Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Furniture of America Union 2-in-1 Bookcase/ Writing Desk

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Very poor Quality
    Verified Purchase

    We returned this within hours . Very poor quality & confusing instructions.

    Read More
    nikki80 October 24, 2017
  • Elegant desk
    Verified Purchase

    Practical and looks high-end. The only challenge is that the assembly instructions are not well-written and somewhat unclear. For that reason, it is 4-star rather than 5.

    Read More
    anay37 November 18, 2016
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    Great for my teen son to use as a study desk, and love the choc look :-)

    Read More
    Marina N. October 11, 2016
  • Pretty piece, ok desk
    Verified Purchase

    Its very pretty but I dont use it as a desk as much as I had planned. Its not quite as comfortable to use it that way as I expected, but still great storage and looks nice.

    Read More
    Kristin M. August 5, 2016
  • Nice color
    Verified Purchase

    Love the color and quality, I just wished it were taller

    Read More
    shay g June 13, 2016
  • cfranklin
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very nice product. However, the assembly took quite a while. All of the holes lined up correctly but there were a lot of parts. It was still a good value for the money.

    Read More
    Charles F. May 17, 2016
  • Definitely Not Worth Ordering
    Verified Purchase

    We recently remodeled/redecorated and I ordered this desk. FInally put it together today. First off, the instructions were AWFUL. They consist of images that are badly labeled. Granted the number of things holding it together should insure it is sturdy in use. Go thru all the steps before you start and figure out EXACTLY which of the many parts are needed for each step. As to the actual product, some of the pre-drilled holes were not straight which caused the veneer to life in a couple of places and a 1" piece to come off, which I will have to paint to disguise as its in a conspicuous place. The final "dammit" was that once put together and the desk shelf flipped up, the darn thing is crooked because the routered spot for the hinge was not squared. I am good at assembling things and actually enjoy it but this was horribly difficult and VERY un-satisfying when done. This is the first thing that I have ordered from overstock.com that was truly a cheaply made, badly executed piece of furniture. Very disappointed!!!

    Read More
    spunky10 April 29, 2016
  • Difficult to Assemble
    Verified Purchase

    All parts did not fit exactly together. Had to be glued in some areas. Would not buy again.

    Read More
    srteeters February 28, 2016
  • Good for the price.
    Verified Purchase

    Needed to dress up and empy corner and this works just fine. Put a low padded saddle style stool with it, looks nice.

    Read More
    Maureen W. November 30, 2015
  • Small desk for tight spaces
    Verified Purchase

    Great desk and what I was looking for.

    Read More
    Ashley K. September 8, 2015
  • Using this as a vanity
    Verified Purchase

    I don't imagine it would work well for an actual desk if used regularly. The quality is as expected for the price. It looks nicer than it is and has been great for my vanity over the last few weeks. I have it on carpet and it is not wobbly. Bit of a bear to put together but I was able to do it by myself. The stickers provided to cover the hardware work well and blend in nicely with the piece.

    Read More
    OCdogmom July 15, 2015
  • Up compact and sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    Nice piece, took some effort to put together but functional and fits in a small area..

    Read More
    jpiero2002 March 8, 2015
  • Lynn
    Verified Purchase

    Packaged well for shipping, except for instructions to assemble, One call to Overstock and full assembly instructions were emailed. As stated in other reviews assembly is not easy, and is very time consuming, unless you are familiar with assembling furniture. For sale price good value! Be familiar with the cam lock instruction page...that was hard to figure out. MUST HAVE TWO PEOPLE TO ASSEMBLE AND CARRY. Perfect for your laptop and printer in a small space.

    Read More
    LYNDA K. January 20, 2015
  • Bookcase/ Writing Desk
    Verified Purchase

    I only opened the box to see that the color was not true to the picture - it was almost black. I sent it back. Fortunately, Overstock accepted the return.

    Read More
    zaiprotiv December 24, 2014
  • You get what you pay for.
    Verified Purchase

    It is self assemble but **** furniture is much easier than this. Many of the holes were not drilled properly if at all. It required a lot of reworking.

    Read More
    ksebs August 7, 2014
  • Perfect for a my needs
    Verified Purchase

    I just needed a small desk for my apartment, something that looked good and wasn't intrusive. This was a perfect fit & didn't take me very long to put together myself.

    Read More
    sarah1977inmadison July 5, 2014
  • Functional and useful for small space.
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very nice unit for small spaces and it will blend with many decors.

    Read More
    Elora June 1, 2014
  • bookcase/ desk
    Verified Purchase

    Super space saver meets both needs to keep my laptop and office nececities

    Read More
    jgrios May 9, 2014
  • perfect
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this desk because I don't have a lot of room and needed something practical. I am very happy with my purchase and it looks great.

    Read More
    nanan2000 October 6, 2013
  • Desk of a million pieces comes together well.
    Verified Purchase

    I don't think I have ever received a box that had as many pieces and/or hardware as this desk/bookcase. I opened the instructions and one of the only sentences on the page was that two people are necessary for assembly. I planned on assembling the piece alone because I live alone -- I wish it had said that on the website! All that being said, three evenings later I had the bookcase/desk put together and it works well. All of the drilled holes and the hardware do not match perfectly but they match well enough and any screws that don't go all the way into their place are not visible. The piece is sturdy. I would only recommend this to a friend if I told him/her about the building process, and maybe I would offer an experienced hand as well.

    Read More
    perfectpepper August 20, 2013