Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Furniture of America Normandie Modern Multi-shelf Storage Bookcase and Room Divider, Walnut

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Love Love
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I ordered two of these. I have one on either side of an oriental chest in my living room. It makes a very attractive focal point in the room. They are heavy, have help to lift or move, Lots of pieces but instructions are well written.

    Read More
    karonmarie October 13, 2017
  • bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    This is a beautiful bookcase, with lots of space for books or knickknacks. I added some seasonal lights to dress it up! Although there are lots of pieces it is not too difficult to assemble.

    Read More
    ldandy July 6, 2017
  • bookcases
    Verified Purchase

    Love the bookcases which can be used the long way or the short way. They are sturdy and hold a lot. When you lay it the long way the majority of the shelves are too short for anything other than paperbacks. I bought three and it took me almost 10 hours to get them put together partly because I kept making mistakes that took forever to undo. But I would buy them again.

    Read More
    Stephanie P. August 12, 2015
  • I agree that the instructions were inadequate
    Verified Purchase

    I'm pretty good at putting things together on my own, but this bookcase needs the instructions. Unfortunately, neither the instructions nor the labels on the bookcase parts offer the directional information you need to make sure it's being put together correctly. After four hours of building and re-building, I got all of it together, only to find that the top board's connecting bolts didn't line up with the holes. Rather than take the whole thing apart (again,) I plan to drill new holes for the bolts. This isn't a small oversight: I wound up having to take apart and re-build most of the steps. Protip: if you have it oriented correctly, the screws are countersunk and the screws will sit below the surface of the bookcase (unfortunately, this is hard to discern without putting the screw in the hole - so before you begin screwing it together, put the screw in the open hole and make sure the screw head sits inside the hole. Second, there was no direction offered for the pieces that have connecting bolts, so it's not clear if it matters which direction they face - until you get to the last page of the instructions (still not sure if it matters, but the directions have them all on one side.) All of that said, we have this on its side in my son's room as a display case - it's gorgeous. The little side that sticks out makes a perfect bedside table. It is EXTREMELY heavy and sturdy, which is a good thing after you have it put together and where you want it.

    Read More
    michelhays July 15, 2014
  • Horrible
    Verified Purchase

    This product is horrible. The first package they sent me had a piece that was the wrong size. I complained and they sent me a whole knew package, when I only needed one piece. I put together the new package and I had the same problem. I am not sure if all of the packages have faulty sizing, but I am very disappointed. Now instead of having a *** bookshelf I have a huge headache.

    Read More
    johnm0 May 30, 2014
  • Looks great but you have to earn it
    Verified Purchase

    So let me start by saying that the bookshelves look pretty great. I like the ability to use them horizontally or vertically (I went with horizontal). My one gripe with the appearance is that the screws are supposed to be covered by these silly looking brown stickers, but you can probably get by without using them as the screw heads are black and blend in with the veneer. The shelves are press board not MDF, but seem plenty sturdy. Consequently expect a hefty package to arrive at your doorstep if you get these; my box was labeled as 125lbs. Now for the bad. The reason I docked these shelves a star is that the assembly is a bit of an ordeal. Prepare yourself for anger, because it will probably happen at some point while putting these together. The instructions are a bit unclear considering how many pieces are involved. I think the whole process took me about 3-4 hours. Be particularly careful through all steps involving the long outer edge pieces. There are 58 screws so I also recommend a power drill with an allen wrench hex bit (5/32" I think) on a very low torque setting if you can swing it. Emphasis on low torque since the shelves are press board. All in all great looking shelves for the price, just budget some time for assembly.

    Read More
    bigassoryx March 28, 2014
  • Beautiful Bookshelf
    Verified Purchase

    Love this bookshelf. It took a while to put together as it's not the standard bookshelf shape, but it was well worth it. I have it full with books and it seems to be very sturdy.

    Read More
    crazyasia December 5, 2013
  • Heavy Duty for Pressed Wood
    Verified Purchase

    Well, I don't do these unless I really feel it will make a difference positive or negative. In this instance, hoping for the former. The product was in great condition, only one small problem with the laminate on one piece that isn't even noticeable once assembled. The box is "Heavy"! Do not lift alone, unless you are pretty fit. UPS placed the box upright next to a tree by my door and I had to use some ingenious physics to get it in the door by myself. It was well packaged, and therefore no damage occurred in shipping. Though the pieces are labeled, there are several, and the instructions can be a bit hard to follow, as there are several pieces that aren't the same on both ends and they don't tell you which way to put them for the locking phillips nuts. I had to assemble and disassemble twice because of the slight differences in the pieces and the direction they must go. With this being said, I set out to put this together at about 6pm and finished-cleanup, and setup included-at about 11:30pm. However, once assembled, I feel the piece is an excellent bargain for the quality of the finished product. The weight of the product lends me to believe that it will travel well, if I ever need to move it. Hope this helps someone make a valued decision on this very "MOD" looking display case.

    Read More
    atbf74 October 16, 2013