Today: $592.99
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Espresso Tall Queen 12-drawer Captain's Platform Storage Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Worst product I have ever purchased
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is MDF!!!! NOT "SOLID WOOD". Takes hours of assembly, even with drill and two adept people working. Had the bed less than one year and it has already FALLEN APART, my husband and I are fairly physically fit, and perhaps even less than what I would guess is about average weight for queen bed use. I love Overstock.com and I almost NEVER leave a bad review, but this product is truly lacking. I was so excited to have the extra storage space, but this is hands down the worst product I have ever purchased. I would absolutely recommend looking for a different bed.

    Read More
    krkgi0324 November 13, 2010
  • Excellent
    Verified Purchase

    I was impressed that it's solid wood. Only the shelf bottoms are particle board. The assembly directions were clear. It did take a total of about 5-1/2 hours. We did it in stages. Assembled the drawers and attached the hardware first. Then the next day assembled the rest of the platform. I'm pleasantly surprised by how much I'm able to put into one drawer.

    Read More
    jgirl69 September 1, 2010
  • Still trying to fix bed
    Verified Purchase

    18 months later and we still have a nonfunctional bed. It sits in pieces as we go back and forth sending parts lists and photos of the bed. The bed was functionally useful for four months and then the fasteners pulled from the particle board frame. It is now disassembled in a pile on our loft. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY. Overstock said we have to work with the company and we are trying...shame on you people. This was a huge purchase for our family.

    Read More
    julie65 October 9, 2013
  • Power tools are my best friend....

    Bought this as a guest bed...and it's perfect for that. Read all of the reviews on here before purchasing, so set my expectations off of them. Drawers are cheap although I had no problems with alignment and none of them broke. As far as difficulty assembling, I can honestly say, it wasn't hard. Time consuming, yes, but not difficult. If you have any mechanical aptitude whatsoever, you won't have a problem. I can say this with confidence because mine came with no instructions. Go figure.

    Read More
    ricinok March 3, 2010
  • Decent quality, good price
    Verified Purchase

    This product came in four well-packaged boxes, the heaviest being 120 lbs, so you might need help getting it into the house. The bed went together pretty easily in about 3 hours (with two people working on it). Some of the drawer panels can be brittle so handle them gingerly until all four walls are in place (then they are a lot more solid). Finish is okay for this price, but if you want something that looks like real wood, you'll have to pay more elsewhere. We've only had this product for one week, so I can't speak to how long it will last... hopefully a long time because this is a really heavy item which will likely be tough to dismantle and throw out!

    Read More
    karmineky1 September 13, 2009
  • never again
    Verified Purchase

    Terrible product, the composite wood easily breaks away from the screws and pieces holding it together, it seems unless you have the bed up against a wall propping it up as a secondary support, you will need to brace it with your own bought materials. i would not recommend this to anyone who feels blowing *** is a waste.

    Read More
    irishbear11 June 29, 2013
  • HORRIBLE Broken Bed
    Verified Purchase

    My Husband came home from Afghanstan in April and a year latter our bed fell apart. My husband has told NEVER to shop on this site again!!!

    Read More
    mrssgtdaddy May 2, 2012
  • Not bad
    Verified Purchase

    I didn't have high hopes for the quality of this product. I was surprised. It is very heavy, so plan on it staying in the place that you build it, it will not be easily moved. I read the reviews before purchasing this item, and read the troubles that people had building it, I did not have this issue at all. I thought the instructions were very thorough and accurate. I received all the correct pieces and all the pre drilled holes were in the correct places. It took about one good day to build, which I didn't think was too bad considering the amount of pieces that make up this bed. I purchased this bed with a 14 inch memory foam mattress and with that combination this is a very tall bed. Over all, I would highly recommend this purchase.

    Read More
    lutman123 January 13, 2011
  • Good Product
    Verified Purchase

    The bed was delivered on time. Instructions were EASY to follow. The only thing I would like to have seen a better quality for the drawers the slide in bottoms are fragil we added glue and then nailed them.

    Read More
    3cooks November 19, 2010
  • Thumbs up
    Verified Purchase

    My husband and I bought our first house, and the master is too small for most of our furniture, so, we got this storage bed and axed our 2 big dressers. It's big, so, while you can assemble smaller sections in another room, put the bed together in the room you want it in!! Ours was shipped and received quickly (in 3 awkward, big, and heavy boxes!) and nothing was scratched or broken. Instructions were clear enough, but it takes a while to put together--my husband spent a few hours for 2 nights to do it, but without a hitch. I helped him with the actual bed assembly b/c it's a lot easier with 2 people. Anyway, we've been sleeping on it for a few months, and we have no complaints: it doesn't squeak or creak and all the drawers work great (and they're huge!). I do recommend putting a sheet or a thin piece of plastic or wood under your mattress to protect the top drawers at the head and foot ends of the bed as if your mattress doesn't cover completely the top drawers aren't entirely covered. Also, if you want real wood furniture, this isn't for you; for what it is advertised to be it delivers very well!

    Read More
    angelicassj October 23, 2010
  • Awful piece of garbage
    Verified Purchase

    I received the bed with no instructions. Then after receiving the instructions a week later I noticed that there were parts missing. I then had to wait another week for the missing parts. The bed was difficult to put together. Took me one entire evening. I had to put the drawers together a separate day. After putting the drawers together I go to slide them into the bed and they don't fit on the sliders. The cork beams have already broke. I followed all the instructions exactly and then reviewed the instructions before putting the bed together. The bed is not worth the time or frustration! Don't buy it!!!

    Read More
    dooley10 June 6, 2012
  • POSITIVE
    Verified Purchase

    I needed a company bed. After looking everywhere, it seemed like, I went to Overstock and found this bed that was exactly what I wanted. I worried that since it was a out it together yourself bed it wouldn't be sturdy and the wood woudn't be of top quality. I ordered it anyway. Oh my gosh was I in for a surprise. It is a well made and well braced bed. Because of the drawers it is quite tall but not unmangable. The drawers are quite large and well made. This bed turned out to be exactly what I wanted and more!!

    Read More
    amfq August 26, 2011
  • Bed
    Verified Purchase

    I have not yet had a chance to assemble and use this product but it is as it is described on Overstock. For the price it seems to be a good quality and looks like it will be easy to assemble. Can't wait to get to my new home and put it to use. Overstock gave me great service on this as it was delivered with damage to the packaging and was quickly replaced. Thanks Overstock Customer Service.

    Read More
    dpodo457 March 26, 2011
  • Only 2 bad things...
    Verified Purchase

    It took FOREVER to put together... So choose wisely if you're planning on moving again... AND I would recommend that you ONLY use a mattress or else it would be WAY TOO high. I'm 5' 7" and I have to almost jump to get onto the bed. The drawers do hold a lot, so if you're looking for storage, I would recommend this bed. Once put together, it looks pretty good. So in the end... it's not all that bad.

    Read More
    tuffa December 28, 2010
  • Assembly Issues
    Verified Purchase

    We had problems in putting together the drawers - the instructions were o.k. and after so many tries, we gave up fitting the drawers like any normal drawer will fit. I will difinetely get a bed and drawer cabinets seperately next time

    Read More
    cyhof December 1, 2010
  • SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN IT SOONER!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I read the reviews on this storage bed over & over again for years putting off buying it, but it turns out it was thee wisest decision I've ever made!! Well put together, drawers are way bigger than expected, I put 15 pairs of jeans in 1 drawer & looks like I could get another 1 or 2 if I wanted, but now I got rid of 3 HUGE plastic storage tubs of clothing with 3 drawers left empty!!! If you are considering getting this, I do full heartedly recommend do not waste any more time. I'm such a happy camper now, I can wear things I haven't seen in years hiding away in those darn tubs. IMPORTANT: you WILL need a 2nd person to help & plenty of aspirin to relax those stiff back/leg muscles after 4 hours of sitting, kneeling & bending!! I definitely recommend 2 power screw guns to go faster ( I must say our battery died from being so old & not holding a great charge, so I finished the final 8 out of 12 drawers the next morning) and the drawers rails, separate the 4 in each bundle. The flat 2 are for mounting to the bed boards & the "L" shaped ones get attached to the drawers them selves, so that makes it easier & quicker now you know that up-front as we didn't. I LOVE my storage bed & highly recommend it to everyone!!

    Read More
    frobbit3 November 27, 2016
  • Rubbish.

    Absolute rubbish. Less than one year old, every single spacer has broken from the particle board. NOT the real wood, as listed in the description. The plastic spacers break under the weight of the drawers, never mind anything you want to put in them. I've replaced every one of them twice now. And, they're all broken again. Complete rubbish, you can definitely find a better product.

    Read More
    Laura V. August 9, 2015
  • This bed is in pieces six months after purchase.
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is made of some kind of fibrous pressed board. It is broken at all the corners and any joints. It took forever for 3 of us to assemble. Great concept. Very poor product. Far too much money for the terrible quality. I won't ever buy from this manufacturer again.

    Read More
    O Junkie June 18, 2015
  • Cheap bed
    Verified Purchase

    One of the inner gables was warped so when the bed was put together the upper stabilizer pushed out and the drawers would not fit. Took almost 3 days to put it together only to find out that the drawers will not fit flush to the stabilizer. The gables are made of pressed board so that if you put in the screw once you better not have to take it out or the pressed board crumbles.Very poor materials.

    Read More
    millyh3 July 29, 2014
  • Broken in less than 3 years

    We purchased this bed just about 3 years ago and it has now cracked irreparably at the footboard and is nearing collapse. I know cheap furniture doesn't last forever but COME ON. An almost $600 piece should last longer than 3 years. It didn't fit together all that nicely when we got it, but I thought no big deal, it's not going to be perfect for that price. It hasn't seen anything but normal wear and tear and the particle board is just collapsing at this point. Run run run in the other direction, do not buy!!!

    Read More
    randtinnh July 15, 2014
Sponsored Links