Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $259.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Grande Locking Media Storage Cabinet

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Do not buy!!!!

    I have owned this cabinet for over four years to date. I paid over $400.00 for this. I thought I was getting a quality piece of furniture, I was wrong. This is the cheapest MDF constructed cabinet I have ever bought. It is made of MDF with black vinyl for the exterior. It has collapsed twice, I had to almost rebuild it both times reinforcing the cabinet with glue. The hardware for assembly is not positioned correctly. Furthermore the cabinet doors will not open or close properly. I can go on and on about how much pure junk this is. In addition the locks are cheap and do not work mainly because the cabinet will not line up. I am looking to replace it if anyone has any sugestions for a high quality cabinet. Prepac must either re-design this cabinet, or dis-continue manufacturing it.

    Read More
    ozonetourist January 3, 2008
  • Overall, definitely worth it!
    Verified Purchase

    OK, granted, I think this item is a little overpriced (surprising from Overstock!) but - it was worth it. (I coouldn't find this cheaper anywhere else. Make sure you check the measurements because it's surprisingly tall. It was painfully easy to put together. The directions even include suggestions for where to put the "permanent" shelves to proper layout for the types of content (vhs, or dvd, or cd, etc.) It has gobs of space and mine is no where filled. The quality of this piece is definitely not fine furniture, but more like sauder or bush stuff. The laminate is thin, so expect wear if it's in a kid's room or something. My piece had a few surface scratches from movememt during delivery (mostly wear on the edges), but a color-coordinated marker was included that covered the scratches well enough. One other thing to consider is how you decide to layout the adjustable shelves and, ultimately, load the cabinet. Bec`ause it's fairly light (made of light wood particles) and tall & thin, think out item placement to put the heaviest, largest item in the body of the cabinet on the bottom. Overall, we're very happy with it and it was the best deal for a cabinet of this size that I could find and I looked a lot!!

    Read More
    Anonymous September 9, 2006
  • I wasn't very impressed with this item for the price I paid. It has a cheap finish that peels off and it is very unstable. I made sure to keep most of the weight in the bottom shelfs and it still kind of wobbles.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • The Three Stooges put this cabinet together.
    Verified Purchase

    The instructions were not explained thoroughly and was missing pieces

    Read More
    optimisticoscar June 22, 2012
  • Looks Good, but Up Close Not so Great

    It took a while to assemble and probably need a 2-man team to do it. Once assembled, it look great with its simplistic design. However, the quality of the wood isn't so great, It's cheap and has that "Made in China" feel to it. There were a few nicks and dings after we got it up. It would've been better if it's made out of higher quality wood. The price is a little too steep for what it is. No more than **** would've been fine for this type of quality.

    Read More
    pandapanda August 4, 2010
  • recommended
    Verified Purchase

    well built, excellent directions, only issue has to be the locking mechanism on each side, especially the left. To reach it you have to open the right side, move some DVD and reach inside the cabinet, there should have had the same locking mechanism on both right and left sides

    Read More
    richmorton75 November 16, 2010
  • Grande Locking Media Storage Cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    looks good arrived in good shape. took quite of bit of assembly to get it all together

    Read More
    prokjos April 22, 2008
  • I love it.
    Verified Purchase

    The case looks great, in my bedroom, and holds soooo many dvds, it's just what I needed, It took ,my boyfriend forever to put it together, but definately worth the time. My only problem was the price! I would say this piece is worth $200 and not a cent more. still a great piece.

    Read More
    jessica978 February 1, 2008
  • Great storage unit

    Great storage unit. I'm finally able to store all my DVDs in one place. It looks great in my living room. My only beef is that the doors don't stay closed unless it's locked. Overall, I'm very satisfied.

    Read More
    Anonymous September 12, 2006
  • The media storage is exactly what we were looking for. I'm very happy with the item and the instructions were accurate.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • I am happy with the product, it is what I expected. Lots of space for my DVD's and it looks nice enough. Not the highest quality, but that would cost way more than this piece does. The black fits perfectly with the rest of my living room. The hole for the interior locking mechanism was not in the correct spot so I was only able to use one screw to hold it in place. Still both doors stay closed even when unlocked.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Missing Parts on Delivery
    Verified Purchase

    Shelf arrived quickly, quality a little better than expected (considering it's particle board). Assembly was easy...UNTIL time came to hang the doors. Got 1 door hung, no problem. The I noticed that the hinge package for the 2nd door did not have any screws in it (you need 16 per door). No problem, there is a toll free number to call for missing parts. However it is Saturday and they only man the office on week days so I have to wait until Monday to even let them know I am missing the parts. Now it's monday and I have called 4 times and every time I get an "all operators are busy"message. So I send an Email letting them know I am missing parts. So far no response to the voice message I left or EMail I sent. In the meantime I cannot finish cabinet assembly as the screws are not easily found anywhere. UPDATE: Got an estimated delivery date on Dec. 21st for the 16 screws that I am missing. 9 days after I reported the shortage, 11 days after I started to assemble the cabinet.

    Read More
    Karen S. December 15, 2016
  • a long time to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    If you buy this cabinet, make sure you have large space to spread out all of the parts before putting it together and an easy way to move it into the spot you want it in. It is not light to carry and arrives in two heavy boxes. Make sure you put it in a spot where you can anchor it to a wall since your floor may not be as level as you think it is. Once it is assembled, it is big and spacious enough to put dvd cases of varying heights on it's adjustable shelves. The only problem is the design doesn't allow enough space to reach around the separator to open and close the inside lock once you have dvds on the top shelf.

    Read More
    gary651 July 8, 2016
  • JJB
    Verified Purchase

    Good quality item. Lock was a bit off.

    Read More
    jb1347 February 3, 2016
  • Waste of money.
    Verified Purchase

    We had to Jerry-rig this unit with shims to keep it from falling over forward. When filled, the doors are very heavy and impossible to keep closed. We had to modify the unit with exterior sliding locks. Wish I had looked longer for a better storage solution.

    Read More
    mlamirand November 15, 2015
  • Awesome Buy!
    Verified Purchase

    Hey it arrived on time and it was easy to put together, the instructions were very clear, if you have a little knowledge of how to put anything together it shouldn't be hard, but you have to follow the directions to the letter or it will come out wrong especially when you are working on the door hinges, the only other thing was the lock is cheap, but I just went to lowes and bought another one for like 5 bucks...to make it work (in case this does happen to anyone else) you have to bore out the hole, but after that it works the same....other than that it is a great buy and holds many CD's, Games, and Movies, etc...

    Read More
    Robert L. October 22, 2015
  • Service Manager
    Verified Purchase

    Item received was as described- arrived in good condition. The assembly instructions were clear and easy to follow. Nice storage with plenty of room for CD's, DVD's and other media.

    Read More
    Eugene V. May 14, 2015
  • Good Storage
    Verified Purchase

    Lots of storage space. Relatively easy to assemble. It is just not built with enough durability to withstand constant moving. It needs to be built and put in one place and kept there or it might start to fall apart.

    Read More
    chrislovesthe80s February 2, 2012
  • Good instructions and assembly, one issue.
    Verified Purchase

    The strange thing about this is there is no mechanism to keep the doors closed if not locked and/or if the left door latch isn't engaged. The left door has a slide latch to lock the left door and this is difficult to engage when storage cabinet is loaded with DVDs. To right door has to be locked to keep the right door closed when fully loaded. To solve both problems, I put some velcro strips on both doors to keep the doors closed without locking or engaging the latch. So my issues are solved and the cabinet stores loads of DVDs.

    Read More
    cobolpgmr January 18, 2012
  • Would recommend for DVD collectors
    Verified Purchase

    The cabinet is perfect for my DVD collection. I have close to 400 and they all fit. Putting it together was kinda a pain in the butt and took a few hours because the instructions weren't very clear on some parts, but we got it together. Love it now that it is all set up! I love that it can close up and when you want to see what you have, can open the doors up.

    Read More
    husky13 August 26, 2011
Sponsored Links