Today $637.49
Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Furniture of America Charlie Charcoal Finish Sofa Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • it's okay...
    Verified Purchase

    super firm,fabric is over stretched.it's hard to sleep 1 person because it doesnt lock down . it's not as wide as a full size bed, ut wider than a twin. It looks nice,but that's about it.

    Read More
    dhbresources October 21, 2015
  • Very Hard
    Verified Purchase

    I read the other reviews that the mattress was very firm but thought, "how bad could it be?" It's pretty bad. Not only is the "mattress" very firm, but you can really feel the crevice between the seat and the couch back when it's laid down as a bed. We bought a foam mattress pad and laid down two down comforters to make this even moderately comfortable. It looks lovely as a couch, but I wouldn't recommend it for a bed.

    Read More
    apadon December 13, 2014
  • Looks great but it broke after 4 months
    Verified Purchase

    I love the look of this convertible sofa. Unfortunately after only 4 months using it as the couch in my living room, the foam in the center of the sofa seat has "blown out." I don't know how else to day it. One day I sat down on the sofa and heard a loud pop and suddenly the foam sort of collapsed from under me and I could feel the actual wooden frame on my butt. Not comfortable! I've contacted customer service and they say they aren't sure what they can do for me since I didn't purchase a warranty. Didn't think I'd need one. Big mistake, I guess.

    Read More
    coyboydc December 12, 2014
  • Garbage
    Verified Purchase

    I feel ripped off. I don't know, maybe this is what *** gets you. With in months the seat had pretty much collapsed and I'm sitting directly on wood and wired springs. Both arm rests are loose and wobbly. This couch is exactly what I was looking for design wise but my god is it cheaply made. Its now a bed for my dogs.

    Read More
    chicagoaf June 15, 2014
  • Will require a return
    Verified Purchase

    This WOULD have been a very nice product, except for two things. It arrived with a tear in the fabric about 2 inches long, and one of the two screws that are necessary for allowing the futon to fold down in place was rattling around inside the frame somewhere and impossible to retrieve! If it had only ONE of the things wrong with it, it might have been worth keeping, but with both it just doesn't seem worth keeping.

    Read More
    foxhanger September 2, 2013
  • Did the job
    Verified Purchase

    The sofa is really nice looking, however, I think that it is overpriced. The fabric is cheap looking and it is rather stiff for sitting on for long periods of time. As a bed, the stiffness is actually a plus, but the construction makes it so that it teeters when you sleep on it if you aren't careful about staying in the middle. Overall, this is just a weird piece of furniture - it looks really nice (if you don't look too hard at the fabric quality), the color is good, but the comfort is lacking.

    Read More
    twillster July 29, 2013
  • Comfortable, but Horrible Quality
    Verified Purchase

    I've had this couch for 6 months now. It took a while to break in: when I first sat down it knocked the breath out of me because the padding was so stiff. From day 1, one of the middle legs was wobbly. The armrests were and are shaky (not well connected) and poorly padded, so the material moves a bit over it. Now that I've been sitting and occasionally sleeping on it for 6 month, boy is it "broken in". I noticed that the stitching was pulling on the semas from day 1, but tried to ignore it. Now I can't. Some have busted completely on the seat, and while the back is still intact, I find the odd thread poking out. I had to tighten up 3 of the legs today (figured out how to do it and what tool to use), and now the hinge that makes to futon go up and down is creaking. I'm a little worried it's going to give out. Additionally, when I flipped the couch over to fix the legs, I noticed that one slat was almost completely split in two, lengthwise. I don't know when or how that happened, but looks like shoddy construction materials to me. The material itself is starting to nap, making the once chic looking couch in the picture look awful in person. I am going to write to the company to see if I can get some money back. This couch sucks and I feel like I was robbed by a. the price, and b. these "good" reviews that were probably written a few weeks in. Don't waste your money! I'm going to buy my next couch in person.

    Read More
    polo94 February 2, 2013
  • Complete piece of crap
    Verified Purchase

    Delivery guys are terrible. They delivered to our office upstairs. didn't know how to get the couch through the door. They forced in to the point that the white paint from the door trim got on the top of the sofa. I tried to get them to take it, they himmed and haud so I asked them to try to clean it. They tried with a wet towel and then with rubbing alchohol i provided them. Most of the paint came off. However, after a couple of hours when it dried, there were some paint chips left and discolored areas where they rubbed it with wet towel. It was too heavy to return. Any way, aside from that, it's very cheap materila and it creaks when you sit on it. Not enough cushion. I don't recomment it. Similar products cost $100, this sofo cost too much to be this poor of quality.

    Read More
    jimmyjax December 11, 2012
  • More futon than sofa. But REALLY good futon.
    Verified Purchase

    I was so excited about getting this sofa. Looking forward to the usefulness and clean, simple look in our new smaller home. I was not at home when it arrived so I eagerly asked my husband, 'What do you think??' His reply was "Well....it's more futon than sofa" I've spent the last week thinking things over, testing it out and trying to make his review not the most accurate because I really wanted to LOVE this sofa. However, his statement review sums it up best. Pros: light weight and easy to move to clean under great for a small room easy to convert into a bed was delivered already assembled. fabric and wood look great frame seems sturdy with the exception of the arms Cons: arms seem somewhat flimsy and can be wiggled back and forth very little cushion on the arms. It feels like a thin piece of padding over wood. arms sit very low. From the picture, I thought they may be a little higher than what they feel like. concerned about how the foam cushion inside will hold up over time Not sure if this is a pro or con - When the sofa arrived the foam inside was very firm. Which was okay, but not very comfortable. I sat on it one day (I'm not large!) and heard a pop! Like a seam busting. I searched around and couldn't find any rips. As more people have sat on it, more "pops" have been happening, but it is getting softer. Not sure if that is suppose to be happening, but I haven't seen any rips or holes anywhere and do think it is more comfortable now. Overall, I would purchase this again. It fits our needs at this time and I'm willing to take the chance that the cushion might not hold up as we are using it everyday. The Pros out weigh the Cons in our case. If you are looking for a futon, I would purchase this over any other futon. If you are looking for a sofa, take into consideration this is light weight with questionable arms that make it feel more "futon-ish" Hope that helps!

    Read More
    fromcolumbus November 11, 2012
  • Arrived Broken
    Verified Purchase

    I was reluctant to buy this sofa because there were no other reviews, but I decided to take the chance. I ordered it about 1 1/2 weeks ago, and it arrived today. Is is hard to write a review because the sofa arrived broken...the dark wood that you can see along the bottom is actually the frame, and it was split where it ties into the back leg. I'm not sure if this was a quality issue, or a shipping problem, but it has me reluctant to accept a replacement. I am considering getting a refund, because I don't want to buy something that is going to break in a month. My first impression out of the package was that the style is gorgeous and the color is pretty accurate. I would call it a slate gray...some grays can look white or silverish, but this gray almost has a blue tone to it. The fabric is similar to a low nap tweed, and the "diamond pattern" that is referred to in the description is just the seam tufting you see in the picture, not something woven into the fabric. It is pretty stiff to sit on, so although it would work great for my office, I would not want to sit on this to watch tv. It folds easily down to a sleeper, which seems pretty comfortable, although a little firm. The description states it is a full size, but it is not....it is larger than a twin, but narrower than a full, probably somewhere in between. This will not work as a guest bed for my in-laws as I had hoped. Also the side arms are not going to allow for a taller person to lay down comfortably. I would recommend this sofa to someone who is putting it in an extra room, more for sitting or entertaining than for an everyday couch. I think the sleeper function could work for kids, or a single adult. But for my large in-laws we will need to buy something else.

    Read More
    kbcincy May 31, 2012