Read All Reviews for Furniture of America Contemporary Home Office File Cabinet

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • I like the way it looks and all the drawers.
    Verified Purchase

    It fits right under my desk and that's very convenient. I can put my mug on top while I search the files, or put the files on top.

    Read More
    ksaunt January 27, 2017
  • I love this, very good quality
    Verified Purchase

    I wish the two top drawers opened more, they only open half way, makes it difficult to search for things. Also, one of the screws was missing to the drawer, but I managed to put one of my own - it's not perfect, but it works.

    Read More
    emillie June 2, 2015
  • Taller than advertised
    Verified Purchase

    Nice looking filing cabinet but took over 1.5 hours to assemble. Also the measurements on here are incorrect. The height does not take into account the wheels so the cabinet is actually taller than what is advertised and annoyingly does not fit under my desk! $@&#?! Figure it out OVERSTOCK.

    Read More
    aml3101 February 28, 2014
  • Time Consuming Assembly But Well Made
    Verified Purchase

    I was really intimidated when I saw how many parts arrived, but the instructions were fairly easy to follow. The product is extremely well made in terms of having everything line up appropriately. The holes were all drilled perfectly, and all the parts were included. My only complaint is that there are 4 screws that need to be installed with an allen wrench (included). I hate those little throw away wrenches, as they're difficult to turn. I have a nice set, but the size used for this piece was not something I have. I'm not sure why they didn't use a regular phillips head screw. For the person who complained because the file drawer requires European hanging folders, I was able to find the folders at http://www.empireimports.com/standarda4.html. Not inexpensive, but offset by the low price on the file cabinet intself.

    Read More
    lindaracine December 15, 2013
  • NOT STANDARD SIZE FILE DRAW!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    NOT STANDARD SIZE FILE DRAW!!!! The other reviews comment that the holes are drilled incorrect when in fact they are correct but just for a European size suspension file (bigger then letter, the 2 that come with it are 12.75 inches wide that they dont sell in the United States. googled the folders cause I can't use the draw and they only sell them overseas!! This has seriously been the most frustrating experience. DO NOT BUY

    Read More
    ellabella68 August 18, 2013
  • Bigger file cabinet

    this file cabinet is bigger than most standard ones but that's what I expected when I saw the dimensions. I bought some European file folders to fit this one because I wanted more than the ones given. this is a really good size cabinet and I'm able to hold a lot more files than the standard ones. assembly was simple and straightforward and didn't take too long.

    Read More
    piepaula July 12, 2013
  • Cannot Hold Hanging File Folders
    Verified Purchase

    Bottom (largest) drawer of file folder cannot hold hanging file folders even though it is advertised as being able to do so and actually designed as being able to do so. The holes are drilled incorrectly. They are too far apart to allow letter sized hanging file folders. Amazing this large of a design flaw wasn't caught and corrected before this product went into production. So plan on spending another *** on a hanging file folder frame if you intend to use the product for that purpose.

    Read More
    vegashighroller June 16, 2013
  • Wrong hanging folder width = crap!
    Verified Purchase

    I was so angry to find out that the main drawer - this is supposed to hold hanging folders and lock - cannot hold the folders because the holes are drilled too far apart. I cannot return it because it is already assembled and even glued (which took forever). I'm shocked at my stupidity for buying this after people clearly have commented on this in prior posts (I usually purchase items based on positve reviews) and I'm shocked that it's still for sale in it's current condition. I think having to go to another place to buy something to make it work really stinks!!!

    Read More
    danana24 April 18, 2013
  • Solid but parts don't work
    Verified Purchase

    Overstock did an excellent job in helping us deal with missing parts, but after we assembled the unit the bars for handing file folders are too wide for letter and too narrow for legal - so the holes were drilled incorrectly.

    Read More
    snocat April 9, 2013
  • small but great
    Verified Purchase

    when I saw these they were perfect. I had just purchased a desk from Ikea and needed very short cabinets. I thought the measurement was 23" from wheels to top and I was excited. 23" for me, became with no wheels. The drawers are not very deep but enough for what I needed....a place for scissors and pencils, etc. The drawers only pull out about 8 to 10 inches even though the drawer goes further back. I am happy with both my cabinets and the handles are very nice looking which adds to the classiness.

    Read More
    13drummer April 2, 2013
  • File folder drawer is whack
    Verified Purchase

    The drawer is unable to hold file folders. It is too wide, even for extended reach folders. You will need to buy a frame to sit inside the drawer to hang things. Major bummer.

    Read More
    mattyc24 March 5, 2013
  • DOES NOT FIT HANGING FOLDERS!
    Verified Purchase

    This is easy to put together, looks great, fine finish, good fit b/c it does not look like office furniture. However, it does not fit any hanging folders - legal or standard.

    Read More
    genza February 26, 2013
  • Top quality at great price
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for a multi-drawer unit to fit under my desk. The finish matches other pieces I have in my desk area, so the unit complements the entire space. The finish on the entire unit including the hardware is great. Construction of the unit was uncomplicated. All of the required screws, dowels, etc., were included. The diagrams and instructions were easy to follow. I am really happy with the unit as it looks good, satisfies my needs, and I did not pay a lot of money for it.

    Read More
    mathmanmakesmusic January 15, 2013
  • Incorrect file hanger size
    Verified Purchase

    For the money (I got it on sale), this file cabinet is of decent quality. It was easy enough to assemble, as the holes were all drilled correctly, etc. I did have to request additional screws for the caster wheels, but that was no big deal, Overstock sent them out ASAP. My only real issue with this product is that the bars for hanging file folders are not a standard size and therefor do not hold standard letter or legal size folders. I remedied this by buying a hanging file folder frame from my local office supply store for about $10. Not perfect, but functional.

    Read More
    llninco December 10, 2012
Sponsored Links