Today $263.49

At other retailer: $298.03

Save $34.54 (12%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Espresso Twin XL Mate's Platform Storage Bed with 3 Drawers

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Would buy it again
    Verified Purchase

    The package arrived complete with all the pieces, including all fasteners and hardware, undamaged in two boxes. They were HEAVY. I opened the boxes and brought the pieces up the stairs one or two at a time, as I needed them, and assembled the frame. All the holes were where they were supposed to be and all the pieces lined up the way they were meant to. However, the assembly procedure is less than perfect. After all the slats are in its channel on one side, it is ‘challenging’, to say the least, to put the slats in the channel on the other side. As you would fit one slat in, another would fall out. Eventually I used duct tape to hold the slats in place in the first channel so they stayed put, while I maneuvered the other end of the slats in the other channel. Additionally, I taped a cardboard ‘lip’ under the second slat channel to prevent the slats from falling down out of place as I maneuvered them into the channel and secured the end board. This problem could be eliminated if the bottom flange of the slat channels were wider so the slats would not fall out while one attempted to assemble the bed. I do wish the drawers were longer. They go just over half way into the width of the bed, not all the way. It’s a shame to have that space unusable. Another design issue is the slats run the ‘wrong way’. Typically on a platform bed they would run across the width of the bed to better accommodate the weight of different areas of the sleeper, not down its length. I’m sleeping (very well thank you) on a 14” thick mattress so it doesn’t seem to be an issue for me. It you’re using a 4” foam, you may have a different experience. Overall, not withstanding the above, I’m happy with this purchase and WOULD buy it again.I wish it had been available in a 'natural' or light colored wood.

    Read More
    vinios165 August 4, 2010
  • very nice bed!
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little apprehensive since the bed is mostly made of MDF/particle wood, but once we put it together and examined all the parts, it is very nicely constructed and a very good quality. The drawers are smooth and made of pine with metal brackets. We got the bed in espresso for our teenage son; it looks great and provides lots of storage.

    Read More
    hyacinthos July 15, 2012
  • This is a sturdy, nicely finished bed!
    Verified Purchase

    Here's the thing, it took my husband 4 hrs to put both beds together (we ordered 2 xl's). Its packaged well and the directions are 100% accurate, it just takes time and patience. My husband is great with these things and said it would have been quicker had he had someone to help him hold pieces together while he put it together. The drawers are quite nice. Don't attempt to assemble without the power screwdriver. I was impressed with these beds!

    Read More
    shennen01 September 7, 2011
  • Twin XL Platform Storage Bed
    Verified Purchase

    I am more than satisfied for the price and quality of this bed. I ordered it for my spare bedroom for when my teenage grandson stays over. Very sturdy and wider twin extra long bed. No need for a separate dresser because of the three spacious drawers in the platform Took my grandson and me about 3 hours to assemble. Neither of us had ever assembled something lke this before. NOTE: After the drawers are assembled and inserted and they seem not to close tight enough at one end or another adjust the bed frame. Most likely the top of the frame is not lined up exactly with the bottom of the frame. All screws must be screwed in straight or drawers won't slide easily.

    Read More
    jdierk730 July 19, 2010
  • Lots of missing pieces!
    Verified Purchase

    Box arrived as scheduled, but was missing LOTS of pieces, including the drawers, front and back pieces, hardware, and INSTRUCTIONS. Had to wait days for parts department to call me back.

    Read More
    mkoralewski October 30, 2013
  • CHEAP product
    Verified Purchase

    This platform bed is CHEAPLY made. It is particle board with a type of laminate to look like wood. It's soft and you must be careful with installing and removing the screws or it will break. This order was a complete nightmare! The bed came damaged in several places and it took over a month before I got undamaged replacement parts. I kept receiving replacement parts that were damaged and/or the wrong size. The only saving grace was that Overstock.com has excellent customer service. They were extremely helpful and right on top of the issue. Lesson learned, I will never purchase furniture over the internet again.

    Read More
    amzm789 June 26, 2013
  • good quality
    Verified Purchase

    The bed construction was good, we discovered that it does not need the box spring or it sits too high but like the drawers for extra storage

    Read More
    ssip May 31, 2012
  • Easy
    Verified Purchase

    Very easy to put together. The slats do make a sound when turning over while sleeping, we will try a box spring as its just an 11 inch tempurpedic mattress on them now. The color is very pleasing.

    Read More
    mdbs January 31, 2012
  • Good For Teens and Adults
    Verified Purchase

    This bed was purchased for a teen with limited space in his room. He says that it is quite comfortable and that the drawers work well. He put the bed together, and reported that it was relatively easy to do. I was a bit skeptical about making the purchase, as the bed seems low, but my grandson rates it as excellent, especially since I purchased a good mattress and a good mattress pad for it. The drawer space is adequate, but I believe a higher bed would allow for more space.

    Read More
    Audrey H. S. January 5, 2015
  • Fantastic Quality
    Verified Purchase

    We are so incredibly pleased with the style, quality and ease of assembly of this product. It seems that so many pieces like this are made solely of particle board, but this frame and the drawers is made of real wood and VERY sturdy composite materials. My husband and I were able to put it together in under 2 hours and it looks great! The drawers slide easily and the runners aren't the usual flimsy plastic runners-- they're real metal! We feel like we received the deal of the century on this product :D

    Read More
    jaimatee December 5, 2013
  • The picture does not do this bed justice.
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is beautiful. Rich in color. Wood is very good quality. It was not to hard to put together, even for a person with a disability. It's very comfortable to sleep on.

    Read More
    wolflady1 October 11, 2013
  • Extra long
    Verified Purchase

    Got it for my teenage son. Had searched every where for a bed long enough for him.

    Read More
    vfoster110 March 26, 2013
  • pressed board not strong
    Verified Purchase

    pressed board came apart while putting it toghther.

    Read More
    longislandmom3 January 15, 2013
  • overall very nice...
    Verified Purchase

    Bought 2... Well worth the money. I would buy again and will recommend to friends.

    Read More
    rickandclair December 16, 2012
  • Nice product: Faulty hardware
    Verified Purchase

    I love the look of this bed. I love the functionality of this bed. It is almost all particle board and veneer, however, so as long as you are ready for that you will be happy. Be careful to check that all the screws fit into the keepers prior to building the bed. Three of the keepers were poorly machined so you cannot screw the screw all the way in. If the screw doesn't turn easily, don't keep trying. I actually broke off a piece of the particle board that way. The directions are really easy to follow and if you are at all, handy it won't take you long to put this bed together.

    Read More
    ginatrap March 4, 2012
  • obviously fake wood
    Verified Purchase

    this product arrived damaged, lengthy assembly process sometimes needing extra hands, for the price I could have and I wish I had purchased solid wood

    Read More
    universitystudent June 22, 2008
  • Perfect for a Small Room
    Verified Purchase

    The extra storage that the three drawers provide is such a plus for a small bedroom. The bed is exactly what we wanted.

    Read More
    Pam25 June 29, 2017
  • Nice bed, quality lacking a bit
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this bed for my teenage son. Was able to put together very easily. It looks nice but the drawers have not help up well. Unfortunately, I think it's just the way drawers are made these days with the flimsy bottoms.

    Read More
    Amy M. March 27, 2017
  • Poor Quality
    Verified Purchase

    I am so disappointed. Never again....very cheap....

    Read More
    sasitricia March 6, 2017
  • Very Good Quality at Great Price
    Verified Purchase

    I put this bed together by myself. It would be easier with two sets of hands, but possible by yourself. Bed is very sturdy! I plan on making custom bunk beds by using this as the base bed and adding on for the top bunk :)

    Read More
    lljkmom January 3, 2017
Sponsored Links