Today: $184.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Compass Computer Desk

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Very nice
    Verified Purchase

    I've been looking for some time for a computer desk whose design I enjoy, AND that would work in my small apartment AND has the full length keyboard drawer. This fits the bill nicely. It arrived beautifully packed in two boxes. Looks nice and is substantial. Once you open the assembly instructions, which are well written and clearly diagramed, you see that the recommendation is that two adults assemble this and that you need a mallet. I managed without the mallet (used a cork coaster under my hammer) but the assembly for me would definitely been faster and easier with a second person. I am older, but even with the substantial weight of the pieces and arthritis in my hands, I was able to assemble on my own with some patience and lots of breaks. All parts are numbered with stickers that stay on until you're done. One tip: the finish is a nice dark varnish, that at the very end, when you're aligning the last pieces of the top shelf into the entire frame, can get easily scratched around the cam bolts. Place some tape around the cam holes at that point, and remove after you've tightened the bolts, to keep from scratching. Wish I'd thought of that before! It only was a problem right at the end. It is a pleasure to run my hand over the surface. It's nice and satiny. Minor irritation and only reason I'm downgrading to a 4 instead of a 5 (I would have rated 4 1/2 if that was an option) is that the pullout key drawer has some rattle and movement up and down. I'm very happy. It's a nice contemporary desk, I enjoy the way it looks, its medium sized (not too small, not too big) for an apartment and substantially and well built--and while there were less expensive desks out there, none were as well built or packed.

    Read More
    rpcv2002 April 24, 2010
  • My Beautiful Desk!
    Verified Purchase

    I am currently re-decorating my living room and wanted a computer desk to replace an old table I had been using. As soon as I saw the Compass desk, I knew that was the one I wanted. The sleek design really attracted me and the fact it didn't look like a "traditional" desk. I kept looking and looking to see if I could find something similar for less money but had no luck, so I decided to bite the bullet and purchase the desk. Delivery did not take long and everything came intact. The instructions said it would take two people to assemble, but I was able to do the majority of it by myself. The instructions were pretty straighforward and I liked that everything was labeled. The only thing that really gave me trouble was the keyboard tray. It took quite a few attempts, and I began to get worried after reading other people had trouble installing it too. I found that walking away for a while then coming back to it helped. I also looked at how the rollers worked on my kitchen drawers and was FINALLY able to figure it out!!! I am extremely happy with my purchase and it looks just like the picture. The quality and color of the wood is beautiful and it is HEAVY (which is a good thing!!) Several of my friends have commented on how beautiful and "rich" it looks so it was definitely woth the money, although the week after I bought it, it finally went down! Fortunately though, Overstock did give me a credit for the difference in price, so I really can't complain. I am definitely a fan of Overstock and will definitely use them again!

    Read More
    ladykay3 June 2, 2011
  • Great Desk!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this desk to downsize from an executive desk. It was easy to assemble and is very well made. It's a great size for a smaller room and the color is very attractive. Good design and wouldn't hesitate to purchase another produce in this line.

    Read More
    quilterbarb September 2, 2010
  • great desk, good investment
    Verified Purchase

    I have to start out by saying how quickly I got my order after I placed it online. That was a pleasant surprise. There were some previous reviews that stated it was better if you had two people to set up the desk and they are mostly correct. I was able to set up the majority of the desk by myself but when it came to putting the legs on that's when I needed some help. I tried by myself at first but getting one leg on meant putting the other out of place. If you are going to work alone you will need to figure out how to keep one of the legs from shifting while getting the other into place so you can bolt everything together. Except for the hard work of assembling it all I am happy with my purchase.

    Read More
    happyz3 December 23, 2012
  • Love this desk!!
    Verified Purchase

    My partner and I just moved in together and we needed a nice-looking, new desk (nothing worse than bachelor furniture... lol!). I've been waiting to find the right one and as soon as I saw this on the website, I knew I was going to buy it. I wanted a desk that would be sturdy as it will be used for work we bring home, but also one that fit in with the rest of the apartment. Our desk is in our 'dining room' so I specifically didn't want a desk that looked like a desk. I wanted something that would be functional but also stylish and looked more like furniture than a plain old desk. I was happy with the color (the website is accurate). It's sturdy as well and that was a deciding factor in making the purchase. I don't want a desk that is going to shake every time I'm writing on it. I put this together in about an hour by myself. I'd highly recommend having 2 people do the assembly if you can. It would have take me about half an hour if I had help. Directions are pretty good. Much better compared to other furniture I've put together. Be careful when putting it together that you don't scratch the parts. I laid everything out on a padded moving blanket and put it together that way. If you have wood floors, I'd recommend putting a non-scratch glide on the bottom of each leg. I moved it a couple of inches when putting it together and scratched my floor. All that sturdiness comes with added weight. Overall, great desk. I'm extremely happy with the finished product and it looks great next to my high-gloss red shelving units! Would recommend this to friends but don't want them copying me! LOL!

    Read More
    sgorgas1 December 4, 2012
  • Beautiful desk
    Verified Purchase

    I love this desk. I wanted a "different" desk....something eye catching and trendy. This fit the script perfectly. I just love this desk with it's sleek, clean lines. It's not a traditional looking desk and I think I love that the most. It has so many spaces to put items though. I bought the cute little boxes that allow you to label the front of the box with its contents....and that's what I've put out on this desk to keep it really clean looking. I have two printers on this desk though.....one laser printer on the very bottom shelf and a flatbed scanner on the main desk shelf. My boyfriend and I put it together in a couple of hours. It's solid wood and the quality is superb!!! Love it.

    Read More
    mswells70 May 22, 2012
  • WONDERFUL DESK
    Verified Purchase

    I've had this desk for 4 years, it's survived 3 moves....and these types of assembled items don't usually survive moves unless you can take them apart and reassemble, and you're lucky. This one was disassembled once and the other 2 times they moved it intact. It's very sturdy, expensive looking, the finish is very resistant to scratching, etc. The desk still looks brand new. I'll probably cry when I have to get rid of it, I'm very attached. I hope it comes back in stock.

    Read More
    andriaz April 11, 2012
  • Great Desk~!
    Verified Purchase

    For the money its a good investment. Solid softer wood instead of pressed composite board with veneer wood. It took a while to assemble but some of the pieces were mislabeled. That's when you say "thank goodness for drawings to refer to during assembly". I would give it an excellent except there was a chip with splinter out of wood. The positive aspect is the chipped area is on the under side so its not seen. Plenty of room for your CPU, sound system, screen and keyboard. The design is solid in that the A frame is stabilized quite well. Aside from that splintered edge on wood piece its worth the purchase. You may want to invest in a plate glass desk protector. The wood is softer and the glass will protect your surface if writing or setting a beverage on the surface. I'm happy with the desk.. Its a little tall or high in regards to keyboard tray. Once I buy a higher seated chair that will solve my issue. If you're a tall person or a man, it would work fabulously for you.

    Read More
    kisbykjs April 26, 2013
  • Great furniture
    Verified Purchase

    A great piece of furniture. Solid wood and very comfortable. Quality is better West Elm!

    Read More
    citygirl1234 April 13, 2013
  • Smart and stylish
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful and sturdy, well made and easy to put together. Only complaint is the support below the bottom shelf of the desk, a bit flimsy compared to the rest of the construction.

    Read More
    k8inwisconsin January 3, 2013
  • Eye-catching desk but scratches easily
    Verified Purchase

    What I like about this desk is that it's different than so many standard, cheap-looking computer desks available today. It's got a nice, modern look and feels very solid. I definitely recommend having two people to assemble it, as some of the pieces are a bit heavy. But I'd rather have that than something that feels flimsy and would fall apart within a year. The only negative about this desk is that it scratches easily, but I think that's just the type of wood used which gives it a high-quality look. Probably best to put some kind of pad down if that's a concern.

    Read More
    andrew28 December 26, 2012
  • A great purchase!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my daughter's small apartment. It fits nicely in the corner of her bedroom. Seems to be durable.

    Read More
    cabinlove December 3, 2012
  • Love the desk
    Verified Purchase

    The desk looks beautiful! It took some time to put together, the assembly instructions could be more helpful.

    Read More
    mlawson77 December 1, 2012
  • Amazing
    Verified Purchase

    What an incredible product! Wood is of excellent quality, desk is very easy to put together and for the small amount of space this desk takes up, you get a whole lot of storage space.

    Read More
    mushieb November 30, 2012
  • fabulous desk
    Verified Purchase

    Desk is 100% BETTER than what I was expecting. I can't swear that it is real wood but I can tell you this is as close to wood as you are going to get without paying a lot more. Very sturdy. the writing area of the desk is much larger than expected. The best thing about the desk is the quality of the material. I was expecting the usual compressed wood but was very surprised the material is very nice. Looks great in the roof. Highly recommended. I had my husband put it together took him about one hour. Only trick was putting on the slide out part of the desk. He put it on backwards twice LOL. Highly recommended you will not be disappointed.

    Read More
    laffy212 November 25, 2012
  • Nice desk, but....
    Verified Purchase

    The desk met all of my requirements and the color and size were exactly how it was on the website. My only problem is that two of the pieces were cracked! One was the desk top and the other was the side panel for the computer. Needles to say I have a 10 inch crach running left to right across the top of the desk. If it were an easier process to return the item I would have. But I did not notice it unitve I had already begun assembling the desk. Be careful buying this desk!

    Read More
    marshallusa November 20, 2012
  • Love this desk
    Verified Purchase

    This desk was a splurge but it was well worth it. Very sturdy and nice looking. Plent of space for a home office. Love the top shelves and use the little nook on the bottm for my mail basket since I have an all in one computer.

    Read More
    amosinluv November 17, 2012
  • Good desk
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very nice desk. I am not handy so I had a little problem putting it together. However, everything was labeled perfectly . If you are a little handy this would be very easy to put together. Nice product

    Read More
    houseshopper1 October 30, 2012
  • Ver very nice
    Verified Purchase

    I only had the desk a few weeks but I am happy with the purchase. My husband and I put it together. The directions were very clear just follow the steps in order.

    Read More
    madagascarjewel August 14, 2012
  • Good quality
    Verified Purchase

    I recommend this highly. Good quality

    Read More
    Vera D. February 10, 2017
Sponsored Links