Today: $886.98

At other retailer: $1,776.33

Save $889.35 (50%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Grand Americana Workcenter

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Excellent
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent piece of furniture. Very sturdy and well built. Took my husband (who is a carpenter by trade) quite a while to put together but other than that we love it and it works perfectly in our kitchen.

    Read More
    OstkUser861544 February 6, 2017
  • Excellent

    I bought this island thingy a few years ago and never got around to reviewing it then, but I can say now -- after MUCH use -- that the "Grand Americana" is an excellent product. All the drawers still work well, the top is tough and has endured MUCH rough treatment with no ill effects. The assembly was a bit of a challenge (my daughter helped me; she's very good at that sort of thing). But the end result was super.

    Read More
    Linda F. December 11, 2016
  • Catskill Grand Americana Workcenter
    Verified Purchase

    Quickly received the island. Great quality of the butcher-block top, legs, and drawers--but the side, shelf, and back panels are less than desirable (i.e. super thin).

    Read More
    hmation13 February 12, 2016
  • Sturdy but not on the lower shelf
    Verified Purchase

    I have loved how sturdy this piece has been, but the thin plywood that make the shelf is extremely thin and can not take the weight of a pot.

    Read More
    Chad M. November 28, 2015
  • Best cutting, counter, storage and buffet cart.
    Verified Purchase

    I had a very small kitchen and I love to cook. I had a permanent yet small island that I had to always walk around. That prompted to remodel my kitchen. When I was done I missed my island but loved the open space. Having worked in restaurants for years and having stainless steel prep tables near my cooking areas I decided to look for a solution to my now open area, but I wanted it to be portable. I initially looked for stainless tables but they really didn't match my kitchen look and were bulky and not very functional. Then I came across wood ones and some had wheels. There are many out there and the prices varied along with quality. I saw this one on overstock and really liked all the features. The two drawers open shelve and nice thick cutting board top. I also saw this in a high end kitchen gadget store being used as their cooking lesson center. It was the one I wanted and overstock had the best price by quite a bit. It has been one of best purchases I've made. It is very well built and so functional. It's been a buffet cart and the center of my prep work yet when it comes to cleaning my kitchen it rolls right out of the way. And wow does it look good in my kitchen.

    Read More
    Pat K. October 21, 2015
  • Having been looking for this for a long time
    Verified Purchase

    I have wanted a butcher block table for my kitchen for a long time but they are so expensive. When I saw this on the website, I was a bit skeptical but ordered it anyway. I cannot tell you how happy I am with the purchase. I think my boyfriend would probably say putting it together was kind of a bear but the end result is wonderful. Be sure you keep up with oiling the wood!

    Read More
    robininsandiego June 1, 2015
  • love it

    I really love this piece that we ordered, its perfect for what we wanted. Great quality and everyone that comes over cant believe that i ordered it on line. Highly recomend.

    Read More
    sheri9802 May 15, 2013
  • As advertised
    Verified Purchase

    Be prepared to spend an afternoon assembling this piece. One person can do so (I did it alone), but definitely would be easier with two). There was a lot of assembly involved, but it's a great addition to my kitchen. I swore no more "put together" furniture, but this is way beyond the other self-assembly items. All pieces except drawer bottoms and sides are solid wood and there's a nice slab of butcher block for the top. My only complaint - the bag containing all of the assembly pieces was damaged in shipping and all the pieces were loose in the box. Several were missing. I received no response at all from the manufacturer when I contacted them about the missing pieces. Does not speak well for their customer service.

    Read More
    balto2xist April 11, 2013
  • Excellent piece of furniture
    Verified Purchase

    We love this island. It's very sturdy and well made. My only small grievance is that the open shelf above the drawers is made with a rather thin piece of wood with absolutely no support underneath. You cannot put anything heavy on it or the wood will bow. I tried to store my cast iron skillet and other pans there, and you could see the wood was dipping down from the weight. It's a shame because every single other element of this island is tough and remarkably well made. Still worth every penny. I love the locking rolling castors too, and I roll the table to the side and keep it there until I cook, then roll it to the middle of the kitchen and lock the castors easily with my foot. The drawers are very spacious and slide in and out beautifully.

    Read More
    heathertorre December 14, 2012
  • Worth every penny. Perfect fit, easy to assemble.
    Verified Purchase

    I needed help putting it together because you really need 4 or 5 arms. But we 2 sisters did a fine job of it. You must read the instructions and do exactly what they tell you to do, and in the proper order. We had a few oops moments, had to go back and redo a few connections, but we got a perfect fit on everything. I had plenty of extra screws, connectors, pins, etc. Once we got the hang of the connectors and the pins, it was a right speedy job. Took us about 2-1/2 hours to put together everything - except the 3 drawers which I did by myself the next day. Took about half an hour for all three drawers. The drawer glides went in perfectly, no trouble with balance or fit. What a wonderfully functional piece of kitchen furniture. Heavy, solid, impressive looking. I look forward to rolling out pie dough and cutting out cookies, chopping veggies, everything you need a large counter by the kitchen window to do. So happy! Get this one!

    Read More
    Florida Sunshine March 19, 2012
  • Very Nice Workcenter
    Verified Purchase

    Some reviews indicate this product is not engineered well for assembly; this is simply not the case. If you are a beginner with this sort of project you may need some assistance but I found this to be a relatively straight forward project (albeit time consuming). Because of the quality there are a lot of steps but the alternative to create a smaller project is less quality. Do your self a favor a read the instructions thoroughly before starting. I know in this country we expect everything to happen in a few seconds but don't skimp on time to invest in assembly. Once complete I found the work-center to be exactly what we needed for the space and quite sturdy. My only complaint is the hardware for the drawer handles. As mentioned in previous reviews, they cut some corners here. However, $$$ and a trip to the hardware store solved the problem easily. Don't be swayed by reviewers with no mechanical sense or patience; this is a very good product.

    Read More
    slappymuldune December 8, 2011
  • Great product
    Verified Purchase

    This was really hard to put together but worth the effort...It is a beautiful cabinet and really gives the kitchen a new look with lots of storage space. The butcher block top is outstanding for a work station and it looks really more expensive than what you pay for it. Overstock has done it again with affordability and since it weighs probably 200 lb. , the shipping was free, a great bargain.

    Read More
    kentuckygranny March 3, 2011
  • Not worth the money
    Verified Purchase

    Hardware for this item was cheap and stripped out easily. Screw heads were too small for the drawer hanger brackets. Instructions were very vague in areas. Took hours to put together due to all the different pieces of wood and having to figure out what piece was for what, since all pieces were unmarked. Item is much better looking in the picture than in person. Not worth the money we paid for this. Thought for the price we paid quality would be better. If you have a lot of experience putting things together, this is for you. This is not meant for a beginner.

    Read More
    boo2u August 16, 2010
  • Sturdy, good craftsmanship
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little wary since this was our first purchase from Overstock and didn't know what the "catch" was, but I am very happy with this purchase. It is completely assemble-yourself, and it took us about 2 hours to put together. Instructions are easy to follow, and if you've done much assembly-required furniture, you'll be impressed that the pieces really fit together well. It looks just like the picture, and is very sturdy. Drawers roll easily and the pulls are attractive. The only negative (or maybe just surprise) is that the wood is not treated as much as I'd have expected. Perhaps that's because it's for butcher block use. It's well sanded and hasn't stained, but it's just slightly rougher than I'd expect - about like a cutting board, all over, even on the sides and drawers. Also, the screws for the drawer pulls weren't long enough for the bottom two drawers, but a quick trip to the local (tiny) hardware store and we were all set.

    Read More
    pasadenacooks February 2, 2008
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    Suzanne R. November 7, 2016
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    Megan F. June 28, 2016
Sponsored Links