Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for DuroStar 4,000-watt 7.0-HP Air-cooled OHV Gas Engine Portable RV Generator

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • awesome generator
    Verified Purchase

    Have had this for a few years, works great everytime needed

    Read More
    comfyliving November 17, 2017
  • Solid unit!
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 in rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    We bought this Generator 6 years ago from Overstock and the only maintenance we have done on it is changing the oil. We probably use it around a half dozen times every year for regular camping trips and my husband uses it constantly during hunting season for 5 weeks every year and it has held up fine. Highly recommended!

    Read More
    dfb2u October 18, 2017
  • MS
    Verified Purchase

    Love this generator./ Starts every time. but not as quiet has I had anticipated but not to bad

    Read More
    Rebecca H. November 25, 2016
  • Average Deal
    Verified Purchase

    You can get the same item for the same price on 11% days at Menards

    Read More
    9280sd April 25, 2015
  • Generators for married children
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered several generators for Christmas gift to our kids. 3 of the 5 worked well, but the other 2 wouldn't start or were damaged. Overstocked sent us 2 new ones that worked will. All 5 will start on the first or second pull. They are also very quiet. If you have problems with them, deal with Overstocked not the Co. that provides the product to Overstocked.

    Read More
    lhhawk January 28, 2013
  • Good Product
    Verified Purchase

    I haven't had a problem with this generator axnd it helped us power several appliances, lights etc. My only issue is that the exhaust area started to "RUST" when left out in the cold as where it needed to be. A bit of oiling or paint will fix that problem though.

    Read More
    aja67 January 11, 2013
  • Emergency generators
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered several for my married children. The first one opened was damaged in the shipping. I called the 800 number and was sent a replacement part, but it was incomplete. I have sent pictures of the parts damaged to the maker and am still waiting for the right parts. I am hoping the will make it right or I will send them all back. I think the generators will be ok if they aren't damaged in shipping.

    Read More
    cwh5 January 4, 2013
  • So far, so good
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this generator as a backup for power outtages, and haven't had to use it yet. I will update my review on use later, if possible. First, I will say that I did NOT like the packaging. The generator came in a box, but also wrapped in a plastic bag which was covered in some sort of oil. It smelled disgusting and was not pleasant at all to open. I don't know if something got on it at the factory or it was designed this way, but very unappealing. The quality seems to be pretty good with a couple of quirky exceptions. Since you will definitely need a wheel kit for moving this thing around, they were tricky to get on. The generator, without the wheel kit, comes with these little rubber feet on the bottom, and you have to get an axle over that. It's doable, but you'll need a clamp of some sort (or someone with strength). The directions (e.g., unpacking) are horrendous. The pictures are dark and the parts aren't marked, so even though they include a list, you don't know if you really have them all unless you just count by process of elimination--not exactly ideal. My hope, of course, is that I go to use it and it really is a very easy start, but I can't add anything to that for now. For the price, I would probably buy it again.

    Read More
    dsdclea August 8, 2012
  • Have yet to test it
    Verified Purchase

    Look forward to using it. I hope to try it out in the next week or so

    Read More
    guzztoo July 25, 2012
  • durostar 4,000 watt generator
    Verified Purchase

    The unit seems to be made very well. The unit is very quiet when running. It meets my needs quite we

    Read More
    jure July 18, 2012
  • Good
    Verified Purchase

    I hope I never have to use it for what I bought it for....Emergency's

    Read More
    buzcag1 June 20, 2012
  • Great!
    Verified Purchase

    Works great! Went together very easily. We used it for 2 days almost nonstop and it never missed a beat! It was a great deal and we are very happy with the generator. We bought it to supply power to our travel trailer and it does a great job. Runs 8 hours easily on a tank of gas.

    Read More
    mdantzer June 7, 2012
  • every thing that's on the net' is the same thing
    Verified Purchase

    this generator will get the job done''' i have a air compressor' it run's it really well'' this product has a four gallon gas tank' don't have to be putting gas in every hour'''''' i don't like yellow' but in this' it is a head turner'' very noticeable'' WELL PLEASE' this product is worth more money'''''''''''''

    Read More
    afteritsover3 May 30, 2012
  • DuroStar 4,000-watt 7.0-HP
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent in all aspects. The cost and quality are well worth the purchase of this unit. I would highly recommend this portable RV generator for any home owner to purchase from over stock.

    Read More
    frankmeri90 April 24, 2012
  • DuroStar 4,000-watt 7.0-HP generator
    Verified Purchase

    DO NOT CLICK ON "JOIN CLUB O" until you have submitted review or you will loose all you wrote! It was a pain in the but to get shipping braces off. Took me over a day and a couple of trips to store for special tools. Wrench that was supplied just stripped bolt heads they were on so tight and moved generator with a closed end wrench (not supplied) Same getting bolts of for wheel kt. Ended up being a 2 day process. It did start 1st pull though. DO NOT put a quart of oil like it says it takes in it! Dip stick is also at an angle.I have not put a load on it but it does purr when started.not as load as expected. Aluminum Shipping brace was on so tight it was cracked and it was channeled!

    Read More
    kennethpl April 17, 2012
  • everything I expected and then some
    Verified Purchase

    The product was shipped out faster than any I have ever seen. After following the manufacturers directions regarding gas/oil, the generator started on the first pull. Runs quiet and has little or no vibration. Similar generators have been priced at double the price of this one, so the value was outstanding. The only drawback is that it does not come with a standard wheel package, that seems to be optional.

    Read More
    southernpride1865 March 15, 2012
  • Easy to use
    Verified Purchase

    For two people who knew NOTHING about generators... it was easy to use... we needed a little help getting it going - but once we got help - we are now pros... thanks!!

    Read More
    eblair64 March 12, 2012
  • Price
    Verified Purchase

    The Cheapest Priced, New, Generator I Found For its Quality.

    Read More
    agatino February 8, 2012
  • Let's hope we don't need it
    Verified Purchase

    My husband wanted to buy a whole house generator for $7,000. I convinced him that added insurance and this generator are enough. After we got it, he spent a bit more on accessories (which you should offer) he is happy. When he is happy, so am I.

    Read More
    silverspringmd7 January 4, 2012
  • Great value and product
    Verified Purchase

    Bought as a home back up and for camping trips . runs and works great starts right up . I did buy the wheel kit which makes it easy to move around . Cant beat the price and great product.

    Read More
    4golfnuts December 12, 2011