Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Evolution Spring 1 Full-size Futon Mattress with Cotton Cover

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great!
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little worried about this purchase because it was on the cheaper side, but it turned out to be a great mattress, especially for the price. It's very comfortable. I would recommend getting a cover for it though because the outer fabric isn't the best quality and may stain or tear somewhat easily. I would definitely recommend it though!

    Read More
    hthr32 June 14, 2011
  • Yay! Great futon!
    Verified Purchase

    I am very impressed with the product and Overstock's service. I needed this futon because I didn't want my house guest to be sleeping on my stinky, sagging ten-year-plus futon. Even though the reviews were great, I was a bit skeptical as I am with almost all online reviews. Boy, I was pleasantly surprised. I placed the order for the mattress on Monday and got the order confirmation the same day. After not receiving any shipping notifications like one usually does from online sites, I was shocked to get an email on Thursday morning saying that the mattress was being delivered later that day. Everything arrived just as predicted. The mattress came in a cardboard box. As described by other customers, the mattress itself came carefully wrapped and vacuum-packed in two layers of plastic so the product was very pristine when I got it. I think unwrapping it was the best part -- when you cut open the inner plastic layer, there is a great big "whoosh" sound and the futon starts to "grow" as it takes on air. It's better than watching sea monkeys! As for the mattress, I am sitting on it right now while I am typing and it is very comfy. I was scared that it would be really heavy and hard to maneuver like my old cotton-stuffed futon, but it is surprisingly light (about 45lbs). I was able to carry it up to my second-floor apartment and put it on the futon frame all by myself. The mattress takes a few hours to achieve the full 7-inch loft after the vacuum-packing so don't be alarmed if it seems a little thin at first. In fact, if you have a cover, I recommend putting it on before the futon expands to its full size so you don't have to struggle to pull the fabric over it. The color is exactly as described -- I ordered black, so there is not much that can go wrong with that. The canvas fabric is about 12 gauge so plenty tough but soft enough to be comfortable. It is a standard full size futon so I was able to use my old cover to keep it clean and extend the life of the mattress. One thing to keep in mind though: the mattress is padded more on one side than the other so be sure to put it on the cushy side, otherwise, you will wind up sleeping with springs poking your back. I know the "bed experts" say that you should flip a mattress every once and a while to keep it from wearing down in one spot. If you plan on turning the futon over, it may be a good idea to put a thick mattress pad or something on it. Since I have only had this futon for a few days, I cannot really vouch for the overall durability. Nonetheless, I am very happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    rose92869 March 30, 2012
  • I can't believe how good it was!
    Verified Purchase

    I moved into an apartment 4 months ago without a bed--only cushions I could prop up and attempt to make into a bed. I finally said "Okay this is stupid--I need a mattress!" I was wary of the price but the other reviewers tempted me into buying it. I'm so glad they did! I ordered it and it shipped/was delivered within the week (and my order shipped for free!). It came in a long thin box, and took two of us girls to heave it inside. Despite the box damage, It came airtight and rolled. We cut it free and let it slowly rise up. After laying on it for a few minutes, we were already in heaven! We loved the firmness the springs gave, but the cover was very soft. We decided to give it a little extra padding with some of our blankets and made it up like a bed. I will tell you I have been cranky, tired, and groggy ever since I moved in, but I woke up having had a great sleep! Most of my lower back pain was gone, I woke up well before my alarm despite being up late, and was just warm and comfy the whole night through. My friend has to sleep with TV on, which always makes my sleep light and uncomfy, but with this bed, I rested so well I didn't even care! The only thing I'd say is if you like your mattress or sofa a little more plush, just lay down an egg crate or a blanket or two and that will help you not feel the springs so much (but any springy mattress will feel this way unmade). Loved it and totally recommend it!!

    Read More
    mbutter1 January 17, 2012
  • GREAT
    Verified Purchase

    Previously, I had the standard futon mattress. It was not comfortable at all (oh my achy back). Since upgrading to the 'Evolution Spring Mattress' there has not been any more aches. Actually, I sleep like a baby on it. To say the least I'm a 'Happy Camper' / 'SLEEPER'.

    Read More
    bctclwo October 31, 2009
  • Comfy and affordable
    Verified Purchase

    For a futon mattress, it's surprisingly comfortable! It folds into shape easily and stays put without the springs "popping" it off in the couch position which I was worried about. It also stays put nicely, so no slumping down to the floor like friend's futons I've seen. I purchased this for a guest room/play room just to have an extra bed, but my kids love it so much they fight over who's turn it is to sleep on the futon. The cover is really just the top fabric, and you do need to have a separate cover to wash it. For the price, it can't be beat. I'd highly recommend this mattress.

    Read More
    dafussy1 October 31, 2012
  • MUCH more comfy that expected
    Verified Purchase

    I actually bought this for the bottom futon to my son's bunkbeds. We bought the thicker mattress (6" or 7" one) that came with the bunkbeds, hoping to get some extra comfort from it. MY how disappointed were we! Just sitting on it, you could feel the bars poking through. I don't know how my son managed to sleep on it each night. I'm guessing because he is 7 and weighs only 60 lbs! Just laying down with him each night near bedtime made my back hurt. So, needless to say we started looking for something else. Bought one of those egg crate things for extra comfort and didn't make an ounce of difference. HOWEVER, once this mattress arrived... WORLD of difference!! The first night my slept on it, he didn't want to get out of bed the next morning. He said it felt "like I was sleeping on a cloud"!! hahah... It has truely transformed the bed into something much more comfy! HIGHLY recommend!!

    Read More
    armywife2012 October 4, 2012
  • Great for lower style futon
    Verified Purchase

    Happy that we went with the spring style for the daily dorm use.

    Read More
    silversue04 August 31, 2011
  • Better & more comfortable than expected
    Verified Purchase

    I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this futon mattress compared to the price. Since the price was reasonable (or in my opinion, fairly cheap), I expected the quality to reflect the same. I was wrong. The mattress was sent promptly and when received, I immediately threw out my old one and put the new one on my futon, which I use as a guest bed/couch in our home office. It is super comfy and the coils really make a difference in maintaining the shape and comfort (since I have cats who like to lay on the back of it). The fabric of the futon mattress cover, which is removable, is very nice and soft. I got the full size and it fit perfectly on my futon. I am very happy with this product and would recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive, but comfortable mattress.

    Read More
    nicmaki June 22, 2011
  • improvement from current mattress
    Verified Purchase

    I searched for awhile reading reviews and decided to go with this purchase. (I figured anything is better than what I had) It is pretty good so far - it is used as a couch and bed everyday. its holding up , has kept its shape, looks nice. average comfort. BUT definitely plan on buying a cover for it. when it is decribed with a "cover" it is only the "skin" that holds it together. shipped fast & in good shape.

    Read More
    kwabakitty June 15, 2011
  • Evolution Spring with coils
    Verified Purchase

    yep... with coils. I believe it is important to order it with coils. I got two of them in the same day one with and one without coils. The futon mattress without coils is already in the garage waiting for a permanent home. The spring mattress is still comfy and springy! Evolution spring futon mattress wins!...gooood niiight! The only reason not 5 star was because the "Cover isn't really the cover at all... its the skin that holds it all together... not removeable as a real "Cover" should be.

    Read More
    rosemantis September 3, 2010
  • Finally good rest on a futon
    Verified Purchase

    Well worth the upgrade from the standard futon mattress.

    Read More
    April P. October 23, 2016
  • Futon mattress
    Verified Purchase

    Fits good and you will sleep like a baby.

    Read More
    Sharon D. July 17, 2016
  • Great for when the Grandkids stay overnight.
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased August 2011 when the grandkids were 5-8 years old now they're 10-13 yrs. And still in great condition, 5 stars !!

    Read More
    Christine B. May 24, 2016
  • poor at best
    Verified Purchase

    really not very comfortable to sit on or sleep on. It feels cheap and springy

    Read More
    indygreg March 22, 2016
  • Comfortable
    Verified Purchase

    For a futon mattress we found it to be above average

    Read More
    boud7 February 4, 2016
  • Love This Mattress!
    Verified Purchase

    Hands down, this is the most comfortable mattress in my house. I bought it for my futon as a backup option for guests, but I often find myself choosing to sleep on the futon instead of my real bed!

    Read More
    Nadine B. August 19, 2015
  • cloud
    Verified Purchase

    I use this futon quite a bit when my daughter is in town. I have international students at my home and I gave the student my daughter's bedroom so she gets mine when she is here. I actually like the futon mattress better than the one on my bed which I spent a pretty penny on. In a few years I will get another one and I won't even care if the price is high. That is how good this mattress sleeps

    Read More
    kpiper2511 May 8, 2015
  • Wonderful product!
    Verified Purchase

    It's been over a year since I purchased this and it is holding up just fine. No sagging, no wear. It looks just like new. It had a chemical smell for a few days after I got it, and is a bit firm to sleep on (for my taste), but holds up perfectly as our main couch in the living room. Would definitely purchase again, especially at that great price.

    Read More
    neddyranal December 17, 2013
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I use this on the futon in my home office (I'm sitting on it as I type!). It's very comfortable as a couch, and my guests have all commented that it makes an excellent bed when used in that capacity.

    Read More
    finesthour September 25, 2013
  • Good quality!
    Verified Purchase

    Great mattress! I have used my futon as a couch for the past two years and the mattress is still holding up great! It is thick enough to not feel the bars beneath, and still feel supported. I still think it is just as comfortable as my bed! I use a fitted bedsheet as a cover (way cheaper than buying an actual futon cover!) so the mattress has stayed clean. The mattress does have ties sticking out on one side (I think most futon mattresses do), so I would advise getting some sort of cover so you can flip it regularly to avoid one side sinking. Overall I think this mattress is a great value and plan to keep it for years to come! It is well worth the extra money to buy a thinker mattress!

    Read More
    o7stacey July 30, 2013
Sponsored Links