had trouble getting the left side of the back piece to lock in place, but again---no instructions---so maybe I'm missing something. The right side of it seems to be secure. I was surprised how sturdy it feels - once I sat on it and stretched out, I felt totally at ease with it. I like the fabric - no idea what it is, but it has that really stylish greige linen look to it, but feels more durable. The seat is firm and springy - which others have objected to, but I think it's a good sign that it will take a lot of wear. The fabric on the seat does tend to wrinkle a bit as others have noted, but I think you can smooth it out easily. I also like the look of the button-tufted back. The style "reads" a bit more modern than I thought it would, but I think with the right accessories it will work for us (our living room has that solarium/conservatory style - lots of green, white, linen, glass, and metallics in the mix).

    Read More
    efinn1127 May 19, 2012
  • Great for the Price
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great little sofa for the money. The back sits up very straight so it's definitely not a lounging couch. Color is more gray than tan. But the style is very clean and the tufted back adds character.

    Read More
    kj33 April 19, 2012
  • horrible sofa
    Verified Purchase

    i would not recomend this sofa if its to be use daily in your home.

    Read More
    jprats April 15, 2012
  • Cute little sofa (a bit more like a loveseat)
    Verified Purchase

    First, I have to say, this item showed up lightening fast, like I ordered on Monday night, and this was at my house on Thursday morning. Yay! Came in one big box, and it wasn't too heavy for me and one UPS guy to bring up the stairs. Anyways, I have been looking for a smallish couch for my condo. Thought this one was cute, and it would do the trick. Seems like it will work just fine. Although it is a little smaller than I expected (the "seating" measurements appear to be a bit off, I'm not sure though), I am happy with this item. I put this together, by myself, in less than 15 minutes from start to finish. The instructions are easy, and everything is very clear. One thing to know is that the seat area is not only a bit on the smaller side, in terms of width, it is also a bit more narrow than I expected. The seat is a bit stiff, with good bounce back though. Honestly, I don't think most people would/can sleep on this (but that's not my intended use), however, this makes for a cute, clean lines, quality fabric, little sofa. I'm pretty surprised at how cool this turned out to be, never having seen it in real life, nor trying it out, before buying.

    Read More
    clevergrrly March 16, 2012
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    Renee T. June 29, 2016
Sponsored Links