Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Dyson DC39 Animal Canister Vacuum (New)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Expensive but works as promised
    Verified Purchase

    Does the job and like the canister style. Helpful for carpeted stairs, but narrow suction head makes it less wonderful for larger areas.

    Read More
    shorelady July 12, 2017
  • Dog Clean Up
    Verified Purchase

    Use on hardwoods and slate floor...dog hair patrol. Easy to use under furniture...smaller than an upright, great for cleaning out the car too

    Read More
    duckybob01 December 22, 2014
  • Not Shabby For A Smaller Unit
    Verified Purchase

    My mother has one of the larger uprights, and I own a smaller unit of the uprights. This canister Dyson is just as good as the uprights, except, for the size, a little loss of power, lighter weight, smaller capacity, and a much smaller footprint. The unit does require more emptying as the capacity is a slight smaller than its upright counterpart. If you have a large house to clean, the capacity could be an issue, unless you are willing to sacrifice for weight. The switch from bare floor to carpet does take a little to get used to. The unit is smaller, quieter, and far lighter, than its upright counterpart. I'd suggest you go with an upright if you have a large house to clean, but, for spot cleaning, stairs, or quiet environments, this unit is by-far a nice compact unit. Don't be fooled by its size, its got the true heart of a Dyson upright when it comes to suction, and since the carpet beater bar uses the same technology as the upholstery attachment (it uses diverted suction to drive a turbine to get it running) it is much lighter, and far quieter than having a motor driven mechanism. The carpet attachment is also smaller, and gets under many of the obstacles that the larger uprights can't. One of the neatest things about the unit is the carpet attachment. I mentioned I own an older upright Dyson, which came with an upholstery attachment, except that Dyson must have realized cleaning the hair and other obstructions on the beater bar, is a pain to clear off. My attachment usually required removal of six "star" screws to gain access to cleaning off the beater bar. Dyson must have noticed this issue, as, the DC39 canister, comes with a new carpet / upholstery unit. They actually made it easy to open, and gain access to the brushes. So you can open the units up easier, remove the dirty beater bars, and remove the accumulated hair, etc... from the bars. A nice improvement over my older model. If you are under limited budget, this unit may be a large purchase for its smaller, and less powerful usage. If you want an extra unit, to work alongside a bigger upright, or you require a smaller cleaner, either for size of room, lighter carry, or compact / smaller spaces to get into, this unit could be an excellent investment. If, on the other hand, you want power, capacity, and more of a "heavier" usage cleaner, you may want to go with an upright. For me, I plan on using my Dyson upright for the "major" cleaning projects, and have this "smaller" unit, for my spot cleaning, smaller needs. In all, I am pleased with this unit, and I am sure it will give me years of service.

    Read More
    ladycuddles March 15, 2013
  • Dyson DC39
    Verified Purchase

    Heard all kinds of talk about how wonderful a Dyson is. Tried this one and have to agree. I vacuumed with an old Electrolux then vacuumed again with Dyson. Couldn't believe how much dirt was picked up.

    Read More
    obermans December 16, 2012
  • Really LOUD

    I wavered back and forth between the Dyson and the Shark. I chose the Dyson because it was affordable on Overstock. I did pick up a refurbished one after reading Overstock's description of what refurbished meant. So hoping it was just a purchase that someone didn't want and returned I bought it. And saved more than 200$. The only complaint that I have is that is is seriously LOUD. It picks up well, does floors and carpets great, I can get to my ceilings and such. I purchased the animal because I have a lot of dogs so I deal with a lot of shedding. I just purchased the animal attachments and am getting ready to take care of my Chow-Shepherd mix who is the biggest culprit when it comes to leaving hair behind, seriously he can just walk through the house and there are clumps of hair! Needless to say I am excited to see how well this works!!! So, other than the noise this makes ... it's a great vacuum!!

    Read More
    paimbia October 24, 2012
  • Dyson DC39 Animal Canister
    Verified Purchase

    The product was as described. The delivery was quick. The transaction was entirely satisfactory.

    Read More
    mditzer October 17, 2012
  • Dyson DC-39 Animal
    Verified Purchase

    I like the Dyson DC-39 Animal, however, the plastic appears a lot cheaper than my 10-yr old Electrolux. But there is a 5-year warranty, and no bags to replace.

    Read More
    livinginthenorthwest October 15, 2012
  • Great Little Canister
    Verified Purchase

    This is my second Dyson vacuum. My last was a DC25 Animal upright, which I gave to my parents since I was moving and they needed a new vacuum. Both vacuums are great. This canister is light weight and takes a bit of getting used to compared to just pushing an upright. Suction power is great, maneuverability is good. If you have shag carpets, I'm not too sure what is the best vacuum for those but using this canister takes a bit more effort. All in all, it's a great product that works as advertised.

    Read More
    marek83 May 19, 2012
  • I really wanted to like this vacuum....but....
    Verified Purchase

    I read all the reviews and really wanted to like this vacuum. I should have listened to the low scoring reviews. I first must say that I am a clean freak and vacuum daily. I am no stranger to vacuums and put many miles on them before their retirement. I have wool area rugs around my house and hardwood floors throughout. I believed this vacuum would be the solution to my current two vacuum situation (one for rugs, canister for floors). First...the vacuum is CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP. My old Kenmore Magic Blue is built better. If you have teenagers that help with vacuuming, do not buy! They will destroy this vacuum in a week. The switch on the handle for floor to carpet didn't function on mine out of the box. The tank filled up after one wool rug and it became evident that I would have to empty this small tank at least 5 times a vacuum session. The floor piece works nothing like the video. If you think it will transition from floor to area rugs flawlessly, you will be disappointed. The nozzle flops around at the base and was very awkward. The vacuum did not include a hardwood floor piece and at this price...really...com on dyson, it is not like you use quality materials. You can add the floor nozzle and still be robbing people blind. I will never buy dyson again. Overstock was great with the return situation and my new vacuum I received yesterday is going back today!

    Read More
    desertdweller55 May 11, 2012
Sponsored Links