Today: $311.99
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for EdgeStar 8,000 BTU Compact Portable Room Air Conditioner

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Will not cool even a small room

    No idea why companies make products that are completely not effective. It's very frustrating. I guess I was taken in by the price but ended up with nothing but a waste of time. This cannot and will not cool anything larger than a 5x5 closet. It is short and noisy. all in all an annoying product. not sure how much return shipping is going to be...very disappointed.

    Read More
    ithomaso March 22, 2014
  • Edgestar Junk

    This DOES NOT COOL. It will blow some cold air, but it's probably only enough to cool the box it was shipped in. Called the manufacturer to see if it was a defect and was basically read from a script about this and that with no straight answer. Very disappointing purchase. The hose is a crazy adventure to connect as well.

    Read More
    rustini March 8, 2014
  • Edgestar 8000 BTU Compact Portable Room Air Condit
    Verified Purchase

    Relatively easy to install, But my neighbor had to trim off a portion of the window insert in order to intall it in the room I purchased it to cool. It does a good cooling job for this bedroom.Saved us from the heatwave...did not realize how much this addition would improve our quality of sleep.

    Read More
    madawna August 16, 2011
  • Great unit -- until it wasn't
    Verified Purchase

    I was really pleased with this A/C/ unit intially. It did everything the site and other reviewers promised. I started noticing that the unit leaked when in A/C mode. The water reservoir wasn't full and the indicator light never turned on. Another reviewer commented that their unit leaked due to a manufacturer's default and when I called Edgestar (who were awesome to work with!) they suspected the same thing was making my unit leak. Edgestar made it really easy to return the unit and even supplied a prepaid FedEx label. O.co supplied the refund and all was taken care of. I have since purchased a Koolfront 8,000 BTU portable air conditioner and it is working like a charm.

    Read More
    va2co August 1, 2011
  • cooled so well
    Verified Purchase

    This a/c was perfect except that it leaked on my floor. Used only once and had to return. very nice though. I would purchase another in the future.

    Read More
    915zombie June 29, 2011
  • Portabe Air Conditioner
    Verified Purchase

    This "portable" air conditioner is not quite as portable as the description would have you believe. It needs an exhaust vent so you must have it hooked up to the exhaust hose provided and near a window for use. We bought it to use in our camping van. The hose was not long enough so my husband hooked a dryer hose up to the provided hose and vented it out the front window of the van. This does not work. The dryer hose is not large enought and the hose gets much too hot. We hesitate to cut a hole in the body of the van to vent it, so we have decided to use it in our travel trailer where it works very well.

    Read More
    lolinger June 24, 2011
  • Good value.
    Verified Purchase

    It's a good air conditioner, easy to install and pretty powerful for the size and cost. The only problem is that it's very noisy. I bought if for my sons' room, but my older son can't sleep with the noise.

    Read More
    krissymama June 23, 2011
  • Great for my bedroom
    Verified Purchase

    I have an 8x19 foot room and this is the perfect size. Cools the room down quickly. Dehumidifier option is great too because I live on the ground floor and takes away the humidity while also seemingly cooling down the room. A little loud, but I suspect all portable a/cs are pretty loud. I also have it on a table which could make it a little bit louder than if it were on the ground.

    Read More
    bkee611 June 23, 2011
  • Can't be worse

    This is an awful A/C. It's small and compact but so is a fan. Does not cool. Don't even hope that it will. It can cool maybe 15 sqft. Very badly manufactured product that should not be sold.

    Read More
    orderstamps May 19, 2011
  • Just what I needed, compact and easy to install
    Verified Purchase

    I knew I needed a small moble air conditioner for my bedroom. Last summer I had moved to the living room and slept on my pull -out sofa, did not want to do that again. I started looking early April and found this Edgestar 8000 btu that would plug right into my outlet in the bedroom and it fit my pocketbook . It arrived three days after I ordered it, I uppacked it , put it together (really simple) rolled it to my bedroom, set up the vent in the window and plugged it in. I did have a question about the condensation so I called Edgestar and they answered my question.

    Read More
    jef16 May 18, 2011
  • Perfect for the job
    Verified Purchase

    The EdgeStar 8,000 AC unit is doing a great job of cooling and dehumidifying a tack room in our barn. The room is not insulated and our weather is hot and humid, even in March. The EdgeStar makes the room comfortable quickly after we turn it on. The remote control allows us to change modes and settings with a few clicks. The AC has a good capacity for storing water from dehumidifying and is easy to drain. It comes with an easy to set up exhaust hose and window panels. It doesn't take up a lot of room. We are very happy with it.

    Read More
    texasuser March 24, 2011
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    Chris W. December 22, 2016
Sponsored Links