Today: $114.49
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Contemporary X-Cross Design Bookshelf

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Free Firewood!
    Verified Purchase

    The measurements are exact, which is great! However, the description does not go into great length about how unstable and wobbly this "bookshelf" is when complete. Also, friends and I put it together and it looks as it is pictured, but does not hold books in the middle trough section as users would be led to believe. If you will notice the space between the shelf and the bottom of the books, you will see a gap large enough to make my thighs jealous. I also had to send back for two separate things (they sent me two left sides and I was missing several pieces of hardware). I'm only this bent because it took so long to complete and upon completion is undesirable. I would venture to guess that the designers'/makers' parents are deceased; I know I could not live with the disappointment I would feel if they were my children.

    Read More
    Jacob L. November 7, 2016
  • Mary Shannon
    Verified Purchase

    Fit the space perfectly--given measurements were accurate. Looks excellent.

    Read More
    Michael B. September 2, 2015
  • Very pleased with this!

    I am surprised by the negative comments as none were true for my purchase of this bookcase. it arrived very well packaged and was fairly easy for me to assemble alone. It looks and feels solid and sturdy, even heavier than what I expected. There are no flaws anywhere and all the pieces fit together perfectly. I ordered two and have yet to open the box containing the second one but am hoping for the same results.

    Read More
    cvillemom July 24, 2014
  • Not well made.
    Verified Purchase

    I didn't read the reviews before making this purchase and wish I had. Not worth what I paid. Serves my purpose well. May paint it and reinforce so it doesn't fall apart.

    Read More
    nikkiknits January 1, 2014
  • Bookshelf
    Verified Purchase

    This piece was not at all what I expected. Would have preferred a more sturdy piece, but it just didn't work well. The wood itself is nice, but the finished product isn't structured to stay strong. Price vs. quality did not meet my expections.

    Read More
    missbluerose August 9, 2011
  • Love it...gonna get another

    I had not trouble with building the thing...read the directions! Very sturdy! But all my travel albums are filling it up and I want another. Glad to see it is still available!

    Read More
    decoratingplus May 6, 2011
  • Do NOT buy this!
    Verified Purchase

    This is my first disappointment in years of ordering with overstock. I should have know that the price was too good to be true, but it fit the dimensions I needed so I ordered it. Huge mistake. In all my years of putting together furniture pieces, I have never seen a piece this flimsy. The pieces don't fit together well and the slightest bit of pressure (just hand, not hammer or rubber mallet) caused the whole thing to fall apart and chip. Not that another chip matters anyway because there were parts that had been chipped and simply painted over. There were also some parts that had not been painted at all. Tried to return the item but just found out that it is going to cost me a third of the price just to ship it. Save your money and opt for a different piece, I wish I had.

    Read More
    reviewer1121 April 1, 2010
  • X Cross Design Bookshelf
    Verified Purchase

    I was looking for something relatively inexpensive and low profile for my office and this bookshelf was perfect. And...the price was right. I looked around at many different places and compared but this was the best deal for a decent quality product. The bookshelf was easy to assemble and I am very pleased with how it compliments my other furniture.

    Read More
    armstrong4u January 6, 2010
  • Recommended Conditionally
    Verified Purchase

    This was a very inexpensive piece of furniture but extremely difficult to assemble. The instructions were basically nonexistent. It is not well made but is attractive and does look like the picture. Therefore, my conditional recommendation is that "you get what you pay for", and if you need such an item but can't spend much money, it is a good buy. If you can afford better quality of workmanship, I would encourage you not to purchase it.

    Read More
    betsyher8 January 3, 2010
  • Just Right
    Verified Purchase

    I am really impressed with the quality of my bookshelf. I purchased 2 of them, and they were really easy to assemble.

    Read More
    tresag October 15, 2009
  • don't buy this one
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this bookcase...it is similar to another one I bought last year...but this one is a piece of junk. It looks good but is very light weight. It wasn't hard to assemble but the middle shelf would not hold books properly. The angle of the shelf makes books lean backwards so the bottom of the book is suspended in the air. It's very weird. We took the case apart several times thinking we had assembled it wrong but there was only one way to put it together. Needless to say, we are sending it back and ordering Item#: 10340185 instead which is the same bookcase we bought last year. It's only a few dollars more but worth it.

    Read More
    eileen111 October 9, 2009
  • X book case
    Verified Purchase

    This bookcase looked great online but it was a great disappointment when I opened the box. It is flimsy and I wasn't sure it would even hold the phone book without falling apart. The color and form is right but the workmanship and qualilty are really lacking. I would not recommend this product.

    Read More
    suelizb August 28, 2009
  • bookshelf
    Verified Purchase

    the machining was not good so my husband had to modify some of the holes. One of the screws was deformed. Worst of all, the directions had no number to call for replacement parts. Luckily we are not putting great weight on the top, which is just sitting on the part below because there is no way to screw it on with the screws provided. The screw is not a standard size so we don't have one in my husband's tools (and he has quite a workshop). When he has time my husband will drill a new hole and attach the top to the frame below.

    Read More
    lindove August 17, 2009
  • Great shelf!!!
    Verified Purchase

    This was very simple to put together. I did it myself in less than an hour. All the pieces fit exactly as designed, and there were no flawas in the product. This is a very cheap bookshelf that looks great in my room.

    Read More
    fullthrottle79 August 12, 2009
  • good looking, easy to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    This bookshelf was delivered to me today and is already being put to use an hour later! The directions were easy to read. I put it together by myself in about an hour (a few interruptions from baby, too!) Normally I have to bug my husband to put things together for me. But after reading several other reviews about the ease of assembly, I tried it myself. I feel so liberated!That said, there were some minor issues. Two of the screw holes seem to be more shallow than the others, which makes the top shelf a tad bit lopsided. I would say that I made a mistake, but I screwed in the others just fine. There is a tiny scratch on the top shelf. I may use a magic marker to fill in or may just leave it alone. (I have the walnut case.) I also don't like that you can see the silver screws. Wish they had a covering for them.All in all, for the price it's a nice bookshelf. I really like the design. I was specifically looking for the "x-cross." Hopefully we'll be able to fix the 2 screws I mentioned.

    Read More
    amac06 April 15, 2009
  • Black bookshelf
    Verified Purchase

    This product was perfect for a nightstand/bookshelf in my guest room. For the price, it looks nice and has a nice finish. It was easy to assemble and I put it together alone in my living room. (I usually don't have the patience and get my Dad to do it but this was easy enough even for me.)

    Read More
    katekenji March 29, 2009
  • Contemporary X-design bookcase walnut color
    Verified Purchase

    Nice decorative bookshelf for a few display-quality books.

    Read More
    ls2008 January 24, 2009
  • disappointed!
    Verified Purchase

    The finish on this bookshelf is streaky and rough. Top shelf was chipped. If workmanship was better, it would be a great product. As it is, no thanks.

    Read More
    nj2ga January 19, 2009
  • recommend
    Verified Purchase

    really easy to assemble by myself, (young, small female) it took me about 15 mins to get it together. looks nice, and holds what i thought it would. its on the small size, but perfect for what i wanted it for.

    Read More
    ajburns January 12, 2009
  • x-cross bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    All I can say is you get what you pay for - the photo looks much better than the product. The slanted library shelf does not create the correct angle for the books to rest properly and the wood it is constructed from is poorly finished. Not the strudiest. Fortunately, I ordered this for a utility type work space and I will make do with it. Had I ordered it for inside home space I would have sent it back. Not the usual quality of products I have received from Overstock. On the up side - it is easy to put together.

    Read More
    1quiltmom January 10, 2009
Sponsored Links