Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Dyson DC28 Animal Upright Vacuum (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Best thing since sliced bread...
    Verified Purchase

    First things first: my mover STOLE my original Animal Vac, it's that good. He saw it in action, and somehow, after I myself placed it on the moving truck, it was missing when we unloaded at the new house. And I never heard from him again, despite several calls. That is the ONLY reason I had to get a second one; the first was still working exceptionally well, and I was beyond pissed at not having it at the new place. Now, for the review. I have three dogs - a Saint Bernard rough coat (long haired), a Newfoundland (again, long hair and double coated) and the Beagle. I *also* have 10 cats. And I have two horses. As you can imagine, tons of dirt gets into my house, along with a lot of shedding and hair from all critters. And since the litter I use is pelleted horse stall bedding (it absorbs incredibly well, and does not give clumps that stick to things), and it gets tracked all over this place. And most of the summer the windows are open, which allows tons of dust and pollen and various other things in...as you can see, I need a vacuum that will take care of business. I have all hardwood floors (except the bath and kitchen), so getting up the grit and whatnot from boots, paws, and other things which come in is critical in keeping them in good shape. I got the original vac 4 years ago in my old place, and it had carpet throughout the house. I have to say this vac handles BOTH types of floors (linoleum and tile, too) incredibly well. The attachments are easy to switch out, so I can get cobwebs and dust vultures (you know, those not-cobwebs which hang down and lurk you from the ceiling corners) and of course dust bunnies all cleared out very quickly. I also run the vac over the upholstered furniture and curtains, and anywhere else I can. This vac is a sure bet, each and every time. I bought it again, even though it was expensive. I bought it AGAIN. That alone should tell you how good this machine is. I have even used it on my car, and in the bed of the truck, after treks to the barn and beach for a summer ride in the ocean...and it got all the sand, dirt, hay bits, and dried manure out of both car and truck. I'm not impressed; I actually call this my magic machine, and have NO fear of things on shoes being brought into the car or house. I just grab the vac and voila, things disappear. Buy it. You won't be disappointed at all. And if you can score the refurbished units, they are just as good as a brand new one. But don't hesitate; if it can handle all my extreme dirt needs, it can surely handle a normal household's dirt needs, too.

    Read More
    busyinburbank March 6, 2013
  • Fantastic Vacuume!
    Verified Purchase

    I am extremely happy with my Dyson, and am glad that I decided to buy it. Although a bit concerned about it being a refurbished cleaner, it arrived in spotless condition. It was securely packed with all parts and the directions for assembling were quick and easy to follow. The vacuum worked much better than I'd expected, and although I had just swept my carpets with my old vacuum this Dyson collected so much dirt that I had to empty it twice! I'd recommend this vacuum cleaner to anyone.

    Read More
    quietlady November 21, 2011
  • Bad vacuum

    Just arrived, opened it and used it. The canister is totally loose, wand very old ( so old the sticker was totally worn off ) Doesn't work at all!!!! Extremely unhappy after waiting almost two weeks for this!!! It is nice to save money, but you are taking a gamble as far as what you get.

    Read More
    cowboy32 December 10, 2013
  • Dyson DC28 Animal Upright Vacuum (Refurbished)
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased an original Dyson from Overstock.com many, many years ago. It's still go great, but I decided to keep it upstairs and upgrade to the Dyson Animal. I wouldn't have believed it could be better than the original but it is superb! If you like a clean house but love your dogs/cats, you MUST have a DYSON!

    Read More
    dfwtex September 21, 2011
  • DON'T DO IT!!!! BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER!

    I have owned this Dyson for 6 weeks and it's broken. The roller bar stopped turning and the lights blink. So After A call to Dyson, they tell me I can either return it or have it serviced, as it is malfunctioning. I get to the repair center and am told it will keep doing this because the circuitry is in the bottom of the vacuum, and when it gets dirty, it does this very thing. HE then told me it's the WORST vacuum for pets because of that very flaw in design. Pet hair clogs the circuit board. I tried to return it but I am outside the window of return, so I have to fix it and hope it doesn't keep breaking. 5 minutes there and a woman comes storming in with the same vacuum. She's owned it 3 weeks and it's the 2nd time in for the same issue I had. NOT HAPPY! I first bought the DC17 Animal and loved it, but it completely stopped working after 2 months. **** took is back, and I tried the DC33. Hated it. Didn't have the power. So I took that back and got this one which I loved until this. If you really want a great one, I have now learned about the ****. Before you buy ANY vacuum, call a Service center and ask questions!!! They fix them, so they know what they are all prone to. Wish I had done it. Hubby said he will buy me the Salsa anyway. :-)

    Read More
    jumpingkoe November 10, 2011
  • Vroom ~ With a kick!!!
    Verified Purchase

    Go Refurbished. The refurbished model is over $100 less and the machine looks and works like it is brand new. I have four dogs and a cat and the hair and dirt that this machine continuously pulls out of my carpet is amazing. My husband - who hates vacuuming....... loves this machine and shows me how much dirt it sucked up each time he uses it. The suction is great and I have already saved a small fortune in purchasing bags. I don't mind spending the $$$ for something that is worth it ~ this product ~ is worth every penny.

    Read More
    amflopez June 21, 2011
  • This refurbished dyson excellent
    Verified Purchase

    I love this dyson, As other reviews i read, this dyson really picks up the hair etc that my other vacuum did not. I did have trouble initially ordering this product. There was a discrepancy in the price from what I initially viewed to the time to check out, ( *** dollar) difference. I called overstock.com and a very nice woman helped find the discrepancy due to some promotional ad that didnt process right. Overall very happy with the purchase.

    Read More
    djw418 December 29, 2012
  • Would not have anything but a Dyson
    Verified Purchase

    I have 3 large dogs and our family home is a constant coming and going of people so having a good vacuum cleaner is a necessity. I purchased this Dyson and could not be more pleased. Not only does it leave the bare floors perfect for walking around barefoot but the carpets look great, it is super easy to use the attachments to clean the furniture and even the attachment to brush the dogs is fantastic. If there is one MUST HAVE in any house, it is a Dyson. This particular model is a bit heavier than others but then again, it is heavy duty work it does around our house.

    Read More
    peregrinamom December 21, 2012
  • Effective vacuum
    Verified Purchase

    This is a refurb. It is quite noisy and releasing the container to empty the dirt is quite difficult. It is however a great vacuum cleaner. It pulls dirt right through the carpet from the floor underneath. Never had such clean carpets. I would say this is not a vacuum for a weak person. It is heavy with incredible suction, so better suited to stronger individuals. It is very well designed. I have a slightly smaller Dyson which I like very much also and have had no problems with it. When I had to order a small replacement part, it was cheap from Dyson and came very quickly. I don't think I would ever buy another brand of vacuum after owning these two.

    Read More
    jmh2 June 18, 2012
  • Dyson unit
    Verified Purchase

    At this time pending having product look at, First one had the same problem unusual noise from right side of power unit. Have notified Overstock have been authorized to have unit looked at with est cost of repairs if any. If we can solve this problem we're good to go Thanks

    Read More
    retiree84 June 16, 2012
  • Love the Dyson Animal!!
    Verified Purchase

    When I moved across country I had to leave my old Dyson behind. In the meantime, I tried 2 other vacuum cleaners, but neither really did the job. i missed my Dyson terribly and was happy to see a refurbished Dyson Animal on sale. I've now had it for a couple of weeks and I'm very, very happy. Nothing pulls the stuff out of a carpet like a Dyson!

    Read More
    hollielf June 5, 2012
  • awesome suction!
    Verified Purchase

    First use was difficult- suction was sooo strong I could barely push it. After a couple of uses- runs great. Picks up everything. Just have to remember to change the carpet setting every time you plug it in.

    Read More
    jennak1 May 28, 2012
  • Great vacuum
    Verified Purchase

    Bought as refurbished however it appears to have never been used highly recommend buing other products this way

    Read More
    elb1234 May 28, 2012
  • Powerful little vaccum!
    Verified Purchase

    A few days after getting my carpets professionally cleaned for Spring my vacuum arrived. It was easy to put together so I used it right away. I was amazed how much was still picked up by it! My only wish was that it had somewhere to hook all the attachments to the actual unit.

    Read More
    amy845 April 6, 2012
  • Great product
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best vacuum I have ever used. I have a Golden Retriever and a long-haired cat and I thought my other vacuum (also a Dyson but an earlier version) worked well. I could not believe the difference. So much hair came out of one section of my carpet - I couldn't wait to do the whole thing! The motor is so strong but it is very easy to push. The refurbished model is the way to go. It is in perfect condition. I love it.

    Read More
    alisastl March 6, 2012
  • Love my Dyson
    Verified Purchase

    Fast shipping and product arrived in good condition..

    Read More
    andik55 November 27, 2011
  • Simply the best
    Verified Purchase

    Love it couldn't remember life with out dyson.Have 5 cats and dogs ,4000 sf house there isn't other way but dyson.

    Read More
    1958nirit November 21, 2011
  • refrubished not recommended
    Verified Purchase

    i don't know why this company would sen out a broke vacuum that cost over ***. the one i received i am sending back. the handle does not pull out and you can not push and pull the machine. i am totally upset.

    Read More
    1RFK September 16, 2011
  • bye bye animal hair
    Verified Purchase

    We cohabit our home with 2 black cats. a nd black rot - blue heeler mix puppy. The favourite activity is to chase each other around the house. Yes they take turns. Fur flies into the carpet and the cutains and other nook and crannies. Before dyson... B . D. Ther was always hair blowing in the breeze. Dyson found and sucked up the hair, the sand and other unknown things out of our carpeting. My home is now cleaner like it was before we had pets. Have X pets get this machine. Only negative the suction on the carpet is so great it can be hard to push.

    Read More
    mtalesin September 15, 2011
  • I would not buy it!
    Verified Purchase

    It is an ordinary vacuum, EXCEPT, " It is Extremely Heavy, It Does Not Like to Turn, It makes A Lot Of Noise and It Leaves Nearly A 1 Inch Edge Between the Furniture and The Carpet You Are Vacuuming, So Out Comes The Edge Cleaning Tool, which is 6 inches long, All Around The Room. IT IS Going BACK!

    Read More
    controllerz August 21, 2011
Sponsored Links