Today: $239.99

At other retailer: $305.09

Save $65.10 (21%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Coventry 5-drawer Chest

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Tennessee Polar-Bear
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect! I will say, however, that watching my wife put the chest, (and matching 1-drawer nightstand), together near wore me out, (but not her...as she's the 'mechanic' in our house). The 5-drawer chest took 90-minutes to put together, (with an electric screw-driver); the nightstand took an hour. We gave these two COVENTRY brand items a 5-star 'thumbs up', because of the overall inherent quality. No 'fiber-board', here...these units are constructed of solid rubber wood and the goods shipped to us by Overstock.Com...as is usally the case... were far better than advertised; beautiful fit & finish & attention to detail, (drawer dimensional stability, heavy duty rollers and coordinating hard-ware, etc., etc.), just an outstanding overall value, (at roughly half the price posted in Nashville, TN, area furniture stores for comparable goods). The only real problem we ever experience with Overstock.Com is that we spend entirely too much money with them! Their quick-response delivery and legendary service ought to be properly considered 'the benchmark' of all on-line consumer direct business entities.

    Read More
    bdb5267 May 29, 2008
  • Best furniture deal around
    Verified Purchase

    I just finished assembling this piece and it looks just finished assembling this piece and it looks exactly like the picture online. This is comparable to much more expensive pieces I considered purchasing from a retail furniture store just a week ago. Fortunately, I decided to do some comparison shopping online before dropping thousands of dollars more to buy from a showroom. I purchased this 5-drawer chest along with the matching 6-drawer chest and 2 nightstands. The total for all 4 pieces, including shipping, was less than a single dresser at the showroom. The quality has more than exceeded my expectations. Each piece is constructed of thick, solid wood. Even the drawer bottoms are sturdy, ¼ inch thick material (possibly particle board) and fit into deep channels in the drawer for a solid fit. As far as assembly¿ if you have ever put together any other ¿assemble it yourself¿ piece of furniture, you won't find this assembly challenging at all. All you need is a hammer, Philips and a flat-head screwdriver (though a cordless drill with screwdriver bits will make your job a lot easier). I assembled one nightstand and this 5 drawer chest in just about 3 hours while watching TV. There were plenty of extra pieces of hardware, so even if you lose some, you'll still have enough. You can¿t go wrong with any of the Coventry pieces listed on Overstock.com.

    Read More
    azspartan May 5, 2008
  • Piece of garbage
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice looking dresser, but it is basically sub-IKEA quality for 3x the cost. Very very cheap construction. The heavy top piece on mine gradually has becoming more and more bowed which is pulling it off the frame. It looks very stupid and there is no solution as it is not a single slab of wood, it's basically plywood .. and it's coming apart. Since this happened over a few months, I cannot return it .. so I'm stuck with a $XXX crappy dresser. My only option would be to try and screw it down to the frame myself, but since the wood is such poor quality this could potentially make the whole dresser unusable. Stay away from this product. You'll really regret it in a few months.

    Read More
    jebber45 January 18, 2014
  • Disappointing
    Verified Purchase

    Took longer than expected to put together. Unfortunately, the bottom drawer does not fit in properly and will have to completely undo the whole dresser to hope that my re-doing it, that the drawer will actually fit.

    Read More
    kkanouse September 7, 2010
  • Lovely 5 drawer chest.

    I loved this modern furniture, great show piece, but please don't put any heavy mirrors on the dresser, it might crack....

    Read More
    sheercover September 21, 2011
  • Chich storage
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this dresser because I like the contempory look and rich color. The drawers are quite deep and the wood is very solid. It does require a decent amount of assembly because there are lots of screws, but one you get the first drawer together, the others are quite easy. I am really happy with the purchase and it is a nice addition to my Master suite.

    Read More
    leese13 August 2, 2011
  • Great Product. Easy but time consuming assembly.
    Verified Purchase

    We received this Chest in a little over a week. The product was very well packed and had no shipping damage at all. The parts fit perfectly and the color was exactly what we expected. Most of it is solid wood, except for the drawer sides and back which are some sort of composite. That is the only weakness of this product. When assembling the drawers, drill a tiny pilot hole before screwing in the drawer rails to avoid splitting the composite. Also, use a small amount of wood glue in the dowel holes. It will greatly improve the strength. I would highly recommend this product.

    Read More
    runlikejehu April 1, 2011
  • Love this 5-drawer chest!
    Verified Purchase

    It took my mother (81) and I (somewhat younger than 81) two hours to put this chest together, no power tools involved. It was basically a breeze to assemble, the instructions didn't leave much guess-work, and it currently stands proudly in a guest bedroom. It's a solid piece of furniture and I love it enough to be ordering another for my daughter's new home.

    Read More
    kas28856 July 31, 2014
  • Mixed feelings
    Verified Purchase

    I really love the look of this dresser, and despite being particle board, it looks like it might actually be real wood. Now that it's assembled, I expect it to last for quite a few years. But whew, was this difficult to assemble. In all it took nearly four hours to put it together myself. The instructions are hard to follow, even more so than Ikea instructions. The pieces for the dresser drawer don't really fit too well together, so I really had to push down on the pieces in order for them to snap together, and even then they didn't always. When it came to assembling the main body of the dresser, the pieces are only held together by wood dowels, and the top, so the whole thing, especially at the bottom, is a little wobbly. I think next time I might just spend the extra money to get a pre-assembled dresser.

    Read More
    furniturepurchased March 23, 2014
  • Disappointed.
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this for a room my mom will be using, who will be moving in with us shortly for medical reasons. The size and look is good, that is were it stops. The directions were AWFUL - in particular regarding the slides. There is no indication of left or right orientation or of up or down application. Had to redo them several times. Took hours to put it together, and there were two of us. The heads of small screws that go into the back kept breaking. (Like six out of 30 broke.) The cam locks would act like they were locked and then pull apart when starting to move the piece. After finally completing assembly the whole thing has a slight wobble. Don't know how it got any positive feedback. This is the first purchase I have made from Overstock that has been really bad. Note that I also bought two end tables with this order that were also similar assembly required. They went together quickly with clear instructions, and once assembled were solid. Very happy with those. They were not the same manufacturer as this chest of drawers.

    Read More
    tiredofremodeling1 August 31, 2013
  • Good, but a bit pricey for the quality
    Verified Purchase

    Let me start by staying I LOVE Overstock.com. I have purchased about every type of item you can from here...shelving, futon mattresses, decor, bedding, and the occasional furniture. This particular item, which I like, I'm not sure is worth the money. Although it sturdy with a good looking finish, you literally have to put every single thing together, including the rails. Now, previous reviews which I read prior to purchasing, said you need two people to put together. Absolutely not true. I'm not handy by any means, but as able to navigate it with ease putting it together solo. Here is where my critique comes in. Because I'm not handy, when it came to putting the rails together, the instructions and corresponding photos were BAD, therefore I had a hard time figuring out which way the rails went. And although I eventually figured it out., the photos should have done a better job with this. All in all it's a fine piece of furniture if you want to spend the time putting it together (about 2.5-3 hours total for me by myself). I have found comparable items for the same amount of money or less and doesn't require the same effort. Overall happy with my purchase and would recommend, with the above exceptions!

    Read More
    klw438 February 27, 2013
  • Could have been better
    Verified Purchase

    After reading all the reviews on this item, I decided to buy the chest and 2 nightstands....well, the nightstands were mismarked on the website, they are not 17"w x 21" d - they are 21" w x 17" d - and in a tiny room that makes a difference - unfortunately I had already disposed of the packaging and decided to make it work. I was not as impressed as others were with the furniture. I may have purchased something more expensive and already assembled if I would have known the quality - which is only fair to moderate - but maybe rubberwood is a cousin of pressboard. It was packed well, the shipping boxes sustained damage, the items were good. The instructions were fairly easy to understand - tools that are needed is a hex wrench (aka an allen wrench), screw driver and rubber mallot. Overall, the experience could have been better.

    Read More
    seattlegirl2008 September 10, 2008
  • Great set
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I own the coventry set of bedroom furniture. I love the espresso color and contemporary look. You do have to assemble these pieces but the wood is nice quality. not cheapy feeling at all.

    Read More
    kristy1682 June 20, 2017
  • Pleasant Surprise
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I'm very happy for the decision I made to purchase this chest for our guest bedroom. It's very sturdy and the drawers are very spacious. Although, it was not so easy to assemble, I love it, and it was so worth the hard work to put it together.

    Read More
    Jules June 2, 2017
  • Durable and looks great
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    very durable wood. I also have the nightstands (3 drawer) to match in my bedroom and we absolutely love them. they're great quality especially for the price! Wasn't too hard to put together. I read the reviews and it's true what they've said......get a mallet, wood glue, and a drill. It made putting the nightstands and this dresser together easier.

    Read More
    JESSICA M. May 29, 2017
  • Hard assembly drawers
    Verified Purchase

    Ok but too pricey for what you get.

    Read More
    Ronanlime May 14, 2017
  • Quality
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    So this chest comes with a lot of pieces, definitely a two man job. One of my draws came with a deep scratch on it. I have to see if Overstock is going to replace it. Just a lot of work, just to have the chest not be perfect.

    Read More
    OstkUser1073378 May 8, 2017
  • Great look & quality
    Verified Purchase

    I am very happy with this dresser. The drawer fronts, the top of the dresser, and the sides are all made of solid wood. The rest, which includes the sides of the drawers and bottoms are MDF but feel very sturdy. There are a good amount of parts, but the directions were easy enough to follow. I built half of it myself and then my husband helped me with the rest. We got it done in 1 night.

    Read More
    Caroline H. April 25, 2017
  • Money not worth the quality
    Verified Purchase

    Over priced for the quality looks real nice but it's mostly made of MDF

    Read More
    big1sofun April 24, 2017
  • Audrey M
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this and two tables for my son, he was very happy with the quality of all the pieces, went together without any issues.

    Read More
    Audrey M. February 28, 2017
Sponsored Links