Today: $370.99

At other retailer: $471.99

Save $101.00 (21%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Espresso Queen Mate's 6-drawer Platform Storage Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Just what we needed
    Verified Purchase

    We were looking for a storage bed, and this bed filled the bill. A very heavy construction quality wood piece of furniture. The bed took us about 3 and a half hours to put together. The instructions are very clear and easy to follow. I have put together probably 100 pieces of knock down furniture and this was by far the easist set of instructions to follow. I would recommend using a hand held screw driver, and not a cordless drill, anytime you use a drill you have the chance to strip screws and damage surfaces if you are not cautious. Assembly will require two people at certain times, and it will certainly help speed things up during the whole process. You do not need box springs for this bed, we are using the mattress only as there are slats that take the place of the box springs. The drawers are not terribly big, but are perfect for extra shoes, or clothes. They are not made for books or heavy items. The color is very dark, and in certain light could be seen as black. We also purchased the matching head board and I would recommend getting it with this bed. Overall I was surprised with the quality of this bed, and I would buy another one if we needed another bed.

    Read More
    biglox December 10, 2007
  • Constantly requires adjustments!

    We bought this product for the storage it provided as well as the bed frame. When it was delivered we had an idea that putting all the pieces together would be our biggest issue...turns out we were wrong. The frame was not sturdy and the drawers have never lined up from day one. The cheap pressed wood was something to be desired but we knew we weren't buying top of the line when we made the purchase. It squeaks if either one of us moves and the wood is constantly shifting so we are forced to take the heavy platform mattress off a few times a month to make adjustments to the frame. I buy quite a bit online and believe I rate things fairly because of all the good and bad I've bought but this was just a bad buy period and I just couldn't let anyone make the same mistake in purchasing this product like we did.

    Read More
    sesma September 25, 2009
  • Tolerable for the price
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is okay at best. Mine arrived with scuffs and scrapes in the finish. The drawers were not built thick enough to get the screws flush without damaging them, and they don't slide in or out without being perfectly flush. The "solid wood slats" look more like slices of plywood, and I was concerned that they would splinter into my mattress so I had to get some plastic to lay down between the two. Don't be fooled by the picture, this is not a great deal, it's a cheap price for a cheap bed. Not bad enough to try and return, given the hassle, but enough to prevent me from ever purchasing furniture from overstock again.

    Read More
    onlineshoppingaddictjess June 10, 2008
  • Great for the price
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is quite sturdy and has a nice appearance. The particle board structure is solid however the venier isn't as nice a quality as other assemble-yourself furniture. There were two small scratches on both the headboard and foot board but this may have happened in shipping since one of the three boxes opened [well, self-destructed] during shipping. Although the assembly was lengthy the biggest trick is having an electric screwdriver and I fortunately have a ratchet set with a hex-screw attachment which saved a great deal of time. The bed itself was up in less than 2 hours....the drawers took about that same amount of time. You'll need more space to work than you think...i had to modify the assembly order to accomodate rescricted work area. All told, I'd buy it again.

    Read More
    gemeg July 27, 2007
  • Expensive chipboard with plastic vaneer
    Verified Purchase

    Wow, what a mistake. The furniture is an embarassment to my online shopping prowess - run, don't walk away from this chipboard disaster.

    Read More
    brian04843 March 24, 2011
  • poor quality

    I don't typically write reviews, but this product was so bad i decided to speak up to save you the trouble. This bed started to fall apart after about 4 months of use. The drawers don't stay in their runners, the footboard and headboard separate from the sides from the weight of the mattress alone. The wood is cheap particle board, and the screws rub against with ordinary use, tearing away at the wood and making smooth shafts with no grip and leaving you with a floor covered in saw dust. the bed literally falls apart under its own weight. One review says it won't survive a move. I presume they mean moving from home to home. That's absolutely true. For that matter, it won't survive a move across a room, or a move 2 inches to the left. In summary: this bed might fit your bill if -you don't plan on sleeping on it -you don't need the drawers -you don't put a mattress on it -you can leave it exactly where it is -you feel like wasting **** but don't want to burn it

    Read More
    marvin42 September 9, 2010
  • Worthwhile if assembled well
    Verified Purchase

    First of all, this bed is not the easiest to assemble by yourself. I would definitely recommend putting it together with a friend. Even with a buddy I had some difficulties because not all of the screw holes and parts matched up. When screwing in one of the sides it broke through the hole so the side flaps around. The drawers worked well for about a week but if you fill them up the bottoms will fall out on you. Just with sheets and sweaters and stuff the drawers broke. Still the bed looked great for about a year. Then I moved and, well, all I can say is this is not the bed of choice for a transient lifestyle. It DOES NOT travel well. It fell apart in the move and when my movers tried to put it back together they told me that the parts were garbage and it wouldn't survive another move. Also the slats always slide and never stay in place. Once a week I need to lift up the mattress and put the slats back in the place. After two years the bed is in shambles, none of the drawers work and the side panel is coming off. I'm buying another bed for my next move, as this will most certainly not survive another trip across town.

    Read More
    2achary February 1, 2013
  • platform bed
    Verified Purchase

    It is good quality, Made in Canada, even smells good, like fresh cut lumber. looks great. Very happy.

    Read More
    smallcottagedweller August 1, 2008
  • Noisy and flimsy
    Verified Purchase

    After about 6 months the bed began to creak when you moved. Re-tightening the connections made no difference. Finally through it away after about a year.

    Read More
    Lorin K. March 4, 2016
  • Good value
    Verified Purchase

    We wanted something with drawers so we didn't have to try to fit a dresser in our small bedroom and this is perfect. The drawers are good sized and work smoothly. The only downside is the two front drawers are blocked by the bedside tables. We did not want a head board and this head oars is so small as to be perfect for our needs.

    Read More
    mtnagirl September 13, 2011
  • Not Excellent
    Verified Purchase

    The product picture and design look great but it has couple of flaw's. The wood is like ply sheet pressure wood that has sticker that looks like a finished wood. All of the pieces of wood have some type peeling look to it. The storage system is great but drawers system the weight is supported by cardboard which it will not support wight of multiple items. The screws and nuts don't really work with each other because I still have 3 screws and 3 nuts that has bad threads and it goes inside of the headboard and foot board. Keeping the angles at a 90 degree from each corner will not work because of movement and not being supported to keep it at a 90 degree structure and angle at all times. So I do not recommend this bed just because if not having a proper support angle this wood frame will crack.

    Read More
    desiwaa April 13, 2011
  • love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I received my storage bed within a reasonable time. A couple knicks and scratches here and there but the piece is absolutely beautiful. My boyfriend put it together by himself and it took probably about 4-5hours. The drawers are a very good size. I went to a couple of places around town and they were charging insane amounts for this bed with LESS drawers! Take this while its in stock. You wont regret it!

    Read More
    mysticaura June 18, 2008
  • Bad Choice
    Verified Purchase

    I'm completely dissatisfied with the quality of the product. It has sharp edges, unergonomic finish; the drawers are too small and do not close completely. DO NOT BUY IT!

    Read More
    myor February 4, 2008
  • Lots of Storage, Good Value

    I have a small place and need lots of storage. This bed is perfect for me. 6 drawers which are a little bigger than in my chest allowed me to move my chest into my spare room and use this for my clothes. You don't need your boxspring, just a mattress. Has lots of parts so give yourself 2 hours to assemble but worth the time (the drawers take most fo the time as there's 6 x all the parts) Worth the price and arrived in 8 days. Thanks Overstock!

    Read More
    jennyww December 2, 2007
  • Looks great, drawers a little difficult
    Verified Purchase

    The drawers are not as well-fitting as I'd like and they definitely can not hold anything much heavier than clothes and other light items, so please don't plan on putting text books inside them. Also, be aware that the assembly will take at least 2+ hours, so hire someone if you are impatient and non-technical or be prepared. Overall, the color and appearance of the bed is gorgeous and I love that it is very sturdy and will definitely last me a few years. This bed is a good value for someone who wants to be space-savvy. The Everett Espresso series looks great together.

    Read More
    ablumoon September 3, 2007
  • Before you get discouraged by the reviews...
    Verified Purchase

    This bed with some reinforcement is a great bed. It is sturdy and the drawers are great for holding clothes. Took about 5 hours for my boyfriend and I to put together but am very happy with the results. I followed these instructions and am extremely happy. "The ***-style assembly of this bed does, as other reviews indicate, leave something to be desired in terms of sturdiness and creakiness. However, with a couple extra hours and about $25 worth of apparatus from the hardware store, it's easy to build this thing solid as a rock. If you've got the time and the inclination, you'll end up with a surprisingly high quality piece of furniture. (And it doesn't look cheap either.) Total assembly time, with the modifications, was about five hours for a moderately capable guy with a drill and a six-pack of High Life. You'll also need a companion to help hold things together as you're slotting together the bigger bits. If this sounds intimidating, it's actually pretty easy. Just buy the hardware and things will be pretty intuitive once you're done slogging through the directions and you return to this. You will need the following from the hardware store. Just ask someone there if you're unfamiliar, and they'll point you right to it: 8 2.5inch/63mm "corner braces" A box of wood screws that are sized 6x5/8. The corner braces may come with screws, but these will be 3/4in or longer, and will poke through the wood. You're going to use the 6x5/8 screws with the corner braces. A box of wood screws that are 1.5 inches long. Just get the narrowest ones they have, whatever gauge that may be. If they don't have something 1.5 inches, anything in that neighborhood will do. 15 feet of 1/2in wide heavy duty felt tape. (Get six rolls of the stuff and you won't run out.) STEP 1: Before you install the slats on which the bed will rest and connect the whole thing together, stick a strip of felt across the top of the two inside support beams. This will help keep the beams from rattling around under your mattress. STEP 2: Once you have assembled the frame, take the longer wood screws and drill them down through each slat into the support beams, right through the felt. Make it nice and tight. STEP 4: Cut the felt tape into 3 inch strips and, without removing the wax paper backing, slip them into the slots where the ends of the slats are fitted, using a flathead screwdriver to stuff them in if you have problems. This will tighten the ends so that they don't rattle around in the metal bracket. STEP 5: Drill the corner braces using the 6x5/8 screws into each of the four corners. It will be obvious where to put them: you're just trying to firm up the connection between the side beams and the ends, so that they don't flex around. I found it helpful to put the top four horizontally (directly above the slats) and bottom four vertically (like an L, inside the opening where the drawer will go). Don't worry that you will impinge on the drawers -- there's room. (It's also helpful to run some felt tape along the bottom of the bed, especially if you have wood floors, so that you can move it around without scratching.) Congrats, you now have an extremely solid (and subtly classy looking) bed. And you spent $***, not $***."

    Read More
    Alisa T. January 7, 2016
  • Not that sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    I've ordered quite a few items from Overstock and have been very pleased with the products. I was pretty disappointed with this piece. This bed would best fit a child but not an adult. It didn't really support any weight or activity. The dividers that hold the bed on the bottom is all press board so it easily split. The bed completely broke apart in less than a year. Because it was press board used to stabilize it, you couldn't Gorilla Glue it back.

    Read More
    prdg1 February 6, 2013
  • Great Bed at a Great Price
    Verified Purchase

    I am pleased with my purchase. It arrived early and in great shape. Only very minor scratches in 2 places that came from shipping. It was very easy to put together. I put it together by myself. However, It took me 7.5hrs just to put the frame together. But I didnt have a drill. Done it all by hand with a screwdriver. Another 5hrs to put the drawers together. Done it all at my pace. Everything was in the boxes that I needed. No hardware was missing. Very Pleased! Im a curvy lady and I love how sturdy this bed is:)

    Read More
    bluroz79 July 28, 2012
  • Not great quality
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this bed in 2007. I assembled it myself, but I have experience doing this. If you don't have experience you should have a helper. The sides of the bed, which would be the wood behind the drawers, is very flimsy. It could probably be curved into an "S" with no problem. The only real wood in the bed is the slats. The bed was nice once it was put together. It didn't slide on the floor so the flimsy sides weren't much of an issue. The issue came when we moved. THIS BED SHOULD NOT BE MOVED. We moved twice with the bed, and it fell apart more each time. Finally, we ditched it. Yes, we did get 4 years from it, but I felt for the price we should have gotten more. If we had stayed in the same home, it would have probably lasted longer. One minor note about the drawers... if you have nightstands close to the bed, they will be in the way of the headboard end drawers. We could not use them. Also, the bed has very sharp corners. Several bruises from getting up at night.

    Read More
    ladypinksuzy June 1, 2012
  • This really sucked
    Verified Purchase

    It was bad I hated it me and my grandma tryed putting it together and it broke it was cheap wood I will never buy anything for my bed again from here and I'm looking to get my money back from it

    Read More
    shaylyn214 May 31, 2012
Sponsored Links