Today: $140.81
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Electric 14-amp Garden Chipper/ Shredder

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Good for small jobs
    Verified Purchase

    Takes care of small chipping/shredding jobs around the yard, shreds better the dryer the debris is. Green wood fibers can become tangled on the blades. Used it quite a bit and it seems very sturdy.

    Read More
    William C. August 20, 2015
  • Perfect for yard waste
    Verified Purchase

    Order arrived timely and well packaged. Fairly easy assembly, I did it while watching TV. I have a half acre yard with lots of trees, shrubs and plantings. Seems like I was always bundling some type of sticks and hauling to street for collection. Following the directions I alternated dry sticks with greener material so as to not clog the machine. It worked well and produces pieces that are smaller than what you would find in a average bag of mulch. Lightweight and easy to transport. My only complaint is the stabilizer bar always end up under the pile you are creating, making it harder to love around. But other than it seems like a great deal for the price, was a few $ less than local box store as well. I would recommend this to others with a smaller yard.

    Read More
    macbratt68 September 16, 2014
  • Outstanding!
    Verified Purchase

    With the understanding of the capabilities of this product, it works exactly like noted. It tackles everything under the 1.5" threshold that I have thrown at it at this point. Only jammed once with a branch that was right at the 1.5" mark (probably a bit larger). Turned off the machine, removed the branch and reinserted with no issues. Makes very fine 1/4" square chips and some shavings depending on how the branches and debris are hitting the blade. Easy to pull out the shavings if all you want is the chips. Great for bedding in my chicken coup and helps keep my and my neighbors yards clear of branches and such. As long as you don't expect this thing to "eat" a whole tree and have patience not to attempt to ram 25 branches in at one it works great.

    Read More
    fireytitan September 5, 2014
  • shredder chipper
    Verified Purchase

    The unit it self i like it just where you put the leaves and small branches it is just a little small it could be a bigger opening,other wise i like it.

    Read More
    momnpop1 August 23, 2014
  • Great for home use
    Verified Purchase

    This is my third electric chipper, so I know what to expect. Purchased because my second electric chipper (a different brand) stopped working < 1 year. When product unboxed, I thought uh-oh because decorative touches identical to previous lemon. But as I assembled, I noted that this product felt more solid, better made. So far it's worked as desired. I do wish the feeder slot was larger, but they all seem to be getting smaller.

    Read More
    ohioanna August 12, 2014
  • It's a good, sturdy machine.
    Verified Purchase

    While I've jammed it a few times, and it's overheated once, I am very pleased with my purchase. It does amazingly well breaking down straight branches; ones with leaves, twigs and/or knots take quite a bit of finesse. Also, I get a sense of satisfaction from watching branches disappearing down its gullet, being expelled as chips, leaving an ever shrinking pile of wood. In fact, once my yard's clear, I plan on offering up my service to the neighbors.

    Read More
    redmoss July 14, 2014
  • Works pretty good for smaller branches
    Verified Purchase

    I had a hard time finding a small chipper. This does a good job at a decent price. Although the description says that it can take branches up to 1.5 inches in diameter, I found if I got over an inch it would jam. You could get some of the bigger branches through, but it took a lot of turning off and on and wiggling the branch. An inch and under went through easily. This did serve my purpose though.

    Read More
    rgmgeorgia July 3, 2014
  • Chipper
    Verified Purchase

    First time I used it was to clean up yard from tree prunning. Will only take limbs of 1 inch or less but does a great job on these. I filled a garbage bag with its chips in a couple of hours so I have my mulch for the next time I need it.

    Read More
    overstockgeek June 25, 2014
  • Jams constantly
    Verified Purchase

    Total and absolute piece of crap. Despite following instructions exactly this machine jammed up constantly and by constantly I mean every 2-3 minutes. Jammed up on peony stems!!!!!

    Read More
    pmcoyne June 24, 2014
  • love it
    Verified Purchase

    used by me a lot. also took over to relatives homes. worth every penny

    Read More
    gertrude60 October 6, 2013
  • Frustrating
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this to shred trimming from my hedges. It barely works for this purpose and with much jamming and difficulty.

    Read More
    learn2 May 27, 2013
  • Good chipper but could use a wider mouth
    Verified Purchase

    It chips as described. However, the mouth is a weird, small oval that prevents you from stuffing anything larger than the recommended 1.5". It does come with a plunger which makes it easier to push in leaves and small sticks/branches. This is not a chipper/shredder for large projects.

    Read More
    biker07 May 14, 2013
  • It Only Looks Little - But Acts Big
    Verified Purchase

    Great little machine. Had it about 3 weeks now. Easy to assemble. Nice & small to store. Easy to clean (clean it after every use!) Haven't had any jam-ups but I pretty much follow the instructions; no roots, nothing over 1 1/2", no leaves. It's great. Chips and shreds just as promised. All of the dead, dry branches in the abutting woodlands are now woodchips around the base of the trees. Fairly quiet, sturdy, and a good buy. Don't hesitate, I would DEFINITELY recommend it so long as you remember it is not for large branches, roots, leaves or anything it doesn't say it is for. Thanks OVERSTOCK for a great product!

    Read More
    juliedog April 30, 2013
  • Chipper/Shredder
    Verified Purchase

    love it. It is perfect for my needs. Compact, functional, great for small gardens.

    Read More
    marymidwife3 December 11, 2012
  • Yard Helper
    Verified Purchase

    1. Assembled, then realized the impracticality of the feeding system. Only a small (SMALL) handful of leaves can be fed. Difficult access to chip branches. If you need this equipment, you have a large pile(s) of aggregated leaves, and with this system, it will take you a year to handle any large volume that the average homeowner accumulates. 2. Disassembled, repacked, and returned to OverStock. 3. Their Returns System? Great. Very satisfied with response. Agents very courteous. The outlet is excellent. The product, a dismal failure due to very poor designing.

    Read More
    keokebe1 November 13, 2012
  • Excellent for everyday yard clean up
    Verified Purchase

    We have Palo Verde and Mesquite Trees that grow like weeds, and need to be constantly trimmed. The branches are long and thorny and are impossible to bag up, so I needed something that would chop them up and allow me to bag them as I need to dispose of the refuse via our standard trash bin. The feeder was tad bit small, but once I figured out that all branches had to be trimmed back, it worked well in mulching the branches down so I was able to easily dispose of the leaves and branches from a days clean up work in just a few large trash bags. It did need to be opened and cleaned frequently as the branches were green and would get stringy and would jam up the blade. Over-all, for the average homeowner who does light to medium yard work and needs to keep their trees and hedges trimmed, this should work well and the price is right.

    Read More
    arizonahomeowner October 30, 2012
  • Nice home chipper
    Verified Purchase

    Good motor, good blades. Looking at it it is surprising that it would do such an adequate job. Makes nice small sized wood chips. Takes some practice to work the thicker branches in. If you just put it in and let the machine try to suck it through it might get stuck. You have to hold on to it and not let the machine grab it away from you, then just tease it and feed it through gradually.

    Read More
    ptl4ever July 17, 2012
  • Great Purchase
    Verified Purchase

    I wasn't sure how this would handle bamboo, but I thought I had to try it. I tested several 12' stalks and it quickly turned them into a handful of green confetti! I am in love. The machine has a smaller footprint than my lawnmower, it is easy to pull along when you need to move and the noise is much less than a running mower.

    Read More
    txboy65 June 14, 2012
  • Electric 14-amp Garden Chipper/ Shredder
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this chipper shredder to do some chipping at my house of a pile of small brush as well as a larger pile at my mothers house, The product had a small learning curve as to what will it handle and what will get stuck but the product performed admirably and I would recommend as well as buy another.

    Read More
    patleuzzi May 18, 2012
  • Useless for shredding. Great for chipping.
    Verified Purchase

    This is listed as a chipper/shredder. It would be a great chipper for the homeowner as it seems powerful and the blades are metal, however the feed slot is narrow to prevent larger pieces of wood from being fed into it. That's a good thing, but as far as shredding goes it would be impossible to shred leaves with it because of the width and pressure needed to push into the feed area. If it had a hopper accessory for leaves it would be a GREAT product. If you just need to chip brush I'd go with this unit but if you need to shred leaves this is not the product for you. It should be labeled as a chipper only.

    Read More
    akira3 March 9, 2012
Sponsored Links