Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Contemporary Shaker Full-size Platform Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Better than expected
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this bed in Full size, the Delivery was excellent, they called twice to arrange date of delivery, and call again 30 min before delivery to be sure I was at home. Packing was perfect, no damages or scratches at all. The Color of the wood is a little bit darker than the one showed in the picture but it's even better , The headboard's design is really simple and elegant and the slightly curve separates it from the wall wich is perfect because gives room or space to reach outlets in the wall and to plug lamps without the risk of touching the bed or the mattress. Very strong and sturdy construction

    Read More
    jmlr August 7, 2006
  • Great Find!
    Verified Purchase

    This was my first purchase from Overstock. The bed arrived ahead of schedule and included all the requisite pieces. It was a bit labor intensive to assemble, so I would recommend having two people. But the bed is beautiful, and I am really happy with the buy!

    Read More
    umita August 31, 2006
  • Handsome; easy to put together.
    Verified Purchase

    Original headboard arrived with a large crack; glad I had read Overstock's instructions on checking shipping box for dents, rips, etc., and refused delivery as instructed. Shortly was contacted and item was re-sent, arrived in good condition. Not hard to assemble (two people). Love the bed.

    Read More
    lindasu May 29, 2011
  • Very Nice!
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this bed for two reasons: (1) I wanted a full-size bed to replace the warn-out twin bed my daughter has in her room, and (2) it was in my price range. Reading the other reviews helped me seal the deal! The bed came exactly 1 week after ordering (along with the Sealy mattresses that I ordered too). My son (18) put the bed together in no time by himself. There was one minor problem in that there were several screws missing. Those were easily replaced with screws we had from taking apart the bed being replaced, so not a big deal at all. The bed is really pretty - it's very polished and sturdy. The frame itself comes with several slats (not just 3 or 4) that go under the box-spring, so the mattresses won't be sagging - or worse, breaking - after a few years of wear. Overall, I'm really happy with this purchase - especially given that it was ordered online without seeing in person before buying. I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.

    Read More
    calisa00 March 25, 2011
  • Newport full-size platform bed
    Verified Purchase

    The bed arrived in good condition. It was fairly easy to assemble. It has a bar that runs down the center of the bed with legs attached to it to bear wt in the center. But the hardware to attach this bar to the bed was inadequate. When I moved the bed the bar snapped off. I had to go to the hardware store and get bolts to attach the bar properly. I also had to get more screws for attaching the slats. Once that was done the bed is sturdy and looks nice.

    Read More
    drej8 October 30, 2010
  • Positive Review

    The bed is very solid and was easy to put together. My only complaint is that the two metal pieces connecting the headboard to the sideboards were bent and were not at a 90 degree angle. More like 75 degrees and we had to bend them to make them connect to the headboard. It had nothing to do with transit, the boxes were delivered in perfect shape by the delivering agents. I am actually considering purchasing the same bed for the guest room; this one went in a college aged bedroom. Great bed for the price!

    Read More
    jojomg8 April 6, 2012
  • Very nice
    Verified Purchase

    Very happy with the quality. I purchased a full size for a quest room and set it up in an hour and a half. Would have been quicker with two people. It has a nice finish and was well packaged, so no damaged parts. It had all the fasteners plus extra. I LOVE the bed. Purchased a 11 in foam mattress (medium firmness) and I am very happy with the solidness of the bed.

    Read More
    mydecorations February 22, 2012
  • Guest room purchase
    Verified Purchase

    This is truly a lovely bed. We have a very good mattress on it, since it is the platform type. Guests always love its firmness. We do worry about the slat strength, and the poor support posts that were given. They are too short. They always seem to fall over, when the bed moves. (It is set up on a wood floor, not carpet.) These are the things that need improvement, but as stated the bed itself, is beautiful.

    Read More
    belle54 January 2, 2012
  • What a DEAL
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is a really great deal. I purchased this bed frame along with a memory foam mattress from Overstock...and poof! 6 days later some nice delivery men dropped in off in time for Christmas : ) ( Honestly I was expecting a New Years delivery) The shipping was fast and free.The bed looks so much better in person than in the photo. It arrived in 3 boxes and was easy to assemble. Between 2 people it was put together in about 15 minutes (using power tool) and only the allen wrench when indicated. I know some reviews mentioned missing parts or damaged boxes but this was not my experience. Nothing was damaged and all parts were included. Overall a great experience..can't wait to buy more furniture from Overstock..Even the local furniture store would have charged $75 plus to deliver furniture. I would highly recommend this piece of furniture to others with no hesitation.

    Read More
    rndelivery December 24, 2011
  • Newport Platform Bed
    Verified Purchase

    This bed arrived quickly but that is the only true plus we can submit. Hardware was missing half of the screws for the slats, two major bolts were missing, obvious poor craftsmanship i.e. major wood pieces discolored, multiplication computations written upon the wood pieces! Outrageously poor product and buy. This was our daughter's birthday present moving up into a "big girls" bed. Terrible disappointment at a very inconvenient time for this family. Box spring and mattress soon to arrive and now a little too late to return product for reimbursement or we would in a heart beat. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BED TO ANYONE. CHEAP MATERIAL AND CRAFTMENSHIP, certainly overpriced. OVERSTOCK WE ARE NOT PLEASED WITH THIS PRODUCT AND WE HAVE BEEN PURCHASING PRODUCTS FOR YEARS WITH YOUR COMPANY. The Moonlight Family, Arvada, CO

    Read More
    moonspirit May 12, 2007
  • Bed fine, Overstock not so fine

    I ordered this bed and had problems with the shipper, who initially sent it to the wrong address and then charged me for a second shipping. Then the bed comes and they sent me the wrong instructions and screws. Then when I called Overstock.com, they said it would take up 2 to 4 business days for them to even email the correct assembly instructions. Meanwhile my tiny NYC bedroom is completely DISASSEMBLED and I am headed to the hardware store myself to try and fix the problem. I will never order from Overstock.com again.

    Read More
    madoverstockcustomer August 12, 2006
  • happy
    Verified Purchase

    As far as platform beds go it is a good value. Would recommend to anyone.

    Read More
    unbeliveable March 16, 2013
  • Overall a well made bed
    Verified Purchase

    I searched for quite sometime at local stores and on the internet for a solid wood bed. This bed with the inexpensive shipping from o.co was the best deal I could find. Overall this is a nice bed for the price. I did not give it 5 stars because we had issues with the shipping company and the slats on the bed. Ist, the shipping company called to schedule a delivery about 2 weeks after I placed the order. The day before the delivery they called and said that the item had just arrived in California and they would have to reschedule. When I called back to reschedule they wanted me to wait another two weeks! I said no, we really needed it so they said they would try to get it to me within a week. Done. So it took about 3 weeks to get the bed, which is unusual for overstock.com. The bed was not too difficult to put together other than the fact that several of the pre-drilled holes for the foundation part were not in the correct locations. We had to borrow a drill and put in new holes, so they do need to check on the quality control at the factory. It was not a big deal though, because we made it work and no one sees the foundation part of the bed anyway.

    Read More
    carolinachickadee March 13, 2013
  • wonderful
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is wonderful. It looks great and it is good quality. I purchased another one from a bed store abou tthe same time and although that one looked good, it was inferior in qualty. The only thing that I didn't like was the holes didn't all line up to screw in the screws for the slats. I am very pleased and wish the one I bought for more money was as good as this one.

    Read More
    atley13 February 17, 2013
  • Decent value, but not a room-filler
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is a bit undersized for the contermporary American home, which tends to have a large bedroom space. But my bedroom is a relatively modest sized one, so this bed was perfect in the full-sized verion; it was not too big, and most beds are now. Putting it together was easy for me, but I am a woodworker and furniture maker in my spare time. If you are unfamiliar with furniture construction, follow the directions, take your time and have someone there to help you. You should consider sinking in a few extra screws to secure the slats supporting the mattress. The bed comes in three boxes. You should take the boxes straight into the room where you will build the bed, since once you take the parts out of the box, the parts are less managable and awkward to move. I would like it if the bed sat a few inches higher on longer legs. But I use the bed without a box spring. Adding a box spring would raise it a bit high, though, since the curving "sleigh" back part of the bed does rise up too high. (Per earlier comments I made about the bed not being too big.) The color and look are acceptable and even pleasant, given the price range of the product. Overall, worth the money paid.

    Read More
    spartee February 16, 2013
  • wow!
    Verified Purchase

    Another winner from overstock, which is helping me refurnish a house destroyed by Super storm sandy. This is lovely, substantial, and easy to put together. Took my friend and I about 20 minutes - maybe longer if you haven't been putting this kind of stuff together for 20 years LOL. It's really beautiful - better in person although it's represented accurately on the website as well. My son loves it, we got the select comfort mattress for him, too and that was another great purchase.

    Read More
    horanv January 28, 2013
  • Love my new Bed !
    Verified Purchase

    It was heavy and a bit of a bear to assemble, but now that I'm using it all is forgiven. It's a beautiful piece of furniture. Shipping was a problem tho. Took weeks to get to NJ and another 2 to be delivered. It was right before Christmas so maybe that was a factor. It's just that everything else I ordered from O arrived quickly so I was not prepared for a wait. (After a certain age sleeping on a mattress on the floor is not fun anymore. ) Overstock's support staff was great and so were the shipping agents I talked to.

    Read More
    tirednomore January 14, 2013
  • Perfect!
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is perfect and was easy to put togther by myself in less than an hour. Excellent construction with great support design!

    Read More
    20170 April 22, 2012
  • Little Paradise
    Verified Purchase

    My son really like this sturdy platform bed. It was an answer to prayers. It is best assembled with several people because it is heavy. It is fun to assemble also.

    Read More
    gogomeisha March 1, 2012
  • This bed was needed for the guest room.
    Verified Purchase

    This bed was exactly what we needed for the guest room. And as it doesnt need a foundation for the memory foam 12 inch mattress we purchased also.

    Read More
    cowboy59 October 16, 2011
Sponsored Links