Read All Reviews for General Electric PEM31SMSS Spacemaker Microwave Oven

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great Microwave
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this GE microwave to put on custom built bottom cabinet shelf. Fits good and better yet it works great. Have used mostly for warming leftovers. No problems. Plenty of power. Especially like the 1 to 6 minute instant high power number entry. Had microwave for two months.

    Read More
    jrayb1 March 29, 2010
  • Paint inside the microwave is chipping !
    Verified Purchase

    Big chunk of the paint inside the MW are chipping! the unit is not used that much for this to happen. Dangerous and glad i caught it esp. since its on the roof inside and not visible unless you look in and up!!! Terrible

    Read More
    suzanen February 19, 2017
  • Great Service
    Verified Purchase

    Still going strong after 5 years and daily use. Fits well in corner area...a real space conserving must have appliance.

    Read More
    grwace May 16, 2016
  • front panel comes unglued
    Verified Purchase

    good value, perfect size for our family however we use it EVERY day and the front panel has always come unglued where the button is to open the door...

    Read More
    poppyshouse November 5, 2013
  • If you have other options, consider them first

    I purchased this microwave from a local dealer when outfitting the kitchen of our custom built home. I wanted a compact, flush mounted, under-cabinet microwave. To the best of my knowledge, this was, and still is, the only brand that offers a 12" deep model. Two of my family members had this same microwave and liked its features and performance. If you have not already committed a space for this microwave, please read other online reviews. I agree, this microwave has great features and I like the way it cooks. But please be aware of a couple of issues reported by many reviewers, both of which I can attest to. Briefly, the door latch does not work properly and the white interior finish peels off. After a couple of years of use, the door latch on my oven started being "quirky". Sometimes the door will open and sometimes it takes a few tries. At least it is still functioning, unlike some owners who reported total latch failures. When my oven was about 5 years old, the white finish on the inside of the oven began bubbling, a little here, a little there. Now, at 7 years, the paint is coming off in big flakes. There is also evidence of rust on the inside of the door frame. I suspect these are related to inadequate ventelation resulting in excess moisture building up during cooking. When I open the door, I often see droplets of water on the "ceiling" of the oven. And, yes, these problems surfaced after the warranty period was up. Since my cabinets are configured to fit this oven, I am stuck with it. I have been looking for a replacement, but this (and the GE JEM25) are the only make/models I can find to fit in the 12" depth of the upper cabinets. There are 15" deep microwaves, but they would not have the nice, flush mounted look of the Spacemaker. I hesitate to purchase another inferior product, but I may be forced to take my chances if I want to keep my present installation. Don't be lead astray by the brand name. I don't believe GE did its customers any favors with the Spacemaker line. Read other reviews carefully before purchasing one of these - or purchase several, so you'll have spares!

    Read More
    suzahuff June 16, 2013
  • Replacing one that died.
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this microwave to replace a built-in Spacemaker, so I was limited in what would fit. This one fits perfectly. I would have preferred a higher-power replacement, but couldn't find one to fit the space. I was concerned about delivery of an appliance, but it came with my regular UPS delivery, no problem. I am very satisfied with this purchase.

    Read More
    savvy18shopper January 22, 2013
  • Good
    Verified Purchase

    We have a very limited space for a microwave oven and this is the only model available. It works fine but the door does not open well. In order to release the latch a second hand is needed to lift up slightly on the door. seems the weight of the door is slightly too much for the latch. Other than the latch the oven performs very well.

    Read More
    skibug December 5, 2012
  • Great wide spacesaver
    Verified Purchase

    We remodeled our kitchen around this microwave model 15 years ago. Then it broke last year and I haven't been able to locate it anywhere - but one night I saw it on Overstock (it's an amazing website, right!?!) and there it was! I hope this one lasts another 15 years.

    Read More
    suzgg November 8, 2012
  • nice size
    Verified Purchase

    We had limited space and found this item to work out perfectly. Nice, sleek design. Good features. I use the timer all the time since my industrial stove does not have one. Ordering from Overstock is always a winner.

    Read More
    housewhisperer October 28, 2012
  • Returned Item - Door Doesn't Close
    Verified Purchase

    We have built-ins in our kitchen and had to find a microwave that would fit particular dimensions. This one did. And it was GE so I decided to buy it. The microwave looks nice and I assume has the right feature set, but it simply doesn't work. The door latch is cheap plastic and doesn't work. The door would not close completely. As a result, the microwave is unusable. I immediately returned it to Overstock. They were great about taking it back. I didn't exchange it for a replacement as the craftsmanship was so cheap. My guess is another one would have had the same problem. So I am now looking elsewhere for a smaller profile microwave. You can take a chance on this one if you want, but I wouldn't recommend it.

    Read More
    wsumba September 20, 2012
  • Fit's in the wall space great.
    Verified Purchase

    I really like the Microwave. I replaced it in the spot of a old broken down GE spacemaker. This new one did not use the same cabinet holes but it came with a pattern. Only disappointment, the door button sticks at times.

    Read More
    marierd August 21, 2012
  • Good compact microwave
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this microwave to replace an older version of the same machine. The cubby built-in in my kitchen was designed for a microwave with these dimensions, so I did not have much choice on which one I wanted to buy (larger microwaves are all too deep). But this one works well, and does all we need. Only small gripe: the door does not open as easily when the release is depressed. But otherwise a good microwave.

    Read More
    mggray July 11, 2012
  • very pleased
    Verified Purchase

    replaced my white GE Spacemaker....the stainless one is very nice and fits percectly in the custom cubby

    Read More
    arnfast May 18, 2012
  • Great Microwave
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect size for the space I have. Works great for reheating and basic cooking which is all I use it for.

    Read More
    jherman April 26, 2012
  • Spacemaker microwave
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this model because it replaced the same model that is fitted under a kitchen cabinet in my mothers home. The old one lasted about 5 years with light usage before a burning smell began coming from underneath and I made her take it out and replace it. Its a good looking unit that functions well for her.

    Read More
    badjohnnydog March 30, 2012
  • Good deal
    Verified Purchase

    This is actually our third GE Spacemaker microwave that we've bought over a thirteen year period. They last about four or five years, but when you consider it's used about five times a day, 365 days a year, that ain't bad. Would buy again for sure.

    Read More
    ggtp March 24, 2012
  • little microwave does the job
    Verified Purchase

    we needed a small size microwave oven to fit a particular shelf in our kitchen and this was the one that kept getting recommended.

    Read More
    alinelt March 10, 2012
  • A very good and attractive microwave.
    Verified Purchase

    I love the way the microwave looks...I mounted it under my cupboard which was a wise decision. The microwave is small and performs all the tasks I use a microwave for. A large casserole could be tight so I wouldn't recommend it if you use it a great deal for meal preparation. I needed a small microwave that complimented my new appliances; I'm very happy with this microwave. My use is limited to warming up food, coffee, making popcorn, etc but I just never have been a someone who uses the microwave to build a dinner. I recommend it for light users such as myself.

    Read More
    doris6 March 6, 2012
  • Read XXXXXX reviews first
    Verified Purchase

    I know this is the only replacement microwave for your space....don't do it. I did and I am currently returning it ..one day out the box! Microwave door does not close properly causing it to stay on. Very poor quality. Went for the warranty too but did not work out the box. Read the reviews on XXXXXXX first.... Overstock reviews are not correct!

    Read More
    dcrap January 22, 2012
  • Fits the spot!
    Verified Purchase

    I needed a replacement microwave for a custom spot in my cupboard, and it was difficult finding the right size. Most units manufactured now are either too big or too small. Overstock saved me hours of shopping for just the right fit!

    Read More
    aksarbenomaha December 28, 2011
Sponsored Links