Read All Reviews for EdgeStar DEP650EW 65-pint Portable Dehumidifier

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Still works great!
    Verified Purchase

    I noticed I hadn't reviewed this - and looked it up to see how long I've had it. Since 2011 - six years ago. I bought it because I discovered that in the summer the basement in my "new" 1880-built Victorian house was very damp and beginning to smell moldy. I ran a hose to the drain so I wouldn't have to dump it, plugged it in, set it to the appropriate humidity, and have basically forgotten it. Its a little louder than I'd like, but not obnoxious. It runs pretty much 24/7 from early May until late September, hardly at all in the cold Michigan winter months. I assume it's still working great because there is no smell or mold, moisture trickles pretty steadily down the drain in the summer and it clicks on and off as needed. Note that my basement is cement floor and stone foundation, and compartmentalized into four rooms with simple walls/panelling, approx 1250sq feet....this is the only unit being used. After hearing of the potential short life span of dehumidifiers, I must say this has been a fantastic purchase!

    Read More
    ts2precious February 17, 2017
  • Me
    Verified Purchase

    Worked well for a few months, but after that it made a lot of noise and did not seem to do much dehumidifying.

    Read More
    bealiscious April 14, 2015
  • dehimidifier
    Verified Purchase

    this item was used during the summer and spring months. my electric bill was very high. i have been told i should have used ac instead of dehumidifier. will say there was no smell in the basement and everything was dry. amazing how much water came out of the basement. only thing will say the electric bill was high since nothing else has changed

    Read More
    upstatebailey December 18, 2012
  • Works perfectly
    Verified Purchase

    Great to have this delivered. It is a solid,well constructed, dehumidifier. Open the box, plug it in ....and it works! What could be easier?

    Read More
    elgwilb20 October 2, 2012
  • EXCELLENT CHOICE
    Verified Purchase

    The product does an excellent job of removing moisture from the air. The only slight difficulty I have found is that in replacing the bucket after emptying, it can be difficult getting the bucket to slide completely back into place. A small portion protrudes & the dehumidifier will not reactivate until that portion is back in place. The easy way to bypass this problem is to put one hand in the inset handles on each side & simultaneously lift up slightly while easing the bucket fully into place w/ your foot or leg. This may sound difficult, but it is not at all really. The caution here is that the bucket, when full, is rather heavy to carry. Bear this in mind when you make your decision. I'm very satisfied.

    Read More
    naroh August 8, 2012
  • Quiet and easy to read digital panel.
    Verified Purchase

    Love this product. Quiet, can barely hear it running. Clears the air within hours of moisture and odors. Would highly recommend this product. I bought the Ion filter and have not installed it yet, but the air in my basement smells awesome. Appears well built and very quiet compared to other popular brands I have had in the past.

    Read More
    betcc July 4, 2012
  • Does not get you more than 35 pints a day.

    We had a small water leak in the basement. Bought this to help with the mop up. It barely got the humidity down, ran it for 2 weeks straight and got no more than 30-35 pints a day even while there was water all around the unit. all surrounding conditions were normal. It's also one ugly looking product. I called the manufacturer edgestar hoping to fix any problems and was basically told to return the unit if I was too happy with it. sounds like they're quite aware of this problem.

    Read More
    installed May 13, 2012
  • This does the job!
    Verified Purchase

    We have used this dehumidifier for a full season in our basement. At times it will collect a full tank of water over a weekend....very efficient. Our basement has some finished rooms and they never feel damp or have a musty smell as some basements do. We really like this dehumidifier!

    Read More
    surveyor2009 October 18, 2011
  • EdgeStar DEP650EW - the bomb!
    Verified Purchase

    This dehumidifier is the bomb! My basement flooded 5 times within the past 2 months and I had no dehumidifier before purchasing this. I noticed the difference within just one day. It is a little loud. However, that doesn't bother me since I am not in the room where it is located. The water bucket is a little bit heavy, since I have to carry it up a flight of stairs. I keep a separate bucket on hand, and sometimes empty half into that and carry each up separately. **SHIPPING from FedEx was not good. The bottom of the box was barely hanging on. Box was dented.and I was not home to receive it.

    Read More
    boonswang October 5, 2011
  • Works Great.
    Verified Purchase

    Dehumidifer works great. Able to adjust settings. Low/High and Humidity %. Exactly what we needed.

    Read More
    renef August 31, 2011
  • I like it thus far
    Verified Purchase

    I bought one then bought one for my sons home, I am pleased with it. Seems to be working well. Draws out a LOT of moisture

    Read More
    easybuying August 21, 2011
  • dehumidifier
    Verified Purchase

    We used this dehumidifier for three weeks. We kept thinking that we might get used to the dull roar, but we never did !!! We were hoping that by using the unit, we could turn down the central a/c, but it was just toooo loud. As a kicker, when we checked our energy consumption for those three weeks, the electric bill had GONE UP by nearly $100.00. FOR THREE WEEKS!!!

    Read More
    woolite69 August 19, 2011
  • Dehumidifier works great
    Verified Purchase

    I would recommend this product. Bought one for my mother's house. Dried up area very quickly. Works well. Humidity control is perfect. The "odor" of the basement is gone, worked within 24 hours. My husband couldnt believe how much water came out of it. Once we were sure it as working well, we set it up with no problem to the hose. Very happy with product.

    Read More
    karzay August 18, 2011
  • Very pleased
    Verified Purchase

    Very pleased with this dehumidifier - It dries out our basement beautifully. Easy to set up and use, and quiet.

    Read More
    winniepenfold July 19, 2011
  • POSITIVE
    Verified Purchase

    I am the second family member to purchase this dehumidifier. This is the best unit I have ever had. I highly recommend it. A third family member is about to purchase one.

    Read More
    katherine82 July 19, 2011
  • excellent
    Verified Purchase

    product works great as advertised. this unit is much quieter than my old model. price was better than other units of the same size.

    Read More
    swede06 July 10, 2011
  • Sharp Looking Unit
    Verified Purchase

    Just got this -- so far so good. It's a nice neat unit and very easy to empty the water: and ther's been a lot!!!! Handles my entire cellar (which is about 40" x 30") with no problem. I really like the convenience of the water tank being in the front of the unit - makes it much easier to empty. Also comes with attachment if you want to hook up to something so you never have to empty the tank.

    Read More
    jadeloe June 11, 2011
  • Died after 12 months
    Verified Purchase

    This unit lasted only 12 months - it's too much money to spend on a product that lasts only 1 year. My previous dehumidifier lasted 4 years. It also goes into defrost mode at temperatures slightly under 60 degrees, so it's not very effective for cooler areas like garages and basements.

    Read More
    gemart May 23, 2011
  • Works Great
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this dehumidifier for almost 6 months now and it has been great. No problems at all. I have it set on 35% humidity level; it shut off just as it was supposed to when we were using our stove in the basement. Now that we are not using much heat (and it rains almost every day!), the unit runs almost continuosly, only shutting off when full. I really like this dehumidifier.

    Read More
    sbdrin April 1, 2011
  • effective but noisy
    Verified Purchase

    I've used this dehumidifier for a few months now -- through some seriously heavy rain storms in North Carolina -- and it seems to be doing the trick of keeping my basement dry. The dehumidifier I replaced was very old; so there's not really a suitable comparison between the two in terms of efficacy. This one, as a few people have mentioned, is pretty loud. I can hear it from my basement all the way up to the second floor of my house, even with the door closed. I don't have it set up to drain externally and have to carry the water upstairs to dump it. If I wait until the well is completely full, it's pretty heavy to carry -- if you have trouble with heavy loads, it might be better to go with a smaller capacity.

    Read More
    jolieo October 11, 2010
Sponsored Links