Today: $66.99
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Hand-forged Japanese Samurai 41-inch Sword

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • GREAT!
    Verified Purchase

    Absolutely great sword! It is sharp and is full tang. It has a nice balance to it as well. The box was very nice to. I can't believe the price. This is a steal. It could be a high end sword.

    Read More
    marinecorps30 March 26, 2011
  • wow
    Verified Purchase

    this sword is amazing,it comes with a cleaning set,the word case is very nice,i wish all of the swords came like this,very good deal,very impressive set.

    Read More
    mealo December 8, 2010
  • Worth every dime and then some.
    Verified Purchase

    I don't know about the other reviews complaining about the "wood chips" on the blade etc. I've been a collector for years, and that is common in samurai swords. When they are new, you have to clean the shavings and oil off of the blade. This sword is easily worth $150 or more. It is made by a very reputable company. The blade is high quality steel, and comes with a decently sharp edge. The maintenance kit with the hammer, resin, and cleaning cloth along with the wood storage box is worth the price alone. The box this sword came in is very well made, and appears to be cedar. The sword itself could easily fetch $200 in a specialty sword store. It blows my mind that this sword is available at this price. If you are a collector - get one, or two at this price.

    Read More
    blademeister October 5, 2010
  • amazing
    Verified Purchase

    fast delivery, amazing craftmanship. this is my first sword and its not often an online purchase beats your expectations. the wooden box is a great case too

    Read More
    rshah218 March 28, 2011
  • Awesome sword & more!
    Verified Purchase

    I received my sword yesterday and was totally impressed by the craftsmanship that went into it. It is simply beautiful in every aspect. I also loved the wood storage/presentation case and the sword care kit that came with it (which I immediately put to use to clean and oil the blade. There are very good video instructions on how to do this at Youtube). This was a great first-time Overstock.com transaction for me and I have already recommended this sword to a fellow taekwondo student.

    Read More
    richarddean October 20, 2010
  • Longquan Sword
    Verified Purchase

    I was hesitant about buying this sword,but at the price I thought I couldn't pass it by. The sword is handmade and excellent craftmanship was put into making it. I looked up the history of the makers of the sword. The Longquan Sword has been made in China for several generations and has been presented to people as a gift of friendship and loyalty. President Nixon was presented one of these swords when he visited China. All I can say is that anyone who purchases swords know that this sword is worth $250.00 to $350.00 at any dealer who sells martial arts weapons and collectable artifacts. The sword is made very well and the case it comes in is ideal for showing off or displaying for others to see. Right now I'm thinking of buying a couple more for gifts to my other friends. Anyone recieving this will be pleased with it.

    Read More
    splinter6 June 22, 2010
  • tsok
    Verified Purchase

    Not spectacular, blade is not completely straight. But for the rpice, acceptable. If I had paid more I would be disappointed.

    Read More
    deibelsan March 12, 2011
  • Fantastic sword!
    Verified Purchase

    I'm no expert on swords in general, but being paranoid I did a lot of research on purchasing one before I got this (a great place to look for guidance is Sword Buyers Guide Online). I was nervous, initially, because I didn't know what the manufacturer was (It's a reputable one, btw). It had all the right stuff (folded steel, mid-grade carbon steel, differentially hardened, full (not 'rat tail') tang), so I took a gamble and went for it. I was not disappointed in the least. I have not put it through any abusive tests, but I've cut plenty of milk jugs well with no problems and the sword is still holding up well. I have not tried cutting the box it came in (standard fare, apparently, when you get a new sword) since I want to wait until after the 30 return period but I have little doubt that it will do well (cardboard is a stiffer target than milk jugs FYI). The sword weighs 2lb 9oz and the point of balance is 6 inches or so from the tsuba (I didn't measure it), making it heaver than I initially expected but fantastic for cutting. The wrap is "shoelacey" but that's what you get for a cheap sword; not a big deal for a beginner. I can't comment on the edge geometry since i'm no expert, but I do really like the wavy grind pattern on the edge. I didn't measure the blade width but it feels pretty thin (which is good, btw. Sword's aren't generally very thick) It did arrive with some slight blemishes near the tip but they are hardly a big deal. Also, YOU DO NEED TO CLEAN IT when it comes out of the box. There are several great videos online that show you how to do that. Over all, this is a fantastic buy and if you want to own a real deal sword this is absolutely perfect. Ignore the negative reviews; I suspect they're coming from troll country. ;D

    Read More
    MattKrell April 18, 2017
  • Nice quality for the money
    Verified Purchase

    I was actually surprised when I received this it is good quality for the money the box it comes in was cheap and slightly damaged but that's no big deal to me overall I think it's underpriced for what you're getting

    Read More
    Jeff K. January 22, 2017
  • Was a great gift!!
    Verified Purchase

    This sword was delivered quickly and was a gift to my son for Christmas. It had a good feel and weight to it and was sharp right out of the box! My only complaint is that the box it comes in was cracked on one end. I would suggest Overstock put a thicker piece of styrofoam or something else to help protect it. It isn't noticable and can be fixed with a tiny amount of glue, so not worth sending it back for another in our case. I was skeptical that for the price we would be getting something super cheap looking/feeling, but this was a good purchase.

    Read More
    lemmehaveit December 27, 2016
  • Great Katana
    Verified Purchase

    A true work of art. The blade is beautiful and the craftmanship is amazing.

    Read More
    Jason S. November 12, 2016
  • Rene
    Verified Purchase

    Nice!!!!!! Great for the price very sharp

    Read More
    RENE M. October 25, 2016
  • Horrible
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this based on decent reviews. Says its hand made but come to find out, not well. Has plastic leather on handle and it had giant holes in it with wooden pegs going through it. Made very poorly

    Read More
    Ashley M. May 15, 2016
  • Mr. Consumet
    Verified Purchase

    This Samurai is absolutely awesome,just about a high end samurai and the price is crazy cheap.Very well made and I always get positive reviews on it.Thanks to the manufacturer on making a awesome gorgeous sword.

    Read More
    Bobby R. May 11, 2016
  • Over the expectations l
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent quality for the price. Two thumbs up!

    Read More
    Ram April 18, 2016
  • Samurai sword
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great sord for the price. If you put in the shipping, box, & the cleaning kit you probably only have about 35 dollars in it. (THANKS )

    Read More
    Daniel H. April 14, 2016
  • Kind of cheap
    Verified Purchase

    Box was broke when it came. Cheap wood but sword seemed reasonable

    Read More
    Wyatt B. February 17, 2016
  • Excellent quality made Katana
    Verified Purchase

    I had been looking for a good Samurai sword for some time when I ran across this one. It seemed to have most all of the features I was looking for and a few extras. The only one missing was a nice shiny painted on design finish on the Saya (Scabbard). It's not "razor" sharp but it's a far cry from being dull. All of the extras that came with it made it well worth the price. If you're looking for a good, sturdy Katana you won't be disappointed with this one.

    Read More
    Dixie Shooter January 12, 2016
  • Japanese Samurai 41-inch Sword
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent value if you are looking to purchase a sword. The sword in itself is worth several times what you are paying. Hand forged, display case, cleaning kit and black wrap. Highly recommended!

    Read More
    David L. November 25, 2015
  • Highly satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    Bought as a gift for my boyfriend. He loves it and at that price I couldn't pass it up. The quality is excellent and looks like it should cost way more than it does. Overall very happy with my purchase.

    Read More
    OstkUser60317 November 19, 2015
Sponsored Links