Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Furniture of America Wood Bookcase/ Display Cabinet

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great Shelf!
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this shelf for over 7 years (I'm just finding the review section of my account haha) and still love it. Obviously very sturdy and has been through 5 moves! Well worth the price and get compliments on it all the time!

    Read More
    Ashley A. February 21, 2017
  • LOVE THIS
    Verified Purchase

    This bookshelf is AWESOME!!! For the first 3 yrs that we had it we used it as a bookshelf (placed vertically, up and down). After a few years and a few glasses of wine I had the great idea of turning the shelf on its side and using as a TV center. It looks GREAT and is more a focal point than ever!

    Read More
    Vida L. January 26, 2017
  • Modern bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    Been using this bookcase for more than four years, still very happy with it. Such a great addition to our living room!

    Read More
    Jade June 3, 2016
  • Mrscgakalolly
    Verified Purchase

    Love it! Very heavy and sold. Turned it on side and used it for a tv stand for our 52" TV.

    Read More
    mrscgakalolly December 30, 2015
  • Dana
    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Thank you. Thank you

    Read More
    Dana W. October 22, 2015
  • Sturdy bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    I've had my bookcase for years now and it's still going. It's surviving my two year old so it's a great buy. It looks exactly like the picture . Fast delivery. Overall great product .

    Read More
    lattyj08 October 8, 2013
  • wood bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    Diificult to assemble. Once the screws were half in the allen key would strio the heads and they would not turn. Out of frustration I hammered them in and it worked, though one of the shelves was damaged by the hammering.

    Read More
    mitchsaunders May 11, 2013
  • VERY nice piece!
    Verified Purchase

    Pros: 1. Very nice looking 2. Sturdy enough for our alcohol collection and books. 3. Better quality than Ikea (in my opinion). The wood is much heavier than ikea pieces I've built. 4. Free shipping and it was packed so well that even with all the damage UPS did to my package on the way, the product was flawless inside. Cons: 1. The supplied allen key is of very low quality. I used an old allen key I had from an ikea piece and it worked much better for me. 2. Shipped with UPS. This is a problem with Overstock, not the product. The package is 85 pounds and it's huge. I expected to be contacted by a shipping company, not have the UPS guy drop this off at the entrance to my building and that I'll have to carry it upstairs myself. 3. price may not be the best, as just yesterday I saw a similar looking piece (thicker wood, too!) for $150 at a local store in Astoria. But I guess the "free" shipping is calculated in the total price here. Other thoughts: I assembled this with a partner. We had an electric screwdriver (HIGHLY recommended!) and two regular ones. Overall it took us about an hour and a half to build it, and I feel like we're pros at this as we've built many furniture in the past. Overall I'm very happy with this purchase!

    Read More
    mooooooooo April 2, 2013
  • Well constructed!
    Verified Purchase

    This bookcase has a great design and can be placed in a vertical or horizontal position. It is very sturdy due to the design. The glue included helps to make it very stable without problems of tipping or swaying. It was a little tricky to get it together but with patience and following the pictorial instructions, the end result is worth the time! It is a very heavy piece and the grey color goes well with any decor. I'm very satisfied!

    Read More
    beargrease March 29, 2013
  • looks very elegant althought not terribly high qua
    Verified Purchase

    I love this bookcase. It is not super high quality and it is not something I imagine passing down to my children but it looks fantastic in my living room and I have had it for two years now. It looks great horizontally or vertically (I have mine lying horizontally).

    Read More
    aoo8 December 20, 2012
  • More than expected
    Verified Purchase

    I waited 2 years to purchase this piece abd the wait was worth it! Used it to define my living room from my dining. It is great - you can still see people in the dining area and yet feel cozy in the living room. Great piece! did not come with directions - a bit of a challenge.

    Read More
    nutjugs11 December 10, 2012
  • Wood Bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this product to use as a bookcase/divider to separate the bed area in my daughter's NYC studio apartment. She assembled it herself, though not quite correctly. The bookcase shelf placements allow it to stand vertically or horizontally which makes it quite versatile. It is sturdy enough for the job. The quality is good for the value. After putting her personal touches of books and vases on the shelves, it made for a nice addition to the apartment.

    Read More
    vacashun October 17, 2012
  • Great!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this bookcase. It took a while to assemble, however, the istructions were clear and easy to follow. I placed my bookcase on its side and it looks like a display credenza.

    Read More
    4kunden April 17, 2012
  • Beautiful display cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    It is a beautiful way to display your keepsakes and books. It was the perfect addition to my wall cabinet - just sat it on top and it looks great!

    Read More
    sharonkadams April 6, 2012
  • A nice bookshelf/room accent
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this to serve as more of a room divider to place accent peices on in my family room. It serves that purpose very well and is a very sturdy piece of furniture! I would have given it 5 stars but it is partical board not solid wood and the finish could be a bit nicer. All in all a good product though and I am happy with it!

    Read More
    bdf4 February 25, 2012
  • Good value for money
    Verified Purchase

    I really liked this bookcase. It is not solid wood but the effect is good for the price. I originally ordered one of these placed vertically and then liked it so much I bought two more and now have all three stacked horizontally on top of each other (I have high ceilings and I'm pretty tall). The use of space is great and you can store a wide variety of things: books, DVDs, photo frames and albums as well as ornaments. Building the bookcase is pretty straightforward and took me a little over an hour. I strongly recommend getting a drill to put this together, especially one with fittings to match a variety of Allen Key (Hex Key) sizes. This will save you hours of hard work!

    Read More
    johnnylondon December 28, 2011
  • LOVE these bookcases/display units!!!
    Verified Purchase

    Love this design for display of fine art and collectibles and fine books. Bought 2 of this version with large cubbies, plus a 3rd one with smaller display cubbies.

    Read More
    divorcee December 21, 2011
  • Simple assembly, and looks beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    Screws go into the wood, and leave a hole above their heads. Assembly is a joy with these screws, but once finished, I wish I had caps to cover the holes, so the shelf looks all black, and doesn't have bare wood holes with steel screw heads in them. Not really too noticeable though, if you don't specifically look for them, especially once you have things on the shelves.

    Read More
    gr3gk1 December 19, 2011
  • wood bookcase/display
    Verified Purchase

    I love my new bookcase / display I have room for all my books and grandson's photos it was an excellent choice indeed.

    Read More
    ladymoore December 2, 2011
  • Not veneer
    Verified Purchase

    I would not order from this company again. The quality is baseline - like you would find on a shelf at Staples. I was not expecting solid wood for the price but I certainly was not expecting a completely fake "as wood" paper.

    Read More
    amyg1410 November 15, 2011
Sponsored Links