Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Dyson DC17 Animal Upright Vacuum (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • sucking machine!
    Verified Purchase

    this vacuum is awesome. i have two black labs with cream colored carpet and i could have created a new animal with all the hair it picked up that the old vacuum left behind. i even did a test with the old vacuum and this one definitely out-performs by miles. definitely worth the money! vacuum was like new, shipping was fast. don't hesitate to get one if you have animals.downside- i don't really know what to do with all of the attachments. there are no directions included but i haven't really tried to find out yet either. i'm sure that there are instructions somewhere on the web.

    Read More
    cortpt June 23, 2009
  • Serious VC
    Verified Purchase

    Ordered this refirb and am soooooo impressed!! Have had many namebrand VC's but this one is definately the most superior. Like the commercials, it doesn't loose suction, and it picks up ALL of the pet hair @ my house. I am seriously thinking of keeping my son's dog only because we now can get it all up...Wonderful, wish I had gotten it much earlier......

    Read More
    dialysisalice June 18, 2009
  • This Sucks
    Verified Purchase

    Actually the units vacuum power is amazing! The Dyson arrived very quickly and was very easy to put together. We were so excited about its arrival that we opened it up as soon as we got home and immediately started using it. this was around midnight. we wound up cleaning the entire house. we would strongly recommend this unit to anyone. it's worth the extra money over other manufacturers.

    Read More
    dcube June 18, 2009
  • Fabulous
    Verified Purchase

    Fabulous product and fabulous experience with Overstock.com....Needed a new vacuum -two dogs and one dog really sheds. I have two grandchildren who do not need to breathe in dog dander or dog hair. I ordered the refurbished model and so pleased with the "newness" look and most pleased with the product's performance. The Dyson DC 17 is a must for anyone with animals in the house. The DC17 is easy to use and has so many "extras" to do other household cleaning such the furniture, window sills, and the baseboards, too! Loved the price compared to other sources--the refurbished was more in my price range and I cannot tell that it is not brand new! Would recommend the refurbished model with hesitation!

    Read More
    Anonymous June 18, 2009
  • It's an ANIMAL
    Verified Purchase

    Like most reveiwers, I was nervous about getting "that one" refurbushed unit that doesn't go so well. I WAS WRONG. I opened the box and found what appeared to be a "Brand New Unit". "some assembly required" took probably less then 5 mins. The first thing I did, was sweep the 3x6 foot throw rug that was in front of thre kitchen sink. THE FIRST STROKE that I took, was a large 12" path, with so many colors that I didn't even know were there, comming up from the carpet. I looked at it and said O.M.G. ! I have never, seen a sweeper work this well. In the collection bin, I believe I picked up at least 3 full animals from the rug. You push a button and the storage bin comes off. push another button and the bottom opens and releases the contents. If your thinking about it...Do it. Buy one, It's a great price for a great machine. Thanks!

    Read More
    Anonymous May 26, 2009
  • Dyson Convert
    Verified Purchase

    It is true, the Dyson will change your life. My refurbished model arrived in short order. It was packaged very well and looks like new. All of the attachments and user manual were included. The machine is surprisingly quiet and very efficient. The household chore that used to be a drag is so much better with a machine that really cleans!

    Read More
    sleepexpert May 23, 2009
  • Bad outweighs the Good

    The Good news is that it cleans very thoroughly with the beater brush on.The Bad News:It's extremely heavy to lift and push; even the husband pulled his back carrying it upstairs. Would not recommend for older people or those with back problems. Extremely difficult to maneuver because of it's size and weight. No adjustment for carpet thickness.Most of the heavy pickup you see in the dirt cup is actually carpet fibers being stripped off by the over zealous beater brushes--when you turn them off it actually has difficulty picking up visible dirt. We are concerned that the carpets will wear down quickly. Also if you try to vacuum throw rugs with the beater brushes on, it sucks up the rugs and eats up the backing.

    Read More
    Elizabeth A. May 23, 2009
  • Dyson Dream
    Verified Purchase

    Was somewhat leary of buying a refurbished vacuum, but read the other reviews and decided to save money and have a go. LOVE IT! It came complete with a yellow crayon and cheetos from the original owner, but it is a dream. Previous vacuum was heavy to push and carry around. This propels itself and you have to keep up with it. Have 2 shedding dogs and a cat, so have to vacuum and empty everyday, but so far, no problems. The only thing is the instructions are only pictures and the attachments not connected to the machine are a mystery to me. 3 different cleaning heads and I really don't know what to use for what, but honestly, haven't given them much of a try. If I don't have any problems for a long time, it was well worth the money and savings.

    Read More
    mommom007 April 30, 2009
  • DC17 Animal
    Verified Purchase

    I have a very large dog that sheds badly (Great Dane, Husky, German Sheppard mix), and I have a room at home that is the dead vacuum cleaner room. I can't tell you how many I've been through. My last one went out so I borrowed my neighbors DC17 Animal and was AMAZED at what all it picked up. I cleaned my house 3 times with it, so I had to buy one. I love it. I would highly recommend spending the money on one.

    Read More
    jenigario March 31, 2009
  • Amazing vacuum
    Verified Purchase

    We were amazed at how much this vacuum sucked up from our carpeting when we ran it the first time. We had to empty it often that first day. Since then we don't have to empty it as often while vacuuming, so it's maintaining our carpets at the high level of cleanliness it accomplished the first day we used it. To think we were breathing in all that dust and pet dander all this time!! Heartily recommend the vacuum. The only drawback for me is that I have fibromyalgia and find it a bit too heavy to lift upstairs - my husband does that part. But the vacuuming it does is worth it!!

    Read More
    floscarmeli2009 March 27, 2009
  • GREAT VALUE
    Verified Purchase

    I was really happy with the way the vacuum work is easy to put togheter and works great with the dog hair myhusband loves to vaccum more often thank for recomend this product.

    Read More
    kikis1516 March 25, 2009
  • Must have for pet owner's or people with allergies

    I vacuum almost every other day due to my families allergies. We have two dogs and three cats so there are plenty of messes to keep up with. When recieved my new Dyson I vacuumed the entire house- (right after vacuuming with my old machine.) I was HORRIFIED by the amount of pet hair it picked up! I couldn't believe what an excellent job this vacuum did! I have also noticed my families allergy problems have been greatly reduced.It's also light weight and easy to manuever, great product!

    Read More
    bcjensen March 23, 2009
  • Love it!

    After wanting one of these for a long time my husband got it for me as a gift. I LOVE IT! Oh wow - you should have seen the amount of crud and dog hair it pulled up. Crazy! We have a central vac built into our house. The Dyson works a million times better! No heavy clunky hose thing to drag around and rub paint off the baseboards. Anyhow - we love it. I kept looking for more instructions though. That turbo thing that comes with it looks kinda scary so I had my husband try it out lol... Works great!Every pet owner with OCD NEEDS one of theseThanks Overstock for another great bargain!Yay!!

    Read More
    luckywifey March 5, 2009
  • Dyson review
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered and received the vacuum with no problems, this is always the easy part. I waited for it to arrive, we all want it now, but it did so in a timely manner. I unpacked it and found everything I needed to assemble it, although the instructions are just a bit of a challenge. The only issue was the brush control switch did not shut off the floor brush. I called the customer service at Dyson and made arrangements to take it to a repair shop to be repaired. Other than that it does the job of cleaning the house as promised, but still requires human intervention. Good product and a good value.

    Read More
    rmine March 2, 2009
  • Great Vacuum
    Verified Purchase

    I never thought I'd look forward to vacuuming, but now I do. The long hose stretches so far, I can do my stairs with the machine on the ground floor. And the power is phenomenal, I couldn't believe the amount of stuff picked up, even after just using my old Kenmore canister with powered beater bar.

    Read More
    brakedrummer February 21, 2009
  • best ever
    Verified Purchase

    best vacuume ever! first one I recieved was broken in shipment. no problem returning. second one was beyond my dreams! I have a yellow lab that sheds, sheds and sheds. this is the answer! why did I wait so long to get one? I love it!!!!

    Read More
    lmba February 15, 2009
  • Good Product
    Verified Purchase

    I have only had this vacuum for a month, but so far it is great. As other reviewers have noted, the suction is excellent. It cleans carpet very well, as well as bare floors. The wand is easy to use and has good power also. This vacuum, like most, is not great for stairs. The attachment with the rotating brush does not work well on stairs. The brush is powered but suction, so when pressure is applied the brush slows or stops. Cleans stairs best if you just muscle it over the stairs. And it doesn't destroy carpets as some reviewers have noted. I would have to say this is among the best vacuums on the market. I have owned 2 Kenmore\Panasonic vacuums which CR always gives top ratings. The Dyson is lighter and much easier to maneuver. My refurb looked brand new when it arrived.

    Read More
    sbmva January 28, 2009
  • Dyson DC 17 Animal
    Verified Purchase

    A friend who recently purchased a Dyson instructed me to run my old vacuum before using the Dyson for the first time. I ran my old vacuum in the living room, dining room and family room before doing the same with the Dyson. I have a small cape cod, these are not big rooms. I had to empty the Dyson twice. It's amazing how much stuff the Dyson pulled out of carpet that had just been vacuumed.

    Read More
    kmomrom January 26, 2009
  • Refurbished Dyson as good/better than New
    Verified Purchase

    I was some what hesitant to get a refurbished vacuum, but it came and was better that what I was expecting. My wife says it has given new life to our carpet and the whole family loves to use it. It came with all the attachements I was expeting and more!! We are very happy with the vacuum and excited we didn't have to pay full price for a new one but got the same quality and it is practically new! You can't go wrong with a Dyson even if it has been used alot before you just wash the filter let it dry over night and you are good to go again with a practically new vacuum. Oh, one more thing the vacuum came almost a week sooner than we were expecting it, so that was also a wonderful deal!! We are happy with our refurbished dc17:)

    Read More
    happydc17 January 26, 2009
  • Like New
    Verified Purchase

    I received the Dyson and was very satisfied by the quality of the Refurb. I was hesitant at first but when I opened the box it was next to new and works great! It does a great job on all floor types. Love it!

    Read More
    domv January 11, 2009
Sponsored Links