Today $199.99
Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Dyson DC41 Animal Upright Vacuum (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great vacuum, but be aware of what you might get
    Verified Purchase

    After having to let go of my old dyson upright, I knew I wanted to get another dyson. I did a lot of research and after lengthy contemplation between the DC41 animal and DC39 animal, I decided to go with the upright model. Now after several uses, I can say that I am happy and satisfied with my purchase. The suction and maneuverability is great - no complaints there! I have 2 long haired dogs so animal hair is definitely a major problem in our household. The amount of hair that the dyson picks up is out of this world. Many have complained about having to empty the bin several times during a cleaning, but I don't mind this at all. It just shows how much the machine is able to pick up! I'd rather it be picked up than stay on my carpet. From experience with my old dyson, my advice is to empty the dust bin often before it gets more than half full, otherwise cleaning the bin can be a hassle, once it gets jammed all the way to the upper part. I was also pleasantly surprised by the sound of the machine, it is much quieter than my old dyson. One thing that I feel was better on the older models is the usability of the hose. It no longer has the handle connected to it, which I feel made it much easier to use. Now it takes some time and a little effort to put the hose back in place, but I suppose It's all a matter of getting used to. The mini turbine tool is a nice extra feature - of course the tangle free turbine would have been better, but I think it's better than nothing. I like it, even if you have to untangle hair out of it it after each use. Overall, I am happy with the the performance of my DC41 animal and would definitely recommend this vacuum cleaner. Having said that, be very careful and aware when ordering a refurbished model. I've read numerous reviews of people claiming to have gotten one in like new condition. I knew it was a gamble - if I were lucky, I would be one of those people. Unfortunately I was not. My machine came nicely boxed, but my luck ended there. After very careful inspection and cleaning, it was easy to conclude that the machine was definitely used and scratched up - and I don't lightly. The wheels and ball are heavily scratched, the sticker is heavily worn, and there are some surface cracks on the vacuum head. I'm assuming it's not a problem since it passed inspection, but I am hoping that it's not going to become a problem in the future. The cleaner head also doesn't automatically self adjust, as claimed. I don't know if it's just my machine, but it's not a huge deal breaker for me since I'm used to the old dyson when having to push the button. The only good thing of my refurbished model was that the dust bin was fairly scratch free and very clean. So my final conclusion is, it's a great vacuum cleaner and I love it, but because I got a worn refurbished model I took one star off. I have no intention of returning though, because in buying the refurbished for a fraction of the price, I knew what I might be getting. So just be aware and don't be surprised. It's all about luck. Next time though, I think I will go with a new one. Lesson learned.

    Read More
    sz529 May 20, 2013
  • Incredible Vacuum

    I have 4 dogs and wool rugs (that I purchased at Overstock) throughout my house. When I vacuumed with my 3 year old Oreck, my carpets never seemed clean, the bags were a hassle to replace and there seemed to be a lot of dirty air coming out of the vacuum cleaner. I could not bear the thought of paying several hundred dollars for a vacuum but wanted a good one this time. I took a chance on the DC41 refurbished and could not be more pleased. All the claims about the suction power are true! My rugs look and feel almost new again. My daughter even noticed and asked me if I had them cleaned. The only negative was that the box which was delivered by FEDEX arrived covered in a sticky, gooey substance (like a slurpee) which someone covered with packing paper and tape. Thankfully the gooey mess did not penetrate the box and the vacuum appeared new with no visible wear on the wheels, dust bin or any other part of the machine. Having combined the already low "O" price with an internet coupon and free shipping, I received this quality product which looks and works like a new vacuum at a super low price. Thanks Overstock!

    Read More
    jamiefromsc March 20, 2013
  • Second time is the charm
    Verified Purchase

    Received the brown Dyson box from brown, opened it up, vacuum had some wear on the rollers but generally seemed to be in good condition. Put it together and got to work. Whoa! What's that smell?!? Smells kinda like a wet dog. A very strong pet odor. It most likely was coming from the filters. I called Dyson and explained about receiving the refurbished vacuum from Overstock and the horrible pet odor and asked about getting new filters. Dyson rep was not willing to send filters unless I paid retail price for them. I explained that this unit was refurbished and such an odor was unacceptable. The rep suggested I wash the filters in cold water. Ummm, yeah, like cold water is going to remove an odor! Not only that, this machine should have had the filters replaced when it was refurbished at the factory. Dyson rep didn't budge. I said I was going to return the item. Seemed like she could care less. (I didn't indicate I was going to get a replacement). Being a previous Dyson owner, and seeing how well this vacuum worked (in spite of the smell), I called Overstock to inquire about getting a replacement. The O. rep was GREAT! Sales rep had me on the phone all but 2 minutes. In that time she heard my complaint, set up a return with prepaid shipping label, and immediately sent me another vacuum, and didn't even double bill me. Received the second vacuum, put it together and fired it up ... Yea! no odor! Vacuum works like nobody's business! The day before I vacuumed our floors with our old DC17, and this DC41 pulled a surprising amount out of the carpet. This DC41 is suppose to have the most powerful suction of all Dysons. The ball was different compared to the traditional style, but overall is easy to operate. This vacuum is several pounds lighter. The canister is a bit smaller compared to the one on the DC17. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase and especially Can't say much for Dyson's customer service, but Overstock's came through. So ding one star for Dyson shipping out the first vacuum with such a horrible odor. Other than that, it is a 5-star machine at the price overstock is charing for refurbished (plus $40 internet coupon).

    Read More
    yeamac September 6, 2013
  • Miracle Machine!
    Verified Purchase

    Dyson is an amazing company. I had no idea that I could fall in love with a vacuum cleaner! I have whole house central vac - and have had it for most of my adult life. But, I have used upright vacuums along the way. And, haven't been particularly impressed with any of the uprights or my central vacs. The Dyson is a totally different story! This machine is the most powerful, easy to use, beautiful thing ever! Just like Nest is the Apple of Thermostats, so is the Dyson the Apple of Vacuums! The most intuitive user-friendly design. High quality. Within minutes of vacuuming a few small area carpets that had been vacuumed two days ago, the large canister was full of fibers, pet hair, lint, dust, food particles, etc .. from the family. ... My floors have never been so clean! And it works on carpets, hardwoods, tile, etc .. no need to switch power heads. WIth a built in hose attachment, you can do stairs, upper cabinets, furniture, etc ... without running off to search for parts. Now I know why Dyson is awesome for people with allergies - it sucks up all extra fibers, fur, hair, dander, and even minute dust particles! And though the price is daunting - you can buy a refurbished model (that is usually just a store return) for 2/3 of the price of "new." I am in LOVE!

    Read More
    kittypurry April 6, 2013
  • You want to be totally grossed out? Then buy this.
    Verified Purchase

    Grossed out you ask? Yes, because after you vacuum with this Dyson DC41 Animal Upright you will see how poorly your previous vacuum worked. You will be grossed out at how much filth was in your carpets. And yes, I did vacuum regularly with my old one. It just the suction of the DC41 will blow away all other vacuums. I decided to try my luck and save some money with a refurbished model. Best decision ever! The only thing that was noticeably used was the canister. It was a bit cloudy and scratched but that didn't effect the vacuums performance. It was easy to assemble and one of the best features is how easy it is to dispose of the dirt once it is collected into the canister. I also noticed that it wasn't as loud as my previous vacuum. And it works great in my kitchen and bathroom! It has a feature that you can turn off the spinning brush and just suck which is perfect for hard surfaces or small rugs (like a bathroom rug or door mat). The only complaint I have is the detachable hose is a bit awkward to use. There is too much length of hard hose at the end and not enough flexible hose.

    Read More
    anna38 August 6, 2013
  • Dyson DC41 Works Great!
    Verified Purchase

    This Dyson DC41 replaced a ******* upright purchased new 11 years ago and was rated a Consumer Report Best Buy at that time. I vacuumed a 5 foot x 5 foot area with the ******* and then went over that same area with the Dyson and couldn't believe how mush more came out of the carpet! The Dyson is 3.2 pounds lighter. Dyson's digital motor does not emit carbon dust like the XXXXXXX motor with brushes that wear. Dyson does not emit the smelly dust particles into the air that escape from the HEPA filter on the XXXXXXX. The Dyson motor is much more powerful, enabling it to pick up more. There are no more bags and filters to buy and replace with the Dyson. Purchasing a refurbished unit through Overstock.Com saved me money and delivered like new quality. Thanks Overstock.Com.

    Read More
    john2359 March 16, 2014
  • Perfect Vacuum For Any Home
    Verified Purchase

    Upon arrival the vacuum is packed well to prevent any damage. Once unpacked, you can get it started in a few minutes. The vacuum is powerful in terms of both suction as well as the brush to kick up dust. I dare you to vacuum your house with another vacuum and then try the Dyson. You'll see the difference in efficacy by the amount of dust the other vacuum left behind. The system was originally designed for pet owners. However, you don't need to have a pet to benefit from this engineering marvel. The vacuum features easy-to-clean HEPA filters which are excellent for reducing allergens as well as a canister that is easy to empty/clean. The Vacuum has a super long power chord, which may be considered a benefit as you can use the same outlet for multiple rooms. Yet, as there isn't an automatic retraction feature, it can be cumbersome. Also, the wand, which works when the vacuum is upright, has a head that is a little bulky for my liking. So If you have furniture that is low to the ground, you may not be able to fit it under.

    Read More
    abandonego December 4, 2013
  • Love it! Why did I wait so long to buy this?
    Verified Purchase

    Fast shipping and the item arrived in great condition. I was a little nervous to buy a refurbished vacuum but am so happy I did. The reconditioning was done by Dyson, they warranty the purchase for 6 months as well. I really couldn't even tell that this was refurbished, it was clean/good as new - no scuffs, dents or dings. It was quick and easy to assemble and I was vacuuming within minutes. And wow, does this thing do a great job cleaning. I emptied the canister three times in my family room - it picked up the finest of dust particles and did a fantastic job on the pet hair - I kept trying to show my daughter, she thought I was being a little disgusting but I think she was still impressed. My favorite part is how versatile it is; I'm using it for tile, my wood laminate (high gloss) floor and carpet - no adjusting the roller height it does it automatically and you just turn off the brush with a push of a button if you won't want to use it (which is handy for my high gloss laminate floor). The hose is crazy long and super retractable so it doesn't dangle all over but you can still really stretch it out to go all the way up your stairs or vacuum ceiling corners. It's got a good selection of attachments including an upholstery brush and maintains great suction when you use it. Its much lighter than my old vacuum so taking it up/downstairs was a lot easier. I would highly recommend this purchase to anyone looking for a versatile, high quality vacuum for a great price. Buy it!

    Read More
    angela December 9, 2014
  • Works great
    Verified Purchase

    This is the second dyson I own. My first was the dc17 animal and it is still going strong. I use it to clean the garage and our vehicles. I bought this one because it is lighter and maneuvers around and under the furniture better than the dc17. It looked like new when I received it back in 2013. I haven't had any problems, still has good suction, and works great. If you clean the brush bar and filters regularly this vacuum should last you a good long while.

    Read More
    ksmit222 December 21, 2015
  • I sooo wanted to love this vacuum
    Verified Purchase

    I am a HUGE Dyson fan. As the current 5 year owner of a DC14 upright, I thought it might be time to give the newer model a try. I bought my DC14 as a refurb off Overstock and could not have been more happy with the purchase, so I tried it again with the DC41. Not the same experience -- Overstock was fantastic, but the product did not meet expectations. It is definitely lighter, but as a result it feels more flimsy. With my DC14 in bare floor mode, it sucks up items from a good foot away and the sizes can be up to the size of a kernel of popcorn or globs of cat hair. With the DC41, you have to be right on type of the item for it to get sucked up and it had to be really small. Even had difficulty with kitty litter. Every time you turn off the power, it reverts back to carpet mode. So when you start it up again the brush is swirling. Not the best option when my entire downstairs is wood floor. And maybe its because I'm used to my monster, but I found it difficult to maneuver with the swivel handle/ball. I also miss the handle attached when you remove the hose to vacuum the stairs or hard to reach places. When the arm is lowered to move the vacuum, the back wheels raise. This would be nice if they didn't click with every slight raising and lowering of the arm. It did do a good job of getting cat hair out of the carpet, but I was not fond of how difficult it was to empty the canister. With my DC14, you click the red button, the bottom drops out, and everything falls out with maybe a tap or two for fine dust. With the DC41, you click the button and the bottom drops out, but very little falls out on its own, It may have to do with the curvy design of the canister, but it wasn't even half full and I had to pull everything out. Over all, not a fan of this model. It could be because it was a refurb. But I'm returning it and sticking with my monster.

    Read More
    Jennifer G. November 4, 2015
  • Verified Purchase

    I love it! Easy assembly with clear instructions for disassembly and filter cleaning. I was amazed at how well this refurbished vacuum cleaned both my carpets and my hard floors. The suction is out of this world strong! The maneuverability of the machine is excellent, as is the ability to get under low lying furniture. It's heavy enough and balanced enough that tipping over isn't an issue yet lightweight enough to not put a strain on me to use it. The power cord is heavy duty and long enough to reach every inch of my big rooms without having to unplug and find another outlet. One thing that I found to be pretty nifty was emptying the dirt cup because I only had to hold it over the trash can and gently pull the red handle on top so that the bottom of the cup swings open and the dirt is deposited in the trash. This is the best vacuum I have ever owned. I would recommend the Dyson to anyone looking for a vacuum with excellent suction and easy use at a great price!

    Read More
    Sondra S. January 27, 2018
  • Beware of too-strong suction on light rugs
    Verified Purchase

    First, huge credit to Overstock customer service for taking care of the problems I had with my Dyson DC41 purchase. I ordered a refurbished DC41 and it arrived with hair in it. Gross. Overstock took excellent care of the problem though, immediately sent a new (still refurbished) one, and sent a shipping label for the one with hair in it. Then, however, when I tried to use the DC41 around my house I wasn't happy with it. I think it is a good vacuum for certain uses, but I mainly needed it for my living room which has a lightweight rug. The DC41 sucks so hard (no pun intended) that it would NOT move on the carpet, it was literally stuck in one place. My husband could not move it either. I called Dyson and they said this model has their strongest suction and is not good for lightweight carpets. Recommended I try DC 40 or 25. I wasn't overly impressed with the vacuum overall though, I found it heavy, hard to move, and the wand/hoses function wasn't great either. When I called Overstock they agreed to accept the return even though I had kept it for over a month, and cover return shipping. Grateful for their excellent policies, which will ensure I purchase from Overstock again. But I will not be buying another Dyson vacuum.

    Read More
    yesnope June 10, 2013
  • At last....my vacuum has come along.
    Verified Purchase

    Like many other people, I was skeptical about spending a few hundred on one single vacuum cleaner. It's how much? Does it also cook me dinner? Well now this vacuum doesn't cook, but it CLEANS. I have owned MANY vacuums over my adolescent and adult life. Hoover/Electrolux/Dirt Devil, etc. With the exception of my giant shopvac, none of them have had the suction power I desired, that is until I threw caution to the wind (and my credit card statement) and bought a DYSON. After reading all the positive reviews on overstock for a refurbished dyson 41 animal model, I couldn't say no. I ordered it and waited, reading over the reviews where some people had one that was used heavily, to one that wasn't used at all. My vacuum arrived and looked brand new. Everything was packaged neatly, and very very clean. The filter even looked brand new. I was able to assemble it in less than 5 minutes ( I do have a decent assembly background) but I think anyone could put it together easily. I fired it up and made a pass over the hallway carpet that I had previously gone over with my Hoover PAWS system, and the Dyson DC41 Animal's canister was almost FULL. It looked like I hadn't vacuumed in a month. GROSS. I have three dogs, and I am now confident that I have a vacuum that can handle all they can dish out, I've already accumulated enough hair from vacuuming the hallway to make another dog. This thing is also quiet! I'm use to power and noise, and this thing has the power, but the noise is not at all what I expected. Thank You Dyson & Overstock.com I'm sorry it took me so long to buy one of your wonderful vacuums. Never will I stray again.

    Read More
    ericp35 October 14, 2013
  • Works like it says!
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased as a Refurbished DC 41 Animal Upright, so a little nervous. But it arrived in original boxes, and everything looked brand new! And with 3 cats, this vacuum gets tested all the time. Love the small beater bar attachment that comes with it, really helps with the cat hair on the sofas. Very powerful, and really like how it adjusts automatically to various carpet height. Works better than my Electrolux! Dyson got this one right!

    Read More
    opinions2012 January 11, 2014
  • Excellent Vacuum
    Verified Purchase

    I was a bit anxious about the idea of a "refurbished" product, however when it arrived, there was nothing about the Dyson DC41 that gave any evidence that it was anything but "new"- from the box, to the packing, to the product itself, everything was in pristine condition. It's power, ease of use and suction are all as advertised and very impressive. If I had one quibble with the design and manufacture, it is, the feeling of pushing around an incredibly powerful engine in a plastic shell that doesn't do it justice. Clearly, were it made from more substantial material ( metal, titanium etc) it would lose it's ease of use and the price would be prohibitive. That being said, I am very happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    hotpuppy May 25, 2013
  • Great Vacuum, definitely recommend!
    Verified Purchase

    First I am a diehard dyson fan, my family got one when they first came out and that baby is still going! (that's over 10 years). Well I moved out the house got married and needed a dyson of my own. Dyson has done some amazing things and since we have pets we wanted to animal vacuum, price is an issue so we decided to go with the refurbished. Its the best decision we made. There are some things that I am not a fan of with the ball but all in all, its a great vacuum. it picks up animal hair and the little attachment it comes with is great for the carpet stairs and fabric furniture. I can't even tell its refurbished!

    Read More
    navygrl July 11, 2013
  • Good but different
    Verified Purchase

    Owned a older simpler model Dyson before so this was going to be an "upgrade". The vacuum works really well suction wise as all Dyson products do. The thing that bothers us the most is how it "feels" as an overall product. Since they used less plastic to keep the product lighter (which is always good with vacuums as well) it makes it feel cheaper. Have not had it long enough, but unlike our older model that I felt it could take the punishment of a kid vacuuming and not breaking parts off, not so sure with the DC41. Also it takes a little bit to get use to steering on the ball instead of wheels. Daughter really has issues making the steering of the ball go and do what she wants vs a simple 2 wheel older model Dyson's. Once again, it does what it should do really well, suck stuff up off and out of your carpet. Always frightening how much stuff is in the cylinder once done vacuuming. Still nice to see Dyson try to innovate (motor in the ball) vs all the old standard vacuum designs.

    Read More
    eodo June 16, 2013
  • Good deal for a good vacuum
    Verified Purchase

    The unit I received is clean, no odor, and shows minimal use only on the roller. It is easier to use each time as I learn how to switch back and forth quickly from the hose to the roller head. I clean everything with my vacuum: the ceiling, furniture, cushions, lamp shades, and wood laminant flooring with a few low-pile throw rugs . The hose was stiff at first and difficult to stretch, but after just two uses it is loosening up. All the parts snap in easily with an audible click supporting their proper attachment. The suction is too strong for small, door-mat-type rugs, and I ruined one right off the bat so be careful. It does my hall runner beautifully. The canister is easy to pop out and empty, and I don't get dirty at all as someone stated. I simply give it a shake into a paper bag, fold top and take to outside toter . I used an Animal 25 first but decided on the Animal 49 due to larger canister and 10 ft longer cord. I'm very happy with my decision even though the 49 is heavier (not lighter as the description wrongfully states). I loved the smaller, lighter Animal 25 except for having to plug in to every single room and it fell over when I used the hose. The smaller head on the 25 fits easily into small spaces, and I miss that with the larger head on the 49, but I use the hose a lot and the 49 does not tip over for me. This vacuum gets very hot and it burned my foot to hold it down while using the hose. If I had wall-to-wall carpeting, I would choose the 25 (I have a bad back and neck) as there is quite a bit of difference in the weight between the two.

    Read More
    nostore4me July 19, 2014
  • Refurbished Dyson DC41
    Verified Purchase

    I've wanted a Dyson forever, but just couldn't justify paying full price, so I opted to go with a refurbished DC41 Animal from Overstock.com when my Electrolux quit sucking. I'm so impressed with this vacuum! Sucking power galore, it's easily maneuvered, easy to empty the canister. It comes boxed like brand new, and snaps together easily. I. LOVE. IT!! It even sounds expensive! Oh, and I bought the Animal, but I have no animals, and my floors are all ceramic tiled...you know, that Florida living!! Moves easily from ceramic floor to rugs...you just can't go wrong with this vacuum! Buy it refurbished, it's like new!

    Read More
    cape711 February 20, 2014
  • Excellent Vacuum Cleaner
    Verified Purchase

    I have been using this vacuum for some time. I have a short haired large boxer mix who sheds a lot and a white cat. I use the attachment for my microfiber sofa as well as small hard to reach areas. Also use the vacuum on both area rugs and floors. Excellent product. Has a few nuances regarding switching from the vacuum to attachment option which can be somewhat annoying as it involves balancing and locking the cleaner into an upright position to use the attachments which can be hit or miss at times as the vacuum cleaner is heavy and subsequently will fall if transition is not done properly. Sounds like a vacuum cleaner in terms of noise, definitely not quiet but they never are in my experience. Nothing unusual there. Great not using bags and dirt compartment easily removable. Love this product as my first Dyson and highly recommend. Did not want to pay the full $650+ for new one and simply purchased this with the 5 year protection plan; substantial cost savings. Came perfectly packaged with instructions and minor assembly. Looks like new and can't tell it is refurbished. Works like a charm. LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT.

    Read More
    madpoodle16 June 20, 2013