Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Contemporary Shaker King-size Platform Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Beautiful bed

    My husband and I received this bed as a wedding gift this summer. It is an absolutely gorgeous piece of furniture! Assembly took a while, because it has quite a few support slats, but no real problems. We get compliments from everyone who has a reason to go into our bedroom. You'll never find anything even close to this bed in style and quality for this price anywhere else. We know-- we researched platform beds for months before we were given this one!

    Read More
    May 27, 2006
  • Great Purchase!
    Verified Purchase

    My wife and I bought this bed for ourselves after plenty of shopping around. We are thrilled with our decision! This bed is incredible to see in person. The assembly was actually quite simple. My wife and I did it in about 45 minutes, and it only required a phillips head screwdriver. We used a battery drill, but either would suffice. It is also an INCREDIBLE bargain. Maybe someone else could find a better deal, but my wife and I couldn't, and we looked for months before choosing this bed. No regrets!

    Read More
    maryville August 6, 2006
  • Looks good, very sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    Our bed came with no instructions, but it is not rocket science. Went together in 15 minutes - it took longer to un-box it and bring the pieces inside. Took three weeks to get here, but still not a bad price for a nice bed. The color is rich, a little darker than I like, but it looks good. Works perfect with a latex foam mattress! It is light, so it is easy to move around for cleaning and such, or if your spouse simply likes to move stuff around. All around, I would recommend this bed to anyone. I only gave 4 stars because the dang instructions were missing and I sort of had to figure things out as I went...again, not nuclear physics but at 10 PM, and after 2 glasses of wine, it was more challenging than if i would have just put it together as soon as I got home.

    Read More
    buttnit July 21, 2011
  • Nice bed, unfortunate quality issue
    Verified Purchase

    The bed's decently constructed for the price. We like the look, it came in relatively good shape. The quality issue we have is that no center support legs were ever package and we ordered a king -size bed....rather risky to use it without those supports...

    Read More
    bedreviewer September 10, 2006
  • Bed frame
    Verified Purchase

    For the price, this is a very nice bed, Looks to be of high quality and is sturdy. Assembly took about 45 minutes for 2 people, Only issue was some holes didn't line up when screwing in slats but was easily remedied by screwing directly into wood. Looks great in the room and is lower than my old bed making it easier for my older dogs to hop up. Would definitely recommend. Delivery was also prompt, received in a little over a week.

    Read More
    justsomeshmoe February 2, 2011
  • Good Frame
    Verified Purchase

    This bed frame looks really nice, pretty color. Delivery was quick, set up would have been easier had all the pieces come with it. But I'm missing the center legs, not sure how I'll obtain those. . . . But if everything comes in your boxes, you'll probably like this frame.

    Read More
    alitighe September 10, 2006
  • king size cordova bed frame
    Verified Purchase

    Love the bed. A little time funsumming to put together. Does a great job with my temer pedic mattress.

    Read More
    mikieann2012 July 10, 2012
  • Lovely Look
    Verified Purchase

    This was well worth the purchase price. The wood is a lovely color and matched our antique cherry dresser perfectly. We've moved the bed to a new home since the original purchase and my husband had no trouble putting the bed together either time. We did add plywood over the slats but only because our new mattress required this for the warranty to remain valid.

    Read More
    dpool October 18, 2011
  • Nice Bed!
    Verified Purchase

    Nice solid platform, though at first we had trouble with the flimsy construction of the center support leg mounting inserts. The metal mounting inserts are not so robust, and we had a startling 3 inch "freefall" during early QC testing, when 4 out of the 5 legs threaded inserts pulled out. A little gorilla glue and a few hours later, the issue was fully remedied, and the center support slat has stood strongly since. Because of the so-so design of the center support slat leg mounting points (all other connections were designed well) , I'm only giving 4 out of 5 stars, but if there were several categories to rate, all the others would get 5 star. We love this platform! The wood is beautiful, and when it's fully assembled it's rock solid. Oh yeah, and like another reviewer mentioned, it is indeed squeak-less!

    Read More
    roalho August 29, 2010
  • Nice bed frame
    Verified Purchase

    We bought this bed frame for our new memory foam mattress. It came in 3 boxes in a fairly short time by freight. The finish on the wood could be better. On some of the spindles on the headboard they didn't get the dark finish all the way to the bottom of the wood which shows where the spindles connect to the horizontal pieces. It went together fairly easy and the wood itself is very beautiful. We've gotten several compliments on it. Not bad for the price.

    Read More
    verky March 2, 2009
  • Platform Slat System

    Although it's not clearly stated in the instructions, you do not have to attach all 12 slats to the bed rails. They are bound together with nylon so they're not going anywhere. Plus the center support bar, which attaches in 3 or 4 places also holds them in position. It's best to screw the slats into the rails in 2 or 3 places on each side--definitely the corners and maybe somewhere in the middle. Using more screws than that actually weakens the bed rails and may cause the lip supporting the slats to split.

    Read More
    jonrla November 9, 2007
  • great bed for the price
    Verified Purchase

    Overall, I am very happy with our purchase. The wood is gorgeous and the workmanship is high quality. The only complaint I have is that the bed needed to be more supported since the center support stopped short of the foot board and the headboard. My husband cut two pieces of 1/2" plywood and screwed them to the frame over the slats. Only problem now is the squeak from the wood-on-wood contact. Otherwise, it was a great purchase and we are happy with our purchase. Well worth the money!

    Read More
    Anonymous November 9, 2007
  • Excellent value
    Verified Purchase

    We bought this bed for our master bedroom to replace an old metal frame and box springs. The wood is high quality and has a really nice finish. One thing I like is that the bolts fit into nuts that are secured in the wood, rather than screwing directly into the wood (there are some parts that use wood screws, but not the ones that matter structurally). It was designed so that you could take apart, move it, and put it back together several times without having problems. If was also pretty easy to put together. Having two of us was helpful, but not essential. If you are over 6' tall, be aware that getting in and out of this bed might be a bit awkward, especially if you are heavy as well, because it is lower to the ground than the average bed by 3-4 inches. It probably wouldn't be an issue unless you had really bad knees or something.

    Read More
    thatwasrandom June 29, 2007
  • Cordovan Platform King-size Bed
    Verified Purchase

    My wife and I had been looking for a new bed and this one was exactly what we were looking for. The appearance was even better than shown on the web page. Assembly was not a problem except for the placement of the slats. To get the center support holes to line up, the straps connecting the slats together had to be cut in at least two places. Also when you start to assemble the bed it will appear as though there are two extra slats. If the straps are cut in the correct place this is not a problem and they can be used to add extra support in the middle area of the bed. I also recommend that all the slats be fastened with screws at the side rails.

    Read More
    subteacher1 May 19, 2007
  • Platform bed
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is very pretty and sturdy. It was a little hard to assemble, but after that, it is a very sturdy bed.

    Read More
    sammynluke September 14, 2006
  • Beautiful bed...but
    Verified Purchase

    Bed is beautiful, but center support is of poor quality, have repaired numerous times, am considering buying something new.

    Read More
    Richard E. April 2, 2016
  • Gorgeous bed
    Verified Purchase

    We love this bed. Love the easiness of the platform style, and the quality and workmanship is surprisingly great considering the price.

    Read More
    suegw11 February 17, 2016
  • fantastic item
    Verified Purchase

    better than expected. value was extaordinary

    Read More
    douglas p. August 18, 2015
  • beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    Amazing quality .. we hsve had this,bed for 3 Years and it's well constructed and still beautiful ... love it

    Read More
    megan m. May 1, 2015
  • Ordered a King, They shipped a Queen.
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered a king size. Waited 2 weeks for delivery. When freight carrier unloaded the box it looked to small to be a king. Refused delivery because it was a queen size. When I contacted Overstock, they said the king was out of stock so sent a queen instead. They did reverse the charge before the bill came due. Can give them credit for that.

    Read More
    enajaire September 17, 2014
Sponsored Links