Today: $41.49

At other retailer: $76.98

Save $35.49 (46%)

Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Calypso Basics Turquoise Whistling Tea Kettle

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Beautiful Color
    Verified Purchase

    Love this tea kettle - it has a great whistle and looks beautiful in my new renovated kitchen! Was delivered with a broken piece, contacted Overstock and they sent me a new tea kettle within 48 hours - great customer service. That why I do all my shopping on this site!

    Read More
    OstkUser437181 January 23, 2017
  • Whistle sounds like a fire alarm
    Verified Purchase

    Loved the color but can't use because of the annoying whistling sound. It is just a decoration on my stove.

    Read More
    Barbara D. November 5, 2016
  • Loved it!
    Verified Purchase

    Nice teakettle- color is vivid. Seems to be well made. Gives a low whistle, kind of sounds like a train, when boiling. Very happy with it. It looks great on the stove.

    Read More
    taqua March 26, 2012
  • A Tea Kettle that does not WHISTLE!
    Verified Purchase

    Who would have thought something as simple as a tea kettle would belong on the island of misfits?! Do not waste your money, Got another one from Target for same price looks better, can turn the heat up all the way and yes it whistles!! lol waste of time

    Read More
    nonoise March 22, 2012
  • Cute cuppa
    Verified Purchase

    This tea kettle is a sharp addition to my kitchen decor. And I really like that I can grip the handle to pour the water right after boiling, which I couldn't do with my former tea kettle. The "whistle" is funky - sounds more like a hum - but that is no big deal in my book. I am being very careful to completely drain it and dry it upside down in the drainer after each use, because of the other reviews I have read about it rusting easily. That part is kind of a pain in the neck, but the look of it on my stove is worth the hassle. My overall review after having this tea kettle for a month is "so far so good ".

    Read More
    drkathyb March 13, 2012
  • it's exactly what i expected.
    Verified Purchase

    The kettle looks great, does the job, instead of whistling it does this high pitched hum. Easy to clean.

    Read More
    memevida November 9, 2011
  • Nice Tea Kettle
    Verified Purchase

    I love it for the turquoise color alone. Looks great sitting on my stove. I would buy this again.

    Read More
    tari26 May 3, 2011
  • Don't waste your money
    Verified Purchase

    As a decorative piece the tea pot is pretty. When you use it the problems begin. 1. The whistle is so low pitched and low in volume it can easily be drowned out by the refrigerator motor. 2. It says you have to clean AND dry the thing between uses. Not practical for daily use. 3. You have to use medium heat on a gas stove. Takes too long to boil. 4. The whistle only worked once even when dried as suggested. 5. Not practical for daily use. I'm returning mine.

    Read More
    nmsoupy March 29, 2011
  • my beautiful new teakettle
    Verified Purchase

    i am so happy w/ it. it makes me smile every time i walk into the kitchen. nice wide mouth to add water. broad bottom to accommodate my gas flame. haven't gotten it to whistle tho. i don't care. it balances well in my hand too. not awkward to pour

    Read More
    nsward February 26, 2011
  • Sharp looks - poor performance

    I originally bought this tea kettle on account of its appearance and finish. The color was very vibrant and looked great in my kitchen. Nonetheless, after just one year of use I was dismayed to discover that the interior was corroding. There was a dime sized spot where the nonstick finish had worn away on the interior and rusted. You'd think that a vessel made to boil water wouldn't corrode after light use.

    Read More
    noscreennames January 24, 2011
  • Love the colour
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this because of the colour, which is great. Kettle works fine, just the "whistle" isn't a whistle, but you get used to it.

    Read More
    shirazdog1 December 16, 2010
  • Awesome Teakettle
    Verified Purchase

    This product is a gorgeous teakettle, and I think the size is perfect! I love the beautiful color, and just ordered one for my niece in the pretty yellow. I got the turquoise and it is so pretty. It has worked great for me, and I felt like the price was just what I wanted to pay. We are very happy with this choice! Thank You to Overstock.com for having such great stuff!

    Read More
    4eversweet November 20, 2010
  • It's a tea kettle.
    Verified Purchase

    I've only had this kettle for a couple of weeks, so I can't comment on wear and tear, but so far this kettle has behaved as expected: it heats up water. The color is slightly different than what's pictured online. I bought the kettle to try and match the Martha Stewart robin's egg blue color, but it's a little bit darker than that. I'll give the kettle 5 stars since it does what it's supposed to, and the color 4 stars since it's slightly off. Regarding the sound the kettle makes when water boils: I have to admit that the first time I used this kettle, I was watching TV, and I didn't notice the sound at first, and then I thought something was going wrong with my washer, and THEN I realized it was the kettle. It's a loud humming sound, rather than a shrill whistle. Once I realized that's how it sounds, I could easily hear the kettle any time the water boiled without a problem - it can definitely be heard a couple rooms away, and I actually prefer the sound to a whistle.

    Read More
    jeric2003 November 2, 2010
  • Wish the whistle was different
    Verified Purchase

    I loved the color and look of the tea kettle. I was disappointed with the sound of the whistle- it's more of a hum and isn't a fun/pleasant sound. But overall, I'm very happy with this product. The color wins!

    Read More
    lelli1212 March 25, 2010
  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this kettle as a birthday gift for my sister (because she and her kids love oatmeal in the mornings and using a pot can get a little messy). She loves the color and it actually hums versus whistling. I think she somewhat prefers the hum though. Overall shes very happy with the kettle.

    Read More
    reganator January 28, 2010
  • Wonderful!
    Verified Purchase

    This teakettle is adorable and very functional. I mostly bought it for the appearance, but luckily it is also high quality. I use it 2 or 3 times a day and it has worked very well. The teakettle whistles, but it is not so loud that it startles me.

    Read More
    hawkeye709 November 20, 2009
  • Southwestern Theme
    Verified Purchase

    I love my new whistling teakettle. I am decorating my new kitchen in turquoise and having a difficult time finding this color. I love the color, quality, and design of this pot. I needed a whistling kettle because I sometimes forget I put the water on for tea. This is a great start for my new theme in the kitchen.

    Read More
    glojen October 3, 2009
  • Great Buy!
    Verified Purchase

    I am very satisfied with this tea kettle. It looks just like the photo and works great. One thing to keep in mind if you don't read the instructions .... DO NOT put on high if you have a GAS stove. They recommend medium which works just fine.

    Read More
    jillenea July 16, 2009
  • does not whistle!

    I bought the red model, and it didn't whistle at all! I returned it in exchange for the same model, and the new one whistles barely 30% of the time - and I need to hear it from another room. But unfortunately I can't even hear it when I'm in the kitchen.If you need a whistling tea kettle that actually whistles, I'd steer clear of this one. Nice construction otherwise - I like it very much, but really need one that whistles! I'll be returning this second one and this time will exchange it for a different brand.

    Read More
    Brigid & Larry February 15, 2009
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    dianne c. October 6, 2016
Sponsored Links