Starting at $640.99
Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Columbus Full-size Frame/ Premier Mattress Futon Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • DUAL OWNERS/DUAL PURPOSE
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this some time ago for an office sofa.When I moved,I gave it to someone,who now uses it as a full-time bed.This piece is loved.

    Read More
    capitolhillrose August 3, 2017
  • GREAT FUTON FOR MONEY
    Verified Purchase

    JUST GOT THIS SET UP FOR MY DAUGHTER AND SHE LOVES IT! SAYS IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE AND NICE DESIGN WITH A PLACE FOR MAGAZINES OR BOOKS OR WHATEVER AND A PLACE FOR TV REMOTES AND OTHER THINGS BUILT INTO ARMS. COLOR MATCHES HER OTHER FURNITURE TO A TEA. VERY HAPPY!

    Read More
    northernlitez January 5, 2014
  • Disappointing Quality and Packaging
    Verified Purchase

    The quality of this product is rather low overall. From reading several other reviews here I thought it would be adequate as a contingency guest bed for our spare room. If I had been able to examine it more closely before buying I would have looked for something better. I had to make several repairs to this product just to get it assembled. 1. The mattress is sewn through in several places with tough twists of nylon plastic to help stabilize the stuffing. These look very uncomfortable. Better apholstery uses cloth covered buttons. It looks cheaply made, and will need a padded cover to be used as a bed. 2. The heavy wood end pieces of the frame are attractively made, but were not well packaged. They were separating at multiple joints where the glue had cracked through. I used large clamps and wood glue to repair this damage, but not everyone does amateur carpentry as a hobby. I hate returning large heavy stuff so this was the best option. 3. One of the metal bolt heads snapped off when I tightened it using the small hex wrench provided. This is very cheap hardware! The flat washers are so thin they easily deform. You wind up with a LOT of extra hardware from this product, but the extra parts do not stand in as spares, for the most part. I had to find a replacement for the hinge bolt that snapped. 4. Several other minor issues. The decorative wood hole plugs for the end pieces were one size too large to fit. So I have eight plugs that I can't use. One of the metal frame pieces was dented inside its protective box, which was undamaged. Pre-dented? 5. This item is really, really heavy. It's heavier than you think. I am in decent shape but moving the mattress/cushion is just barely possible. Get help, and watch those back muscles. Summary: An attractive price for what it is, but you will definitely have to perform unexpected work just to assemble this item. Be prepared to order replacement parts, or go to the hardware store and foot the bill.

    Read More
    scottchi September 4, 2013
  • Shoddy construction, difficult to put together
    Verified Purchase

    There seemed to be something wrong during every step of putting this futon together. The arms were mislabeled in terms of "left" and "right", there were holes that we actually had to drill ourselves, there were not enough screws in the package, and there weren't even instructions for one part of the project. After a frustrating 4 hours it looks nice enough and seems comfortable, but I am not sure it was worth the hassle.

    Read More
    rmf427 August 4, 2013
  • very nice futon
    Verified Purchase

    Very nice and comfy futon. Putting it together wasn't too bad. Only trouble I had was getting the longest hex screws that attach the cross bars to the outside wooden frames, to thread. The rest was easy. And if you're not that savvy at putting things together, the directions give you an URL to watch step by step directions on YouTube. I'm overall satisfied with this futon :)

    Read More
    lmaddair July 11, 2013
  • For an Extra Bed Room
    Verified Purchase

    The futon is assembled and ready for our first guests. Right now we have it open to air out the mattress, as recommended. We did have several issues with the pieces for putting it all together, but were able to work through the issues. The futon did not come with any assembly instructions and also did not come with the top pieces for the arms, where you can place the remotes, etc. I chatted with O to ask for assistance in having the instructions emailed, as with any part, even just the instructions, they had to contact the parts service area and advised it would be 1-2 business days to have the instructions emailed. Then I saw on the site that there were video assembly instructions and I called a spoke with a representative. He searched throughout the site under various keywords and could not find the instructions online and again, had to request through the parts area. Since I really want to assemble the bed, I continued to search online and finally found a site created my the manufacturer, Epic Furniture, and by watching about 4 different videos I was able to assemble the futon. I have ordered the missing pieces for the arms with the instructions and parts. I hope to receive these within the next week. Two of us worked on this together, I've learned from previous experience that one person has a difficult (but not impossible) time putting together larger pieces. There were a few issues where the bolts inside the wood did not exactly match up with the screws. We know that during the assembly that we force stripped a few of the screws, but we also were able to get the frame together so that it is secure and tight. Hopefully we won't have to dis-assemble and move it for a long, long time.

    Read More
    katilee May 2, 2013
  • Problems with setup but great at the end!
    Verified Purchase

    The product was delivered quickly but with defective screws. Despite repeated phone calls to the manufacturer, it took eleven days for the replacement screws to arrive while the parts of the futon and its packing materials cluttered up our living room. Also, the arm rests were missing screws with which to connect them to the furniture and there were no drilled holes. The instructions were not always accurate. The manufacturer was very hard to reach and did not always answer the phone. However, Overstock was most helpful in assisting us to resolve the problem. Now that we have the futon assembled and are using it, we must say that it is great!

    Read More
    vivian145 January 24, 2013
  • Beautiful furniture with a but...
    Verified Purchase

    The reason I am not giving this a 5 is that the mattress is rather thin, and so when you use it as a couch there are areas where you feel the metal underneath. Other than that, the wooden futon itself is wonderful; the arms that open to put in remote control units or whatever else you want, and that allow the storage of magazines are an excellent idea. If it came with a better mattress (thicker, perhaps) I would say it is perfect.

    Read More
    Silvia BP de Forsyth December 28, 2012
  • Columbus Futon Review
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very good mid price futon that is well made and sturdy. Assembly took about one hour - the only confusing thing was there were two sets of hardware ( different ) depending on the model I guess. Once you have what set to use figured out then it goes quickly with minimal tools ( most are provided ) The wood is good quality and it fold up and down easily.

    Read More
    bwalt October 29, 2012
  • The main support leg broke after 6 months
    Verified Purchase

    The futon does infact look nice, however the first and biggest problem is the dinky support leg in the front came off (a soddered metal piece that just broke) leaving the futon to basically concave toward the front/middle of the futon. So now, after 6 months, it is basically useless. Also, the mattress was never comfortable to begin with and I thought I was getting a better mattress per the description and some of the reviews. You can get a mattress topper that helps alot.

    Read More
    alysona September 18, 2012
  • Looks Great and Pretty Comfortable
    Verified Purchase

    Serves its purpose in our house as a spare room futon. Comfortable to sit/lay on, looks great, and magazine racks and arm compartments are very nice. The futon does slip down and doesn't stay in place, which is very annoying, but I've yet to see one that doesn't do that. That is the only complaint I have along with, where the stitching is to hold the cotton in the mattress in place, seems like it is tearing at the material a bit and you can see the a little bit of the white stuffing through the holes its creating. I'm hoping it doesn't get worse, I suppose a cover would be a good investment when purchasing any futon. Oh and DIRECTIONS....be sure to use the newer copy they send you with the futon. I suppose it would have been easier to put together if we had realized there were two sets of directions (one labeled USE THIS COPY) before we built the futon. Why the first set of messed up directions is still being sent out, I'm not quite sure.

    Read More
    kstos21k September 2, 2012
  • Great product, complicated directions
    Verified Purchase

    It was shipped in two huge boxes, so try to be home when it arrives so that the delivery person can help you bring it into the house. The first of the two boxes, with the frame, arrived the day after I made the purchase online! I have never had anything delivered so quickly! The second box, with the mattress, came two days later. I have never had such confusing instructions before: The pictures told you to do one thing and the text told you to do something else. Don't attempt to put this together unless you are mechanically minded enough to intuit what should go where. I also had an entire baggie of screws, washers, and other hardware left over, so do not expect to use everything that is included. As a 30-year-old, healthy female, I put the futon together by myself, but it is a heavy piece and the bolts are incredibly hard to get screwed in. It is do-able, but difficult. Now that it's all together, it is great. Two people have slept on it since I bought it, and they have both commented that it was very comfortable. I have not slept on it, but it is very comfortable to sit on. It is easy to move it to and from the reclined setting. The fabric seems like it will wear well. I think I will definitely get my money's worth out of it.

    Read More
    ezimm81 August 23, 2012
  • Futon Set
    Verified Purchase

    Once put together it's a decent futon but putting it together was quite a battle. The screws were very hard to get in and the directions weren't the best. It's hard to get back into the sit position when the mattress is on it. Maybe just needs to be broken in more.

    Read More
    momaloves July 9, 2012
  • Great deal. Extremely pleased.
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this futon for my 15 year old son and it arrived in less than two days. My 18 year old daughter put it together with no problems. It is great quality for the price and I love the storage in the arms. My son is also very happy with the mattress.

    Read More
    jjgriffin1 April 3, 2012
  • Good quality fuinctional
    Verified Purchase

    Sturdy a little timely to put together- as i suspected after helping put another one together for my son's dorm. Attractive, sturdy and my neice loves sleeping in it.

    Read More
    jeanblnch April 3, 2012
  • Good quality, functional futon set
    Verified Purchase

    I went with this model after reading reviews of the less expensive brands and others in this category. I was not disappointed. The wood is good quality, the metal is strong and every fits together nicely. I would purchase other products by this manufacturer. The only criticism I would have is the instructions could be a little clearer. However, based on all of the reviews I'd read, I was expecting this. You should have two people to put it together.

    Read More
    msleighm March 22, 2012
  • Really comfortable and great for a teenager
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great futon and my son loves it. A little difficult to put together but well worth it

    Read More
    tanajae March 21, 2012
  • Well-made and comfy futon.
    Verified Purchase

    Although the futon set did not arrive completely in one shipment and I had to contact customer service to get the problem rectified (which turned out to be a positive experience) once everything arrived, and it was assembled, it was worth the wait! I suggest that 2 people work to put it together. My son is very happy with this futon set and it looks great in his apartment! It is a nice looking piece of furniture and of good quality for the price.

    Read More
    ptmny February 10, 2012
  • Very pleased
    Verified Purchase

    I was very pleased with the product. It is more comfortable than I expected it to be. Easy to put together and it fits very well in smaller room.

    Read More
    leonabound September 24, 2011
  • Great Fouton
    Verified Purchase

    Assembly had a couple of issues - be ready to "man-handle" the frame a bit, but after clearing one hurdle, assembly was quick. One call to the manufacturer support line cleared up our questions, so very satisfied with that aspect. Fouton is comfortable and fits well in our spare bedroom/ music room. Thanks Overstock!

    Read More
    catlanta August 6, 2011